0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Lindell Audio PEX-500 Passive EQ Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Lindell Audio PEX-500 Passive EQ?

Questions about the Lindell Audio PEX-500 Passive EQ?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 6, 2016

    Color me Impressed!

    Man oh man. I feel spoiled owning this eq. If you've got a great mic and preamp, crank up some 16kHz goodness and watch that mystical air start to happen in your track. Very clean eq great for putting that ever so popular smiley face curve on a pop vocal or fattening up a bass for example. And using the boost and cut simultaneously on the low frequency band can get you some cool results.

  • from November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Prosumer

    The Real Deal At Any Price

    You can't go wrong with this EQ. I actually find my self using it more than my API 550b's. It's just so simple and as a prosumer I just want to get on with it. Probably going to buy 4-6 more and fill out my inserts on my SSL X-Desk to have a 8 channel SSL/Lindell console for under 5k. It's just totally unreal. Never mind the price. It's pro level if you aren't doing mastering or a million $ record. Sounds awesome behind a Chandler Little Devil as well with guitars.

  • from Sayreville, NJ December 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Lindell PEX-500

    I've bought two of those for the bass and kick, specifically 60 Hz - kick and 100 Hz - bass, and both do the job well, I've never had a luxury to work with real Pultec Eqs, however these small ones do exactly what are expected. After 6 months I installed Vintage OPA1731 into both PEXs
    and found the sound more colorful and pleasant.
    I have to say, I am very glad to deal with Sweetwater company, and my favorite representative Michael Eads.

  • from San Antonio, TX August 24, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Studio Owner, Musician, Film Score/Arranger

    Wow. Just wow.

    It seems that the pultec style EQ has come back into vogue. With companies like tube tech, IGS (Rubber Bands), A designs and others all taking their own stab at re-creating a classic. Before these companies started recreating these clones and tributes, You'd need luck AND a wad of cash to get an original pultec eq. Well, throw the PEX-500 on the heap of those using the inspiration of the original tube eq that crafted so many hits.

    The verdict? Wow. First off, obviously its not a tube EQ like the real pultec, and there are less frequency bands selectable than the original, BUT what is offered is well thought out, and expertly pulled off. When used responsibly, the high boosts are never harsh, but add a beautiful bright sheen that does indeed harken back to the glory of its inspiration. It takes a good understanding of HOW a parametric EQ works and what bandwidth (Q) settings are appropriate in different scenarios, respectively. The low boost is thick and powerful, not flubby, honky and undefined. Use it conservatively until you get a good feel for NOT over doing it. I LOVE these on drum overheads, on DI bass (They really make the high and low end come to life as well as adding needed warmth to sometimes harsh DI digital bass recordings.) I use a pair on bass DI/Bass Amp religiously (over several high end EQ's)

    I bought 6 after using a pair borrowed from a local studio on drum overheads in a mobile session. I also sprung for Lindell's 6 space 500 series chassis. Its built like a tank. I had an issue with one of the 6 PEX500's I bought. The unit flickered on and off like it wasn't powering up properly, it'd be fine for about 5 minutes, then go haywire again. Lindell fixed the issue, and instead of sending me a new one, they just credited me for another at the store I purchased it from. Done and Done. The sales rep at the store said it was the first of many Lindell products they've sold they had any problems on. I'm inclined to believe him. 5 stars all the way. Id love more frequency bands, and maybe a midrange capable version (or a basic copy of the pultec mids MEQ) but given the price, and given that every band, every filter sounds amazing, I'm inclined to keep my mouth shut and love it for what it is. If you own a studio, don't think, just grab AT LEAST a pair. When we've spent upwards of $3000 per one channel of EQ this should be a complete no brainer.

  • from ATL May 11, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer/Producer/Musician

    Dont let the price trick you

    i was skeptical when seeing these lil guys. for 300 i had low standards, but wanted try them out. passive eq's are hard to come by without spending a couple thousand so i searched and found this eq... wow. effin wow! i own a pair and these things are smooth and creamy. i have absolutely nothing to say other than these are among my fav gear purchases ever!

  • from Baltimore, MD March 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Modern Pultec Sound

    I got a pair of these guys for mix bus action, and gotta say they sound great! You can easily get rid of low frequencies that muddy up your mix without cutting the low end punch. These eqs also added a nice color to the mix.

    For roughly $600 for a pair, they are fantastic bang for your buck. These guys will be staying on my mix bus!

  • from Nashville Tn. USA January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    STRAIGHT BUTTER

    I purchase a pair of Pex-500 eq's a couple of weeks ago from sweetwater, please to say absolutely know regrets. I use them on my stereo master buss and it just sculpt the entire mix leaving a pleasant sound that makes the ears stay to the speakers. A very natural feel with much warmth to low end and very smooth on the high end. The Lindelle hardware is definitely worth the money and the feel of the knobs and switches are very sturdy and smooth as you flip and turn them. I work in protools and I try and incorporate the analog gear to bring more depth and dynamics to my mixes. Until I got these Eq' I always felt something was missing from my mixes, but now They're complete! Cosmetic wise they look good mounted in 500 series rack mount chassis made by A Designs .Thanks Matt at sweetwater for keeping me informed on availability.

  • from DIVIDE, COLORADO August 1, 2013Music Background:
    FORMER MASTERING ENGINEER AT COLUMBIA/ EPIC RECORDS ,MUSIC PRODUCER

    lindel pex 500

    ITS NOT QUITE A "FULL " PULTEC BUT ITS DARN CLOSE IN THE LOW END . IVE BEEN RECORDING FOR MORE THAN 50 YRS AND THIS IS A TOOL THAT WORKS VERY WELL IF USED CORECTLY ON KICK AND BASS . THE HI END IS VERY USEABLE . I WISH THE TRADE OFF OF THE HI END COULD HAVE BEEN SOMETHING IN THE MID RANGE TO SELECT 1.5 UP TO 2.5 K TO DIAL IN THE SNAP OF THE BEATER. I NOW OWN 3 PEX 500. AND FOR THE 300 SPENDOLAS YOU CANT GO OUT OF TUNE ON THIS ONE .MY RATING IS 4.5 ONLY BECAUSE ITS NOT A "FULL FREQ" EQ AND THAT WOULD BE TUFF ROAD TO FOLLOW .

  • from Beaumont, TX April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, studio owner

    300$ goes further with other makers

    Oh man. First impressions; that bright front plate is unreadable with the scratches they used for text. The depth of my unit just BARELY touches the receptacle it was supposed to go in. Second impressions. I dropped a screw inside the box while installing another 500 unit next to the PEX. As I turned the box face down to let the screw fall out 2 knobs fell off the Lindell into my lap.

    Tex

Questions about the Lindell Audio PEX-500 Passive EQ?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway