0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Yamaha P-35 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from northern California March 3, 2015Music Background:
    pro recording artist and performer

    Buy It!

    I am writing this review because i am both impressed with this board for its price and also because I had a P-105B for a short while that I sent back. I took a chance with this after my bad experience but wow...why the difference I'm not sure, and this is a lot less than the P-105. The action is great, not clunky like the other board. And the piano tone is very nice and very balanced across the keys - simply put, excellent tone. Another difference is that the P-35 has downward pointing speakers on the bottom which project sound more like a real piano. instead of in your face, it seemingly emanates from all over - really nice! The extra tones are good but not the main reason i got this. I use it for jam sessions instead of lugging my RD-800. Also, played through my QSC speaker really makes this P-35 shine. The on board speakers are good, but no match for a real sound system. if you are considering anything in this price range or maybe a little more expensive you owe it to yourself to check this out - and buy it!

  • from southern indiana March 2, 2015Music Background:
    studio owner

    yamaha p 35

    My accompanist loves this piano. It has all the features that she wanted. Weighted keys, portable, and it transposes. Sounds great..This piano does not have all the whistles and bells but it have enough. BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK.

  • from Salt Lake City, UT February 13, 2015

    No surprises, solid instrument

    A great digital piano! Everything I've read/heard about it is true. It is a simple, high quality instrument. Playing it is a joy. I am so glad I decided on this digital piano!

  • from Casper, Wy November 22, 2014

    Excellent Choice!

    This was the perfect birthday gift for our 7 year old grandson who has been taking private piano lessons for 6 months. He loves the keyboard! No one even needs to remind him to practice!

  • from Seymour, TN October 15, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist piano player

    an Excellent choice in keyboards

    every time I sit down to play the Yamaha P-35 is like sitting down at my mother's grand piano again..actually even better, as I find myself playing for hours & hours with much enjoyment..it has great sound, great key action, I am very happy with my choice in keyboards..The Yamaha P-35 has brought a new joy into my life and to my husbands as he enjoys hearing the sound this keyboard puts out as I begin to play..

  • from Hatboro Pa September 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Producer,Engineer. Pro (sometimes), Hobbyist

    Nice Piano

    For the price, the best value. It plays beautifully, sounds very real

  • from the Great Plains December 14, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Heaven for an advanced beginner piano player

    After enduring 6 months of a 61-key USB keyboard, I finally have 88 keys, and speakers, and weighted/graded action. Heaven! While this may not meet the needs of the advanced user, it is wonderful for me and I expect to get several years of enjoyment out of it.

    Pros:
    --A compact form factor. Nice and narrow. No LCD screen or anything else I don't need to just take up space. Just a few discrete buttons. And not to heavy for me me to move around/

    --A clean, beautiful design--important in a small space.

    --Midi in and out and an iOS connection kit is available

    --88 keys!

    --The key action (adjustable) is very good. Almost, but not quite, like playing on my teacher's Steinway. And I do appreciate the ability to switch into harpsichord or organ or other modes.

    --Nice robust sound from the internal speakers.

    --Terrific value for the price

    Cons:
    --The supplied sustain pedal is a joke. I have a nice inexpensive one that looks like a real pedal from M-Audio and when I can afford it I may get the Yamaha F3 one as it has half-sustain.

    --Sits a little too high on my On-Stage platform stand. I will probably get the Yamaha 85 stand.

    --No dust cover, but I bought the Gator one and can highly recommend that as well. (My teacher advised me to get a dust cover.)

    --Love the unobtrusive design of the music rack but it could be higher.

    Shipping was ridiculously fast and Sweetwater is, as always, a pleasure to deal with.

    My piano study, piano practice and piano playing is about to take a big leap forward with the wonderful instrument.

  • from Mexico City, Mexico December 3, 2012Music Background:
    20 years MIDI sequencing. 15 professionally.

    Great MIDI Controller

    Sorry. Not much to compare to but cheap M-Audio Keystations recently (loved 90s synths as controllers). I wanted the best keyboard, not thousands of buttons and functions. Just a great keyboard. Best money spent. For everything else I can now look for ANY cheap plastic MIDI controller that has the thousand buttons and functions. A plus is to have an integrated amplifier and speakers so I can turn it on and just play without having to do the whole OS/sequencer/session/plugin/load instrument thing. Piano sounds are pretty decent. DX7 e-piano obviously comes with it as well as a good-for-the-job Rhodes sound. I like it a lot for composition.

  • from Homewood, Ill February 27, 2015Music Background:
    40 or so year pro, now just enjoying playing at home

    Money well spent

    Don't play out as much as I used to. Just trying to keep the chops up. Mainly a piano/organ blues/country player. For under $500 with a nice stand I don't know how you can beat it. If your looking for digital words to tell you what your listening to it's not for you. If you want a good feel and sound you can't beat it for the price. I'd take this on stage anytime for the piano sounds. I'd like better organ, but hey, I didn't spend a couple grand. Pro or home use I'd recommend. Old timers, get one for yourself and one for the grandkids.

  • from USA / Bangladesh October 6, 2014Music Background:
    performer / educator

    Remarkable sound and key action

    I like playing real acoustic pianos, but living in a part of the world that makes that impossible, I am very grateful for the Yamaha Clavinova series which gives a very authentic piano sound and, for me even more importantly, a key action much closer to a real piano than any other electronic keyboard that I have tried. Add to this, the light-weight portability of this P-35 and I really have something that I can use for the many venues when a real piano just won't be available.

  • from Gordon, NE May 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, church organist/pianist

    Like a Grand Piano

    I really like the feel and sound. I have always wanted a grand piano but don't have room for one so this is the next best thing. Thanks.

  • from Fort Wayne, Indiana May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Producer

    Playability for the money

    This is the best playing keyboard I could find for this price. I played every keyboard on the showroom floor. Plays better than many of the high dollar keyboards. I recommend it. Sounds in it are average but I just use it as a controller. It DOES have speakers built in for playing live. Handy dandy.

    My salesman "Jeff" is very knowledgeable and honest with me. x1229

  • from Victoria, TX April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Church, religious, music director, jazz pianist, drummer

    Smart Investment

    Finding an 88 note weighted keyboard that is inexpensive, yet doesn't hold back on quality can be difficult, fortunately, I've found this board to be both high in quality, yet easy on my wallet. I've always loved the piano samples from Yamaha, and the Grand Pianos on here do the job. If you're looking for a piano, this is the board to pick up. Running it into my interface, sound system, or amp has been easy with only one out. I highly recommend this keyboard and I'm happy to say this investment should yield some high returns for me.

Questions about the Yamaha P-35?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway