0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

Shure PG58-XLR Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • Johnny
    from New York, NY July 14, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Tech

    Cost effective choice

    Good mics for those under a small budget.

  • Joe Judge
    from Commerce, MI July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Shure PG58-XLR

    Great microphone for the price, low feedback and very clear sounding.

  • Dr. Jack Greer, The Organ Dude, DanceTech Music for Skating
    from Sarasota, Florida September 5, 2012Music Background:
    Roller Rink Organist for skating competitions and public sessions

    Affordable and Effective: Shure PG58-XLR

    I needed a an affordable and effective replacement mike to use during live music performances in roller rinks. The Shure PG58-XLR was the perfect choice for my announcements of songs and tempos for skating. I'm very pleased with the quiet response of the On/Off switch not causing loud pops on the rinks' speaker systems. This was a frequent and annoying problem with other mikes. It gets the job done and doesn't break the bank! Another satisfied Shure customer.

  • Charles R. Farmer
    from Glendale Arizona USA July 18, 2012Music Background:
    Retired Entertainer

    PG58-XLR

    I love this mic I can record and get no backround noise at all

  • Bill
    from Moyock NC November 14, 2012Music Background:
    Pastor

    New gear

    Perfect for upgrading our sound board and adding more mics for our praise band

  • Ghosts of the Pinnacle guitarist
    from Whitewater, WI May 27, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and I'm in a band

    Great mic for beginners!

    This mic is built to withstand just about any abuse you will encounter! Sounds pretty good, but I'd recommend EQing this mic. Sounds clear above my band, but it does pick up a bit of feedback if it's in a small room with the volume turned way up. I'd recommend this mic for those who are looking for a good mic at a very low amount.

  • Craig Milam
    from Chicago, Illinois November 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician (Gospel Music)

    Shure PG58-XLR Mic Review

    Excellent low cost replacement for the mics that we had at the church. Other mics we had fell apart so this time I wanted to go with a more trusted name in the sound industry. So far, so good!..

  • Russell Fragar
    from DMV September 3, 2013Music Background:
    worship pastor

    Mic with a switch

    Sometimes you need a mic with a switch. Output level seems to be a little on the low side like a 58, and I haven't performed the surprise drop test yet- fingers crossed. Cheap and good, with a switch!

  • Nathan Knox
    from Niagara Falls, New York December 12, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Review for Shure PG58 Microphone & Service

    I purchased two Shure PG-58 microphones to be used in an auditorium. The microphones are good quality and inexpensive and a good choice for how they will be used. Good product!

    The service from Sweetwater has been nothing short of fantastic! Matt M. has been wonderful to work with on every order that I've made.

    Thanks!!

  • Videojunkie
    from Virginia August 14, 2012Music Background:
    audio visual systems engineer

    Good but not great mic

    Overall this mic is exactly what you would expect for it's price point. If you are used to really good condenser mic's (or even some of the mid range ones these days) then you are not going to be very happy. But if you are looking for a solid CHEAP mic that can take some abuse and still sound great, this is a fine mic. We have several at our church replacing some older microphones and they sound great!

    I would never suggest this mic for recording, dynamic mics just don't compare to condensers for recording quality, but for live sound, this mic is adequate.

    @ the guy who complained about it being muddy, I would check your EQ's and also check your speakers to make sure the tweeters aren't blown (if both of those are good, a hearing test is in order!) This dynamic mic does not have the "crispness" of a condenser, but it is a solid clean mic.

    PRO: Great quality for the $
    CON: If you've got the bucks spring for a real SM58 (or a beta58). If you are recording, go buy a decent condeser mic.

  • Christopher E. Taylor
    from Dillon, SC February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Audio Engineer and studio owner.

    Pleasantly Surprised!

    I bought one of these as my redundant podium mic at church. i really didn't expect much out of it, but on the Sunday that my wireless headset decided to abandon me in the middle of my sermon when I took the pg58 off the holder and began speaking through it my eyes popped. I bought it because it was a Shure mic and because it was priced well below the MSR price. I'll be picking up 7 more of these for my church until I can afford 8 SMs. LOL

  • Ethan
    from Lakeville, MA USA March 19, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Student

    save your money

    Honestly, your getting what you pay for. Spend an extra forty and buy a Sennheiser e835 or if your a Shure fan like many people are, go buy the SM58. I have this and it is muddy beyond belief. You have eq this thing like crazy. What a hassle! I'd recommend the Sennheiser e935 if you have the money. I've heard Senneiser mics on vocals, drums, and other things and I prefer them over Shure.

Questions about the Shure PG58-XLR?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close