0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

PRS Vintage Guitar Case Reviews

4.5 stars based on 33 customer reviews
Questions about the PRS Vintage Guitar Case?

Questions about the PRS Vintage Guitar Case?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Mena April 19, 2016Music Background:
    Hobby

    PRS Vintage case

    Well built case with plenty of paddig and a really tight fit. I also like the way they put the accessory box in so that you can get in it without moving the guitar.

  • from Southern Cal November 25, 2015

    Great case

    PRS makes this case as a multi model hard shell case. My PRS S2 Custom Semi Hollow came with a gig bag that is good for a quick in and out performance, but is not good for air travel or protective storage. My sales rep, Matt Emick, suggested that this case might fill my needs and he was right. Again. The fit was a bit tight at first but after storing the S2 for a week the fit was perfect. You can expect the same quality of craftsmanship that PRS puts into it's guitars in this case. (this case looks just like my other PRS cases that came with the 7 core guitars that I already owned) A decent value but a great case. Looking for a hard shell case, made very well and at an OK price then this is for you!

  • from Fort Wayne October 7, 2015

    Great Case!

    In June I purchased an Amherst PRS SE custom at the Sweetwater store. It quickly became the favorite of all my guitars. I wanted to take it with me when I went between houses and just didn't feel the gig bag was sufficient to protect it. I called Brian at Sweetwater and he got out one of these cases and a PRS like mine and put it in the case and made sure it was the perfect case for my guitar, all while on the phone with me. I drove by ran in, picked up the case and paid for it and on my way in less than 10 min. The case is very sturdy, solid and a perfect fit for my guitar. I love the storage compartment inside.I have purchased many things at Sweetwater. The staff is very knowledgable, professional and friendly. Great service and products is what you will always receive at Sweetwater

  • from Port St. John, Florida November 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Protected my PRS through car wreck

    I bought one of these for my PRS 245. About a month later, I was in a serious car accident where my truck rolled over at least once. I woke up in the hospital with no memory of the accident at all, and I had no idea where my guitar was. It turned out they had tossed it in the bed of my truck when they towed it off. When I finally saw the case, my heart sank. One latch was smashed and broken off. There were gouges and tears all over the tolex from all the glass, and a stress crack along half the length of one edge and completely across the bottom as if it had been bent like a bow. I popped it open half expecting my baby to be in 2 pieces. To my surprise, my guitar was fine. I checked it over thoroughly. Not a scratch. All I had to do was retune it as a couple strings had popped out of their nut grooves. The case was destroyed, but my guitar was fine.

    I'll be getting another case just like it.

  • from Marathon, Florida December 21, 2013Music Background:
    Long time guitar player rock'n since the '70s

    My PRS is safe in this case

    Perfect fit for my PRS with a huge storage box inside. Strong latches and locks on this heavy duty case. Very satisfied with my purchase and great looking case also.

  • from Jacksonville, Fl. USA October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    PRS Vintage Guitar Case - Excellent!

    Excellent quality case for my new PRS SE Custom 24, and exactly what I was looking for. Great service as always.

  • from Midwest, USA October 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great case for your PRS S2!

    My PRS S2 Custom 24 came with a gig bag which is a nicer than normal gigbag but I wanted a hard case for it.

    Got this from Sweetwater and it fits my guitar perfectly! The case is pretty heavy but everything seems solid so no worries.

  • from Katy, TX October 2, 2013Music Background:
    Picker and Grinner

    Excellent Case

    Very high quality case that fits my PRS SE Santana like a glove. Just cant remember which sides up dangit!

  • from Albany, NY August 18, 2013Music Background:
    Rhythm player for working rock band.

    Hefty but beautiful and very sturdy

    I bought this for my PRS SE Santana since I gig with it and a gig bad doesn't cut it when you are playing out every weekend! This case was much heavier than I thought it would be but that's because
    of the superior protection it offers your guitar. I would strongly recommend it for anyone looking for a PRS hard shell case and Sweetwater is the only place you'll find it at this price. GREAT CASE!

  • from Chicago April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer Pro Musician ASCAP.

    The PRS Vintage Guitar Case

    This is a well made case for the price

  • from cedar hill mo usa March 12, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist/ amature

    heavy, but protective, that's a good thing.

    my prs se custom 24 came with a very nice gig bag, but i prefer the protection that this case provides. yes it's heavy,maybe heavier than the guitar, but i've never seen a better fit. it also has a roomy storage area with snapping lid, plus plenty of open space. my next prs will likley be a maryland guitar, but if it's a se i would buy a case with it. anyone need a nice prs gig bag ?

  • from Alexandria, VA USA February 16, 2013Music Background:
    your ordinary guitar player..

    BEAUTIFUL!

    super blown away!.. quite heavy but perfect for traveling around the world.. you have an assurance that your guitar is 100% protected.. fits my les paul too.. so very perfect!.. (and there's free candies..)

  • from Auburn, WA. January 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    PRS Multi Fit Case

    I bought my first one for a 2012 SE Santana.
    Then got one for my sons 2012 SE Semi-Hollow,
    Then I picked up a 2012 SE Custom 24, then a 2012 SE Tremonti Custom.

    The guitars are a nice snug fit and do not move around.
    Very well built case, and I will buy them again if I get any more SE models.

    The snap closed compartment is also very handy for carrying extra strings, picks, polish rag, ect.

  • from Rockville, MD January 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Case.. Amazing customer service!

    Really nice case for a really affordable price. Fits my SE Tremonti guitar. It's quite heavy but it's solid and definitely will protect my guitar. Has some room for straps, acessories, etc. But wait there's more, free candies
    from Sweetwater, talk about customer service.

    Thanks to my sales engineer, Phil for an amazing service.

  • from Huntsville, AL January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    PRS Vintage Guitar Case

    After purchasing and returning a generic brand guitar case for my PRS Custom SE 24, I purchased a PRS case from Sweetwater. It was a little more money. However, the case was high quality and fit my guitar perfectly. For anyone looking for a PRS case as an upgrade from a gig bag or as a replacement case, this case is an outstanding value. I am extreme pleased with the results..

  • from Sioux City, IA January 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    PRS Vintage Guitar Case

    I helped a friend get a PRS guitar and I insisted that he should put it in an authentic case. We are both highly impressed with this case. This is the nicest and well built case I've ever seen. I was always impressed with my Epiphone cases but they took the back seat to this one. I joked with him that I would give him one of my universal cases and keep this one for myself. The weight of the case is offset so it balances when the guitar is in it. It has a large storage section that stays closed until you unsnap it. It really compliments the guitar.

  • from New Mexico..USA!!!! November 8, 2011Music Background:
    student . hobby, metalhead!

    great PRS case.. tight fit.

    This case is great and fits my PRS Akerfelt real well, the only thing i noticed is how close to the tip of the Guitars head it is. I have been told that is how PRS cases are too. It is very tight fitting and touches the edge of the cases padding, in other words it does not free float inside like skb or gators. Could be my model guitar too. I guess this is how PRS cases are. very snug and no play so it fits tight. Outside is awesome and tough , almost shell like, the thing is heavy duty too and has some weight with tough latches that snap tight also. Your guitar will be safe in this thing as thick as it is. bottom has nice buttons to set it up without falling. and a great compartment too that snaps tight . A solid case that looks nice. Streewater sent it packed well. and fast too.

  • from Southington, CT August 19, 2011Music Background:
    Cover band lead guitar player

    Perfect

    I needed a replacement case for my PRS 20th Anniversary Artist Series Custom 24 guitar. PRS wanted something like $500 for one. Yeah, thanks but no thanks.

    Along comes Sweetwater with this magnificent PRS case for a great price. I ordered it, received it in *2* days and it's PERFECT. Gotta love the new guitar case smell! Seriously though, it's a great case and even has extra room in it (versus my old case) that I use to store a backup set of tubes for my Marshall. I highly recommend this case.

  • from England July 19, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Brilliant Product - Brilliant Service

    The case is just what my son wanted for his PRS 25th Edition Guitar. The guitar came with a White Leather Case - not good when gigging - so he needed to buy a black one - and he did - from you!!
    As Sweetwater only ship within the States, we asked our good friend in America to get it for us and for him to ship it over to the UK. It was still cheaper to do it this way than to buy the case in the UK.

  • from Newark, de July 4, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Prs case

    Perfect replacement for my old beat up PRS case. Exactly like the original!

  • from Western KY February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Student, Hobbyist

    Great case for PRS SE Custom Semi-Hollow

    Great case for PRS SE Custom Semi-Hollow Guitar! The fit is perfect and there is a lot of room in the case for extras. Would have given 5 stars but case is very heavy!

  • from Florida November 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Blues rhythm guitar jammer

    PRS Vintage Guitar Case

    High quality, fit like a glove. Great protection for my PRS Santana.

  • from west bloomfield, MI October 9, 2013Music Background:
    self taught musician

    protect your new guitar with a vintage case

    This well made guitar case is the perfect addition to your new or old guitar. The plush lining protects your instrument inside just like the hardshell protects from the outside. This guitar case is perfect for travel to a jam session or to a recording session...It protects your valuable guitar

  • from Aberdeen, MD USA June 21, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Actress, Amature Musician, Student

    Almost perfect!

    In all honesty this is a pretty darn good case.The hardware is wonderful, the stitching is of very good quality, it looks fantastic, and the inside is absolutely to die for. The only issue I have with the case at all, and maybe it's just me, but the covering material on the outside seems pretty thin/cheap in my opinion. I haven't had a tear or rip at all (then again I haven't done any real travel with the case), but it doesn't seem like it would take much to damage the covering. All I know is It's definitely not on par with the sort of tolex covering material I've worked with before. Aside from that however the case is pretty much perfect and well worth the cost. It was exactly what I needed for my PRS Orianthi SE however, and well within my budget.

  • from Coeburn Va May 22, 2012Music Background:
    Between gigging and hobbyist

    PRS Guitar Case

    I purchased this case for my Zach Myers SE guitar. The gig bag is nice but I wanted the extra protection the hardshell provides. My guitar fit very snug although I didn't experience the headstock tightness the reviewer below noted.
    The case itself is a very tight fitting case. Beats the SKB and Fender cases I own too. The storage compartment is quite large and could actually hold a small pedal.
    Sweetwater shipping really impressed me. OTHER companies send a shipped notice when the package hasn't even left their facility. This case shipped on a Thursday and I got it on Saturday

  • from Andover, Minnesota September 12, 2016

    PRS vintage guitar case

    I have a PRS SE 30th anniversary custom 24 guitar. The guitar fits like a glove. The case is very plush and professional looking. I would've given it a 5 but the case is on the heavy side. Built like a tank but heavy.

  • from Park Ridge, IL June 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    PRS Vintage Case - Double Cut Models

    This case fit my 1995 PRS USA Custom 22 perfectly. The original case started to falll apart, so I needed a new case. I gave this new case a 4-star rating because I have some nit-picky issues with it. First, I prefer the spring-loaded locking end latches and the padded leather handle of the original case. Also, the original case's storage compartment was a little larger. Finally, I thought the price of the new case was a little high. All in all, I am satisfied with the new case, but I feel the original case was a little nicer.

  • from NY May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Part time musician

    PRS vintage hardshell guitar case

    Nice sturdy case fits my PRS Custom 22 perfectly !
    Only issue is the weight. Weighs a lot more than my original case.

  • from N. Syracuse, NY December 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    GREAT CASE

    This case was just what I needed for my Custom 24. With the fitted interior, it cradles the guitar perfectly. Plenty of storage in the separate compartment for your strap, some tools, maybe even a pedal. Excellent quality!

  • from NYC / New Haven, CT February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Hobbyist

    Heavy, unwieldly, sheds

    This case shipped with my PRS Custom 24 (or rather, my Custom shipped inside it). Despite being pretty nice / luxurious, it has some very real practical concerns:

    1) It is HEAVY! They took great pains to make this as much like a "vintage" case as possible - that includes making the frame out of solid wood. I'm not sure what kind of wood the frame is made of, but with the guitar inside it, you're essentially dealing with a giant block of wood with a handle attached. Several times, I've carried the case in one hand, and my Egnater Tweaker 40 tube amp in the other - this case rivals my amp's weight.

    2) The handle is hard to grip, which is only made worse by how heavy the thing is. It's made of textured plastic (not leather / rubber!), and slips out of your hand within minutes. It's also awkwardly placed toward the back of the case, which can make it hard to balance, or more annoyingly, hard to hold onto on a windy day.

    3) The felt lining sheds little black hairs all over the place - don't be surprised to find them inside your guitar bridge or tremolo cavity.

    4) I must say, although it's a *pretty* tight fit, I was expecting a tighter fit, given that this is the manufacturer's case. I'm guessing they made it somewhat looser to accomodate the slightly different body shapes of the Santana & McCarthy.

    I ended up replacing this case with the SKB 3i-4214-PRS waterproof, airtight, TSA-approved flight case - WOW what an improvement in every way! PRS should contract with SKB to make these their default factory cases!

  • from Nashville, NC November 12, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    A good fit???

    The case is well made, however, my PRS SE Tremonti Custom hovers about 2 inches above the neck support when laying in the case. The fit is great, except for this major detail. The case is very soft inside, so I hope it's not putting any pressure on my neck joint. I thought as time went on, the case would "mold" to the guitar. I've had the case for about a month now, and the neck still hovers the same as when I first got it. In fact, this is the only guitar I own that I leave out of its case-- and only because I'm concerned with the fit. I really only leave it in the case long enough to transport it. I would certainly suggest that you only buy this case if you check your guitar's fit in it first.

  • from Sacramento, CA December 31, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    OK but low quality for a PRS Case

    I purchased this case for my PRS SE Custom 24 instead of one of the cheaper alternatives thinking it would be a good fit. It was, almost. While the guitar sits in the case the neck does not rest in the support until you close the lid which leaves the rear part of the body elevated slightly. I almost sent it back because of this but in the end it was not worth the restocking fee and return shipping.

    This case is heavy and that's OK but the hardware is cheap. Having owned 3 PRS American Customs it's easy to see that PRS is cutting corners and it shows in the lower build quality.

    This is still a good case and I would recommend it but just don't expect your Korean made PRS to fit the way an American made PRS would.

  • from Sacramento, CA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Not a good fit for PRS SE Custom 24

    I had high hopes for this case but ultimately it proved to be of lower quality than expected. I could have lived with the lower quality hardware and fit and finish but the showstopper for me was that my PRS SE Custom 24 does not sit in the case correctly. When the guitar is sitting in the case the neck does not rest in the support until you close the lid. Then when the lid is closed the rear most part of the body of the guitar is not supported. This is due to a kind of fulcrum effect created by the padding in the case. I had to RMA this. Not Sweetwater's fault... just a faulty PRS design for a not so cheap case.

Questions about the PRS Vintage Guitar Case?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway