rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Line 6 POD Studio GX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Line 6 POD Studio GX?

Questions about the Line 6 POD Studio GX?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from San Francisco November 29, 2016Music Background:
    Noodler

    Wonderful

    Ok, I bought the previous edition of this ten years ago, and it is still going strong, and the way it processes audio has made it incredibly useful for adding effects in applications that don't have plugins like iClone animation software. I can add an echo to a vocal or record a scratch music track on guitar. It is funny, but it feels like 'my favorite old amp' to me. I own newer, more polished guitar plugins now, but that doesn't stop this little guy from being incredibly useful and imminently playable without having to fire up a whole DAW. The effects and amps are good enough for me, and I still only have the older version of Pod Farm. It was the best $50 I have ever spent on computer audio gear, and I'd replace it with another if my died. It works fine on Win 10 64 bit, and I'm just amazed. I took time out of my life to write this, so yeah. 5 stars. Thoroughly dependable.

  • from Trail B.C. April 16, 2015Music Background:
    HARP SING GUITAR

    SHAZZAM

    THIS IS A VERY GOOD IDEA FOR EVERONES EAR TALK ABOUT SOUND CONTROL ...AND TONE PERFECTION

  • from Las Vegas NV USA April 25, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar playing father

    Line 6 gear

    The unit works fantastic and the included software blew my mind. POD farm and Propellerhead recording software. Awesome!!

  • from March 3, 2014

    Choose this over other brands!!

    This is a replacement for an old Line 6 device, and it works perfectly and was easy to set-up. As a bonus, it has a limited version or Reason included which was awesome because I had been wanting to try Reason.

  • from Colorado April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Rock

    Line 6 POD Studio GX

    I didn't know what to expect, but it has out done all my expectations. Great way to record. There are several instructional videos that make it helpful. Lots of sounds and amps to choose from. I would recommend this to beginners.

  • from North Carolina, USA March 11, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist and still learning

    Absolutely Awesome!

    This little box and PodFarm 2 that came with it have really opened up my playing. The effects/amp models sound great, and both the GX and PodFarm are really simple to use. It's a great way to get a ton of different guitar sounds without breaking the bank. Great job Line 6!!!

  • from October 16, 2011

    Best thing I have ever bought, every guitarist should have one

    A simple device to set up, comes with pod farm which is the coolest thing I have ever used. The price is very reasonable as it isn't that expensive. Best thing I've ever spent money on.

  • from Stillwater, NJ USA June 17, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-retired pro

    A/D - almost for free...

    I have been a heavy user of Reason/Record using midi control surfaces (including guitar). I needed an inexpensive way to get my analog stringed instrument signals onto Record tracks, but with some character. This box was the perfect solution - I have my A/D, and I can color the guitar or bass with the amp and efx modeling in the device. I haven't even had the need to add other modeling solutions. Home run Line 6.

  • from Lisboa, Portugal May 11, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Line 6 POD Studio GX

    One of the best purchases i've done, most definitely!
    It's incredibly light, so you can carry it around with no problem, very easy to install (the free update of POD Farm 2 may take a little while though, but nevertheless, piece of cake), it's simplicity is almost ridiculous: one big knob, one jack plug, one headphones plug and a usb plub. But the best part is, by far, the great sound it provides and one of the best software programs for guitar, POD Farm. Highly recomended if you want to make some good recordings without spending a lot of cash!

  • from Portland OR USA April 29, 2011Music Background:
    Student and hobbiest

    observations of a Pod Studeo GX newbie

    I lost an old analog effects box and needed a replacement. A friend gave me my GX and upon hooking it all up, found the software mostly inaccessible to a screen reader. Being totally blind I depend on a screen reader to use a computer. That said, I was still able to use enough of the software, mostly Gear Box, and the sound I got out of it just tickled me all over... This little guy really is as good as they say, and the tech support guy I talked to on the phone when I called in for keyboard help since I can't use a mouse was very helpful indeed.... so I and my guitars will be singing the praises of this little gem for as long as I have it! Good job Line6!

  • from South Shore, KY USA August 12, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist, part-time bassist in heavy metal band

    Amazing tool!

    This thing is just KILLER!!! It was delivered on time, un-damaged, and came with everything! Installation was easy. However, I had to download an update application from Line6.com. It has very low latency (no lag!). It produces some very high quality sound! It also came with POD Farm standard, Riffworks T4, and Ableton Live Lite 7. Thank you for your excellent service!

  • from Fort Wayne April 26, 2009Music Background:
    Student

    Awesome Product

    This little box is amazing. After getting everything installed and activated (you have to have internet to use the POD), I plugged in and chose a preset and immediately started playing. The software has hundreds of built-in presets; the one thing I do not like is that not all presets work because this is the limited version of the software. The only thing I can say is it took me awhile to figure out you have to plug your speakers into the GX itself; it won't play over your computer speakers.
    But the amp models and effects the software has built in are AMAZING.

  • from Spring, TX February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Mix Engineer, Musician, Hobbyist

    !OS X Yosemite users beware!

    Great tool for writing and recording demos with plenty of options to get your ideas across and absolutely zero latency. One thing I would cation to Mac users is that if you have updated your OS to Yosemite in 2014/2015 be sure to NOT use the provided installation disc. Go online instead and download the latest pod 2.58 driver and install with that. If you do not do this you will not be able to install pod farm.

  • from January 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome product, especially for practice/record/learning purposes.

    This is just what I was looking for. Only with one device I can listen all through my headphones, pod farm 2 and play mp3 files or youtube videos for learning/practice... Awesome THANKS !!!

  • from United States March 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great sound at a great price

    High quality sound, very clear. Simple installation, just download the software(Pod Farm), install, then plug in the USB cable to the Pod Studio. Great experience using Sweetwater. I use this instead of an amp to practice my bass guitar. Audio from your guitar is automatically mixed with sound from your computer. The software allows you to experiment with any different sounds (pre-amps, reverb, pedals, and more) without having to buy more equipment. Great for someone just starting out. There are two problems: 1) It's hard to understand how to configure the software to get certain sounds. A lot of trial and error. Too many options. 2) Depending on how powerful your computer is, you will experience gaps of no sound when your computer is taxed. I have a Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 540 @ 2.53GHz with 8GB RAM and the audio pauses from time to time when I have more than two apps running while using Pod Studio.

    Another minor inconvenience is the audio on your computer is disabled when the POD Studio is connected to it. So I have to unplug the USB cable every time I want to use my computer's built in audio which I need to do because of the audio gaps.

  • from SLC, UT USA March 5, 2014Music Background:
    gigging bass player

    Easy to use/realistic amp models

    This is a very user friendly program. The layout of the software is easy to figure out. The amp models are fairly realistic sounding. No sound card changes were needed to use with other software. The only reason I gave it a 4 is the registration process and having to figure out how to get the full program downloaded.

  • from Coldwater, MI January 8, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Line 6 POD Studio GX

    The POD Studio GX works great and has alot of amps, cab, models. I especially like the pre-programmed tones that come from POD Farm. The only drawback was that it took me 4 hours to load the programs on the PC. Between the Line 6 Monkey and restarting the PC, it was like putting together a toy on Christmas morning- slot B goes into tab A.?. Instructions were not clear on the box or the disc. Like I said, when I finally got it all updated and installed, it works great! Sweetwater sale was a breeze, once again. Love those guys!

  • from Las Vegas December 6, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Enigineer FOH/Guitarist

    Meh

    Well, I am disappointed. Oh, it works, but it doesn't drive headphones loud enough. I've tried several different headphones and I always seem to be struggling to hear at a comfortable volume. It comes with POD Farm software which I also find fault with. The program just seems to have some kind of strange mud in the low end. Single coil pickups work better than humbuckers. If you try to add highs to fight the mud it all gets brittle sounding. If you try cutting the bass it just sounds like it lacks body and the mud (I don't know how else to discribe it) never really goes away.

  • from New York, NY July 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Unusable

    In short, I could not get the thing to work. The process of downloading and installing drivers, communicating with Line 6 was an unproductive headache, even with assistance from Sweetwater. I am returning the thing.

Questions about the Line 6 POD Studio GX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway