0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Electro-Harmonix POG2 Polyphonic Octave Generator Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix POG2 Polyphonic Octave Generator Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix POG2 Polyphonic Octave Generator Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jason Filloramo

    From the moment I heard what you can do with the Electro-Harmonix POG2, I had to have one. I've used mine for everything from creating ambient washes and violin-like guitar leads to dialing in sub-octave tones that let me fill in for the bass player. It's also great when I produce hip-hop and need to come up with ethereal soundscapes. As flexible as it is, my POG2 will always be in the center of my pedalboard.

  • Anthony Jenkins

    I love the Electro-Harmonix POG 2 because it lets me dial in a variety of cool harmonic sounds simply, elegantly, and effectively. I'm impressed by how well it tracks single notes, and the effects section offers creative sonic possibilities that I can't get from any standard octave pedal.

  • Jake
    from Bethlehem July 11, 2016Music Background:
    Jack-Of-All-Trades

    Just What I Needed

    For the last 8 months I have been trying to master the ambient possibilities for guitar. THIS PEDAL MAKES IT HAPPEN. Particularly it's "Attack" slider. The smooth and consistent swells produced with that function almost replace the volume pedal. I thought about being content with the smaller POG pedals but am super glad I went with the POG2. HUGE possibilities.

  • Stew
    from Farmington Hills, MI August 31, 2014Music Background:
    Part Time Musician

    EH POG2 Octave Generator Pedal

    I watched a YouTube rig rundown for Joe Satriani. He uses this pedal for the organ parts on Chickenfoot's version of Deep Purples "Highway Star". I was not disappointed as this pedal does a fantastic job in recreating organ sounds from guitar. Just add a little chorus or Leslie after the POG2 and you are there! There are a bunch of other tones waiting for you in this box as well. Awesome!

  • Simon W.
    from Fort Wayne, IN March 19, 2014

    Beautiful Tones

    This pedal gives beautiful Leslie-like organ tones and also serves as a great tool to provide beautiful harmony tones when you blend in the dry signal. The combinations are endless, so it's really nice you can have presets and not lose that special tone. I use this for my guitar as well as bass. All around a great pedal. Electro-Harmonix once again knocks it out of the park. Great pedal.

  • Joe Pompeo
    from Charlotte NC May 30, 2012Music Background:
    semi pro musician and guitar teacher; 40 + years playing guitar

    POG 2

    Very cool, very useful recording and live gig tool. Very easy to suss out and program.

    Like all EH stuff, well made and versitile. I was able to (very easily) program organ, cello, violin, 12 string guitar, bass guitar and synth sounds; and that was only the first hour of owning it.

    8 presets available via the footswitch and controls that go from suble to "what the hell was that?" A must have for any pedal geek.

  • Jonny Boy
    from Jackson, Mississippi February 25, 2010Music Background:
    Blues, Classic Rock, Jam band

    Awesome - REAL Organ sounds

    I love this pedal. I have had it a few days and it far exceeds my expectations. The slider function is so much better than knobs, something they must have figured out with a pedal like this. Being able to save your newly sculpted sounds is great because you will totally forget how you got there with all the possibilities and excitement of making these new sounds. The right side, Attack, LP, and Detune is the icing for making the true hammond sounds, and even more beyond that. Dry FX and Q change things up nicely as you go through different versions of these. Endless and fun. Sounds that can be used live. I love it. No regrets. Plus, the best damn "Basic" octave pedal I have ever used.

  • Michael Kirk
    from Martinez, CA January 14, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarist/vocalist

    POG2

    This pedal is super cool! You can get a pretty natural sounding 12 string out of it or go all out and get a fancy organ-y sound. However, by far my favorite part of this pedal is the Attack slider. When you crank it it gives this beautiful ambience to chords that you let ring or if you're dissecting chords it gives such a cool swell to each note like a bunch of little chimey waves. If that sound isn't your style then drop the attack down and you have a very well synchronized effect. I hilly recommend this to someone looking for a straightforward effect with plenty of unique and fun capabilities!

  • AvonJunky
    from Staten Island, NY December 31, 2009Music Background:
    Semi-Professional Musician, Recording Engineer

    Awesome Pedal

    I just got´╗┐ one, sounds amazing but make sure you devote a half a day to just messing with all the different sounds you can get out of it, very versatile which can be confusing.

    You need a good amp to get a good clear sound though, those low octaves won't sound good coming through a tiny practice amp.

    The construction is good as well, like all EHX pedals, it is built tough.

  • Brian
    from TX July 11, 2016Music Background:
    Play in a band

    POG2

    One of the best things about this pedal is it was free, i.e., I convinced my kids this is what they needed to get me for Father's Day, LOL. On the serious side it's a nice effect but it sounds more like an organ than anything else. It does track well and what I am finding is when I am playing a chord the dailed in effect sounds close but when playing single notes I'm back in the semi organ sound. I haven't played with it a whole lot so I am sure when I get into it a little more it I will be able to get it to sound better. The instructions are lacking and almost useless but I did Google POG settings and found a lot of them. For $300 I was expecting a little more but it will stay on my pedal board.

  • Todd McDaniels
    from Lawton, OK September 16, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I can play the organ!!

    The POG2 impressed me twice. Once as I investigated the product online through YouTube videos and then again when I received it and started using it. My number one motivation for buying it was the organ sound you could get out of it. What else can give a guitarist an organ sound? It is worth the price tag for that alone. Next to that I liked the attack slider, which gives a slow volume capability.

    I did not buy the POG2 for its harmonizing octives. I had thought after hearing the YouTube demonstrations of the POG2 through my iPhone that the tone of the octave up was rather dark and muddy. And I already had a vast array of harmonizers anyway. I reversed my opinion, though, when I actually had it and started using it. The tone and timbre of all the octaves is really quite beautiful.

    I have to confess that I did not buy this effect from Sweetwater and I did not pay full price. I had been putting money aside to purchase it from Sweetwater when I ended up winning the bid for a used one on EBay. No one was more surprised than me. In any case, I can say that the pedal remains in good condition after someone's prior use, which may give some indication of it's durability.

    The pedal is very easy to use even without instructions. Being able to store presets and flip through them with either the dial or the footswitch is invaluable.

    I recommend this pedal, but one shouldn't think of it as an effects pedal. It is a very inexpensive organ.

  • Nicolas K.
    from Eugene, OR August 3, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound, Guitar Hobbyist

    Octave bliss

    I was a little hesitant with the price tag on the Pog2 but I'm happy to say it was worth it. Great sounds are easy to program in and save and I enjoy the flexibility much more than the MicroPog or original Pog. Works extremely well for ambient sounds, thickening chords, octave leads, etc. Works great on bass too! - just be careful with that 2nd lower octave - make sure your cabinets and amp can handle it with high volume. The only thing that makes me sweat is the sliders. So far none of the tips have broken but I'm going to continue being careful. This is a pedal that has great sounds but should be used sparingly to taste.

  • Richard Staskon
    from Oak Lawn IL. February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    POG 2

    Very happy with purchase,thank you. R.Staskon

  • Brandon
    from Austin January 10, 2017

    Cool idea, but not worth the price...

    This pedal is very unique and intriguing...and some good sounds can definitely be made with it. I really enjoyed the 12 string guitar settings on clean. With that said, the dry signal is hard to balance with the other sliders and some of the highs can come off as really harsh. Another negative is that the low end octaves caused alot of rattle in the Orange Crush 35 combo I had and it damaged the cone. Luckily, Orange fixed it under warranty, but still. Another issue that I find it a little risky to but this on a board its so easy to accidently hit the sliders with your foot. It seems they would be damaged easily. Luckily I was able to sell mine, so I didn't lose out big. Once again...cool idea, but about $ too much.

  • David
    from Logan, UT May 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not The Greatest

    I owned this for quite a while. It is a great concept, and would excite anyone. But in my opinion very poorly executed idea here. The first thing I expected was to be able to at the least bring the various octave settings to the same level (or close to it) as my dry signal. Nope... Even with each setting pegged at the highest volume it wasn't even close to the dry signal, not even having the dry signal half way up. Just really weak sounding over all. Second, the pedal is glitchy. More than once I had to kick on the preset section just to get the pedal to start working right. The sound with multiple octaves lost all tonal qualities as well. Very muddy, un-defined sound. I like the slider idea, but these ones are weak and can easily be busted. For an over 300 dollar pedal, you should expect flawless. The effects section of this pedal was the only thing I really enjoyed on it. The rest was just disappointing. The last kick in the butt is that this, like most EHX pedals doesn't run off a standard 9V connection, nor takes batteries. You'll need the wall wart that comes with it to run. All in all, not worth it. I'll be on the lookout in the future for a multiple octave generator that runs on 9V and does a much better job than this pedal. True bypass would be nice as well :)

  • charles Horne
    from Dallas November 12, 2009Music Background:
    Guitarist for 50 years - studio recording and live performance

    POG2

    The Bypass switch is sticky, unpredictible, and requires excessive force to operate.

    The sound is muddy. The more notes played at once - two, three, four - the muddier the sound, to the point that it introduces distortion and noise. Clarity is a casualty.

    The unit should best not be used on the floor and operated by foot. The case appears fragile and the sliders could be easily crushed with one small misstep. There should be plug outlets for the two foot switch functions.

    The user's manual is poor - at best. It should have illustrations and example configurations - for a 12 string, for an 18 string, for organ, etceteras.

    The unit is a great concept, poorly executed. Overall quality is poor. This unit is not ready for primetime. It is a terrifically over-priced toy.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix POG2 Polyphonic Octave Generator Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway