0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

iZotope Ozone 5 Mastering Suite Plug-in Reviews

5.0 stars based on 73 customer reviews
  • from McMinnville, OR USA October 25, 2014Music Background:
    Mastering Engineer

    The ultimate mastering plugin!

    Give me a break! An entire mastering chain in one plugin. Amazingly very flexible and sonic genius! Can't live without it!

  • from Columbus Ohio October 21, 2014Music Background:
    Gospel Rapper, Producer

    Too Good To Be True

    Im not a pro by far but this plug in has allowed my productions to sound like industry recordings. It has many features you can use on vocals alone and the master fader as well. The maximizer by itself is worth the price. The presets on all the various options are great and you will find one or more that works perfect. I would suggest playing around with the settings yourself to get familiar in all the option but none the less with the presets you never have too. The best 200 dollars I ever spent!!!

  • from El Segundo, CA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Ozone 5 is out of this world!

    Recommending by Tony Dayton at Sweetwater! Thanks, Tony, for another great recommendation! There is not a lot else I need now to mix and master... I am covered.

  • from Madison, WI August 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    My Favorite Plug In!

    This has been one of the best purchases I have made for my studio. Easy to use, tons of presets, and great EQ. I use this on almost every track in my set.

  • from Phila., PA August 12, 2014Music Background:
    live sound engineer 30+ years & electric blues guitarist

    iZotope Ozone 5 Mastering Suite Plug-in

    Usnig this in a Macbook Air with Pro Logic X it is one of 80 instances of plug-ins in the current mix I'm doing. I'm also using Alloy 2. Ozone 5 is great in that you put it in a mix bus and start with some presets if you'd like and dial up exactly what the buss needs in just a few minutes. Also, one of my pet peeves on plug-ins is a lack of input and output metering and gain controls. Ozone 5 has both so it behaves nicely and reacts as expected—just like putting a car in gear...

  • from Indep...Or. USA June 28, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyst Student

    izotope Ozone 5 Mastering Suite

    This is my first izotope product and it really does the job I use it with ptools the final result is awesome! I recommend this software to any one looking for professional results...thx S.W

  • from NJ June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Producer / DJ

    Love it

    Great product for the price. Easy to use and as a result high quality production

  • from NJ June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Producer / DJ

    Love it

    Great product for the price. Easy to use and as a result high quality production

  • from April 4, 2014

    Perfect starting point for getting that finished polish!

    Perfect starting point for getting that finished polish!

  • from Orlando, FL March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Song writer, Recording Engineer

    Ozone 5

    This product is amazing and includes all the most important sectors of mastering. It'll really make your trax shine and stand out.
    Lot's of presets give you a starting point if needed. Of course there are no presets for the Metal genre but everything is so easy to work with. If you already understand what an EQ or Compressor does you'll never need the manual.
    If you're ready to dive into the digital world and save money(as opposed to buying all the analog hardware) this is a necessity. Anyway the Harmonic Exciter included will take away that harsh digital edge too.

  • from United States March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ozone 5

    The Swiss Army Knife of mastering. Great addition to have. If your mix is bad in the first place, this won't rescue it....nothing will. However, if you've arranged and mixed your track well, this plugin really enhances it. It sounds amazing, and the interface is excellent and easy to learn.

  • from Folsom, Ca March 1, 2014Music Background:
    Musician/audio engineer

    Mondo-Mastering

    I’ll try to keep this brief…what a FANTASTIC plugin! You can use the well programmed factory presets as a starting point to do a reasonable mastering job or roll up your sleeves and dive into Ozone 5's massive array of tools and parameters. I’ve been mastering “in the box” for a number of years but I was never able to get results like this before. If you want your soundscape loud but open…Ozone will do that. If you want it crushed and saturated…it’ll do that too. iZotope’s website offers lots of well-written documentation and general instruction to help you get the most from this plugin. It might not be my first choice for a mastering novice but if you already have the basics down or even if you’re an experienced pro, I highly recommend Ozone 5.

  • from MS February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Songwriter

    Worth the money

    I am not a professional by any means, but this product is well worth the money. If you are a hobbyist that records independently for fun (or to save money) I would definitely recommend that you give Ozone a shot. Go to their website and download the one-week trial and give it a try if you are not convinced. The presets are pretty good and cover a wide range of sounds and styles and even if they are not perfect, you can probably find one that is close enough and tweak it until you get the sound you want.

    For $200, Ozone is a great investment for anyone looking to master their own tracks.

  • from cincinnati,ohio December 27, 2013Music Background:
    beat maker

    ozone 5

    nice and clean love it

  • from December 11, 2013Music Background:
    novice soundengineer

    the only mastering tool you will ever need

    Ozone5 is the only plugin you'll need on your masterbus.this is an essential tool . I was amazed at the difference it made to my miss. Wish id bought it sooner

  • from Georgia December 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Smooth Operator

    After pondering whether or not to enter the realm of mastering I finally decided to take the plunge. The good folks at Sweetwater contacted me shortly after the download to determine if all went well and have been in touch subsequently. They and the software are a class act. I started out with a few presets and then moved to creating my own. We record a variety of genres and I've been able to make all of our efforts really sparkle with Ozone...and it works flawlessly with my DAW (Garageband).

  • from Saint Pete November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Music Producer

    iZotope Ozone 5 Mastering Suite Plug-in

    One Word. Awesome!

  • from Connecticut November 2, 2013Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, Recording Engineer

    Well worth the upgrade

    As a long time happy user of Ozone 4, the list of enhancements in Ozone 5 were just too promising to pass up. I am a fan of iZotope and get a lot of use out of Alloy, Nectar 2, and RX2 advanced, as well in my studio. Ozone 5 really does make everything sound better than Ozone 4. That is saying quite a lot! I especially like the post EQ, and of course that wowser of a plate reverb. I've taken some sessions previously mastered with Ozone 4, and made another pass at them with Ozone 5. Ozone 5 wins in a walk.

  • from Weldon Spring, Missouri September 22, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Publishing Company, Producer

    The Real Deal....

    Software in a nutshell is very intuitive to use. Pick a preset and adjust the variables and away you go. Manual was well written and a big help on dither and other nuances. Great service from Sweetwater! Thanks, Ryan.

  • from United States August 10, 2013Music Background:
    hoppyist

    very nice

    awesome plugins. use it all the time. adding life to that not so well mastered CD/songs. great additional to my soft plugins/daw.
    for the price you can't go wrong with ozone. Let ozone take you to that inzone.

  • from United States August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and Recording Engineer

    Worth Every Dolllar

    This software even made my oldest recordings come alive. I am ultra-impressed with the new level of sound quality coming out of my studio. I have WAVES as well, but Ozone5 puts all the tools in one place to grab them and I guarantee... it will impress you.

  • from Houston, Texas July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing engineer

    Great Plug in

    Really helps enhance a good mix.

  • from Los Angeles, CA June 7, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, Songwriter, Producer

    Ozone 5 - A Great Investment

    I found Ozone 5 to be everything it is advertised to be. Instead of spending the same amount to have 4 songs mastered by someone else, only to wish I could make more changes to the mix after getting the final master, now I can make my mix tweak and run it through the same mastering settings again in minutes.

    You still need to develop your own mastering skills, the ear for it, but it's so great to have those powerful tools at your own fingertips to make your own mistakes and learn from them. Now I can crank out ready-for-TV masters for free at home!

  • from San Antonio, TX May 7, 2013Music Background:
    (Label) Recording/Mix Engineer, Live Broadcast Audio Engineer

    Incredibly Powerful Tool!

    I have been using iZotope's Ozone plugin since version 3. This plugin allows you to "master" your audio in a way previously reserved for mastering engineers only. When producing an album, it is still best to use a real, professional, mastering engineer. However, this makes your rough mixes sound like finished mixes and I have personally used this in live broadcast scenarios as well when a high quality outboard leveling amplifier was not available.

  • from Johnson City, TN May 3, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Producer

    Well Worth It

    I downloaded the demo from their website and as soon as I heard a couple of the settings on my tracks, I knew I was going to purchase straight away. If you've always been disappointed with the sound quality of your tracks and can never get them to be as loud or sound as full as professional recordings, then this is going to blow you away. The interface is very straightforward and has something to offer either beginners or seasoned pros. It's a no-brainer really. This program is awesome and completely customizable.

  • from Wisconsin May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer and Producer

    WOW for Ozone 5

    This program is amazing. Applied just the pre-set plugins and was blown away at how it changed my music. Am currently learning to use this powerhouse a little better so I can really use it to the max.

  • from Dixon, MO March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer (Hobbyist)

    Pretty Amazing

    After reading about Ozone 5 on various sites and reviews, I decided to give this a try. I use Ozone 5 with Studio One and I have to admit, my expectations were not only met but were exceded in a big way. I am amazed at the quality of sound I am now getting from recordings, having the ability to have that "full" CD quality sound that I was missing before. In almost all cases this plug-in has everything you need for mastering tracks and the ease of use is great. I would highly recommend this to anyone, great product.

  • from Chicago January 26, 2013Music Background:
    Happy Analoq Toys.

    Ozone 5 will give you a radio ready master.

    I cant say enough good things about this software. It comes with great presets to help you get started. Very easy to use with fantastic results.

  • from Redding, CA January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Ozone 5 is a life changer

    I have been recording and mixing for more than twenty years. I have been trying to master my recording for the last ten years or so with mixed results, none of which sounded like what the pros can do. With Ozone 5 my life is so much easier when it come to mastering. I particularly like the "learn" function in the multi-band compressor which finds the sweet spots for dividing the bands based on the sound being processed. And I LOVE the matching function of the EQ. This is where I have always struggled.... getting the EQ curve to match commercial professionally mastered recordings. Not anymore. I a press of a few buttons and I can have Ozone 5 match any source I want. Now for the big one….. mid/side processing. This is the first time I could afford to own a product that lets me process the sides of a stereo signal separately than the middle. This allows me to really open up the sound. All I can say is WOW this is product great.

  • from December 31, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Music Maker Man

    Best Plugin Evahh!!!!!!!!!

    Total Awesomeness!!! Ozone 5 totally changes the way I do my mastering!!! It totally glues everything together nicely and sounds amazing! All the modules within the plugin are great and have a ton of different options!!! I love how the modules can be placed in different places within the signal chain!
    I think my favorite thing to do in this plugin is Mid/Side EQ! The M/S EQ option allows you to EQ the mono audio signal separately from the stereo audio signal. This allows the stereo items to pop out of the speakers and sound clearer while allowing the mono items to stay solid. Ozone takes this very complicated idea and makes it very easy!!!
    My second favorite thing in this plugin is the reverb which was very surprising to me! Originally when I heard and researched about this plugin I thought I would never use the reverb module because usually reverb is already used in mixing a track and it would be pointless to add more reverb and the whole track would sound muddy. WRONG! The reverb sounds AWESOME and really opens up a track to make it sound large!!! Just today, I used Ozone to master an ambient track I made that already had a buttload of reverb before I put Ozone on it. I stuck Ozone on it and when I turned on the reverb I was very surprised how it made my track feel larger without mudding everything up! The reverb comes in three flavors: Plate, Room, and Hall. The hall sounded great on my ambient track! Amazing reverb.
    Everything else in this plugin is amazing too! The multi-band compressor is great! The harmonic exciter really brightens up dull mixes and makes them sort of sparkle! The stereo imaging module really widens mixes and allows you to widen different frequency bands of audio so you you can widen the higher frequencies while keeping the lower bass frequencies hard mono. And the maximizer really completes Ozone. It really brings up the volume without crushing the transients. There are many different options within the maximizer. For example, you can choose a maximizer type based on the CPU load you want to use.
    Overall this is an amazing plugin and teaches you more about how digital audio works as you use it. A really cool looking interface mixed with amazing high quality audio tools and great visual feedback make this the Best Plugin Evahh!!!!!!!!!! Thanks a lot Sweetwater and iZotope!!! Ozone 5 was definitely worth buying!

  • from Fort Lauderdale, FL December 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, live and studio work, songwriter

    iZotope Ozone5

    This plug-in has added an amazing new level to my tracks. I love that all the presets are totally adjustable and then can be saved so there's no guessing when it comes to using for different tracks. Love it!

  • from December 9, 2012

    Pro Product for Pro's

    After using ozone5 for only 3 days i immediantly had the urge to redo all my using ozone5. I truely here the difference in quality as well as the possibilities and versatility of the plug-in. The only issue for me was the learning curve associated with the plug-in. at first it was akward and took some time to find where things where and what they do (mainly for the reason there is so much packed into the plug-in...whcih i thinkis a good thing). overall great product but make sure you have a week to really get comfortable with it

  • from LA September 24, 2012Music Background:
    Nada...I'm a VO

    Totally NOT technically minded!

    Don't know what to say...except this is awesome!!

  • from ON, Canada September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Musician,

    Absolutely UNREAL.

    I can't get over how awesome this software is. I'm using it as a VST in Cubase and not only can you master with it (it's original purpose), but you can use like a VST effect in real-time in your effects chain! I nearly fell off my chair when I discovered that.

    As a mastering suite, the difference it can make to your sound just blows me away! This is NOT an exaggeration! I can't believe it was only $200. It sounds like it costs triple that. I'm so happy with this purchase that I think my head is going to explode.

  • from Fort Mill, SC September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Izotope, you can't live without it

    The title says it all. How could anyone sell their music with it sounding like it's coming from behind a curtain? I like Izotope because it puts your music up front and center. The presets almost do it all for those who have no time to learn the ins and outs of mastering. Good bang for the buck.

  • from Nashville, TN September 10, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Composer, Recording Engineer

    Great plugin!

    I've never written a review for a product before, but this plugin is way more than I was expecting. A few years ago I had a grammy winner master a song for me, and I've tried to match my other songs to that level, but was never able to get the same loudness or the sound quality. I've been using the compressor in ProTools, a good eq plugin and the Sonnox Oxford Inflator, which is a great plugin. However, I was never able to get the same loudness without getting distortion and the sound was not as polished. I read the reviews for this product and downloaded the trial version, and within a couple of hours I was able to get the same results as the professional mastering engineer. One great feature is being able split the signal into 4 bands and compress/limit each band. You can also maximize the left and right stereo signal separately or together. The Eq and exciter are very good and give the song that professional polished sound. The program is very easy to use and the presets are great starting points that can be adjusted to get the sound you're looking for quick. It does take a lot of CPU power, but I'm just using it for the final master so I'm not worried about latency. The price is also great. This plugin costs the same amount that I paid to have 1 song mastered, so this is a bargin. I would highly recommend this to anyone that is looking for a great matering plugin.

  • from Australia August 31, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician & studio owner

    iZotope ozone 5

    ozone 5 is just an amazing product, I needed to finish an album in quick time for touring & ozone 5 enabled me to get an excellent result in a far shorter time than i could have using my usual approach, i will be adding nectar & alloy to my as well. special thanks to sweetwater for getting me operational in such a short time cheers Barry Australia.

  • from Benton Harbor, MI August 17, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great Mastering Software!

    Ozone 5 is amazing! I have never used mastering software before and I ran my final mix through Ozone 5 and was amazed with the results. Very user friendly. Even if you have nevery used mastering software. I highly recomment you try it!!! Made my final mixes much louder and added that extra sparkle!

  • from Greenville,SC USA August 14, 2012Music Background:
    All things musical Pro

    Amazing!

    So complete! Blown away!

  • from San Francisco July 19, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician , Composer , Engineer .

    Best plugin period

    I was torn between ozone and tracks as tracks added a sheen that ozone couldn't . Then Ozone 5 came out . The added pultec eq and emt reverb algorithms added that same sheen and then some . This plugin is on everything . Its becoming the mastering standard and even those who still have their mastering done at a mastering house they will probably still have this plugin . People love it on synths as inserts . The exiter kicks out lovely tube and tape emulations . Its one of those plugs thats like"what" when you bypass it . It makes things so in your face its not funny . The documentation is great including a seperate manual just on the subject of mastering . I highly recommend it to any one doing their own mastering .

  • from Westchester County, NY June 24, 2012Music Background:
    Composer/Musician

    Best Mastering Package - Period.

    Mastering is always a constant experiment - I own and have used many of the available bundles(T-Racks 3 Deluxe/Vienna Suite) as well as having pieced together stereo mix chains consisting of various plugin/processors. With Ozone 5, I'm confident in moving my mixes to the mastering stage and achieving the intended results without overblown and unneccessary processes. The interface is very intuitive and has the easiest learning curve around...If your a beginner you should definitely look no further,

  • from Philadelphia June 7, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    A very useful tool

    Using Ozone5 has beat any mastering I have done to date albeit in a project studio, but i have only scratched the surface

  • from Ukraine April 6, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Artist, Composer. Experimental Electronic Music

    Now Ozone 5 is great!

    Ozone 5 is brilliant for the mastering - it includes everything you need in one package! For this money you will never find such a great mastering tool, and now you don't need iLok, for me it was very big argument. It is truly better sounding, even if you don't really know how to do mastering it can help you! I am very pleased with Ozone 5 - great plugin! Highly recommended to everyone!

  • from Boonton, N.J. USA April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Musician.

    Ozone 5 Saved the Day

    I got this system downloaded with 2 days to go to submit a song on a compilation CD that was going out to 500 radio stations. It has all the bells and whistles you need. However, I didn't have that much time left. The Ozone 5 gave me the option to pick a genre specific sound and mess around just a little to produce a great "broadcast ready" song. It lifted everything just enough to make my song jump. I couldn't be happier, and can't wait to the end of every song I record just to use it again. PLUS, the guys from Sweetwater emailed and even called to make sure everything was alright and if I need any help with the product. You just don't see that kind of service anymore!

  • from Tampa FL March 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, songwriter, guitarist, singer.

    iZotope Ozone 5

    Solves some mysteries for self mastering music producers. Like it a lot.

  • from Las Vegas March 11, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Producer

    Must have for mastering

    This is the must have suite for mastering. It is the only plug I use on the mastering bus now and it sounds incredible. Just like you sent your tracks off to a mastering house. I would recommend this for anyone who is doing home recordings. I also use this on my drums masterbus and it sounds so good.

  • from Greer, SC December 16, 2011Music Background:
    Performer, Live Sound, Hobbyist recording engineer

    Ozone 5 is top drawer for the home studion

    I was looking for a piece of mastering software that I could use with both pro tools and cubase. This fit at a price point I could afford. It installed with no problem at all, I was up and running in no time. This program can as easy as plug and play with the multiude of presets it is loaded with, or it can be as user controlled as you want it to be. My first time playing around with it I brought a professionally mastered track into protools and then a song I had recorded in my basement. In an hour I had learned enough to farily closely match the tone and volume of the reference track. It is a great value for those of us beginning to master and those of us on home studion budgets.

  • from Orlando, FL September 9, 2014Music Background:
    producer, song writer

    Very Powerful

    Just in one week my tracks went from sounding like something was missing, to in your face!! Night and day difference, a must have.

  • from Alabama July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Producer of Dance, EDM, Dubstep, Hip-Hop, Instrumentals; Recording Engineer

    Ozone 5 is the bees knees

    Prior to purchasing Ozone 5, I was mastering in Ableton using the mastering racks + a bajillion other effects and spending hour after hour perfecting my sound. Then I bought Ozone 5. The first track I mastered with O5 took me about 30 minutes total and it ended up sounding phenomenal. It is great for overall mastering and mixing, enhancing individual instruments & channels, and is great even for individual sounds such as kicks or snares. The only thing that I dislike is it adds a lag to your music. For instance I am currently working on a track that has about 10 different episodes of Ozone running, plus one over the master, and the lag is pretty bad - somewhere around 300-500ms. It doesn't cause any CPU lag, only audio lag most likely from it processing the sound. Aside from that, win win win win win win win. I also use RX4 and holy cow that is one awesome program as well. Honestly anything from the guys at iZotope is top of the line and worth every dollar.

  • from Arlington, TX February 16, 2014Music Background:
    amature recording and mixing engineer

    Not bad actually

    I have learning curve with computers and plug-ins but once i learned how to use this plug-in it has become very useful. I certainly wouldn't rely on this as your only mastering tool if you're mastering your own mixes but it is indeed a powerful tool. The best thing about this is that it seems to have everything you may need including dither shaping. It's definitely a keeper.

  • from SAN JOSE, CA February 3, 2014Music Background:
    RECORDING ENGINEER & PRO MUSICIAN

    WORKS LIKE IT SHOULD

    I'M AN OLD USER OF IZOTOPE PLUGINS AND AS ALWAYS THE IMPROVMENTS IN THEIR NEW OZONE 5 ARE PRETTY GOOD. I NOTICE SONIC IMPROVEMENTS AND EASE OF USE SIGNAL FLOW. THE PRESETS GET YOU IN THE BALLPARK, THEN YOU CAN EASILY TWEEK YOUR PARAMETERS. NOT A SUBSTITUTE FOR PRO-MASTERING BUT GOOD FOR ROUGH MIXES FOR YOUR CLIENTS.
    AMATEURS CAN GET GOOD RESULTS FOR THEIR YOU-TUBE MIXES AS WELL. GREAT MASTER BUSS PLUGIN, GOOD GROUP BUSS PLUGIN. TOO MANY PARAMETERS FOR INPUT BUSSES, AT LEAST FOR ME. MODULE OPTIONS WOULD BE COOL FOR THAT.

  • from List Angeles September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Music producer

    Industry standard

    This program is now pretty much being used by every top mix engeer !!
    What does that tell you !

  • from Floyd, VA June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording and live sound engineer

    Everyone should have this!

    A buddy of mine has had a working studio in Nashville for 25 years and a mater session player to boot. He said some of the top mastering guys he's worked with suggested he add the advanced version to his studio because it gave them a way to quickly handle many projects in the low and mid range cost to a client.

    I got the "free test for 10 day" version and mastered a project and was absolutely blown away! I a/b'd the project with and without Ozone and the results were fantastic. Clear, clean presence that had been missing from the non-ozone mastered version revealed themselves. Not a compress to the max sound just more present and overall perceived as more full.

    I am afraid I might get in so deep into the tweaks I never come out again! ;)

  • from April 4, 2013Music Background:
    producer

    unexpected

    First off if you have never used izotope, navigating through the program can be somewhat confusing just because of the set up. Once you get used to how to navigate through its a piece of cake. Now performance side. I use fl studio 10 and it works wonders. With all the presets that comes with this program its unreal. What I also like is the visual display it also has to assist you even more on bringing your music out even more. You can save previous mix masterings if you need to as well as customize the program to your liking. Thanks to my sales engineer Will for putting me on to this program. For the price you are getting this for its a steal for sure. O one other thing if your trying to add overall volume to your track without it blaring through the speakers. Look no further, I am very happy with my purchase and I hope my review will help anyone interested in buying this program. The only reason why it does not get 5 stars I'm still exploring the program thoroughly to give an accurate review so far so good

  • from January 30, 2013Music Background:
    25 yrs of performing and goofing off

    Ozone 5 - The Swiss Army Knife of Mastering

    In my opinion, Ozone 5 is almost indispensable for the home studio. I really am not a sound engineer by any stretch of the imagination and with a little work and patients, I believe you can dial in whatever style you want. I find myself using it on many tracks as well as the master track. You just can't go wrong. There are many good recording interfaces out there now days, but on the back end this is your best bet on a budget.
    I downloaded the free trial, used it for one song, and immediately bought it. I use it with garageband and it really does a great job of giving songs a professional sound. Can it replace a professional- probably not. Can it take your home tracks to a retail level - definitely!

  • from Georgia January 21, 2013Music Background:
    Professional guitar/keyboard player for over 40 years

    Great ad on

    Another great piece to the recording puzzle! I use logic and this is so much more advance than the logic mastering plug ins.
    Just getting in to tweaking the individual settings. Very easy to use!

  • from Texas November 18, 2012Music Background:
    decades of part-time bands, ensembles, community groupsm etc; P&W (guitar) for past 4 years; amateur recording hobbyist

    Useful and fascinating

    This "mastering" software is a collection of several plugins, along with many, many "presets" which combine those plugins (EQ, Reverb, Dynamics/Compressor, et al) in multiple ways.

    Right out of the box you can pick a preset, e.g., "Country Master - Rock" and apply it to a stereo track, and often you'll hear something that sounds a lot closer to a finished product that what you may have done up to that point. It's a great way to take something that may sound a little weak and turn it into a track with more commercial qualities. I use the presets, or ones I've modified from the stock (easy to do, and ultimately, necessary), to take "hand-held" recordings, both live and off an Aviom, and make them sound richer, and more current, with little effort. A real time saver.

    Is it a substitute for professional mastering? Of course not, but if your "customers" are friends or band-mates, and you take the time to learn how to use it, they'll appreciate the improvements. And, it *will* take time, but you'll learn not just what the presets can do, but once you dig in to what they are doing, you'll learn what the individual effects do, and realize this software works great both for "mastering" and as single plug-in effects, plus it's a great learning tool.

  • from heaven November 12, 2012Music Background:
    major studio

    useful

    Keep ya mind, you do not have to use all effect chain in ozone.
    if u need treat low alance, or feeling of attack, then use multiband comp, at first 2band, if u need more adjust, then 3band, etc.
    because of very powerful tool, also u can made ur track into scrap.
    less is more. again, less is more.

  • from New Windsor NY. September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer, Producer

    Ozone 5. Worth every dollar

    Ozone 5 makes my music sound better! I was using Ozone 4 for a few years. I switched my hardware and host software to Presonus and started mastering my songs using a variety of plugins. Dennis (Sweetwater) suggested considering upgrading to Ozone 5. I did my do diligence and decided to upgrade. I could not be more happy! Having the whole mastering suite in one plugin improves my workflow. This is a major upgrade from Ozone 4. The flexibility and power of this program is astonishing. I strongly recommend Ozone 5!

  • from Woodland HIlls Ca May 30, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Musician, Writer

    Take it to the next level

    Ozone 5 has given me the ability to have everything I do, from Heavy rock to World Music, to Orchestra, sound like a finished mastered product, the presets are great, set your levels and go

  • from Inverness, Fl April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Musician

    Ozone 5

    I was looking for a mastering program. I downloaded trial versions of Ozone 5 and T RackS 3 and made some sample mixes from a couple of Sonar (X1) projects and the Ozone 5 mixes were much better. After some additional testing I made some mixes for a singer that I was doing a CD project for. I gave him two mixes - one with Ozone 5 and the other with T RackS 3 using both programs basic pre-set and only marked the discs "A" and "B". I asked him to pick the one he liked and almost immediately he selected the Ozone 5 mixes.

    For my use, Ozone 5 wins.

  • from British Columbia, Canada March 29, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Awesome Product

    I used iZotope Ozone to master an album as well as a demo. I was completely blown away by how easy it is to use, and how quick I was able to get results from it. Worth the purchase.

  • from Brooklyn, NY January 10, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, producer, recording engineer

    Great, I love It

    Versatile, great value, great product.

    Ray

  • from LA CA October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Composer,Engineer

    Best bang for the Buck

    I have 4 or 5 mastering software programs and OZONE 5 is the best as well as being the cheapest.
    it is logically layer out ,easy to use out of the box and has a wide perimeter of mastering choices . Where has this been all my life?
    Gives you a pro sounding track.

  • from San Diego June 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, producer, all of the above.

    Pretty Nice

    For me, being an absolute amateur at mastering, this plugin does a really nice job of covering all the bases. Back in the day, the studio we worked with did an amazing job on the mix and production but they sent us to Sterling audio for mastering, our records sounded great.
    Mastering and mixing are entirely different art forms, Ozone makes it easy to publish your mixes the way you think they should sound.
    You'll probably want to have a couple more tools in your arsenal, but I think you'll like what Ozone does for your mixes.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Freelance composer, recording engineer

    Why wouldn't you buy it?

    Demoed Ozone 4 about a year and a half ago and loved it but had it at about 3 or 4 on my gear wishlist. In the meantime I used my Renaissance EQ and Massey's L2007 Limiter for mastering mixes. Having purchased version 5, I can't imagine mastering without it now. And for the price, I definitely should have had it at 1 or 2 on my wishlist.

    The interface is fairly straightforward (though will take some getting used to), they include a nice list of presets to get you started and I love the fact that all of your mastering needs are available in one plugin, with a ton of flexibility.

    The maximizer has a few different modes depending on your needs and I've found it to be quite transparent overall (compared with Pro Tool's Maxim). And the harmonic exciter adds a whole new layer of detail I didn't have/consider with my previous mastering chain.

    Overall, a well-thought out plug-in that gives you everything you need for mastering at a very reasonable price. Definitely a "Why wouldn't you if you can?" purchase.

  • from Denver, CO. September 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musician/engineer

    Ozone 5 EQ Matching

    We purchased Ozone 5 specifically for the EQ matching feature. I've used it on 2 projects so far- one audio book and one voice for video project.

    In both cases, I was able to get the voice to sound much more even and
    consistent then would be possible otherwise.

    Very impressive.

  • from South Carolina September 4, 2012Music Background:
    Bass player/Producer...

    Easy to use...

    Most of the presets don't work for me however I like using on the default setting and make my changes that way. So for me am happy with it, I can clean up the mix and make it close to radio ready.

  • from United States June 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    iZotope Ozone 5

    Awesome software. Just what I needed!

  • from Dallas, TX June 15, 2012Music Background:
    Retired Pro Musician & Home recording hobbyist

    Love it! Gave my mix clarity & the level I needed for CDBaby

    As a home recording enthusiest, I didn't have the budget for outside mastering but needed something to elevate my mix for CDBaby & iTunes ... Ozone 5 delivers! I like the presets too for various song styles and for $200, it's worth every penny!

  • from Turlock, CA April 28, 2012Music Background:
    Song writer, guitarist, recordist, great guy!

    Great master plugin!

    I've used this product for a month now. I highly recommend this for those of us challenged in the mastering field. I love the presets. Their not perfect but close. A few tweaks here and there and you'll have a very usable setting. This plug absolutely kicks my but when I compare it to my old "mastered" sessions! I'm still going through and replacing my old plugs with this. A word of cation: this most likely will give your individual tracks very noticeable latency! (at least it did for me.....pro tools le). This is corrected by time adjustment plugins. Hope this helps!

  • from Bratislava, Slovakia EU April 9, 2012Music Background:
    sound engineer, musician producer

    my best plugins for mastering

    excellent exciter and dynamics for mastering

  • from Orlando, FL December 26, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great sound!

    Very easy to use. The presets are great.

Questions about the iZotope Ozone 5 Mastering Suite Plug-in?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway