0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Fender Road Worn '50s Precision Bass - 2-Color Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Road Worn '50s Precision Bass - 2-Color Sunburst?

Questions about the Fender Road Worn '50s Precision Bass - 2-Color Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Jersey Shore June 18, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    A great P

    After reading numerous favorable reviews, I decided to give this bass a shot. Thanks to Sweetwater's great feature of listing the actual weight of the instrument you're purchasing (kudos, guys!), I purchased one that was nice & light (8 lbs 3 oz).
    Public opinion remains mixed on the 'relic' finish (doesn't bother me), but that aside, the fit & finish on this bass is great - lots of quality attention to detail. In my opinion, it plays, feels & sounds like a Custom Shop quality instrument. Don't let the 'Made in Mexico' aspect steer you away - I also own an American Standard Precision (5 string), and the Road Worn more than holds it's own against it's higher priced sibling.
    Kyle Malone was extremely friendly & helpful during the whole sales process. He & his team members do a great job - it was great dealing with them!

  • from Southern Maine USA December 3, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    All I can say is WoW!

    Up until now I have owned 5 bass guitars from different manufacturers. I have not owned a Fender P Bass until today. This bass feels like it was custom made just for me! The neck fit in my hands like a glove and the balance is great. The playability is incredible. I like wide string spacing for my big fingers and no more being finger tied hitting other strings when I don't want to. The finish is awesome. I love the antique look. And, Tone! Sounds amazing! If you are on the fence about buying one don't be! Buy one now, you won't regret it! My sales engineer IsRael is such a pleasure to work with. Keep up the great service Sweetwater!

  • from Cincinnati, OH October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Very comfortable bass

    This to me is a poor mans custom shop relic, that is a good thing. You essentially get a bass that is on par with American Fenders but has the professional relic treatment and feels amazing. Not equivalent to a $4,000 custom shop but close enough for those of us who work for a living and don't want to be scared to take a bass to a gig. The sound on this bass is just what you would hope for in a solid P bass. The vintage grooved saddle bridge made me a little nervous but after a 3 hour gig and listening to the playback, I am a fan. I am able to dial in pretty low action and the saddle screws didn't budge. I know it sounds cliche but Fender did it right back in the 50's. I gig probably about 30-45 times a year and I have found my new workhorse.

  • from Des Moines, IA USA September 30, 2014Music Background:
    Full time professional bassist/vocalist

    Road Worn feels like an old friend!

    This Fender Road Worn 50's Precision Bass I purchased through Sweetwater is by far one of the best modern mass manufactured basses I've ordered. The quality of these basses, for the money, really can't be beat. I'm a huge fan of the original mid to late 50's anodized pickguard era Fender P-Basses and own one, but it doesn't leave the house. The stock electronics aren't cheap. Most people would see them as just fine, but I have a thing for period correctness so I refitted the instrument with a period correct "raised A" pole-piece Seymour Duncan Antiquities pickup. The wide worn one-piece maple neck and fingerboard is a tip of the hat to the originals and the worn nitro lacquer on the body and neck lets the bass resonate better then any modern Fenders I've tried. This bass has become a wonderful substitute for my old bass and like my favorite worn pair of Chuck Taylor's, its feel and fit is very similar to my old friend. Kudos to Fender for making this series and to Sweetwater for selling them. Thanks guys!

  • from Calif. May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    You'll Never Go Back

    This bass converted me to play P-Basses, only. Everything else sounds and feels a little thin in comparison. Just like everyone says, you feel the notes resonate in the body with these basses. Sick. Absolutely sick.

  • from July 20, 2016

    Killer Bass!!

    Fender packs some punch into this Roadworn 50's P Bass. The neck is bulky and full, the body is light weight and super resonant, the finish is nicely aged and feels thin. The patina on the hardware is not too over-the-top, and the gold anodized pickguard is really attractive.
    I was debating between an american standard p and this one as I didn't want to spend 2k+ on a pbass. I am very happy with my decision. I feel like this pbass is very true to form and handles everything I want it to do.
    The tone is nice and woody like an old pbass. The weight and balance is good for my back (Just under 8lbs) and the string spacing is nice and wide.
    My only complaint is that Fender includes a gig bag with about as much heft as a laundry bag with this bass. For 999 It'd be nice to get something a touch nicer...

  • from Oklahoma March 20, 2016

    Like Butter

    This bass is wonderfully constructed, plays and sounds like butter. Set-up was great out of the box, I did put some flatwounds on it but the action remained nice and to my liking. I took off half a star because like others I feel a hardshell case would have been nice. I've paired it with the Ampeg pf20t and couldn't be more impressed.

  • from Mt. Pleasant WI. USA April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Fender road worn pbass

    Great bass plays great and like always great service.

  • from May 23, 2013

    Fender Road Worn '50s Precision Bass

    Love it. Looks great, sounds great! Looks & feels like it has been played for 50 yrs. Should come with a hard case for $999.

Questions about the Fender Road Worn '50s Precision Bass - 2-Color Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway