0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Epiphone PR-4E Player Pack - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone PR-4E Player Pack - Natural?

Questions about the Epiphone PR-4E Player Pack - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New York July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Well Above Average

    Never been a fan of buying guitars via mail order. Made an exception because Sweetwater is one of the dwindling few companies left that place customer service top on their list. That said, I bought this as a
    gift for a friend of mine who hit a rough patch and lost all his equipment. As far as bang for the buck this "Player Pack" has it all and then some. Buying a guitar for someone who already is well beyond the basics, I was very skeptical at first. Epiphone is a name still synonymous with quality, so there was that to consider. Guitars are like shoes, you have to try them on and walk in them. Or in this case strap it on and play. Fortunately the pack came with a strap lol. Seriously though, Guitar is not full size, more of a 3/4. case is nothing to rave about, nevertheless it serves it's purpose, an extra set of strings, a tuner, a run of the mill cable to connect the guitar to the amp.... Now the amp,..... That's where the 5 stars comes in. This little sucker cranked when pushed. I was extremely impressed considering the size.
    Came with a headphone input which is cool, Overall considering the entire package I would be surprised to find anyone giving this a negative review. Come on now ,..... Acoustic/Electric Guitar with an amp and all the extra goodies all for just under two hundreds clams. A "Sweet" water deal if I even came a crossed one .... Liner Note. BTW I left out that it also comes with a Basic Instructional Dvd !!!

  • from United States July 26, 2014Music Background:
    playing stringed instruments- guitar, electric, acoustic, bass for over 40 years.

    Epiphone player pack meets everyone's needs!

    The Epiphone A/E is a very nicely made guitar. It has a sweet, light and bright sound. The amp is small, but it gives another aspect to playing.

  • from NJ July 31, 2013

    Thanks sweetwater!

    i give 5 stars for this! just got it today and i'm very impressed with its sound. pretty good for a 200 dollar guitar

  • from mesquite Texas November 1, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician.

    a beginner is a dumb statement

    I can play any song the right. Amp and this. Beautiful. Insrument.is cool
    And a good design sold to cheap.see the 2012 awards get.real.seen sevarel of the. Guitars

  • from Alabama July 20, 2015

    PR-4E

    Excellent beginner outfit.

  • from North Platte,NE USA September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Novice

    great starter acoustic/electric pack

    Am really pleased with the Epi PR-4E Player Pack. The shipping was quick, the packaging was more than adequate, and it arrived in great shape. The guitar itself rates about 8.5/10, there is a some binding damage near the headstock on the lower E string side and there was some thin micro film material between the base of the fretboard and the soundhole (it removed cleanly with some guitar polish). The remainder of the fit and finish is fine to my eye. It's still new but plays pretty nice, sound is clear and not tinny but with enuf bottom end. Looks real sharp also. The onboard electronics give you a bit of flexability, the 3-band EQ seems effective, tho not overly so. the Phase and boost/cut level contours do help with some feedback, tho I haven't played in a lot of different settings. I really like the 15W combo amp w/chorus and 3-band EQ. The additional chorus w/speed control gives additional sound options. It's also a 2 channel amp so you can plug a mic or aux in as well as a headphone out. My package arrived without a strap, but one phone call to a Sweetwater Tech and Gibson sent me one free. All in all a great experience and kudos to my Sales Engineer Kenny S.!!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN January 18, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Not exactly a beginner pack

    I got this package for Christmas because it is an impressive deal. The guitar plays very well; the setup is super comfortable (though the high-E string has a little bit of buzz to it), and the thinner body style is perfect for me, since I'm mostly used to playing electric. It projects well and has an included pickup set, which even if you don't use it often, it's nice to have it available to you. And to top it off, they give you a nice, solid amp that is loud enough for smaller gigs on its own. You simply can't beat this pack's value.

  • from Northern Plains USA. December 4, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar player since '63, at times weekend warrior and/or teacher.

    It's functionally a parlor guitar with overdrive

    The 4.5 is based on how it meets what it's supposed to be and my belief that ain't nothin' a 5.

    I wanted an inexpensive, but playable parlor guitar and I trust Epi. I played it for 3-4 benefits on stage with 20-50 elementary school age kids, including when the PA dropped dead. It did fine... I gave it to a young lady co-worker who was starting to play and had to move when her husband got a better job.

    This is a parlor guitar with AE capability. It is not a dreadnaught. It is not even an auditorium guitar. It's a parlor guitar as used before electricity, when recordings were played from wind-up machines and only pre-elecric guitar performers "needed" bigger boxes.

    It's excellent for fingerpicking or light strumming. It is not the choice for a beginner kid who wants to beat out rock. That kid needs a solidbody electric. This is more for the beginner who wants wants technique rather than noise in any style, ditto. It's well worth keeping even as one marches up the ladder of experience even into pro ranks.

    Yes to a mandatory purchase of strings. Even high end guitars should have the factory strings dumped asap. They're basically there to support the neck between the factory and the buyer.

    Honestly, for $200, the guitar, tuner and gig bag are a bargain and the amp is an extra. Yeah, the strings, the gig bag and even the tuner ain't gold plated; the guitar is a laminate - but so is a $4,700 version of Gibson's ES175. Played AE it sounds better than most audiences really hear anyway. I have a lot more expensive guitars but truly never was embarrassed playing this one "out" when appropriate, nor felt uncomfortable playing it on the couch with the TV running.

    If the above description makes sense... it's a darned good buy. If you're a beginner or almost a beginner, buy a light set of strings - I like Zebra 9-42 or at most Elixir 10-46(8) (coated and long lasting but harder to play than the 9-42), and also buy a capo.

    Oh - if you get one from Sweetwater and there's a string buzzing problem when you open the box, call for help. They may help you get it set up. But - you may also want to ask if you can call back in 2 weeks after leaving it in the box. Sometimes transport climate can do odd things to the wood of a guitar neck.

  • from Brush Prairie, WA March 7, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Deal, Great Guitar

    I've now owned this product for about 2 months, and it's been working great. The guitar is a little small, but it's bigger than a a 3/4 or youth size. The body is thin, although it sounds great, with the amp or not! The DVD is really old, so it was out of date for this product. They didn't have A/E guitars back when it was made, so it isn't the best for this product. My only other problem with this product is the strings. When I change my guitar strings, I like to tune the new strings up a half step to help them stretch out, and the 1st and 3rd strings both broke when I did that. This had never happened before, so I came to the conclusion that they were just cheap strings. Other than that, I loved it. The gig bag also works with my other guitar, although, my other guitar is youth-sized. The tuner, amp, and picks work great! Oh, and, not shown in the picture, it does come with a strap.

  • from North Carolina April 28, 2010Music Background:
    Beginner guitarist

    PR-4E Review

    I've been playing for only about 7 months. I started with an electric and my wife just got me this one recently. I really like everything about the guitar itself. Great feel, weight, and acoustics. The only problems I have had was my hi-e string busted withine two weeks. Get new strings ASAP! Also my amp chord did not work right out of the box. With a new set of strings and a new chord, this guitar is wonderful. Enjoy!

  • from Arizona November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Look elsewhere

    If you are looking for an inexpensive A/E don't get this one. Get a Fender. The build quality is lacking and the sound is inferior to an equivalent Fender, both in acoustic and electric mode. If you do get one, expect fret buzz (neck adjustment) and be sure to change out the strings, DR ZE-10's are a good substitute. On a bright note, the amp is a good beginner amplifier. But spend your dollars elsewhere and skip the frustration.

Questions about the Epiphone PR-4E Player Pack - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway