rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Fender American Standard Precision Bass - 3-tone Sunburst, Rosewood Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Joe Copenhaver

    Whether I’m playing live or in the studio, my Fender Precision Bass is always in my hands. It handles a variety of styles with ease, which is perfect for me as no two gigs are the same. The Fender Precision is the ultimate workhorse in the world of bass guitars. Simple, punchy, and it sounds just like the records I love - every time.

  • from Santa Clarita CA May 20, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Producer/Composer/Arranger/Music Director

    Wonderful Bass!

    I have been looking for the right Bass for so long, and this is it!

    I already own Fender Jazz, Mustang, Dimension V, and T-Bucket Basses, in addition to a Hofner Club Bass, but this American Standard Precision Bass really has the sound I've been looking for, for many years...and I resisted the P Basses for a very long time because of the neck specs.

    The problem was...I unexpectedly bought a Marcus Miller J Bass about 10 years ago, and no other solid body bass has ever felt so good in my hands, except maybe the MIJ Mustang, which comes pretty close, is much lighter, and has the same neck.

    But it took me a long time to realize that the Marcus Miller Jazz has a much more modern sound than I wanted...So I bought a Road Worn Jazz...upgraded the pickups to Fender Vintage 64 pups, and played that for six months.

    Still not exactly right.

    Then it occurred to me that the sound in my head must be a P Bass. I had avoided the P because the nut is wider, and the neck shape is so different.

    After talking with my Sweetwater Sales Engineer, Jason Koons, I purchased the American Standard Precision Bass, and it's everything that all of the other reviews glowingly say it is.

    The sound is perfect. The fit, finish, and every other detail are smooth and easy. The Custom Shop pickup is really quiet, and puts out a ton of fat signal.

    Did I mention that the sound is perfect? Just what I had been hearing in my head for so long.

    Yes, the neck is different, and I have a bit of learning/stretching curve, due to my smaller hands...But this bass is totally worth it.

    I love it.

  • from May 13, 2016

    Fender American Standard P Bass Is The Real Deal

    Rock solid intonation all the way up the neck. Great balance. Simple volume and tone controls. Beautiful design. My new Fender American Standard Precision Bass is awesome!

  • from Central Florida March 17, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz musician and bassist of 30 years!

    Fender American precision bass guitar

    After getting this bass and playing it with my same set list I find that it is way above my expectations !! Five *****stsr AAA+++ great and fully satisfied!!! Top shelf quality also pick ups are outstanding and filling giving me the sound I was looking for 63 split coil p.ups.

  • from Nashville with no Teeth , Branson Mo. August 14, 2015Music Background:
    Grass picker / Phil Lesh impersonator ..

    There is a Difference ..

    This is what ya get from Coronado ..
    The real thing...the parts , the craftmanship ,the color, the finish...
    The Sound...you'll know when ya plug it in..
    Not only that, you feel like ya got what ya paid for....this plays better than one made back in the 70's or 80's...
    also...you get some dang fine Customer service from Sweetwater ... and I mean that ...you'll dig it......

  • from June 29, 2015Music Background:
    Retired pro

    Flawless

    I bought this Fender American Standard Precision bass from Sweetwater last year. The recorded sound is perfect without EQ, the neck is perfect with no dead spots, fast attack, note swell and natural sustain up and down the neck that will ring for the rest of the day. The pickup sounds like all my favorite records and the variation of sounds possible from hand positions makes you feel like this one bass could do it all. And, it’s lightweight, lighter than my ES-335. Just an amazing guitar. So, this is a mass-produced $1,300 guitar bought online. The only reason to spend more for a Custom Shop model is if you’re wanting a particular look, but it won’t play better than this. My rep, Micheal Eads helped me with this purchase. I returned a Jazz bass for this Precision. Michael made the transaction smooth and easy.

  • from Spring Creek NV June 29, 2015

    Bass

    The sound and the action on the bass are wonderful, and it is beautiful.

  • from United States March 26, 2015

    The Real Deal

    I recently purchased this bass, and it's the bass I've waited for my whole life. I've been through a lot of different brands, different pickup configurations, etc. and this is the sound that works right away every time as soon as you plug it in, live or studio. I'm a proponent of MIM and Squier models as well, some great deals to be had there for the price. But if you want the Cadillac, the granddaddy, the Holy Grail, get this bass. The tone and craftsmanship are in a class all by themselves, and well worth the extra money.

  • from March 23, 2015

    Classic feel and sound

    Fender is making some incredible instruments these days! My Fender P Bass arrived in perfectly good order (neck, etc...). Awesome!

  • from OH USA November 7, 2014Music Background:
    Road Warrior, Writer, Recording Engineer

    WOW!!

    I just can't say enough about this bass. I took the advice from a bassist I respect so much. He told me " if you want the sound, buy it". Thanks Mike! The guitarists in my band are blown away. Round warmth? Yep. Bright attack when you need it? Yep. Punch? Yep! It's all there! I absolutely love it!

  • from Houston, TX August 23, 2014Music Background:
    Retired Pro

    Precision Tone

    There is nothing like the sound of a Precision. I had a new Jazz bass for a year—and it's much easier to play and zip around on—but I spent all my time trying to get it to sound like a Precision, and you can't. But, plug in a Fender Precision and BOOM!, there it is, the sound. The authority. The been-there-played-that sound I love on thousands of recordings. I had to make a musical decision when I swapped basses—I can't afford both: do I want to run the neck and play a bunch of notes nobody wants to hear anyway, or lay down the soul. If I had to have only one bass, I went with that beautiful deep voiced soul.

    My Sweetwater rep, Michael Eads is great by the way. I didn't bother him with my musical philosophies, I just said, "I need a Jazz bass!" And he sent me one. Then later I said, "I'm sending it back! I need a Precision!" And he made that happen too, no questions asked. Great company, great reps, great equipment! So glad Sweetwater is there for me.

    Now I'm going to recut all the bass tracks on my recordings. Heaven!

  • from birmingham, al April 24, 2014

    great bass!

    i ordered this bass from sweet water and received it two days later; i cannot say enough about the great service! the bass itself i absolutely perfect; after a couple of small personal adjustments, it is ready to play. neck is dead on….action great… and electronics are all good. this is the best bass i've ever owned. i love the sweet water feature of the picture gallery; it is the next best thing to trying it out in person.highly recommend the bass and sweet water.

  • from Cleveland August 5, 2015Music Background:
    punk, rock, blues

    Definitley

    Fender has really fine tuned the tried and true Precision bass. I cannot imagine any changes that could make this bass better. Fit, finish, electronics... everything is very very nice. I have heard of other bassists switching pickups but I feel the stock CS pups sound good to me. I like the darker 3TSB of the current AS's, that mixed with the dark rosewood fingerboard make a really cool yet vintage-y looking bass. I felt the stock strings were OK but I ended up putting LaBella 760FS flatwounds on it and it really sounds great. Very fat and warm through my Ampeg V4B reissue. I've have owned standard Fenders and even Japanese Fenders but the new AS Precision is my FIRST American made Fender and it really is worth it!

  • from Independence, Mo February 8, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It's a P bass, enough said

    An American Standard is an American Standard. Solid, sit's in any mix well, plays great, simple controls. Very special thanks to Sweetwater for listing the weight. Only issue with this bass is that it came with some unusual finish errors. A few rough spots on the neck where it seems like they got a bit of moisture in the spray line, and some fret checking on the side of the neck.

  • from Coshocton, OH U.S.A. April 7, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Road/Studio Bass Guitarist, Multi-Instrumentalist/Musician, Singer/Songwriter.

    BEST FRIEND

    This is the bass guitar that I played on tour of the U.S.. She is road ready, dependable, and sounds great! Very user friendly, durable, and a beauty to look at!!!

Questions about the Fender American Standard Precision Bass - 3-tone Sunburst, Rosewood Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway