0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender Nate Mendel Precision Bass - Road Worn Candy Apple Red Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Nate Mendel Precision Bass - Road Worn Candy Apple Red?

Questions about the Fender Nate Mendel Precision Bass - Road Worn Candy Apple Red?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Jonesville April 12, 2017

    My new p bass

    I'm really happy with my new p bass! The neck was perfectly set, and it was even perfectly tuned to E standard. Sweetwater has my business forever!

  • from Ringgold, ga March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Hard rock and funk

    Nate Mendel p

    First of f all kudos to sweet water. Once again great customer service and my bass came set up and ready to go. Couldn't be happier with sweetwater! Now this bass absolutely kicks! I am blown away at how this bass thunders. Great feel and great sound. I own a American p and as much as I love it this bass is there with it. If your considering a new buy this is the one to go to. You won't be disappointed and when you do buy order from sweetwater only. Thanks again sweetwater and thank you fender!

  • from April 8, 2014

    One bad bass

    I have owned and played lots of basses. For the money this bass is a knockout. This Fender Nate Mendel P-bass is just as good as some of the Fender Custom Shop basses that I have played. Fender has really outdone themselves on this one. For a Mexican made bass quality is not overlooked. In fact this bass have a higher quality that many of the American made Fenders that I have owned and played. The bass sounds and played like no other and the quarter pounder pickups are punchy and carry lots of head room. Pick one up today you will not be disappointed.

  • from August 14, 2015Music Background:
    bass player 20+ years. Parties, pubs & club gigs.

    My first precision

    After playing bass for the last 20 years, on at least half a dozen Squires, most of which were great instruments, I was given this model as a gift. A fantastic instrument at a fantastic price, in anyone's language. And as a fan of all things Foo, an even bigger bonus!
    Great mods to the iconic PBass to use Nate Mendels specifications. Beautifully playable & a pleasure to own. A ****kicker!

  • from New Jersey September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great bass!

    I bought this bass not because I'm a huge Foo Fighters fan, but because it had a number of features that I was looking for, namely:

    - A P-bass body with a slightly smaller neck
    - Just the right amount of "wear" that I didn't have to worry about dinging/denting it, and at the same time it didn't have the over-the-top sanded forearm wear
    - High-mass bridge for added sustain
    - Seymour Duncan Bassline pickups for that added punch

    The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is due to it's somewhat heavy weight & the fact that I had to adjust the pickup height due to some string buzz upon arrival. Although that was an easy fix.

    Bottom line: a great bass for a fair price, considering the features.

  • from Florence, MT March 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer and musician.

    Great Value

    The bass sounds like I was hoping-- it produces the classic P-Bass sound. The upgrades to knobs and the BadAss bridge are great. The neck feels good and playable. The ash body is a bit heavier than alder, but it's not too heavy by any means.

    Two minor points. First, I agree with another reviewer about the setup. It's playable, but it could be setup so much better with just a little effort. Again, it's not horrible, but a little attention to detail would make it better. Last (and this is minor), it comes with Schaller straplock buttons, but it does not include the female pieces that mount to the strap. If you don't have any, you may consider ordering a set when you order this bass.

    All in all, it's a great sounding bass for the money and with a little time put in to the setup, it is a great bass. Super value for the < $1000 category.

  • from Hawaii January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist- that's had a few paying gigs. Playing bass since 2000

    A great bass, with only one real flaw

    Great bass!

    It sounds and plays excellent, with no dead spots on the neck, and has that rich, warm midrange sound that only a P type can give.

    The neck has a great broken in feel to it, with its rounded edges on both sides of the neck, and the slightly cupped areas between the frets, as if your fingers have pressed there, many thousands of times. The width is perfect, especially for smaller hands, with the nut width being a little narrower than a standard modern P, and a bit wider than a Fender Jazz type. I also like that the neck isn't too flat around the back, so I have something substantial to hold on to. I have a Korean Lakland Duck Dunn, which has a thinner Jazz- type neck, and is faster playing, but is not as rich sounding in the lower mid range as this bass, and I think the slightly thicker neck of the Mendel adds to this. Of course, the Duncan Quarter Pounder also contributes as well. One minor complaint is that the neck must be unbolted to adjust the truss rod. and a special "Truss Rod Wrench for Fender" (stewmac.com) type screwdriver should be used to adjust it, so its grooves don't get rounded. To be fair to Fender, in pictures, it looks like Nate's original bass has the same truss rod.

    The Looks...people grumble about buying an instrument that looks like it has been knocked around for about 10 years, but its nice to be able to wedge a pick between the body and the pickguard without worrying about scratching the paint...or dinging the headstock or lower horn on a cymbal for the first time.

    Neck dive...it dives on my lap, but only a tiny bit on a wide strap. The bass I bought only weighs 8.2 lbs. so the light body may be contributing a bit to the dive.

    OK, here's the only real reason this bass lost a star... The tuners. They are rubbish. All four of them. They are difficult to tighten, and if I overshoot, and tune too sharp, when I de-tune, the posts bind for about half a turn of the key.. without the note going flatter, and then the posts makes a little pop sound, and the note goes instantly one whole tone too low. I tried adjusting the screw on the back of the post, but this didn't help. I have an early '90's cheapo $200 Japanese Squier, and an inexpensive Epiphone Allen Woody that do not have this problem. And the Lakland Duck doesn't either. I'm going to try put the tuners from the Squier on the Mexican Mendel, but I'm not sure they will fit.

    I hope Fender sees this, and has a little talk with their tuner supplier, because there are basses at lower price points that do not have this problem. This is the only thing that lessens the performance of this excellent gigging bass.

  • from United States March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Good Bass once set up

    This bass was not ready to be played out of the box. The set up was extremely high, and the neck pitch was off. It required shimming to make it playable. This is a good sounding and playing bass once the set up was done. Be aware before buying that this has the Vintage truss rod adjustment that requires the neck to be removed to make adjustments.

Questions about the Fender Nate Mendel Precision Bass - Road Worn Candy Apple Red?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway