rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Peavey PR 12 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Kansas December 14, 2013Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Compact Very Efficient Speaker

    I purchased a pair of these to use as the main sattelite speakers of my PA. I have been using a pair of older Peavey SP2's and, the SP2's are Great! but, I'm getting older and the SP2's are not getting any lighter or easier to haul around and, setup.
    I have an older model passive Peavey 2-15 sub that allows these to be connected same as the SP2's. This whole rig is powered by a Peavey XR8600 powered mixer and, it is more than adequate for small to medium sized gigs. I have also used this PA outdoors with outstanding success.
    At 33 lbs. and for the way they perform, It's a beautiful thing. I have used a tremendous amount of Peavey gear throughout the years and, it has never let me down. The pricetag on these is affordable for any working musician and, as I have said the performance is excellent.
    I am very satisfied with these and, would recommend these to anyone looking to upgrade or just starting out for a PA setup.

  • from Dallas August 24, 2011Music Background:
    Jazz musician

    Great and easy on the wallet and back

    Purchased these for their light weight design. I use them for rehearsal work and monitors. Their sound is balanced and punchy. The cabinet resonance is reasonably controlled for a poly designed structure. The quality is high and the price is very competitive.

    Best of all these are made in the USA and do not add to the national deficit. Recommended.

  • from New Mexico October 7, 2010Music Background:
    active musician

    Pure Peavey Quality...seriously great price.

    I've owned quite a bit of Peavey gear over the years, so I'm well aware how rugged their gear is. I needed a smaller PA that was easy to move, easy to set up, sounded great, and didn't cost a fortune. I demoed a set of these and was very impressed. Great bass response, smooth highs, and built like a tank...but easy to carry!

    Do they sound as good as a $1000 box? No...but for the money, they are seriously great speakers!

  • from Kansas City MO USA July 22, 2010Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Great match for the XR Powered mixers

    I bought two of these to complement the XR1212P mixer and this is a match made in heaven. This is the best balance of lightweight design and power for sound I've found in a mixer/speaker tandem. For those who want more depth for an electric guitar based band--spend a little more for the PR15 speakers. But these are great for acoustic or bluegrass ensembles.
    The lightweight design also means you won't break your back loading them in and out of your vehicle.

  • from Yuma, AZ February 3, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Absolutely the Best 10 inch Speakers, I own the PR 10's

    I use these outdoors and so many people come up to me and ask what they are. They cannot believe the sound quality. I use a bridged amp putting out 280 watts into these 400 watt speakers. These speakers are absolutely the very best I have ever owned and I have owned Peavey equipment for over 25 years.

  • from Washington,NC January 1, 2012Music Background:
    Minister of Music/ Sound Engineer

    Can't go wrong with these Peavey PR12's

    Great speakers for the price, and that's exactly what they are,PA Speakers. I use them for church, the vocals are great,the bass is low,but enough.The sound quality is great,qrisp,clean and not to mention how light weight they are.They're really worth the price for a Peavey product.

  • from North Kingstown, RI August 3, 2011Music Background:
    Electronics engineer, choral singer. Part time recording / reinforcement tech.

    Great directional speaker

    I mike my chorus from a distance to get the best vocal blend, (100 member chorus.) The PR12's give me a nice sound without feedback because they have great directional qualities.

  • from Oregon October 4, 2011Music Background:
    Independent artist and producer

    Shocked

    These are the first pa speakers I've ever owned. That said.... I'm glad! I bought two for concerts and I was shocked at how well they sounded for their price and was surprised at how light they were! Great price, great sound, easy transportation for concerts.... they are hard to beat.

  • from springfield ,mass April 5, 2012Music Background:
    mc/producer/music educator

    peavey pr 12

    I 'm happy with my new peavey pr 12's I would purchase more peavey products in the future

  • from HENDERSONVILLE TN,USA February 27, 2006

    THE ONLY PEAVEY PRODUCT THAT I EVER OWNED THAT I DIDN'T LIKE!!

    I HAD BOUGHT 2 OF THE PR12'S BECAUSE THE PRICE WAS GOOD AND THEY SEEMED LIKE A COOL CONCEPT, POWERFUL,LIGHT, SPEAKER CABINETS!!! THESE WERE A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!! THE SOUND WAS MUFFLED EVEN WHEN EQ'D TO DEATH!!! I WAS EMBARRASED TO TAKE THEM TO DO A GIG BECAUSE I WANT MY SOUND TO BE PERFECT!!! I LOVE PEAVEY'S GEAR BUT, THESE WERE NOT UP TO PAR!!! I RECENTLY PURCHASED THE PEAVEY PV115'S THEY ARE ALOT BETTER QUALITY AND SOUND LOTS BETTER THAN THE PR12'S

Questions about the Peavey PR 12?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway