0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Fender Classic Series '50s Precision Bass Lacquer - Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Classic Series '50s Precision Bass Lacquer - Black?

Questions about the Fender Classic Series '50s Precision Bass Lacquer - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Michigan April 13, 2017

    50's precision bass

    I am so very happy with this bass it exceeds all my expectations. I have a usa custom shop build of this same bass and I was concerned the Mexican one wouldn't live up to the one I had. Boy was I wrong and I actually like the tone of the Mexican one better. I can't believe I'm saying this but it's true. I'd recommend this bass to anyone and I just may buy another

  • from February 27, 2017Music Background:
    I have played for many years and have done session work and live gigs

    Very Very Good

    This is a great Precision Bass. It looks really sharp in person. The pictures don't do it justice. It feels lighter than I expected it would. It is a more comfortable bass to stand and play for a 3 hour show. The lacquer on the neck is really nice looking. I had a little trouble moving up and down the neck fluidly so I sanded the back of the neck just enough (like barley at all) to give it a more matte feel to it, but I left if glossy on the finger board because it wasn't bothering me and it just looks so sharp. The neck has a very comfortable to play. I put flatwounds on to get that more classic precision sound. It took a little getting used to at first but now I actually prefer the flatwounds. The pickup sounds great... it sounds they way you want a P bass to sound. The tuning keys are reversed which didn't take long to get used to and I don't mind it. I gave it 5 stars because I can't think of anything about it that I don't like. This is a no excuses bass. It has to be the highest value precision bass on the market. My thanks to Brock Andrews and sweetwater for getting it to me in a timely manner and double boxed. Oh and the case is really nice too.

  • from traveling USA September 1, 2016Music Background:
    Session bassist, touring bassist

    Fender classic 50s P

    Fan-freaking-tastic! Seriously great bass!! very flexible! great look and road worthy and dependable! I do everything from studio work to metal and punk to alt. The first time I brought it into the studio the producer LOVED IT!! also handled being in different climates like a champ! form west coast to east! seriously! also sounds great for drop tuning. I use mine with the tone all the way up nice and bright! with a sans amp it just sits in the mix perfectly too! comes through but also is very clear and punchy.

  • from New York July 8, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Jazz bassist, Die-hard Punker

    The best there is. Period.

    So, if you're laying out what most consider to be serious cash on a bass, you're most likely apprehensive. I was too. To give you my background; I started playing when I was in 2nd grade and have continued for 10+ years, play in a professional jazz trio, have attended multiple regional all state jazz events, and am a die hard punker. I've played many 60's P-Basses to know what is right, and this is. Everything about it is retro heaven. It's solid as a brick but plays like a dragon on speed, punchy and responsive. But, when you want a thick rolling bass line, it simply doesn't know how to disappoint. I'm in love. It's honestly my best purchase I've made. This is the bass. Pull the trigger, do it. It was worth every single penny. Just do it already!

  • from Los Angeles CA USA October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Been playing a loooooong time

    Fender Classic Series '50s Precision Bass Lacquer

    I'm new to the bass playing world, as I'm primarily a guitarist. I was wanting to play bass for a while, and after trying out and being around many basses, the one that always stuck in my mind was my good friends original 1959 and 1960 PBasses. The sound, feel and general vibe of the Precision Bass is just perfect to me.

    I ordered my PBass the second it showed up as in stock on the Sweetwater website. I love the fact that the weight and pictures of the actual instrument are there for you to see. I received a call from my sales associate Chris, (who is awesome, by the way) and he told me he'll be emailing me the website pics which I was really stoked about, since the pics themselves were totally drool worthy.

    The bass came in and it was PERFECT! Not a single flaw was discovered and the smell of fresh nitrocellulose paint is as awesome as a fresh cup of coffee on a cold winter morning (it really is).

    The weight of the bass 8 lbs 5 oz, is very comfortable, and unplugged it sure is loud, and the plugged in tone is all classic Fender PBass, meaning awesome! Even the quality of the case is great, and a tweed case is always classy.

    All in all, I'm very very pleased with my purchase and the Koil Kord promotion was cool also, even though my wife basically stole it from me and she now uses it in her lap steel rig, LOL!

    So in closing, I must give my thanks to all the fine staff at Sweetwater, especially my Sales Engineer Chris Sanders (You Rock)!

  • from Pittsboro, NC June 7, 2013Music Background:
    Long time player

    A Fine Fender Bass

    I am extremely impressed with this bass. Classic P Bass tone, and it plays like butter. The finish detail is excellent, and comparable to instruments from the US factory. Excellent fretwork, and finish. Ensenada got it right.

    Set up was great out of the box. I made some very minor adjustments to suite my taste. Fender recommends a setup after instruments are shipped, but this really didn't need it.

    The gloss black lacquer finish is as sexy as it gets, and the tweed case is very nice. Mine weighs a light 8.4 lbs, an added bonus.

    The nitro lacquer finish is not as scratch resistant as poly, but that is to be expected. The wide 50's neck profile feels great in my hands. If you prefer slimmer necks, this might not be the bass for you.

    I've owned several Precisions over the years, and this is an instant favorite. I also appreciate the personal service at Sweetwater. Keep up the good work!

  • from Cincy, OH June 3, 2016

    Good enough to buy twice!

    Had one of these after they were first released. Foolishly sold it. Have had or played just about every P bass variant out there. High end, low end and in between.

    I found my self P bassless and this is the one I regret getting rid off. So last month I order another 50's lacquer. I'm not disappointed. Fit and finish are great. Everything is put together well. Knocked off half a star for a ground issue (just like my original version!) turned out to be a bad ground from the Bridge. Great fretwork, finish is applied perfectly and bass takes a nice low setup with ease.

    Anyway. Big neck (which I prefer) the pickup is great, Love the threaded bridge. Don't care for the reverse wind tuners. They work but just backwards. It's a vintage deal and I knew that going in. Though if you are going to the trouble of putting on reverse wind tuners, why not ship the bass with flat wounds? Fender flats are actually pretty good flats too. Threw some Gotoh Resolites on and we are all good now. The included case is icing on the cake.

    If you want a similar bass to the roadworn as far as build quality but prefer to provide your own wear, this is the bass for you. I love mine and bought it over all the other fenders because it right for me. Not necessarily better than other fenders but something so right. The quality is on par with any Fender I've owned and it sounds like a P bass! What more could you want?

  • from United States February 13, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    An Excellent P Bass

    I expected a good instrument based upon reviews. What I got is an Excellent instrument. Really, price is no issue here. This bass is wonderful in all ways. I did find a minor flaw in the finish on the back of the neck but, otherwise, its darn near perfect. Playability and tone are also excellent!
    I really dig the neck profile and vintage frets. Stock pup sounds great. No need to change pups. Not crazy about the feel of the aluminum pickguard under my fingers but it looks nice. I really couldn't justify an american Vintage bass at more than twice the price. This bass is right there with the avri. The vintage tweed case is fun too and rounds off the vintage vibe.
    I would have given it a 5 rating but for the blemish in the neck finish and the aluminum pickguard but its damn close!
    I highly recommend this bass.

  • from Cincy, OH August 28, 2014

    Excellent Bass

    Plays and sounds liker a classic Precision bass. Balance, sound and feel are excellent. No dead spots on the neck. Capable of low action. The Nitro finish feels great. Neck feels great to play wide and not too thick The overall construction is very good. Seems like a non-road worn precision.

    One small finish flaw on the body and a little ground buzz knocks one star off. The finish doesn't bother me, the ground buzz is nominal and easily fixed.

    Case is a nice bonus. I really like this bass! Bought as a counterpart to my 83' . Needed another P to leave flats on.

Questions about the Fender Classic Series '50s Precision Bass Lacquer - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway