0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Rode PSA1 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Rode PSA1?

Questions about the Rode PSA1?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from fort wayne indiana December 20, 2016Music Background:
    semi-pro

    wow

    amazing fit into my home studio and much more dynamic than I expected! excited to launch my podcast show!

  • from May 31, 2016

    Rode PSA1

    Simply Awesome!

  • from Massachusetts April 19, 2016Music Background:
    Voiceover

    Perfect Studio Stand

    A stand with the long coiled springs can have a mind of its own depending on the weight of the mic. Like others have stated, this stand is stays in place. It's works smoothly. The desk mount is very solid.

  • from Utah December 31, 2015Music Background:
    Voice over

    Well Engineered

    Smooth action and actually stays where you put it. My old cheap one constantly needed adjustment and was difficult to get it just right. I may sound picky but recording audio books I don't like to fight with the mic's position constantly.

  • from Ogden, UT December 8, 2015Music Background:
    Voice over

    I love it!

    Well engineered, steady, excellent reach, and smooth operation. Has two options for mounting which is nice as sometimes mounting on the desk edge with a clamp doesn't work well. It's well worth the money.

  • from July 27, 2015

    Beautiful Product!

    The Rode PSA1 is brilliantly designed, it's easy to set up and does everything one needs.

  • from Vista, CA November 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just the right accessory!

    Great for my needs. It is very stable in any position. Professional looking. The design covers all unsightly springs that show up in other brands. The PSA1 covers all levels within the metal casing with no noise when you move it. Holds the weight of any of my MXL, Rode, and Audio-Technica mics including the pop filter without sagging. I definitely recommend it.

  • from June 14, 2014

    Awesome mic stand

    The build quality on this is great. Exactly what I was looking for! If you are after a boom arm for your microphone, I'd definitely recommend this one.

  • from Jax Fl July 22, 2013Music Background:
    DJ

    Awesome !!!

    Great Ddition to the home studio. works perfectly and keeps my mic where I need it.

  • from Eustis Fl. May 10, 2013

    Rode PSA1

    This seems to be a well built mic arm. It's quiet, no springs that you can see, and it comes with 2 different mounts witch are both very well built! I like the Velcro cord wraps as well. I am using this with a EV RE20 mic as well as the EV 309 A shock mount and it seems to be very well balanced with this set up! And by the way, Sweetwater had the BEST prices (and free shipping) compaired to any local or internet
    store!
    Thanks again Sweetwater!

  • from Glendale, CA April 20, 2013

    Wow, is this great.

    Perfectly balanced, easy to install, a drill-through option if you have a desk with a curvy edge, and IT JUST WORKS. Sooooo much better than the more expensive K&M one.

  • from Schererville, IN December 12, 2012Music Background:
    singer/songwriter

    Great at twice the price (shhhh don't tell Rode)

    No picture of the awesome desk insert. You can use the clamp just as well, but the desk insert is even sweeter! I worried about drilling a 1" hole, but given the clamp, I was able to measure and test with my mic and prove that this was going to deliver 100%, before I took the plunge... Now I tuck the mic behind my monitor when not using it and it's so much nicer. The mic stays exactly where you put it. It's like magic. I'll never put this mic on a boom stand again... :)

  • from Syracuse, New York June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Web Cast, Live Audio, Recording, Live Streaming

    Good Boom

    Strong, no noise when moving, easy to adjust. I bought two of them and feel good now.

  • from June 12, 2012

    Exceeded my expectations

    I know a Boom arm isn't the most glamorous purchase, but this is actually one of the most practical purchases I have made in a while.

    I pleased with the balance and build quality of this boom. It's quiet and stays exactly where I want it. No problem holding the mic, shock mount and pop filter.

    I thought I was going to have to drill a hole in my desk and use the insert mount, as I didn't think the clamp mount would do the job. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the clamp is BOMB PROOF and won't leave marks on my desk. I mean, it's a very solid stable design, I never expected it to be so strong.

    The included velcro cord wraps where another nice touch. Somehow, I didn't realize they came with the stand.

    Good work Rode.

  • from October 13, 2016

    Rode PSA1

    I would have given a five star but the mic clip tightening screw is a bit anemic. Otherwise, this thing is made like a brick! I love the hole mount included!

  • from NC February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Studio Musician, Songwritter, Arranger

    What I needed!

    Very well built, stays in place, sturdy; and above all, sweetwater delivered it super fast. This is a keeper.
    Recommeded it to a friend of mine looking for something like this.
    You can use the C-clamp or drill a hole- I'm using the clamp and it holds well.

  • from Studio City, California July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Producer of syndicated radio shows and features

    A Very Smart Buy

    This is the slimmest, lightest studio boom arm I've ever used. Smart design, easy to use, very effective and quiet. We have two of these holding up Electro Voice RE20 Microphones and couldn't be happier.

  • from San Francisco Bay Area September 5, 2016

    good quality arm

    absolutely no complaints. Seems to be well made. Have nothing else to compare it to but I'm pleased so far

  • from Paramus, NJ December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    As Advertised

    As advertised and met expectations set by other reviewers. The only feedback is that there is a movable plastic piece at the back of the bottom knuckle joint that is not explained in the manual. I cannot tell if it is for threading the wire through the hole in a permanent desk installation or for something else.

  • from Philadelphia, PA November 15, 2014Music Background:
    Voice Over Talent

    Great solution

    I have two microphones that I like to alternate and like to have them both setup in my recording booth. I purchased two Rode boom arms and now when I'm not using one of the mics, I just swing it over to the side out of the way. This is a well made product and I am very pleased with it.

  • from United States February 12, 2014

    Excellent Accesory

    This is a high quality mic boom that let's you get the mic up off the desk and position it where you want. It holds position consistently without drifting up or down. The clamp is strong and has a wide enough grip to handle most desks or tables.

  • from Pacific Palisades, CA June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician and songwriter

    Why hadn't I thought of this before?

    Actually, I didn't think of it. I was asking the Sweetwater guy for a short mic boom, in order to record vocals while sitting in front of the computer in my workroom. He recommended this, and it turns out to be exactly what I needed. Mic placement is perfect without blocking the screen or getting in the way of my hands on the keyboard, and when done singing or talking the armature swings out of the way simply and naturally. For hard drive recording while sitting at a desk, I'd consider it a must. Glad I thought of it.

  • from Ft. Lauderdale Florida December 6, 2012Music Background:
    Broadcaster/Celebrity interviewer

    Rode mic stand

    My voiceover studio has taken shape with this versatile and professional stand. After planning how my studio would look..I knew this was a must have. It is solid !

  • from NY January 5, 2017Music Background:
    professional audio engineer

    wobbly

    there's nothing in the top of the clamp to secure the arm, so it wobbles all around and theres nothing to keep it from drifting side to side. This seems like a really obvious oversight. it seemed so weird to me that i searched all my materials and the assembly guide, thinking that i'd surely missed some step. Nope. just poor construction. disappointed, especially at this price point.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN December 17, 2013Music Background:
    NA

    disappointing construction flaws

    Just about every part of this boom could be improved with very little extra care from Rode.

    1) The clamp base should have a nylon insert like the drill through flange base. This would remove the annoying sloppy wobble fit when you insert the arm's base post. Every time you push the arm back out of the way, you're reminded of this sloppy fit as the arm rocks in the over-sized hole. I gave up with the clamp base and drilled a hole in my desk to mount the flange base.

    2) The Velcro straps that hold the mic cable to the arm are just a few millimeters too short to make a secure wrap. I replaced them with black wraps from Lowe's.

    3) The drill through flange base needs a fender washer placed between the underside of the mounting surface and nut. The very narrow ring of the nut digs into the desk top underside without the fender washer. Ideally, the lock nut would be more like a kitchen sink faucet lock nut with a broader diameter and wings to grip it to snug it down. The narrow knurled ring Rode provided chews into your fingers as you try to tighten it. The fender washer is my cheap fix for the Rode poor design

    4) At this price point, Rode should provide a mic clip for attaching cylindrical or tapered mics. Even the product picture looks unfinished with a bare stud where you expect a mic clip. The included 3/8" to 5/8" threaded adapter is a nice touch.

    For years I used a small desktop base with a telescoping elbow intended to mic an instrument. The joints all have secure locking mechanisms, the arm didn't wobble and it put the mic where I wanted it for operating my HF transceiver. It looked a little kludged together and so I thought it was time to upgrade and buy a real boom arm. I've been satisfied with Rode mics, but that satisfaction doesn't transfer over to this PSA1 boom. I may use this boom on a second operating position, but I'm going back to my tried and true kludged together boom for my primary operating station. Don't discredit my review just because I'm not a musician. The desire to have good audio is universal whether you are recording voice-overs, laying down musical tracks, or communicating around the world on HF amateur radio

    As always, the staff at Sweetwater was efficient and polite when making the sale.

Questions about the Rode PSA1?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway