0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Stedman Corporation Proscreen 101 - 4.6" w/Gooseneck Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Stedman Corporation Proscreen 101 - 4.6" w/Gooseneck?

Questions about the Stedman Corporation Proscreen 101 - 4.6" w/Gooseneck?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from August 30, 2016

    Very Good

    I thought about buying an additional pop screen (a cloth one) to reduce the chance of pops to absolute 0%. It turns out that I don't need it. This one works fine on its own. 0% chance of pops! I'm glad I bought this one!

  • Rick
    from Minnesota June 27, 2016Music Background:
    Producer, Composer, Musician, Mixer

    If You Record Voices, You Need This!

    This is not like other pop screens! Though it might be hard to get real excited about something so apparently simple, the Stedman virtually eliminates plosives when recording both singing and spoken voices without coloring the sound. Highly recommended.

  • D.K.
    from Detroit, MI July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Broadcast radio veteran

    Great choice

    Kills pops dead. A must have for any vocal audio recording. Simple to use and adjust position.

  • Bill Troxler
    from Chincoteague Island, VA February 2, 2012Music Background:
    Audio engineer, musician

    Fixed White Noise Problem with Flute & Whistle

    Recording a traditional wooden flute or low D tin whistle can be difficult. These fipple flutes generate a good deal of white noise. It's tought to EQ the noise out and maintain the quality of the voice of the insturment. Thanks to advice from a Sweetwater engineer, I use the Royer pop filter backed up by a fabric pop filter. This combo has fixed the problem. Really a great, simple, passive solution to an ever present problem

  • Steve Vertigan
    from Melbourne, Australia November 11, 2011Music Background:
    Full-time sound engineer

    Royer PS-101 Pop Filter

    This is truly a terrific pop filter. I achieve transparent sound whilst attenuating every wind blast so far. The best I've owned.

  • K. Kimmel
    from Frederick, MD February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Voice Actor

    It Works

    Functional and flexible. The 13" gooseneck has proven to be very useful. Easily attaches to stand and brackets and equally easy to position.

  • Patrick
    from Indiana July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Hobbyist Recording & Mixing Engineer

    Good Popfilter

    Works great and as described. My only complaint is that the gooseneck does not reach as far as I imagined 13" would. Regardless, I am still very satisfied with the excellent quality of Stedman products.

  • Giuliano
    from Miami, FL June 19, 2012Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing Engineer

    Very Good

    Surprisingly good. Didn't think that anything other than foam would actually diminish the plosives on a vocal, proved me
    wrong. You can clean it with water so it wont start smelling bad, and it's durable. Worth the money.

  • Michael
    from Atlanta, GA August 7, 2008Music Background:
    Multi-talented genius

    A better pop filter

    I'd been using a 6" "pantyhose" filter for years. It stopped plosives pretty well, and if there was some microscopic loss of fidelity it never bothered me. But some vocalists hated it because it made them feel claustrophobic to have this HUGE BLACK DOT hovering inches from their face. That's why I got a smaller filter, and I figured Royer knows what he's doing so I'd try this one. First of all, it's more pleasant to look at because you can see through it somewhat. As far as sound, I feel that there is more fidelity to tape using this filter, that it filters plosives better, and for some reason it seems to filter many harsh sibilants, as well. The pantyhose filter did not filter sibilants at all, not that I noticed, anyway. Who knows, maybe I'm imagining it. But overall I do find this more pleasant to work with and it doesn't break the bank, so I'd recommend it.

  • Joe Cervone
    from Denver, CO May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Performer, Producer, Arranger. Pro Musician.

    Well engineered screen...but...

    While the screen works pretty much perfectly (especially if you follow the directions to the letter); the gooseneck is too short for good articulation on large-format microphones and boom arms.

  • Customer
    from November 17, 2013

    OK popfilter

    Lowers the effect of P B and K's but colors high fq's. For the price I don't think it's worth it.

  • Brad Smalling
    from Evergreen, CO June 13, 2017Music Background:
    Recording, Mixing, Mastering Professional

    Too Fragile / Not For Pro Studios

    I echo what Ryan said in a previous review. The screen can break from the weld points at the bracket very easily. Even though Stedman claims a "LIFETIME WARRANTY" this will be considered "misuse" and not be covered.

    If you only record yourself in your home studio then there's a good chance this pop filter will last you a long time. However, if you run a commercial studio and work with different artists each day then avoid this pop filter. If just one artist adjusts this pop filter by grabbing the screen instead of the bracket then you can consider your warranty void.

  • Ryan O'Toole
    from Long Island City, NY August 15, 2016

    Screen is brittle. Get one with a frame

    I recommend Stedman Pop screens, just not this one. getting rid of the metal rim around the screen makes it more transparent. What you gain in transparency, you lose in 2 ways. 1) the metal pop screen is brittle and if bent slightly will snap off completely. 2) it's rather sharp to the touch.

  • Ralph Camoran
    from Los Angeles, April 4, 2006

    PS101 metal pop stopper

    These are well made popper stoppers, but as the previous reviewer suggests, they do take some of the "top" off the sound getting to the mic. Not sure? Take the metal stopper and hold it near your ear. Things sound different coming thru from the other side, shouldn't but it does. Cloth ones sound the same. Try it.

  • Customer
    June 1, 2005

    A great pop stopper

    This is a great addition to a mic locker. I use mine every day. It's definitely more durable than most pop stoppers. And its easier to clean. Does it color the sound less? I dunno. Panty hose poppers may cut a db off the highs. Maybe the metal has its own resonant probs. But that stuff is so minimal it all means nothing in the end. This is definitely a better stopper for hip hop (in fact, I bought it because the hip hop clients were popping my mics with the cloth stoppers). Only cons are that it can be dangerous if you bop it (it can cut a client because of the edges). And more important, it definitely will pick up on mic if the client bops it (you cannot usually hear a noise if a client bops a cloth one). Best bet for hip hop or screaming metal gods? I double up. Metal one towards mic, cloth one towards client. And if you think its taking away some of the hi end of the voice, that's what God made EQ for. At least the mic is safe. Trust me, If you get this stopper, you wont be sorry! Esp if you do hard singers.

Questions about the Stedman Corporation Proscreen 101 - 4.6" w/Gooseneck?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway