0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Wechter Guitars Pathmaker Deluxe Thinline - Natural Mahogany Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from GOTHENBURG, NE USA November 21, 2012Music Background:
    SINGER-SONGWRITER

    WECHTER PATHMAKER-TOO FUN TO PLAY

    THIS IS OUR THIRD WECHTER GUITAR....EACH HAVE AWESOME UNIQUE SOUNDS BUT THE DETERMINING FACTOR ON WECHTER.....IS BLENDING. THEY BLEND WITH OTHER GUITARS BETTER THAN ANY OTHER. THEY ADD BRILLIANCE AND EXCELLENT SHIMMERING HIGHS TO NICE SUSTAINED LOWS.....WE DIDN'T START OUT SHAPING OUR SOUND AROUND A BRAND OF GUITAR BUT THESE JUST MADE IT HAPPEN.....THIS PATHMAKER IS TOO FUN TO PLAY. THE NECK IS SO EASY ON YOUR FINGERS AND FAST.....WITH GREAT SOUND. ALSO WECHTER GUITARS LOOK EVEN BETTER WHEN YOU GET THEM HOME THAN IN THE PICTURES. LOVE THE PIPING ON THE EDGES AND THE HEADSTOCK. BOUGHT THIS ONE FOR THE LITTLE MRS. SHE HASN'T PUT IT DOWN YET. SHE JUST LOVES IT.GET ONE OF THESE FROM SWEETWATER.....THEY HAVEN'T STEERED ME WRONG YET.!!!! YOU'LL LOVE IT TOO!!!!!! IRISH.

  • from Spring hill Fl October 20, 2012Music Background:
    20 year songwriter and musician

    Try and take it from me!

    I love this guitar! it is the best acoustic I have ever played and that's about all of them. On my recommendation, my brother, and then my partner each got one and they feel the same. The harmonics the playability and the great crispness are dynamite. Hat's off to Wechter for their fine instrument. SJC

  • from Maryland USA September 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wechter Guitar Pathmaker Deluxe Thinline

    I am simply blown away by my new Wechter Pathmaker natural Mahogany Guitar. It easy to play. has incredible tones!!! and very easy to transition from Electric to Acoustic.

  • from CT USA August 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist hoping to go semi-pro :]

    Pathmaker Acoustic is a solid winner!

    I needed an acoustic to play as easily as an electric. I love my Strat and am totally spoiled by it so the acoustic I picked had a tough row to hoe. I bought a few, lost some bucks, bought another, brought it back the next day - I'm sure you know the drill.

    Then I found this Wecheter - problem solved. Comfortable to hold, easy to play, plek'd to perfection and beautiful to look at. It's a keeper in all respects. It's plenty loud enough acoustically, note access is beyond good with the double cutaway.

    And the tone - it rings like a bell. I wanted a bright sound kind of like what I hear on the Orchestral Jethro Tull CDs - got it in spades. I wanted to finger pick sometimes - the slightly wider neck lets me get first position arpeggios and chords much easier than a narrower neck. I am not a fan of narrow - I need room -got it.

    Couple all of this with Fishman electronics and there really is nothing else out there for me to consider. Bang for the buck - absolutely off the chart. Am I happy - oh yeah!!!!

  • from rayville, la usa July 21, 2011Music Background:
    guitar instructor

    very, very nice

    beautiful. awesome playability. great electronics. affordable. an all around great guitar.

  • from Irvine, CA March 12, 2011Music Background:
    Pro

    incredible depth

    I play professionally each week and needed a replacement guitar. After much research I bought the Wechter Mahogany, and I am very pleased. The playability is superb, the sound can be nicely modified, sounds good through an amp or direct to PA, and the touch/dynamics/clarity has been a great boon to my playing.

    The neck is really nice, the SGish double cut away gets a lot of comments (positive), and it plays like a dream.

    Setting up for a gig is so simple, no more tuner, hi to low converter box etc, I just plug a mic chord into the guitar, run it to the snake, and I am done! Make sure the system you are plugged into is properly grounded. The Fishman electronics need this or a slight hum will result.

    I love it.

  • from New Orleans December 11, 2012Music Background:
    Studio and live performing for decades

    Wechter, dollar for dollar the best guitars yiu can buy

    This guitar is so good for what I paid for it, its hard to believe. It is just beautiful to look at and sounds great plugged or unplugged. the body is thin but the guitar is still loud enough. The fishman works very well,you can dial in a wide variety of tone. The neck is extremly playable almost like an electric, but you can get some good finger pickin. The case is very nice also. The only reason that I didnt give it five stars is cause I like my action a little lower than most players and it ships with D addario strings that didnt sound very good, otherwise it exceeded all of my expectations. I own the deluxe solid body pathmaker so I am now a working guitarist playing Wechter guitars exclusivly. Abe Wechter does it again a great guitar without breaking the bank!!

  • from Harlingen, TX USA October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Very nice instrument

    I received this guitar today and all I can say is well done Wechter. This guitar plays and sounds great. The worksmanship is amazing for an instrument in this price range. So far the worst thing about this guitar is having to put it down. I was in the market for something more expensive. This plays better than many at twice the price.

  • from Grand Prairie, Tx. March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love it!

    After reading other reviews about the "thinline" models I decided to get this. Glad I did! Some reviews said it wasn't as loud as the full body models so I wasn't expecting a lot there. I was wrong. This guitar is plenty loud. If you need louder just hook it to an amp or PA. The tone is beautiful & full. The "looks" are as beautiful as it sounds. The case that comes with it is very nice & fits the guitar like a glove. The reason I didn't give it a % is because I think the "Fishman" should be mounted farther forward. It's a little awkward using the tuner & other controls.
    Overall, there's just no better guitar out there for the money.

  • from Eastern Utah December 20, 2010Music Background:
    Previous Pro Recording Engineer and Musician, serious hobbyist now.

    High End Quality, Amazing Value

    Being primarily an electric guitartist for many many years, I was looking for an acoustic that was both a decent instrument and also relatively easy to play. A thinline seemed a logical choice to make the transition, I already had the needed components to amplify if required. After much research online, the Wechter Pathmaker intrigued me for a couple of different reasons: 1) The thinline design and proclaimed playability according to the sales information; 2) The Plek setup. I guess I should also mention that my budget was aimed around the $500 mark and I was seeking the best bang-for-the-buck. With these factors in mind I decided to give the Wechter a try. To say that I was not disappointed would be a huge understatement. The build quality of the instrument, both in sound quality and appearance, considerably defy it's price range. I was apprehensive about anything not made in the USA, this guitar "took me to school" regarding improvements with manufacturing techniques and quality control outside of the good ol' US. My first real guitar was a Gibson Les Paul Custom, (a beautiful instrument by any measure) so this was the bar by which I have measured everything else. Granted, the Wechter is not a $4000 instrument, but by every other practical measure this guitar stands it's ground. The fit, finish and playability are all very very good. I have owned and played other acoustics, some less expensive and some much more; this guitar could probably compare to instruments at 2 or possibly 3 times it's price range. My biggest frustration with acoustics has always been intonation; tune them to sound correct in one position and they tend to go sour the farther from that position you play. This was what most intrigued me about the Plek setup. This guitar plays in tune, to an AMAZING degree, everywhere on the neck. I am now a firm believer in the science behind the Plek system...impressive! The one down side to this is that to maintain that degree of intonation accuracy, you must use the exact strings the guitar was set up with (or have the know-how to properly substitute). This is common enough knowledge for anyone who plays an electric, the difference being that electrics can easily have the bridge and action adjusted to compensate for different strings, gauges and tension. This said, the "preferred" strings on the Wechter (D'Addario EXP 11's as I recall) are quite decent and sound good both with and without amplification. The Fishman electronics speak for themselves and are quite versatile. This is not the top-of-the-line Fishman kit but does sound very good amplified and includes a chromatic tuner that can used without being plugged in (very handy). As a thinline, this guitar will not produce the same unamplified sound level as a full-size concert guitar, this should be anticipated when considering this model.
    All in all, I have yet to find anything I don't like about this guitar. I opted for the mahogany finsh with the abalone trim and this is one sweet-looking instrument. The included hardshell case is a very nice bonus, it too is well made and only serves to add to the "high end" mojo of this guitar. Again, the price seems way too low for the final product, but I'm certainly not complaining. Kudos to Wechter for this amazing bargain. I rate this a solid 4.5 only because a perfect *5* is always the next thing we look for but never quite find in the eternal quest for the perfect sound. Lastly, for the record, I am not on anybody's payroll but I am genuinely impressed with the value of this purchase.

  • from Upper Midwest November 23, 2012Music Background:
    continually seeking to improve

    Yes, as good as they are saying.

    I took an interest only after seeing the full-page ads of Carl Verheyen, and looking further this seemed to offer solutions I could use. Well, it's everything they are saying--especially the plugged-in sound through the XLR output. Even straight to board it sounds very, very good. Playability is quite nice: the string-spacing is a bit wider than my electric, so it still takes a little adjusting to on-the-fly, but getting easier as I get more familiar with it. The slightly bigger string-spacing makes for good finger-picking, although not my forte. Otherwise, I really appreciate the playability of the thinline, double cutaway and nicely balanced body. Looks fantastic, and sounds even better than it looks. Set-up was great, although I prefer a really straight, flat neck with no perceptible bow, so a tweak of the truss rod put this right under my fingers like an electric. Some aspects of the finish let you know that this is not a handmade boutique guitar, which I think makes it perfect for club use, or anywhere you might need sound reinforcement.

  • from Eureka, California April 16, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great guitar - excellent value.

    This is one of the best acoustic/electrics I've played. The Plek finishing process is excellent, and the double cutaways are helpful too. As always the Fishman electronics work well, especially for being heard in live band situations, comes with a built in tuner and plenty of sound shaping EQ.
    I give it a 4 rating because It does have some limitations in the studio - but it is a thin-line - for me, it lacks the warmth of say a Gibson or Taylor, but it is their equal as far as playability. Never the less I definitely recommend it.
    Thanks to Abe Wechter for producing a wonderful instrument. The Mahogany looks beautiful and you just can't beat the price!!

Questions about the Wechter Guitars Pathmaker Deluxe Thinline - Natural Mahogany?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway