Tama Starphonic Series Snare Drum - 6 x 14 inch - Maple Shell with Mappa Burl Reviews

5.0 stars based on 6 customer reviews
Questions about the Tama Starphonic Series Snare Drum - 6 x 14 inch - Maple Shell with Mappa Burl?
Questions about the Tama Starphonic Series Snare Drum - 6 x 14 inch - Maple Shell with Mappa Burl?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Starphonic Series Snare Drum Reviews

Sort By Date Sort By Rating Write Your Review
  • from Massachusetts December 3, 2020 Music Background:
    Metal, Prog Rock.

    Tama Starphonic Series Snare Drum - 6" x 14" Maple Shell with Mappa Burl

    Tama never disappoints. You don't need to spend a fortune to buy a quality snare. Whether you tune it medium or high. This is snare is versatile and will cut through a wall of amps. Great features and a price point you can't find beat.
  • from October 16, 2018

    Versatile, warm, articulate

    I bought this snare about a year ago and it soon became my main snare. It has unbelievable sensitivity and articulation...perfect for ghost notes. It also has an extremely dynamic tuning range. I mostly play it in medium tuning, but it sounds excellent cranked for an explosive back beat and it has enormous sustain in lower tunings. In the low tunings, you can dampen it for a good fat sound or let it ring and experiment with the drums natural musicality. Seriously you can spend hours exploring the wide tuning range of this drum offers, and it will always come sound great.
  • from WA September 23, 2018

    Yes. You NEED this snare!

    I'm currently "building" a kit. This snare is going to be a workhorse for a Starclassic Maple kit. 12-14-16-20. If your unfamiliar with the Starphonic models check put Tama's indepth video on Youtube.
  • from August 8, 2018 Music Background:
    Have played drums over 30yrs.

    Beautiful Snare!

    I"ve been playing drums for over 30yrs. I have to say I"m impressed with TAMA. My first pro kit was a SUPERSTAR and I still have it. Quality is always their hallmark. This drum is warm and very tunable. Sounds great low and beefy or high and cracky! Great versatile snare! It will stay in my collection and we"ll used. My next purchase will be the aluminum shell version.
  • from Beamsville, Ontario August 5, 2018

    Tama Starphonic Snare Drum

    This snare sounds amazing. Worth every penny.
  • from San Antonio June 28, 2017 Music Background:
    25+ years drumming

    Great Snare

    I was really looking forward to getting this snare and must admit I was a little disappointed when I played it initially. Didn't take long to realize this drum is the best I've played, and I have several from the SLP line and other makers. Versatile tuning options can take you into the higher range with a pop and down to a full sounding snap tuned down. I play rock and metal so I'm probably not the intended audience for this drum but let me tell you it works very well. I also have the Black Brass and prefer it for practice to cut through the amplified noise. But live I use the maple tuned down and deep. If you're thinking about it do it. Country and more articulate players will love this even more than I do. All I do is beat the hell out it. Maybe a few ghost notes here and there.

Questions about the Tama Starphonic Series Snare Drum - 6 x 14 inch...?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. Feel free to call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Close Close $5,500 Mic Locker Giveaway

See giveaway details & rules or check out our past winners!

Success!

Your email, test has been entered to win this giveaway. Good Luck!