0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Avid Pro Tools 10 for Students - Student Upgrade from LE Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from San Antonio, TX, USA January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Student, Aspiring Artist

    Avid Pro Tools 10 For Students

    I'm really happy that Sweetwater provided this product! It is a big part of my life, and Pro Tools 10 has been amazing so far. Thanks for all the support that Sweetwater has offered me too! Getting personally contacted has been a really huge part of my learning. This product is a lot more than I expected, and performed no less than what I expected it to do! Greatly recommended for the beginning and professional musician!

  • from Florida January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Saxophone player

    Pro tools 10 for student up grade

    This is the best investment I have done. I went form 8 to 10.0.3 it is grate & the Sweetwater staff is very friendly and help.
    thank you Sweetwater

  • from San Antonio, TX December 17, 2012Music Background:
    Student/Hobbyist/Muscian

    There can only be one!

    Pro Tools 10 is the best DAW one can have. I recently purchased this and was totally floored. I use a 3rd gen Mbox pro with it and my possibilities are as endless as the raging seas. When I am not studying or writing music, I am locked into PT for hours and hours smiling with pride as my projects come to life. Only Pro Tools can offer this experience -the true DAW experience. Step up or get off because there is no substitute.

  • from November 21, 2012

    excellent work

    reasonable price, great service and customer care

  • from Long Beach, CA USA November 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Pro Tools 10

    I really like the product. I've been using it for a few weeks now and I've haven't had any problems yet. Also the shipping was nice and simple.

  • from Colorado, United States September 21, 2012Music Background:
    bassist, live sound, producer

    Professional tools for us students

    I'm a computer science student working on PhD. My thesis is based on tools for the blind, and I'm using PT10 to develop multimedia production in demos for both games and seeing color thru sound.
    PT10 is better suited for assembly like recording than say, Logic Pro, and I've used it for my band with a Tascam US2000 for getting in up to 14 tracks at once at an old ADAT studio, where the patch bays offered all the sources and returns we needed for recording and monitoring and mixing — we even used a few outboard effects, like real 1176s and Alesis Q-verbs.
    And having used Avid's Sibelius prior was nice for creating a score.
    The drawback is its MIDI limitations— PT is a audio recorder; not a sequencer, and implementation is somewhat restrictive for totally electronic compositions. It will create an accurate score though from the "instrument" and MIDI tracks.

    PS-- it uses the processors heavily, so don't expect to read e-mails, play games and run cold fusion simulations while recording and especially when mixing.

  • from matamoras, pa April 19, 2012Music Background:
    recording, mixing and mastering engineer, recording artist, songwriter, studio designer, promoter

    AMAZING as always

    love pro tools and love dealing with sweetwater.. as usual everything went perfect

  • from Tacoma, Wa March 23, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Singer/Songwriter

    Pro Tools 10 Works Perfect with AMD A8-3870 APU

    We held our breath a wee bit building a new Pro Tools 10 Native based DAW using AMD's new A8-3870 architecture which has a fairly good Radeon HD 6550D graphics core GPU built right into the CPU architecture.Our fears were mainly because we couldn't find anybody in forums that had built a Pro Tools 10 DAW with these combinations of chipsets etc.... Not usually to smart of a move with a DAW since not only power is needed but more importantly stability is also paramount. We ended up using an excellent ASUS F1A75-V PRO motherboard which is the AMD A75 chipset and of course an FM1 Socket. The beauty of this motherboard besides SATA 6.0 G/b's and USB 3.0, is this MOBO has plenty of PCI and PCI express to install any combination of internal Audio Cards--- we used our older RME HDSP 9632 and the AI4S-192 AIO daughter card we purchased from Sweetwater over 3 years ago. In typical fashion RME Drivers are impeccable and I/O Cards installed without a hitch. Also make note that the ASUS F1A75-V PRO can take the new , but hardly available 16 GIG DDR3 Memory sticks which gives this system a longer shelf life being able to load 64 GIGS of RAM when that Memory down the road gets cheap enough. We loaded 16 GIG of memory for now. We used an extremely fast Patriot 120GIG SSD for Windows 7 Pro 64bit OS, and a Seagate 2.0 Terabyte drive with 7200 RPM and a 64 MB data buffer for recording the Pro Tools 10 Project files. We put a Lite-On DVD writer and an excellent 850 watt Corsair power supply ( don't scimp on a Power Supply). Our New Pro Tools 10 Audio Workstation Computer came out to be less than $1000.00 not including RME Cards, but hey, we are tickled with it's performance, especially even without a high dollar video card installed this system can edit AVCHD in Adobe Production Premium with ease giving us a great Audio/Video Workstaion. Now all our Pro Tools 10 new computer needed was performing the necessary PC Optimization guide we received from Sweetwater for free baby, no body beats this great company for knowledge and support and products. All other companies would do well to follow the Sweetwater business model because they kill every other company in the Pro Audio/Music industry period! Chris Lewis is our Engineer contact and go-to guy there at Sweetwater and he has an amazing understanding. Two weeks later we built an AMD FX 6100 system with almost same configuration as A8-3870 system but we bought a RME HDSP e AIO and Nuendo 5.5 all from Sweetwater and it is also running Sweet thanks to Sweetwater.....

  • from Illinois September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, producer, student

    Great buy for a student with LE already

    I love protools everything seems to be working smoother than LE was and I love the look of the I faces of effects not archaic 90s looking stuff

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools 10 for Students - Student Upgrade from LE?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway