0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance Last Chance

Fender Tony Franklin Fretless Precision Bass - Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Tony Franklin Fretless Precision Bass - Black?

Questions about the Fender Tony Franklin Fretless Precision Bass - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Santa Cruz, CA February 6, 2017

    Extremely versatile instrument

    This is my second fretless bass, after a Spector Legend 5 Classic, and my third Fender bass, after an American Elite Precision and an American Deluxe Jazz Bass V. I have two other basses. The Tony Franklin is rapidly becoming my favorite of all. It's very easy to play, with a wide variety of sounds available. As one of the other reviewers commented about finding new voices, I find that the more I play this bass, the more expressive it becomes. I will be trying flatwounds on it in due course (my Spector has Ernie Ball Cobalt flats which are superb) but for I'm really enjoying the versatility of the fitted roundwound Fender NPS strings it comes fitted with. The neck is a joy, pretty slim, modern-C shape and feels very slick under my fingers. The instrument is slightly neck heavy, but not a problem at all.

    Of course, it came beautifully set up from Sweetwater and almost perfectly in tune. Usual great service from my Sweetwater SE Andrew Plassman.

  • from Colorado Springs August 20, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro active live performances and recording.

    Fantastic bass

    This is the 2nd fretless bass I've owned and by far the very best. Playability and tonal variations seem endless. I had Sweetwater change the stock strings to half-rounds (thanks Charlie Davis) it arrived in perfect pitch and setup. I would highly recommend this bass to anyone thinking of making the transition to fretless. I've had nothing but praise from other musicians on its unique sound and the fact it doesn't get lost in the on stage mix. Thanks Fender! Fit and finish are flawless. My Warwick is now officially retired.

  • from seligman, AZ March 18, 2016

    best bass ever owned

    Best customer service. Wonderful bass, was a demo but great guitar. It sings. thanks

  • from June 23, 2015

    Tony Franklin Fretless P- Bass

    This bass is hands down the smoothest playing bass I've ever tried. I decided playing fretless was something I would like to get into, and research led me here. I was a bit concerned a P-bass wouldn't suit me, I really wanted a J-bass for the versatility, however, I have not found this to be an issue at all, I am still able to get varying tones, all with a fantastic sound. The action on this bass is remarkable, and I highly recommend it. Sweetwater did an awesome job with the inspection and even made a photo album of my bass for me! This is now my favorite instrument, it is a quality fretless bass and I am in love with it. Also love the black color, it is very unique and stands out from the typical sunburst look many basses have.

  • from Greensburg, IN November 12, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend bass player

    Tony Franklin fretless PBase

    This Bass is awesome. the action is terrific all the way down the scale I would recommend this bass to anyone people think a fretless might may be hard to play but this one is just awesome it's definitely one of my go to basses.

  • from Cedar Park, TX August 27, 2014

    just awesome

    i had had this bass a few weeks now and just love it. i don't know if i will ever play my fretted p-bass again. bottom line this is a bass you can rock out with and also play some smoother stuff if you like. the added pickup sound is kick ***. it's a bit heavier than my american special p-bass but it is very solid and feels it. only thing i had to do was adjust the pickups to my liking - the hex bolts seemed a bit high but was easy to fix. also still getting use to tuning with the drop D hipshot. - minor details. thanks to Devin my Sweetwater rep for helping my wife place the order for my birthday as a surprise!

  • from San Diego January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Sweet Bass!!

    This is an instrument that you can grow with. I'v been playing bass for 30+ years, and am not easily blown away. This bass does that for me. The more I play it, the more voices I find. I own several basses. This is by far the most expressive that bass I own. Plays great, sounds great, and is still confortable at the end of the night. It is wonderful in the studio, too. I am a very happy owner.

  • from Goshen, Ohio USA November 2, 2012Music Background:
    semi pro musical hobbyist

    Fender Tony Franklin Fretless Precision Bass...Wow!

    I wanted this bass strictly for the Fret less action. I own 2 other basses which are fretted. I was amazed at the smoothness of the fingering. I do have plenty of "adjusting" on my part to get this down, but with this neck action so smooth, I can't miss. This is also my first Fender owned bass. I love the way it feels. Not as heavy as I had imagined it to be. I love the sound it produces and I guess Tony Franklin knew what he was doing when he set out to help with Fender to design this bass. Awesome! I may change out the strings to experiment with the sound and more smoothness than the stock NPS strings that come with it. If you want a fret less bass, and no lines, then this is it. Love it! Sweetwater staff are great to organize and ship this baby fast too. :)

  • from New Orleans, La March 5, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Bass

    This is a great Bass. I normally play Fender products so I am not surprised by the quality, but the features are where this bass stands out. It can be a J Bass or a P Bass or both at the same time. The pickups sound great, there is no noise. My only apprehension to the bass was the P Bass neck. I normally play the J Bass. The neck is extremely fast and after about a minute, you don't realize this is a thickner neck. You will probably not have a chance to play it before you buy it, but that shouldn't matter. Spend with confidence on this bass and you will be pleasantly surprised like I was.

  • from Charleston, SC February 22, 2016

    What a Ride!

    -This bass is a joy to play. The action is silky smooth and the tone is fantastic. That seductive "mwah" tone that most of us are after is easily achieved anywhere and everywhere on the neck.Mine required no set up right out of the box (thank you, Sweetwater)
    -The alder body comes in at 9 lbs and some change, so weight is not an issue. My TF has an ever-so-slight tendency to nose dive, but not enough to be anything more than a barely noticeable inconvenience. This very minor point is so outweighed by the overall playability and tone that I hesitate to even mention it.
    -Having not played fretless for 30 years, I would comfortable taking this bass right out of the shipping box and straight to the gig. Call Sweetwater's Tom Koch 800.222.4700 Ext 1676 and get yours. You're gonna LOVE it.

Questions about the Fender Tony Franklin Fretless Precision Bass - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway