0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Shure PGDMK6-XLR Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • Allen Atkinson
    from Weed, CA USA June 21, 2012Music Background:
    songwriter,arranger,engineer,

    Great Product can't go wrong with Shure

    These mics sound great on drums, having a complete kit like this also has multiple advantages. The pencil mikes also work great as a stereo pair or in XY. The kick drum mic also works very well on bass amps, and the tom mics are excellent for guitar amps. With the included cables and tom mounts what is not to like?

  • 804jazz
    from Richmond Va October 14, 2014Music Background:
    44 years in music industry

    Great package

    Great package works as expected based on Hurr quality. Needed to in Clyde SM-57 for snare

  • Anthony
    from NY April 2, 2015

    Great Kit

    This is a great kit to get started. I've used this for a few weeks now and I'm very happy with the mics. The drums I'm micing have 3 toms so I added an additional SM57 for the snare top. The tom mic mounts, though plastic, seem to be pretty good. Although after using the mounts designed for the SM57 (A56D) I'd say those are much better. The PG81 overheads are really good too. Overall I'm very happy with this purchase. and Oh yea.. the included cables come in very handy. I do keep a stage snake close to the kick and run everything into that but the cables are certainly long enough to go further than that.

  • mike
    from East coast summers Nation wide winters August 22, 2014Music Background:
    Stage audio lighting rental company

    Drum Mic

    Value great buy for the money. We do outdoor stages, wind, rain at times, dust storms. setting up stages outdoors is really tough on gear. Our sound techs have 12 setups two per sound system, I would recommend for value, reliability, and a good replication of sound. Mike

  • Jordan Logue
    from March 20, 2012

    Solid

    This set of mics is great for someone just starting out recording or looking to add some good mice to their collection without breaking the bank. All the mica in this set are versatile enough to be used for a variety of applications. The overheads work great on acoustic guitar. You may want to pick up something else for the snare if you want to mic a kit with three toms...overall I'm VERY pleased with this solid set of mics for a great price, with cables mounts and a good case too, it can't be beat!

  • Harrison Andrews
    from New Jersey USA October 10, 2008Music Background:
    Student, Engineer.

    Very good to have

    This is an excellent mic kit to have if you're into recording drum kits. The clips work very well on the toms and snare, and are pretty durable for their size. The three PG56s do a very good job picking up snare and tom sounds without much bleed from other parts. The PG52 does a great job picking up lower end punch, and can be used in vocal and instrumental situations, which is always good to be able to do. The PG81s do a pretty good job with the overhead work, i just wish shure put in something with some bass roll-off. On the other hand, it does a great job micing acoustic and electric guitars. The case is also a good buy.

  • Donny Wilkin
    from Chicago, Illinois July 23, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Product Review

    The Mike clips provided in this kit are too flimsy. Any hard playing drummer would be frustrated by the wobble, and in some situations I have hit the mike with my stick as a result of the wobble. The mike are great though.

  • Phil Gould
    from Central Iowa December 3, 2010Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Live Sound & Recording Tech

    Wish it was a 7 mic package.

    I've only used this package to record drums one time and that was because I was recording on location. It did a nice enough job and the band liked the way it turned out, but I prefer to use digital drums in the studio. I suppose the mounts had to made of material that flexed so they would snap over the rims, but that means they do flop a little when the drums are played because these mics are durable (heavy). Shure calls it a complete package and while I'm glad they included XLR cables, most kits have 1 snare and 3 toms, so a seventh mic would have been nice. Instead, I had to special order a PG56XLR to make it a complete package by my standards.

Questions about the Shure PGDMK6-XLR?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway