rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

dbx PB-48 Reviews

3.0 stars based on 6 customer reviews
Questions about the dbx PB-48?

Questions about the dbx PB-48?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Marcelo Martinez
    from January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    dbx PB-48

    As many other dbx products, this is a very useful and solid gear that avoid
    problems managing the wire.

  • Roy Cox
    from Baltimore Maryland October 6, 2013Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    excellent and still going strong

    I purchased this to make trying different preamps in my home studio rack a lot more efficient. I was tired of reaching behind the rack and hooking up things in the dark basically. The dbx is actually very well built and I have never had a problem with signal flow or anything breaking or coming loose. Im not sure why others have had issues but I have never had an issue with the dbx and was steered towards buying it from the salesman saying it had nickel contacts. You can set this up via normal, thru or half normal like others and it couldnt be easier to get up and going in your studio. Patch bays take a fair amount of abuse from constantly plugging and un plugging leads and mine still looks like the day I purchased it 3 years ago. I also compared it to the nutrik and was sold instantly on the dbx. Definitely give this one a shot. Excellent product!

  • M. Cadena
    from TX, USA September 30, 2011Music Background:
    Home Studio Sound Engineer

    Works...

    Hmmm, you can de-normal each channel by inverting its circuit board. (the manual shows how to do this.) Would much prefer a switch for this as I've seen on other patchbay models. The channels all come pre-configured as normalled. If you can find another patch bay that uses a switch to toggle the settings, go with that instead.
    Also, set this in between 2 rack units as the circuit boards will loosen up and fall from the weight of the attached cables you may/may not have.

  • EasyTiger
    from Midwest February 14, 2015

    Most corner-cutting design I've ever seen in a piece of studio gear

    If you Google for images of this patch bay, you'll never see a photo of its underside. That's because it literally doesn't have one. Nor does it have any sides. This patch bay is not a solid box. It's basically an L-shaped, open metal frame to which 24 1/4" modules attach. The modules' circuit boards are completely exposed.

    Each of the 24 four-jack modules is secured to the patch bay frame with only a single plastic nut that screws onto plastic threading. (No, I'm not kidding.)

    I installed this patch bay in my studio the other day, and even though it's functioning, I've already begun shopping for its future replacement because I can't imagine this patch bay will last more than a year before the plastic jacks crack or strip from use, or the modules are compromised by dust/debris. I also racked my patch bay upside down so that the labeling strips were on top, and to give each module a little firmer seating in case its single, plastic mounting nut ever loosened. I used a black Sharpie marker to draw division lines through the label strips between the modules.

    Removing a module to flip and de-normalize it requires unscrewing its threaded nut. Unfortunately the modules are too close together to seat a metric socket onto the nut, so you either have to fumble with a half-seated socket or try to grasp it with a needle-nose pliers. It took me a half-hour to de-normalize all 24 modules.

    In summary, for a hundred bucks, I'd at least like my patch bay to be enclosed with all six sides. And I'd certainly like to have more than one plastic nut holding in the modules. Given it's lackluster design and the most corner-cutting construction I've ever seen in a piece of studio gear, in no way would I value this product anywhere near $100. But, because it is working for the time being, I am obligated to at least give this product an "OK, Average" rating of two stars.

  • Customer
    from January 9, 2012

    PB-48 Patchbay

    I find the inputs on the jacks to be somewhat loose. Compared to my Neutrik patchbays, this one rates lower on the scale. I believe it will do the trick but if I need another 1/4" TRS patchbay, I'll go back to Neutrik.

  • Richard Tiberious Romanowski of Rich Romanowski Recording Studios
    from United States of America May 13, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Studio Owner (e-gads, has it been 25 years...)

    dbx PB-48

    WOW!!! I immediately thought when I realized that I needed a patchbay or two for my studio and the offering from dbx was cheap! However, soon I realized that the old adage of, "You get what you pay for..." was true. It's a good patchbay if you are just going to set it and forget it only once and merely go with the configuration that dbx gives you right out of the box (24 channels of FULL). Unfortunately, I am still a bit "old school" when it comes to recording in my studio. As a result, I find that I need something I can not only change the connections on fast for individual channels but something that's going to be able to stand up to the rigors of that switching. That's why, after a little while of enduring the nightmares of the dbx PB-48 I decided to do myself a big favor and spend the extra dollars and getting the HOSA PHB 265.

Questions about the dbx PB-48?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway