0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Ampeg PF-115HE 1x15" 450-Watt Portaflex Bass Cabinet with Horn Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Ampeg PF-115HE 1x15" 450-Watt Portaflex Bass Cabinet with Horn?

Questions about the Ampeg PF-115HE 1x15" 450-Watt Portaflex Bass Cabinet with Horn?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Saginaw, MI October 18, 2016Music Background:
    Broadcast Engineer, Voice Over Talent, Recording Engineer, Musician

    Absolute Perfection

    I have mine paired with the Ampeg PF-50T Portaflex - 50W All-tube Bass Head. It is a match made in heaven. I've been using a Martin acoustic bass and can get tones from "very acoustic" to "total electric bass" and everything in between.

    Then tweeter horn switch is a nice feature as one can attenuate, or eliminate completely all articulations and like textures at will. One can also get quite a thunderous output with just the 50 watts delivered by the tube amp. It is suitable for medium sized venues on down to the studio recording. When done, everything, including the amp, fits in the cabinet which has detachable casters to wheel it out to your car. And if you want to play a bigger room, the cab is rated up to 450 watts with which would able to generate "ear wax melting" bass.

    I Love Ampeg!

  • from Evansville, Indiana August 4, 2016Music Background:
    34 years guitar, 28 years bass

    Out of this world!

    I bought this to pair with a Hartke HA3500C and was skeptical at first just because of the small size and incredibly light weight. BOY was I WRONG! This cab produces some of the best tones, spitting out crystal clear sounds without breaking a sweat. The included cable pouch makes setup and tear down MUCH faster. Big thanks to Nich Magnani and SweetWater for really coming through yet again! Still on the fence about this? Just buy it already!!!

  • from Round Rock, Texas July 22, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar and Bass Professional

    Ampeg PF-115HE

    A great, tight cabinet... fully sealed, which offers a tight punch to the bottom end.
    The horn/driver offers a crisp snap to pop/slap style bass play.
    Turn off the horn and you get a classic 50s/60s motown-ish growl.
    Pair this with the PF-115LF and BOOM!
    Foundation leveling thunder.
    I really dig this unit!

  • from northern Nevada October 28, 2014Music Background:
    strings, horns, percussion, keyboards, acoustic guitar

    Just clean sound

    This Ampeg Cab is nicely put together and I believe with quality. The thing that's interesting with Ampeg-there's no trademark sound. It's just clean and clear sound. Which is actually saying a lot. For a cab with this quality it's a fair price. Maybe that's they're trademark sound-clean and clear. Also, got this after discussing with my tech. Ryan Clapper. Thank you, Ryan.

  • from Midwest January 25, 2016Music Background:
    professional musician and university music professor

    Speaker Cable Included

    It's not made clear from the description that the cabinet comes with a fairly decent 3 foot speaker cable included. You also get the mounting hardware for any of the Portaflex heads, including the new tube rigs, and a handy nylon cable pouch that Velcros inside.

  • from Calistoga, CA September 17, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player, engineer

    Killer Cab

    This thing is near perfect! Light weight and loud. Love the reversible top. Don't think about it, buy it!

  • from Ohio September 9, 2015Music Background:
    Have played Bass Guitar for more than fority years.

    The Missing Element

    Previously I had purchased the Ampeg PF-210HE along with the PF-500 amp. I was greatly impressed with the sound of the combination and all of it's features. However, I felt that the fidelity of this combination was lacking what I have become use too with past systems. It was an agonizing decision to add the PH-115HE to my recent purchase, but I am so glad that I did. It has added the bottom end of the sound quality that I feel was missing. Also, by adding the PH-115HE to the equipment mix, it has allowed the PF-500 amp to reach its full potential. This is an ideal rig that gives the required performance and is quit manageable when transporting from place to place. I have not used this Ampeg system in a live performance yet, but I am sure I will not be disappointed.

  • from Indianapolis, IN February 27, 2013Music Background:
    Performing and Session bassist for over 45 years.

    Anpeg FP-115

    I am driving the cabinet with the Ampeg FP-500 head. This is a surprising 15 inch cabinet that puts out a ton of low end and more that I would expect from a sealed cabinet. I like this cabinet’s tight response and the balanced frequency range when running the crossover at a little under 12 o’clock. I play both a Fender Precision and a Jazz bass through this rig with amazingly different results. The Precision is low and old school and the Jazz is bright and punchy.

    Ampeg’s Frequency selector on the FP-500 head helps to dial in both basses for an exact and controllable sound. This is a nice compact and light weight unit and has plenty of thump for most in door venues.

  • from Midwest January 25, 2016Music Background:
    professional musician and university music professor

    Great cab

    This is a great bass speaker cabinet with wonderful low end punch. The only reason it gets 4 stars from me, is because I bought it specifically to use as a flip top with the Portaflex PF-50T, and the horn (which I don't use anyway) just barely clears one of the amp's transformers, so you have to be extremely careful when you flip the amp for transport. I've already had to touch up a very tiny bit of paint on the transformer corner, and I was being super careful. I may just remove the horn, and eventually try to relocate it. This is not a problem with any of the solid state Portaflexes, so 5 stars there. Other than that, the latches, corners, Tolex and build are all top quality. I like the removable casters as well. Get the cover!

  • from Kenosha,Wi August 10, 2011Music Background:
    Semi -pro

    Nice sound but has a few problems

    Nice cab and sounds great with the PF -500 head. Thie cab is not ported which would improve it's low end and overall sound. Also the casters are very poorly attached. My casters pulled away from the cab after one use. They are attached with tiny screws which are screwed into particle board. I replaced them with heavy duty bolts and now they're fine. I still question Ampegs decision to build their combos overseas. This cab is better than their BA series but it still is rather cheaply built.

Questions about the Ampeg PF-115HE 1x15" 450-Watt Portaflex Bass Cabinet with Horn?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway