0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Avid ProTools 10 - Student Upgrade from PT9 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from San Antonio, TX, USA January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Student, Aspiring Artist

    Avid Pro Tools 10 For Students

    I'm really happy that Sweetwater provided this product! It is a big part of my life, and Pro Tools 10 has been amazing so far. Thanks for all the support that Sweetwater has offered me too! Getting personally contacted has been a really huge part of my learning. This product is a lot more than I expected, and performed no less than what I expected it to do! Greatly recommended for the beginning and professional musician!

  • from Florida January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Saxophone player

    Pro tools 10 for student up grade

    This is the best investment I have done. I went form 8 to 10.0.3 it is grate & the Sweetwater staff is very friendly and help.
    thank you Sweetwater

  • from San Antonio, TX December 17, 2012Music Background:
    Student/Hobbyist/Muscian

    There can only be one!

    Pro Tools 10 is the best DAW one can have. I recently purchased this and was totally floored. I use a 3rd gen Mbox pro with it and my possibilities are as endless as the raging seas. When I am not studying or writing music, I am locked into PT for hours and hours smiling with pride as my projects come to life. Only Pro Tools can offer this experience -the true DAW experience. Step up or get off because there is no substitute.

  • from November 21, 2012

    excellent work

    reasonable price, great service and customer care

  • from Long Beach, CA USA November 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Pro Tools 10

    I really like the product. I've been using it for a few weeks now and I've haven't had any problems yet. Also the shipping was nice and simple.

  • from Colorado, United States September 21, 2012Music Background:
    bassist, live sound, producer

    Professional tools for us students

    I'm a computer science student working on PhD. My thesis is based on tools for the blind, and I'm using PT10 to develop multimedia production in demos for both games and seeing color thru sound.
    PT10 is better suited for assembly like recording than say, Logic Pro, and I've used it for my band with a Tascam US2000 for getting in up to 14 tracks at once at an old ADAT studio, where the patch bays offered all the sources and returns we needed for recording and monitoring and mixing — we even used a few outboard effects, like real 1176s and Alesis Q-verbs.
    And having used Avid's Sibelius prior was nice for creating a score.
    The drawback is its MIDI limitations— PT is a audio recorder; not a sequencer, and implementation is somewhat restrictive for totally electronic compositions. It will create an accurate score though from the "instrument" and MIDI tracks.

    PS-- it uses the processors heavily, so don't expect to read e-mails, play games and run cold fusion simulations while recording and especially when mixing.

  • from February 29, 2012

    Love

    It has some nice under the hood improvements.

  • from November 19, 2011Music Background:
    Record Producer

    Great tools to make music

    A really great update for both stability and features.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI November 18, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Tools Expert

    Temper your need.....

    While Pro Tools 10 is a great upgrade, but it must be stated that the benefits of this program are geared more for individuals using the complete production toolkit, and pro tools HD. Most of the changes are under the hood providing a more efficient program. However, Pro Tools 9.0 was already a very efficient program. The only reason I chose to upgrade so quickly was because of the extended disk caching with the complete production toolkit. If you are using 9.0 and are happy with it right now there is no reason to rush out to upgrade, unless you can upgrade for free. After spending $300.00 less than a year ago the new features really do not justify absolutely having to have this.

    I know Avid threw in the so called "Clip gain" but that is not a feature that I would use a lot, because of the need to keep any type of gain consist across a whole track as opposed to a plethora of different volumes. The AAX plug-in format is not even introduced yet, and I have not really used the 3 new plug-ins for need to stick with the ones I use on a regular basis.

    However, for the HD users on the site PT 10 finally gives HD the same mix engine as LE in 9.0. In 9.0 the LE actually had a better mix in engine as opposed to HD.

    If you have the money buy it, if not stay with 9.0 until you can but don't feel bad about it you already have a great version.

Questions about the Avid ProTools 10 - Student Upgrade from PT9?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway