0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

ART P16 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the ART P16?

Questions about the ART P16?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Nashville February 25, 2015

    ART P16

    As an economical XLR patchbay its a sturdy and well constructed box. this one does all I need it to do and keeps me out from having to go around the back of desk. I would recommend the ART and I will buy a 2nd one.

  • from March 10, 2014Music Background:
    All things musical

    Very nice

    Very well built as are all things from ART

  • from Auburn, CA December 9, 2013Music Background:
    Studio Engineer, Producer, Guitarist, Percussionist, Vocals, House Of Worship, Live Sound

    Does the job! What more could you want?

    I'm extremely happy with this product. I just use it to connect mics from the front instead of say... leaving all the mic cables hooked to the back all the time or having to always crawl to the back to connect and disconnects cables. The connectors are solid and tight so far, and the gold plated conductors is a plus too. They are hard wired so phantom power can go through. Nice and simple. Feels solid. I'm sure the reversible rack ears are helpful in certain situations too: like if you used it for portable uses and needed the outputs mounted on the rear of the rack unit instead. I saw some reviewers were disappointing that the connectors don't lock the XLR but I think I'd rather have it without anyways. I could, as some have said, picture someone stepping on a cable and damaging either the cable, the unit, or even yanking the whole rack unit off the desk or table if it was in a portable rack-mount like mine. In this case the cable is more likely to just slip out unscathed.

  • from Kansas City, KS March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Full-time church media director

    Works great

    Great value, does exactly what it's supposed to. Well-built and seems durable enough to last a long time.

  • from Athens, OH February 5, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Student

    Couldn't be more useful!

    I've got an 8u rack with a pair of interfaces, and I never really liked reaching behind it to plug things in. So, I bought this little guy, made a bunch of short XLR's, routed everything to the front and I'm glad I did it! Haven't had a problem after 8 months or so with it either.

  • from January 26, 2013

    Great product!

    Great product and great value! The only nitpicking I can do is that when you reverse the rack ears the labeling go 16 to 1 instead of 1-16.

  • from Medford, Or January 4, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Very flexable equipment

    I purchased several of these for the use in a live setting. I have a stage that constantly has musicians and instruments being moved around. To allow the changes, moving connections on the back of our soundboard got to be a haste. So we installed these patch bays to route specific mics to the correct channel on the sound board. Similar to what you would see in a studio for routing signals threw different sound processors.

  • from March 13, 2012

    Works Great!

    More or less what you would expect...a 16pt patch bay...phantom power allowed to pass through...someone else noted that they don't lock, I guess that may bother some people...not me though

  • from Sacramento, ca February 2, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer

    Just what I needed.

    What a great rack item. Heavy duty an can take a beating. I love that you can reverse a channel if you want. All you need is a screwdriver. And the ability for phantom power to pass through is key.

  • from South Carolina November 5, 2016Music Background:
    Studio owner...metal screamer

    Great organizer

    Only 4 1/2 stars because I took off a half star because it would have been nice to have a Strip to write on like a mixer.... but other than that it's very solid and really helps you organize all of your outboard and help keep you from having to constantly switch XLR's.

  • from United States March 31, 2015

    P16

    So far this unit does just as advertised. ART dies a fine job for the home studio.

  • from Miami, Florida August 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    16 port patch bay

    Excellent patch bay, compact unit does not take away much space inside the equipment rack. The only thing that would have made this a 5-star is that each individual port is not reversible, would be nice to be able to mix/match male female ports on the strip so you could have some outbounds and inbounds all on the same strip.

  • from Waldorf, Md December 19, 2012Music Background:
    Recording/mixing engineer, live sound engineer, semi-pro musician

    Great piece of gear

    Does exactly what you expect it to do. Built very solidly, great connectors and phantom power pass-thru. Overall a great piece of gear. Beats crawling around behind the desk any day!

  • from December 30, 2016

    Just what I needed

    What can I say about this- it allows me to rout things so that I do not have to constantly fiddle and mess around on the back side of my studio rig. Very straight forward- its sturdy and looks like it will last quite a while.
    I gave it a 4.0 simply because "WOW" does not come to mind - make no mistake it will surely handle the task it is intended for.
    However I do wish they made one with the combo XLR/TRS/TS inputs and outputs - I looked all over and that, and appears to have missed the R&D Team of anybody - every where.

  • from Anchorage, AK February 28, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter | Producer | Recording Engineer

    Streamlines My Workflow

    Simple and easy patchbay to simplify and streamline my workflow during projects. Well made.

  • from California January 9, 2016

    Save your back...and add some functionality

    What can you say. It works. A simple way to gather all (?) your mic XLR inputs into a single location. Passes phantom power nicely and keeps you away from mistaken phantom power on your patch bays. It makes quick changes to microphone a breeze and couple with an actual patch bays gives you a lot of flexibility. I have the first 8 channels going to my Audient ASP880 and four more going to additional outboard mic pres that I have collected over the years. The ASP880 out 25 pin to trs at the patch bay and the mic pres out TRS to the patch bay give me lots of options. It is amazing to me how much more willing I am to try different mic combinations with the simple tool. No more crawling around behind racks, etc. Built well and simple to mount in a 1u rack space. Well worth the coin.

  • from NW Ohio July 18, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer

    Does the job.

    This did exactly what I wanted it to do. I wanted to use multiple preamps with the same microphone, so I just connected the inputs of th preamps to slots on the patch bay, and go from the outputs of the preamps to my mixer channels. Now, all I have to do is switch the mic cable on the front of the patchbay to whatever preamp slot I want to use. This system works, and there's no reason to get a TRS bay to accompany this if all your trying to accomplish is what I just explained. Knocked on star off because XLR cables don't lock into the Art, but it's not really a problem, just a preference. Buy this.

  • from Fort Lauderdale,Fl. November 30, 2012Music Background:
    Vocalist

    It does the job!

    This unit cuts my set up time and removes the aggravation of plugging in from the dark abyss of the back of the p.a. Bravo!

  • from Mount Airy, Maryland 21771 June 15, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, keyboardist and amateur recording Engineer.

    Product review for ART P16

    As in all products that I receive from Sweetwater I have been more than pleased in the products, service and followup. Products work as advertised, arrive in pristine condition and if there are problems are handled quickly and effectively.

  • from Austin, TX May 21, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer, Recording Engineer

    Beats Crawling Behind Your Rack

    Its a pretty simple thing and It does what it is supposed to. For me, it means I don't have to crawl behind to patch in mic cables - everything is right in front now. Then I just use a short snake to connect to my pres.

    I had previously been using another similar product, but this one intrigued me because it fit 16 XLRs into 1 rack unit instead of the other units 12. One difference though in this unit is that none of the XLRs have a locking tab. if you use this with a mobile unit that puts a little more strain on the connections, then this may be an issue for you.

  • from Jacksonville Fl. November 18, 2015Music Background:
    very serious home studio

    Handy Accessory

    Simple Gadget, nicely made, inexpensive and works perfectly for patching different inputs to my 8 channel interface.

    I wish it had a scribble strip, and I wish it's default front/rear was reversed. You can switch the ears to reverse it (hassle) but the default front panel LOOKS nicer than the rear. Small difference, but reversing it also inverts your channels so labelled #16 is on the left and labelled #1 is on the right. Without a scribble strip it helps to have a detailed drawing of the sequence you have wired the rear to keep track of what is where. It's very useful, just more confusing than it needs to be and there's enough confusion in my studio already!

  • from Dallas Tx October 10, 2013Music Background:
    40 years of Rock

    Not what I needed

    If you only need inputs or only outputs on the front then this may work for you. If you buy 2 of them and flip the ears on one you will be able to have both inputs and outputs on the front. I like Art products but this did not work for me. All of the channels are mounted on a circuit board which means you cannot flip an individual channel. I returned it and picked up a Hosa PDR-369 and my problem was solved. I now have both inputs and outputs on the front panel in one unit.

Questions about the ART P16?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway