0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Roland PB-450SB Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
  • from Naples, FL January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Roland?

    Ok, gave it 5 stars but was tempted to give it less, but for the wrong reasons.

    To get them out of the way first;
    * No one anywhere has the specs of this bench listed. I emailed 3 places and only one replied but without the dimensions I asked for. A bench with no dimensions is like buying a pair of shoes without knowing the size. I see most companies don't care about how they present products though and you rarely find any more information than what the developer has on their own site.

    That leads me to the next small concern. Nowhere other than my invoice does this say Roland on it. Neither tag you see in the screenshot say Roland and just wanted to point that out for people that would actually return something for that.

    The padded seat it ok. I play for up to 10 hours in one day so I'll be a hard customer to satisfy on that point. In one hand I rather it be no padding at all so I could slide from side to side without lifting up, but on the other hand, padding for long practice sessions is never a bad thing, even if there isn't much to start with.

    The only real con I would say is on of the nuts had a bad thread and took some machining to make work. The whole thing came wrapped in newspaper dated 2008 (purchased this 2014, Jan). Was interesting reading NY newspaper though. Not a con, just a point of interest. The screenshot show enough to see the vinyl isn't something you need to keep. If you unscrewed the seat and took it to a shop, you could have much more padding added, no "butts" about it. I may buy another just to do that with one and make the other smooth wood.

    The compartment has a flimsy bottom, like a typical drawer type bottom paneling of sorts. Enough to do it's job and your sheets will fit nicely in there. Not much room width wise for anything else. I have my sheets in a binder just slightly wider than a sheet of paper and it won't fit. Love the latch that keeps it open. Haven't seen that in ages. If you have toddlers, keep an eye on them if they get into it. Easy to get bit by it (pinched).

    The one thing I'm sure most of you are anxious to know,,, the measurements. Not sure if this is classified since no one mentions them but here they are.

    H 19.5" x W 24" x D 12" (Height x Width x Depth)

    Slightly more on the height by about 1/4", but you'll sink into the cushion at least 3/4" to an inch.

  • from Seminole, FL (USA) May 4, 2013Music Background:
    Professionally trained pianist, organist, and vocalist.

    Great digital keyboard bench!

    Having ordered another brand of bench and being sorely disappointed and having to return it to another company, I am THRILLED with his nice padded, comfy, sturdy, USA made Roland PB-450SB bench, with nice wood and storage. So happy to have finally found a nice bench that looks super great with my large Yamaha keyboard! Thanks Sweetwater for carrying it. Always a pleasure to do business with you.

  • from Alexandria, VA October 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Student

    Comfortable and Sturdy

    I bought this as a gift for a teaching studio where it's used six hours a day, five days a week. Previously there was an On-Stage bench there and it fell apart almost immediately. The On-Stage was comfortable and I have one at home that I like, but they fall apart under heavy use. This Roland has only been in use for one month but so far it's in perfect shape. It has fixed legs so it's not very portable, but other than that it's great.

  • from San Francisco October 21, 2013Music Background:
    Piano student

    PB140SB Puano Bench

    Comfy and sturdy bench. Looks great with Yamaha LP140 stand.

    Opens for music or small accessory storage.

  • from Concord, CA (USA) March 26, 2012

    A tad expensive, but a sturdy and beautiful bench

    The only problem with this bench is its price. Otherwise it's darn sturdy and goes color-wise with most Roland synths. Easy to assemble (all you need is a socket of the appropriate size or a crescent wrench), and its robust construction means it's comfortable to sit on.

    I came to this one after my cheapo X-style stand started falling apart. There are some less-expensive alternatives but I felt anything with Roland's name on it meant it was of good quality. I wasn't disappointed.

    The half a star is because of the price--$40-$50 cheaper would seem like a more appropriate price. But I don't feel ripped-off.

  • from Seattle December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Exceelent for the price

    The best I could find at this price point. It is built very solid, the storage compartment is very functional. On the down side it is not adjustable and the padding is minimum. Now it seems that to improve on it you need to jump much higher in price. So it the end great buy.

  • from Chicago June 25, 2015Music Background:
    Novice piano / keyboard

    Piano bench

    Purchased this very comfortable bench for a 2nd location and keyboard I had recently bought. Great quality and comfort but the price went up over 30-40% from just a year ago. Why ?

Questions about the Roland PB-450SB?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway