rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Furman PL-8C - 15A Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Furman PL-8C - 15A?

Questions about the Furman PL-8C - 15A?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from FL and TX April 13, 2017Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter.Studio owner

    Must have

    As always Furman is a must. Protect you high dollar gear. I never turn any of my equipment on unless it's plugged into a Furman.

  • from Chicago January 16, 2017

    Better than a surge protector

    My Sweetwater consultant (Evan Mehre) made this recommendation for a rack that I was putting together. It has worked out brilliantly! Power distribution, conditioning AND pull-out lights -- Could not be happier. Lights are able to be dimmed and they can be manually oscillated about 90 degrees.

  • from Ponca, Ne 68770 September 27, 2016Music Background:
    Playing since i was 10. Am now 54

    My new studio

    Patrick Dennis has been the best of help. I started a studio in my basement. Called Sweetwater and got a hold of Patrick. He has been a great help in this process. I told him what I was looking to do and how much I would like to spend and he guided me threw it. I will buy all my equipment threw Sweetwater from here on out.
    Thanks for all you do.

  • from Wisconsin March 31, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Keyboards, backing tracks, worship, etc

    Its a winner

    I've used Furman power products before, so I was inclined to look in this direction in the first place. I was looking for a good balance between performance and cost, and I was prepared to spend this kind of money to protect my gear (Yamaha, Hammond, NI keys, MacBook Pro, Glyph Studio HD, Behringer XR 16 X Air mixer). I don't run my JBL EON speakers through it in the studio, but I do when I am traveling for gigs. I expected great protection, but I've been delighted by how QUIET the whole system is, running all the power through this unit, studio or gigs. NO discernable AC hum or hiss. Cool!! Highly recommended.

  • from Minneapolis, MN August 6, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Musician; Home Studio

    Works Like a Charm

    I purchased this on the advice of the Sweetwater team to eliminate line and AC power noise in my amps and it worked like a charm. My two main tube amps are now dead quiet (aside from noise from single coils, which requires a noise gate to eliminate). Also great to have all my amps, pedal board, etc. plugged into the Furman so everything can be turned on and off with the flip of one switch. A very modest investment to not only protect my gear but improve the tone. Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • from Hanover, MD December 2, 2014Music Background:
    Long time composer/writer/hobbyist

    Furman PL-8C Gives Quiet Power

    I have a few of these and use them with my recording, TV, computer, and Stereo/HiFi gear. I get no hum, hiss, or pops, and that means reliably quiet power, with the additional protection against power surges. If you have an older home or studio, or older amplifiers that typically pick up noise and radio signals, you should try one of these. I have an old Peavey Bandit amp that would previously pick up radio signals and hum when plugged directly into wall outlets, but it is dead quiet when plugged into the Furman. I have to recommend these "power conditioners" for stereo equipment as well, turntables and power amps in particular, as RFI and line noise can really degrade performance, especially in older, less expensive equipment. Personally, I think all new homes should have massive power conditioners/voltage regulators built into them, but these portable devices serve the purpose. Note that these units are not voltage regulators, meaning they don't keep voltage at a consistent level. However, they prevent damaging surges, as may happen when your power goes out unexpectedly and then comes back on. You can buy voltage regulating units, but those are considerably more expensive. If you simply want QUIET power and surge protection, the PL-8C will do the job.

  • from October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Church sound, music and video

    Reduces hum, gives peace of mind

    I've been battling sound system hums, in an older building prone to power outages and brownouts. Added two of these and no more hum in FOH. Also good to know we have protection for the next surge or brownout.

  • from Clarksburg, WV April 21, 2014Music Background:
    closet headbanger

    a must have !!!!

    unfortunately, power conditioners are the most ignored component in a musicians gear set. prime example me. i have been playing for decades and have just become wise enough to purchase one. my 100 year old house still has 100 amp service and very dirty fluctuating power. my first attempt was a boss noise gate. worked really well but still, i was getting some noise. i put this baby in and WOW. cleaned up the noise what a difference it made in my tone. my amp never sounded so good. of course i now realize that it was never performing at its full capabilities as it wasn't getting the proper voltage. the protection this thing gives is a no brainier, but it allows equipment to perform to its full capabilities. I am running several amps, home theater system, 50" rear projection LCD tv, and all of my computer equipment off of this which loads it at about 80%. Better sound, full protection without being self compromised. Just buy it !! you wont believe the difference it will make in your tone. Also, Sweetwater will match or beat the competitors prices. Where else can you call at 5:00 pm, place an order, and have it on your front porch the next day !!!!! ONLY AT SWEETWATER !! They ARE the BEST in the business. Thanks AJ,

  • from Inglewood, CA April 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Furman PL-8C - Quit as a mouse

    I had a hum coming from one of my devices, and Sweetwater recommended that I try a Power Condition. Order the Furman PL-8C...PROBLEM SOLVED!

    Great price AND customer service from SweetWater.

  • from December 5, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Very nice

    I'm not sure how much protection you give up by using this budget Furman unit over their much more expensive big brothers but this has to be 10x better than a cheapo power bar and it looks great in the rack.

  • from Southeast MO. September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Very pleased with unit, thus far meeting my needs.

    Happy with quality of unit and design. The light features are very nice, as well as easy to use front control. The rear optional lighting is great feature for working with power and cables in a rack case.
    Good heavy, but flexible power cord.
    The extra socket space for the wall warts are a cool feature. Seems to be a rugged well built unit.
    A good investment for any road case/gear setup to protect from line surges and other damaging noise on power lines.

  • from New Hampshire July 13, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur musician and sound engineer

    Works for me

    I am starting to build up a collection of rack units. This neatens up the power cables and lets one switch turn everything on at once. I'm not sure how to evaluate the 'Power Conditioner' effects. The lamps are a nice bonus and have a dimmer. Very nice appearance.

  • from Hartville, OH USA July 4, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound engineer and Student

    Best power conditioners in the market

    I was interested in getting consistent, quiet and clean power to my interface and monitors. The only name that comes to mind Furman. They are at the top of the pile for power conditioners. Something like this should go in your rack and be invisible. That is exactly what Furman gives you, quality power all the time that you don't have to worry about.

  • from United States June 20, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging amateur

    great power conditioner

    quick, simple and easy. Very effective. Build quality is great. Happy all around. lights are an added bonus, and are surprisingly useful.

  • from Georgia May 3, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound, DJ, Hobbyist

    Really does the job

    The PL-8C took out all the hum and buzz that you get from lights and other interference sources. Now I get the true deeper warm sound.

  • from NJ USA March 22, 2012Music Background:
    performer (brass), recording engineer, music educator

    you'll see and hear the improvement

    This arrived yesterday after I'd finished with studio work for the day. So, to run it in a bit, I hooked it up in place of the power conditioner I use for our home theatre system. The improvment in color density and vividness, just on regular cable TV, was obvious to both of us. We then tried it out on an episode of Game of Thrones. The sound had an enhanced clarity and, yet, was rounder and fuller at the same time: more sheen on the highs, more body on the mids, wonderful tightness in the bass. An excellent purchase. We'll be getting another one of these soon.

  • from Merced, CA September 13, 2016Music Background:
    I do stuff.

    Cleaned up my power

    I had some buzz and hum coming through my system when I moved it to a new location. This helped to reduce the noise I was dealing with.
    Thank you for the help Danielle Cummings, she helped me pick the right product to help me with my needs. Awesome!

  • from Houston, Texas August 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Sound Engineer

    Very nice piece of gear!

    A very important piece of equipment. I bought one to protect my new board at my home studio because the power at my place is so noisy. Made a big difference.

  • from Birmingham, AL January 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice addition to my rig

    Having a power conditioner in my rack case simplifies my setup, protects my gear and provides handy lighting options. I definitely recommend purchasing a rear lamp for this unit, it has proved useful to me on many occasions.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI February 23, 2010Music Background:
    Engineer

    Surprised

    I didn't expect much from this unit as it is what I consider mid-line price.
    But it has made a significant change to my rack. While I did not have a
    problem with line noise before this actually has allowed me to crank up the gain to an optimal level with no noise floor being present. The workmanship is not quite what I'd like, as the front jack is a bit crooked,
    but the rest of the unit is solid. I was using another brand of conditioner before and this was a big improvement.

  • from Mesa AZ November 4, 2016

    Furman PL-8C-15A

    Purchased this to try to clean up some dirty electric at one of our outside venues. It helped some but we still had some hum in the pa. There is an awful lot of neon lights at this venue,so my expectations may have been too high. Having all the extra outlets was certainly a huge advantage.

  • from August 26, 2016

    Annoying Buzz

    Did I get a bad version of the PL-8C- or do they all buzz annoyingly when powered up?

    This thing just raised the noise floor ridiculously...Its so noisy...wow

    Please tell me it's a flaw...

  • from Texas September 16, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Not sure it works

    I hope it protects from overload as advertised I was hoping it would stop pops and noise from air conditioner units and other compressors and motors in a house. No hum so I guess it does that maybe

Questions about the Furman PL-8C - 15A?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway