rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Squier Matt Freeman Precision Bass - Vintage White Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Desert Sand February 23, 2016

    Its a Fender Precision Bass

    If this bass were made in the US, you'd expect to pay well over a grand for it. But its not. Its made in the Peoples Republic of China, which is a fancy way of saying Communist China. So yeah, some of profits the Chinese make from these basses go right into manufacturing ballistic warheads that are aimed right at you and I. Fortunately, we've got way more and way better ballistic missles pointed at them, so it sort of evens out. Why let a little thing like ideology stand in the way of capitalism? Anyway, this is an upgraded Fender P-Bass with the Squier name on it. I say "upgraded", because the bridge on this bass is better than the bent metal bridges that used to be put on American Fender basses. The higher mass bridge reduces those strange harmonic overtones one used to get playing a regular USA Fender bass. Fender sells those Fatfinger Bass Sustain Enhancers to overcome this problem, but as long as you have the high mass bridge you probably won't need one. Its got a Basswood body, which usually means its slightly lighter than the standard Alder body of regular P-basses. It plays and sounds like an American or Mexican made P-bass without the elevated price tag. So if you're looking for a status symbol complete with bragging rights, by all means get an American made Fender. If you're looking for the SOUND of an American made P-bass for a lot less money, this bass is what you're looking for.

  • from Cedar Springs, MI June 12, 2015Music Background:
    Radio DJ/Record-CD Store Owner/Manager/Buyer, Retired IT Tech who plays bass with other senior citizens!!

    Awesome for the Price!

    Wanted a P-Bass, but didn't want to spend a fortune, ran across this and did some research and every one who reviewed it, or talked about owning one gave it 4.5-5 stars out of 5 on every review.

    So I took the chance and saved a bundle.

    Came today, and right out of the box it played perfectly. Thought I might need to do some pickup and string replacement to fit my needs, but that seem moot at this point. It has the feel and low end I want for playing blues.

    Have to say also, that Sweetwater went above and beyond for me, replacing a previous purchase well after the 30 day grace period. They worked with me, gave me no grief and worked out a deal in just a few hours.

    If you're looking for an instrument that will do as it's told, look no further!!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Hobbyist

    Matt Freeman Precision Bass

    Firstly, I bought this bass because Matt Freeman is one of my favorite bass players and I love Rancid. Also, I've always wanted a 70's Fender Precision bass and this one is modeled after a '77. This is a Squier by Fender, but don't let the name on the headstock deter you from buying this bass. Since I live very close to the Sweetwater Headquarters, I'm always in there trying out gear. I've played on a lot of Fender Precision basses that come through there, be it a Mexican made or American made. I will tell you that this plays and feels just as good as a Mexican model if not better and sounds on par with an American model. The setup was perfect out of the box and the action is low and sweet. Just read the reviews of this bass, folks. The people do not lie. Great quality instrument for a great price. Shout out to Adam Crampton and the great service at Sweetwater.

  • from United States April 6, 2014

    Marty Freeman Bass

    Love this bass. Its rich, deep, punchy, plays fantastic. i can't believe its this cost effective

  • from Seattle, WA February 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    Amazing bass for my home studio

    This bass is awesome. I put in the Seymour Duncan Antiquity II and it records amazing. Great price for an amazing bass.

  • from Chicago January 21, 2014Music Background:
    PRO

    BEST FENDER PRODUCT IN A LONG TIME

    I have owned almost every type of Fender made and besides the 70s Fenders this squire blows em all away.I'f im at Squire Im putting new colors out and new finger boards. I would do a rosewood and a fretless with some vintage colors . Sweetwater should talk to Fender and get that going .Great bass

  • from Columbia,S.C. October 14, 2013Music Background:
    have been playing guitar and bass for over 35 years.

    I've been a musician for over 35 years and can confidently say that the "Squier" product line, by Fender, is off the chart! Fender "Squier's " can stand up to anything on the market today. To say that they are "worth the money," is a gross understatement! I constantly tell others they can NEVER go wrong buying Fender "Squiers."

  • from Nashville, TN May 3, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great Bass

    This plays just as good as more expensive Fender basses. The maple neck feels great, and the frets are filed very well. It also holds tuning and intonation very well. I found the tone to be a little darker than the standard P-bass, but I like it. Thanks for the Sweetwater team for setting a low action before shipping as well!

  • from Newcomerstown, Ohio USA April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/Guntpunchers

    Matt Freeman Precision Bass

    WOW! Right out of the box this thing kicks ass. Very solid, great tone, I couldn't be happier. I can't seem to put it down. Perfect bass for punk rock. Add in the excellent customer service from Sweetwater (They have called me and e-mailed several times to make sure I had no questions and to make sure everything was cool, even sent me pics of it before it shipped wich only took 1 day to arrive) and this is definatly the best bass for the $$.

  • from Canton, OH January 20, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Way To Go Squier!!!

    I'm not a proper bassist. I've played guitar for 20 years, but sometimes I get offers to play bass for one-off gigs. I wanted to have a rig ready for just such an occasion. I love punk rock and jumped at this bass in particular because I love Op Ivy. The first one I recieved had a bad pickup (not Sweetwater's fault), they sent another out sooooo quick. I love this bass!! It looks amazing and sounds fantastic.
    I play with a pick (easy bass players, I already made my disclaimer) and this gives me that awesome p bass sound I love in punk rock. I own a Squier Tele that I love as well. Squier is really kicking butt lately.

  • from Colorado Springs, CO June 18, 2014

    Great Bass for the price!

    This bass is set up great and sounds great. Sweetwater does an awesome job of setting up and inspecting. I played this through an Ampeg BA12v2 and it is pretty punchy. You can leave this bass as is and have a great sound, but I changed out the pickups and added Seymour Duncan Quarter Pound pickups. Now this bass is very punchy!!! Great sound out of the box with the upgrade Amazing!

Questions about the Squier Matt Freeman Precision Bass - Vintage White?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway