0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Yamaha P-255 Stage Piano - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha P-255 Stage Piano - Black?

Questions about the Yamaha P-255 Stage Piano - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Florida March 7, 2017Music Background:
    Pianist for Orchestra Fuego

    Yamaha P255

    This is an awesome sounding piano. Great action and for the price and weight, it's a good piano for to have.
    Weight is perfect for transporting between gigs.

  • from Huntersville NC July 8, 2016Music Background:
    Teacher, tuner, performer for 32 years

    Fantastic upgraded stage piano!!!

    My biggest complaint when playing live has been the lack of EQ sliders. I play solo jazz piano and want the big lush sounds I get from my grand piano and wasn't getting it. I was told about this board last week and got excited. I then watch a YouTube demonstrating that really blew me away. Two days ago. Bought it. Today. Played it. Absolutely awesome!!! Oh yea, my last board was the P-155... This upgrade blows it away....

  • from Saint Paul, MN March 9, 2016Music Background:
    Getting Better all the time

    She's A Beauty!

    If you need a digital/stage piano that perfectly replicates the sound and feel of a real topnotch concert grand, the P-255 is spot on. I can't get over the look and sound and the easy way I can navigate around the buttons and sliders. A purchase of this amount I worry about buyer's remorse- but here no way and no how. There is absolutely nothing cheap about it-first class all the way. I wish my father was still alive to marvel at the P-255!

  • from Watsonville CA October 23, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio

    Amazing keyboard, sound and keybed action the best....

    First of all i do not own this amazing digital piano but soon i will. I have tried this keyboard at my local music store and i was just blown away and how it sounds and feel of the keybed action. I have in plan in buying a digital piano with some useful onboard sounds and some good keybed feel and this is it. Know that i own my apple macbook and with lots of mainstage presets! this is the perfect midi controller for my cburch gigs!!! By the way i will be ordering this trough sweetwater, best customer service ever. :) #Worship Sounds #Mainstage 3 #NI The Giant, cant wait....

  • from Owens Cross Roads, AL July 25, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician and composer

    Excellent Portable Piano with GREAT Sound!

    I needed something lighter than my Korg Triton 88 weighted-note workstation for occasional out of the studio gigs, as well as I wanted something that looked nice in my music room. The Yamaha P255 (black) with the wooden stand and pedal board, built in speaker system, fit the bill nicely. It's portable enough to take out, and has very nice sounding acoustic piano simulations as well. Polyphony is excellent as are the sampled grand piano sounds, with the ability to EQ them from the onboard sliders which really makes this a live player's dream. I like EVERYTHING about it, the built in speaker system is quite adequate for most situations, certainly for home environments.I've played professionally for over 30 years and the touch, feel of the P255 is very very good. Couple all that with the expandabilty of being able to record backing tracks in CD quality and store them to the USB device on the front panel, for quick recall, then play along with, as well as Midi recording and this system is easlity expandable from other stage pianos in this price-range. The iOS/iPad or iPhone control app is also very very nice! For over a decade now, my Sales Engineer Chris McCown has been such a help to me in my music equipment acquisitions, and I think that speaks so well of Sweetwater's commitment to their customer base! Thanks once again Chris

  • from Bucyrus, OH October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Singer & sound guy

    Very happy w/ the P-255

    We are a group of 20 men who sing a wide variety of music. Some is performed acapella, some to recorded tracks, and some w/ an accompanist. I took the new Yamaha in and set it up for her and she was very excited. It far exceeded her expectations and couldn't stop smiling. Very nice digital piano, great price.

  • from Sacramento, California January 15, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate Piano- mostly play by ear.

    Really awesome for the price

    I love the feel and sound of the P-255. I have an upright grand piano that won't produce good sounds because it needs serious work and to be tuned, so it was never inspiring. I got some excellent samples but used an M-Audio Keystation Pro. It was billed as having hammer action, but it doesn't have a great feel and is very clicky to the point that even with headphones and great samples, the clicking greatly diminished my enjoyment of playing. Aggravated by this and wanting to seriously ramp up/rediscover the joy of playing piano, I tested a P155 and a p45 and was blown away by the touch response. The p-255 took that a step further by adding synthetic ivory keytops so the keys don't get greasy.
    The sound, while maybe not as nuanced in articulation as the Quantum Leap Platinum Bösendorfer 290, has a very nice and usable sound. It also adds the sostenuto pedal which one can only get on really pricey grand pianos and sadly isn't available on the QL engine. Today I struck a few notes on my upright grand and listened to how it sounded, ignoring that it was off key. The sound didn't dissipate immediately upon releasing the key. It reverberated through the cabinet. To try to mimic this without running through East West Spaces excellent Reverb(which requires running cables out to my PC), I tried Upping the internal reverb just a touch on the p255 and found it makes it respond more like an acoustic piano with a sound-board that sustains the note after you take your finger off a key.
    A great addition to my musical collection and a true joy to play using both the built-in sounds and my collection of other sampled instruments. I would definitely recommend this product to others.

  • from Chicago February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    Very Solid At The Price Point

    For the money I don't think there's another board out there that offers the built-in speakers (front-facing with ports on the top), ease of interface, 3-band EQ, sample quality, and above all *feel* of the weight on 88 keys. I compared this head to head against both more expensive boards and more economical 88-key stage pianos. Yamaha delivers just enough features to go along with a really nice keybed and performance-quality samples. This was my choice for the next stage piano in my collection.

  • from Brooklyn, NY November 11, 2015Music Background:
    Composer

    great for the price

    This is truly a no-bells-and-whistles piano, but it's full-sized with graded weighted action, it's very responsive, and the basic piano sounds are excellent. Suits my purposes very well, and a great price for the quality.

  • from Raleigh, NC, USA March 25, 2014Music Background:
    Freelance composer, producer, engineer

    Great Practice Piano with Options for Travel and Recording

    The pianists in the house are really liking this keyboard. Great feel, action, and dynamics. Allows them to practice quietly, silently, or full volume. I still want to try recording with it but have not done that yet. As a synth geek, I'd prefer more sounds, but that's not its purpose. As a piano replacement, it really ticks a lot of boxes. We tried a lot of competitors and this was the best compromise out there. Not the cheapest to be sure, but more expensive models were past the point of diminishing returns.

Questions about the Yamaha P-255 Stage Piano - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway