0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Galaxy Powered Hot Spot PA6S Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Galaxy Powered Hot Spot PA6S?

Questions about the Galaxy Powered Hot Spot PA6S?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Joseph Dick
    from ALbany, LA May 13, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    Solved feedback problems

    Our band was using floor monitors primarily for vocals foldback, with a bit of keys in them. One of the two singers is deaf(seems like it anyway) and no matter how I rung the monitors out, he couldnt hear his vocals and the floors would feed back in an attempt to satisfy him.
    I purchased this hotspot for him and we run his mike as a pass through and now problem solved and he has control on the volume and eq and he loves it.

  • John Rosenfelder
    from New Hampshire February 7, 2012Music Background:
    amateur sound engineer, and musician

    compact stage monitor

    Compact, unobtrusive and easy to use. Also used as a simple amp for acoustic mandolin when balancing with banjo and fiddles.

  • Tony
    from Orlando, FL September 13, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Musician

    Outstanding!

    Galaxy has always produced outstanding compact speakers and this one is no exception. Lightweight and powerful with very good 3 band tone control. Perfect monitor design for the working Solo performer, or Duo or Trio for that matter. Don't understand why anyone would try to power a passive speaker with the thru output of this monitor but oh well. If you need a monitor for the intimate gigs, this is the one.

  • Kay Mundell
    from San Diego April 20, 2016

    Big Band vocalist

    Couldn't be happier about having my Powered Hot Spot. I sing with a really great 16 piece big band, Marty Conley's The Big Band Express. That amounts to a lot of power and sound but this just makes my work so comfortable and this ease makes my work much better. What more could you want?

    Many thanks!

  • Seth Merriman
    from CA, USA October 8, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    The best personal PA in its price range

    I've listened to 2 other "comparable" units in this price range, and some cheaper ones, and this Galaxy PA6S is noticeably better. It has a lot of power, and a clean sound. Good for church chorus rehearsals and as a small stage wedge. Very portable, and flexible. We have only had it for a month, so we will see how durable it is, but it does look and feel more durable than the other units I have tried.

  • Clint Lawrie
    from Lac La Biche, Alberta, Canada June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Tech at Evangelical Free Church & Rec. Engineer

    Piano & keyboard monitors

    These are working great for the people playing these instruments. They are crystal clear with no background noise and the inputs allow us plenty of flexibility. Great product with plenty of power.

  • Tom Crusenberry
    from Owensboro, KY October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Very pleased!

    We have actually bought 2 of these (one for our pianist, and the other for our keyboard player) for our church praise band. The musicians have been more than pleased with amount of volume they create plus their clarity.

  • Roger Hatfield
    from Ohio May 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, producer, engineer, performer.

    Hot Spot

    I like it. Sorry I spent the money on the in ear monitor. They just don't work for me. This works perfectly. As a bonus, I had a a'wallpaper gig" the day after I bought it, and actually used it for the main speaker system. Perfect. Great value for the amount spent.

  • df
    from Texas March 29, 2016

    PA6S rules

    Great addition to my stage rig! Everyone in the band is jealous.

  • Jan Willard
    from United States December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Galaxy Powered Hot Spot

    Plenty of power! Very good equalization for three bands. Heavy duty, sits solid on microphone stand. Highly recommend purchase

  • Jeremy
    from Knightstown, IN September 3, 2012Music Background:
    25 yrs musician, 18yrs church sound engineer

    Excellent

    For the money this is exactly what we needed. It solved our video recording problems.

  • Greg B
    from Rhode Island September 25, 2011Music Background:
    ecording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Multi-Intrumental Musician

    Great Little Monitor

    I own three PA6S. They sound much better than the Mackie or TC Helicon monitors/speakers of similar design. Yes, I tested them side-by-side. A signing drummer for a band I mix regularly loves it. Every vocalist that I've used them with, in appropriate applications, has loved them. I even used a pair as PA/Monitors for my electronic drum kit for an indoor house party.

    I use LO-2b/QK-2B quick release to mounts on mic stands to lessen wear and tear on the cabinet.

    This speaker is not even listed under "monitors" or in the Hot Spot family on Galaxy's web site. Nothing in the product description or pictures indicates that an unpowered speaker can be driven from this unit. RTFM.

  • Sid
    from South Florida December 19, 2016Music Background:
    Acoustic bassist, Piccolo bassist, Composer, Producer

    Best Sounding

    I have all three of the main personal monitors. Mackie SRM-150. TC - Helicon FX-150 and this one the Galaxy PA6S. My wife and I have a jazz duo so we use two and keep one for back-up. The PA6S. is the best in sonic quality of all three. I could here the feed from the board and her vocal and my upright and piccolo bass very clearly. It has an extremely high input gain and does nor have an attenuation except for a 20db cut which is just fpor the XLR input. I found the monitor to be so powerful that I could not turn it up past 1 maybe 2. I did not want to completely re-configure my board so I called there tech department, very helpful. They suggested an "inline pad" whcih I did get one a 40 db cut. Now I have good attenuation of the input gain.

  • Bill Willhite
    from Charlotte, NC January 15, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Galaxy PA6s

    I have been using Galaxy Monitors for many years. I recently purchased the PA6s, thinking I could use it to power a daisy chain of 2 additonal non-powered Galaxy Monitors. WOW, was I shocked to find out that this pricey flagship design powered monitor did not even include a powered output. In past models Galaxy had provided this feature... and it was a useful one. The sound quality is great and if you only need only one monitor, maybe this will work for you. Seems like Galaxy would like to force their customer to have to purchase additonal more expensive powered monitors needlessly. One simple but important omission in the products features really diminished it's value.

  • wildcat
    from east coast USA June 18, 2010Music Background:
    full time performing and touring pro musician

    galaxy makes good gear but beware of this one

    This new model does NOT have the extension speaker jack, so it CANNOT POWER A HOT SPOT or any other unpowered extension speaker! Like the Macke product, it only has an underamplified pass thru output. They want you to buy multiple powered amps and chain them. Do not buy this product to replace the earlier model if that is you intention or if you want to use it as a small PA. It is a tiny self contained unit now that will not integrate.

Questions about the Galaxy Powered Hot Spot PA6S?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close