0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Ampeg PF-800 800-Watt Portaflex Bass Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Ampeg PF-800 800-Watt Portaflex Bass Head?

Questions about the Ampeg PF-800 800-Watt Portaflex Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 1, 2017

    Excellent bass amp

    I expected solid tone and volume response from an Ampeg bass amp, and I got it. I paired it with two PF410HLF cabs. I can be heard on the moon and I've heard reliable reports this combination has killed several rhinos on the African continent. I like simple amps and this meets my requirement. The on-board compressor is terrific, too. NOTE: You only get 800 watts if you pair this with 4 ohm speakers (like the Ampeg SVT cabs). But 400 watts are more than enough.

  • from West Hempstead, NY December 20, 2015Music Background:
    Playing in bands since 1964, Bass, Guitar, vocals, and recording bands.

    Ampeg PF-800 Portaflex Bass Head

    Works great and sounds great out on gigs with Ampeg Pro Neo 410HLF and PN 115HLF cabs. Light weight head. And great Ampeg bass sound, clear and clean as a bass should be. Oldies, Doo Wop, Rock and Motown. And as always, quick shipping and service from Zack Neels and Sweetwater crew.

  • from Texas June 22, 2015

    Awesome Tone, lots of headroom

    I needed a bit more watts than what I was using for my small rig, which consisted of 1- 2 X 10 cab and 1 12" cab. Both cabs are 8 ohm's each so pairing them with the PF-800 was a perfect match. When I got it plugged in the chain and turned it on it really was sweet. The variables on this amp allow for killer tone options and I can get the volume up on stage now without any compromise in tone. Very happy with this purchase,

  • from Warren, New Jersey January 19, 2015Music Background:
    Returning musician

    What a difference an Ampeg makes ...

    Great range of tones, user friendly,versatile, powerful - doesn't break a sweat (no distortion unless you dial it in). I played many set-ups in the past (when the PA system was for vocals only - imagine) - nothing comes close to this for the price. For the advice I got from Danielle at Sweetwater - many thanks! P.S. - put this in a Gator micro-bag and you're on your way.

  • from Atlanta, GA USA November 20, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I love this head. I know that I can still add a 15" to my 4x10s as well.

  • from Los Angeles May 22, 2017Music Background:
    30 years of rock / pop live and session

    One of the best values out there.

    Back in 2013 I had one of the first-runs of the PF-500. I believe there was an overall problem in the design or a component and mine died after just a few uses. Ampeg replaced fixed it with a new board and it was great - it also seemed to eliminate the problem of "cutting out" which many users were complaining about. If the amp was driven hard the signal would completely cut out and Ampeg claimed it was by design and to back off of the gain or ultra-low. After the visit to authorized service that never happened again and the amp was great sounding and solid. At 500 watts it had enough power for about any situation. Sadly, that amp was lost in a flood at storage unit where I kept some gear.

    A couple of years went by using some configurations of other gear I had, and then I was ready to replace the PF-500. After looking at EVERYTHING out there ( I kinda wanted to try something different for fun ), I found myself back to the Porta-flex series but the 800 watt version. Who wouldn't want 300 more watts? This is a solid head, great construction, sounds amazing, not feather-light but that makes it feel not as much like a toy. I use a TC Electronic Spectra-Comp but the compressor onboard will do in a pinch - though not my fav, but way better than none. Oh, and if you find the right laptop bag ( briefcase/clamshell style ), this will fit in there like it's made for it. Also, all of the patching options are here - which many of the small class-d's have to omit due to lack of real estate.

  • from Portland, ME November 2, 2016

    This can make you happy!

    This amp is powerful and can be EQ'd to produce awesome sounds from a variety of quality speaker cabinets. I've tried it with an Ampeg Pro Neo PN-115hlf as well as GK CX210 and loved the results. In its class, I don't know of a better amp value!!

  • from NH November 1, 2016Music Background:
    Old shool since the summer of `69

    PF-800 Bass Head

    Hi: This head is hard not to like. It`s 11lbs. and easy to use. It has enough power for most anything I can think of. It has a nice soft, deep sound and is easy to listen too. I love it like it is but if you want an overdrive or fuzz tone I would try a pedal. I used Velcro for a Korg rack tuner on top and just wrap it in a blanket when moving.For the money you can`t go wrong! PS: I got a GK cx 2-10 and GK cx 1-15 and this is a keeper!

Questions about the Ampeg PF-800 800-Watt Portaflex Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway