0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Yamaha P-105 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
  • from Asheville, NC April 3, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced studio musician

    Pleasant Suprise!!

    Tried every keyboard/digital piano available in the local music stores. My main concern was of course the feel of the keys. There are many "hammer graded" pianos, but they all feel like midi controller keys to me. Also, others that may have had decent keys, but the sound was awful. I'd been looking at this Yamaha P-105 for a while and finally decided to impulse buy. This is by far the best feeling piano for the price. I tried pianos 5 times the price and this still beats them out. My daughter needed a piano for lessons (instead of buying an upright). This fits the bill perfectly. I'd buy this over and over again with no hesitation.

  • from Midwest February 28, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer

    Magnificent Piano!

    I've had the P-105 for almost a year now, and I can honestly say I like it more every time I use it. I use it almost exclusively for live performances and I tend to be quite picky about piano sound. I also own two other Yamahas and a Roland (studio keys). A few years back, Roland was always my go-to keyboard. Roland makes high-quality equipment no doubt, but Yamaha has now become my personal favorite. OK, the P-105: Wonderfully weighted keys - a must if you're after action similar to an acoustic grand. Although I use the two grand piano sounds the most (one a bit brighter than the other), there are some other quite useful and pleasing voices as well. Layering function is very nice, too. I do not use the drum patterns or virtual accompaniment, so can't comment on those features. Love the 1/4 inch stereo outputs and the fact that it is relatively light weight.
    Bottom Line: Considering sound, action, price and weight, this is a marvelous digital piano. Many thanks to my agent Jake Longardner and his associates who are always so helpful in every way. In my many years of dealing with musical equipment vendors, Sweetwater is by far the best in every conceivable respect.

  • from Greensburg, KY January 16, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great sound, exceptional service!!

    I was looking for a quality, inexpensive keyboard for my wife and daughter at Christmas.My sales guy at Sweetwater, Brendan Murphy, couldn't have been more informative and friendly. He explained the features of several different products and gave me plenty of time to look at the products on the internet while we talked. There was a problem- the shipping company dropped the keyboard and damaged a key and possibly the mother board. I called Brendan and he had a new keyboard at my front door within two days. The action was exactly as Brendan described- very much like a full-sized piano. Great sound, too! I will definitely do business with this quality company again!

  • from Wallaceton, PA October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Singer, Guitar Player, Bassist, Drummer, Pianist

    Beautiful Look, Sound, and Feel!

    We ordered this piano for our church to replace our old Kimball upright acoustic piano. This was a big move for us, as the acoustic piano had great tone and has been at our church for years. We wanted to go digital, and also save stage space without sacrificing sound and feel.

    We also got the L85 stand & the LP5 pedal.

    I couldn't be happier with this purchase! The piano combined with the stand and pedals looks amazing! It is very sleek, modern, and classy. Better yet, it SOUNDS great! Such beautiful grand piano sound, as well as all of the other settings. The option to layer sounds is also great and very helpful. The keys feel 100% real, with great action and smooth response.

    5 stars all the way. I highly recommend getting the stand and pedal.

    As always, amazing service from Sweetwater and my agent Alan Miller.

  • from Parts Unknown August 31, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    P-105

    This piano was purchased to replace my P-85, which after three years, was getting a little worn-out. The 105 has good volume and sound. The drum patterns and the pianistic styles are good for practicing many different genres. It has no midi connection, but, it does have a USB connection. The other features (split, layer...etc.) are nice and very easy to use. This is my fourth digital piano and it has the smallest user manual of all. Things have been simplified, very user friendly. Yamaha packaging is superb and sweetwater puts everything in a bomb-proof box. NOBODY else does that!

  • from Goliad TX August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amaj plus from A-C

    Personally, I love this keyboard. I play it almost every day. (I play guitar, trumpet, piano, and saxophone, so I don't always have time every day) It doesn't have many of the functions of some other keyboards, but it is exactly what I wanted, and I couldn't be happier with it. Also the staff at Sweetwater have always been very polite, and helpful whenever I've spoken to them. I have bought two guitars, the keyboard, and various accessories from them, and haven't had any problems with them thus far. The free candy is nice too. I look forward to doing business with them in the future.

  • from United States August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Southern Gospel group member.

    P-105 is a super value

    For the price, this Yamaha 88-key digital stage piano is unbelievable. The piano weight is a key feature. It is easy to tote around as they say. It has great value because it is basically a weighted keyboard that is basically a piano, and a great one. There are a few other sounds that come in handy but there aren't 358 different sounds to muddle through. It is a stage piano so if that is what you are looking for, you cant beat the bang for the buck.

  • from May 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist and Music DIrector

    Yamaha P-105 SImply Amazing

    I've sampled a number of stage piano's, and without any doubt, there is nothing in it's price range to compare with it. For the past 9 years I've been using the Yamaha Motif ES8 lump for gigging & church services, but need something to practise at home with, and will look good. I have every intention of getting this in white to keep the wife happy.

  • from LA, CA January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Session Musician, Producer

    One of the best playing keyboards I've ever used

    I really wish all the Yamaha lineup (yes including the ones more expensive than this) felt this nice. My Kawai that's three times the price of this doesn't play as nice. The action is incredible for something in the price range. Its a really basic keyboard, but the speakers sound insanely good for its size. The sampled piano is extremely expressive. I would go out on a limb and say this is probably the best action you can get under $2000.

  • from November 12, 2013

    Excellent!

    Everything is perfect; more than for what I could have hoped!

  • from Knoxville July 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Piano instructor.

    Great Digital Piano

    As a piano player, one of the features I look for in a digital piano is playability. It did not take me long to start playing this digital piano, and trust me this is a really good piano. The weighted keys are awesome, it feels and sounds like a piano. For $599 you get something that is the BEST in its class. In fact, I recommend this for all my piano students. This will serve the beginner as well as the professional musician very well. Look no further, this is it. Of course don't take my word for it, go to Sweetwater and play one, or better still call Alex Morales at x1366 and you won't regret your decision. Alex is a great guy!!! He helps you to make an informed decision about your purchase. Need I say more? Sweetwater is the Best and you guys know it.

  • from St. Augustine FL July 11, 2013Music Background:
    Music Teacher

    Killer Piano

    This piano is perfect. Great speakers. Piano sounds are the best I've heard in a while!!

  • from United States May 17, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and CD/Live Music Producer

    Great for the price

    This is a great piece of equipment and a very decent substitute for real piano - honestly, unless you absolutely need a real piano (classical music for instance), I'd rather go with this keyboard. It is lightweight, sturdy and has a good sound. It is not as good as kurzweil or a nord, but at $600, I do not think it gets any better than that.

  • from New York City March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent keyboard

    I am delighted with the Yamaha P-105. Since I am taking piano lessons on a Yamaha grand piano, it gives me an opportunity to compare the sound and touch, which are very similar. I play on my Yamaha keyboard everyday. I highly recommended it. The quality of the sound and touch far exceeds the reasonable price. Sweetwater delivered the piano quickly and in perfect condition, ready to play. Good packaging. Excellent service.

  • from January 9, 2013

    Great Piano!

    the design is simple and elegant. It feels and look like a real piano, with weighted keys and a beautiful sound. you can use it as a midi controller and it is plug-and-play with most of the softwares, like Garageband. there are not a lot of functions, just the essential, that makes it easy to use.

  • from Bangor ME November 21, 2012Music Background:
    old violinist

    Great choice

    Ice an upright grand. I was worried the sound and/or feel would not be as good. Not to worry - it is perfect for him. Piano teacher came over and loved it as well. They both say it has made a big improvement in his playing in a matter of a couple of weeks - maybe because he really enjoys playing it. Sound and feel are excellent.

  • from April 8, 2015Music Background:
    professional pianist

    WHAT IS BETTER out there at any price?

    It's almost the lightest of the bunch. It really does sound like a good grand piano, and it actually can be recorded and then processed to approximate a grand. I can send feeds from it externals stereo speakers and also a feed to a recorder. It's own speakers are fine for personal use, or a very very small venue.

    The touch is great, but it could have used a few more shades of sensitivity. Each time I play it I need to make friends with it; otherwise it will mess up my timing This thing is actually better in sound than a top of the line Kurzweil. This I know, because Kurzweil had always been my go to - except too heavy to take out routinely.

    At the end of the day it is just a digital piano, lacking the air and subtlety of a real piano. The other sounds are OK, but really are afterthoughts. The more I hear it, the more I hear it's deficiencies. So,, overall Yamaha did a great job putting "lipstick on a pig."

    Regards.

  • from CA, USA August 12, 2014Music Background:
    I sing a little, listen to my wife play a lot, and record her performances.

    I love it

    My wife says, 'I love it. Not as much as I love my 2-meter Kawai grand piano, but I love it." I have nothing to add.

  • from United States June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Pretty Satisfied

    So a friend recommended this keyboard to me, and based on a ton of research I did myself, I concluded that this is the best piano for my needs as a student composer and amateur pianist.

    The action is pretty good, although not quite as realistic as I hoped. I've played on upright Yamahas, a Kawai grand, and a Steinway so I know what real pianos should feel like, and the p-105 comes pretty close but isn't perfect.

    For right now, this keyboard meets my needs and I'm pretty happy with it. It's a great starter and practice piano and would recommend to anyone looking for a digital piano that isn't too expensive.

  • from Jamaica Plain, MA June 10, 2014

    Terrific Deal

    I am an adult beginner, with 1.5 years on a 60 key Yamaha. The P-105 has a much richer sound and key action much more akin to the pianos at my school. Plus, it is light and affordable. It was recommended to me by a performer at a local restaurant who I later learned also teaches at Berklee School of Music.

  • from Ponte Vedra FL November 14, 2013Music Background:
    Piano

    Yamaha P105

    Awesome, has a piano- like feel with rich sound and lots of possibilities!

  • from Virginia September 18, 2013Music Background:
    Professional composer, arranger, producer & saxophonist

    Yamaha P-105 a GREAT keyboard for the price!

    I was really pleased with my purchase of this keyboard. Although I'm still using a Kurzweil PC 88 from 15 years ago, I had another studio where I needed a weighted action keyboard for basic piano practice, MIDI entry and digital recording. At $600 sale price, this keyboard does it all and feels like an actual musical instrument, which I'd be happy to take on any gig.

  • from Gordonsville,Va November 14, 2012Music Background:
    Church Musician

    herrion

    i love the piano sounds,the pipe organ sound is not bad,but i wish it had a church style organ sound.the keys feel awsume,i like the play along feature,theres a lot to like about this keyboard!

  • from United States June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Church organist and choir accompanist; studied piano since age 4 and organ since age 12; music major at Indiana University

    Just what we needed!

    We purchased the Yamaha P-105 to use in our Fellowship Hall for summer church services. This keyboard really delivered. It has good piano sounds as well as an traditional Pipe Organ that is wonderful for the traditional hymns. It is lightweight and can be moved out of the way during the week for other programs that use the space. We are very pleased with this purchase!

  • from United States February 15, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound engineer, gigging musician, music student

    Good buy

    Great keyboard! Feels like playing a piano (almost... not quite your Yamaha C7 obviously). This keyboard, in its most sensitive setting, responds like a piano does dynamically. Sounds are mostly really great too, although there arent a ton of them (thus the pricepoint) Wish they could've thrown in a brass sound maybe, other than that, I'm not wanting.
    The P-105 has some really cool split-keyboard settings, and sound layering options, and the drum beats are flexible and useful for practice (only time signature I didn't hear was 7/8)
    All in all, I should've bought this thing years ago. I definitely got what I paid for.

  • from Ojai, CA June 2, 2013Music Background:
    Educator, Musician

    Best choice in this price range

    The grand piano, while not as good as the P-155 (I compared @ the local retailer) sound is very good, which is the main reason for buying this 'board. Nearly as important is the portability of this unit. It's reasonably lightweight for a weighed 88 key. Also, the speaker system is really good. And unlike many digipianos, the speakers stay on when you plug it into an amp/P.A. Something about the vibrations and immediacy of sound from the onboard speakers makes it more "real". Action is very good, not too heavy like some tend to be.
    If I have any negatives, it would be that the piano sound is too "simple", meaning it doesn't change enough dynamically with different velocity. But at his price, it's a relatively minor complaint.

  • from Paris France May 20, 2013Music Background:
    40 years playing & teaching piano & sax.

    Yamaha P105-35 Casio 150?

    I've been looking for a substitute for my StudioLogic VMK88 board which while 88 keys, light, and has Hammond type faders for use with N.I.'s B4, has rubbish action. My Mainstage piano sounds are also not 100%. I have a Yamaha U1 acoustic at home so have been spoiled.
    Looking through the reviews I saw a nice comparison of Y-P-105 and C-150. The reviewer preferred the Casio so off to the shops to compare.
    Result - I prefer the P35 for it's authentic acoustic piano touch and the P-105 for it's slightly better sound. I don't need the other bells and whistles just;
    1. Portability
    2. Good piano touch.
    3.Good piano sound.
    The Yam P105 and Casio 150 also have NO MIDI outs, only USB. This is a black mark against them for me, but might not matter to other people.
    So the Yam P35 gets my vote and I save 200 odd $.

  • from Bennett, CO May 11, 2013Music Background:
    AMATUER MUSICIAN UKE AND DRUMS

    easy choice

    CAME DOWN TO CASIO 150 OR YAMAHA P105. easy decision after playing them side by side. The sound engine was so much better on the yamaha, my decision was easy. A very simple great sounding piano. MY ONLY disappointment was to see it was made in china, but i believe casio is too as are most guitars. Service at sweetwater was excellent, the 30 day return policy made the difference for me, but its a keeper for me. PEACE

  • from FL May 12, 2015Music Background:
    PIANIST

    Where is MIDI

    My first Yamaha instrument was an BK-2 Electone organ (1972). since then I have owned and played everything from Yamaha.
    I have a grand Piano, an US-1 Electone, Organ, Psr9000 pro - Psr s910,
    I got the P-105 last week but I've been trying to connect the P-105 to the (psr s910) but: NO WAY JOSE!
    also the way the sounds were organized don't allow to use harpsichord + Strings at the same time.(very useful combination for baroque music.
    Using the keyboard to make changes on settings it's NOT a bright Idea when you perform live!
    If someone know how to hook up the two of those via MIDI please advise!! Thank you!

  • from Northern CA July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician (pianist); composer

    Yamaha P-105b

    I've lived with mine for almost a month now but had to send it back. So let's take a look at the Yamaha P-105. The main piano sound, of its 14 available tones, is quite a good piano sample. The unit is very light and I love that! The appearance is quite nice too considering it is such a minimalist approach to design and function. The main downside i experienced to this was the feel of the action at the bottom of the key stroke. In other words, when I pressed the keys there was an annoying thunk at the key bed accompanied by an annoying 'feeling'. An awkwardness that ruined the sense of immersion; the very feeling so many of us seek when composing or performing - or just playing in general. My second issue was simply the non-intuitive controls the P-105 uses in order to do things such as change the reverb, or layer the keyboard (actually layering is quite simple). It's all very simple once you learn it I realize, but tweeking sounds is virtually absent and you have to press keys on the keyboard in conjunction with pressing a button on the piano in order to make many changes. Main thing though is that action - I don't like it, I play real pianos and digital boards regularly, but this one just doesn't work for me; which is odd since it gets such high reviews in that department. I guess this one's just not for me. If you have one and don't mind what I've mentioned, then this keyboard is the finest keyboard at its price point.
    best, ~R

Questions about the Yamaha P-105?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway