0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

M-Audio Oxygen 49 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Brent Leuthold

    The keyword with this controller is compatibility. I bought this keyboard a few years ago and have been able to use it with Pro Tools, Logic Pro, and Reason. Not only is the Oxygen 49 versitile, it is also easy to use and very affordable. Simply put, if you are a keyboard player, the Oxygen 49 is almost as essential as breathing.

  • from Florence, MS USA July 19, 2012Music Background:
    Student, Home Recording

    The Breath of MIDI

    I've had this for about three and a half months now, and I love it.
    I use it only as a MIDI controller, not for the control surfaces. I run Logic Pro 9 (and have used with GarageBand '11), and have had no problems.
    The keys are real smooth and responsive. By all means better than all the low end Akai controllers, which have no weight to them. These have the slightest bit added to them.

    The video, however, shows an alternate reality about the control surfaces. They're difficult, to me. It's hard to get them set right, and the learn feature is rather troublesome.

  • from Fargo, ND January 26, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Producer

    Oxygen 49 Everything you need!

    This keyboard does it all! Every program I have used it with, finds it right away. You can control everything in your DAW with this keyboard. It's bigger then I thought it would be which is a plus! Sturdy and looks fabulous! Don't hesitate you wont be disappointed with this purchase!

  • from San Jose, CA March 16, 2011Music Background:
    Old Vegas style duo pro.

    So far so good.

    I will start by saying that I have not bought a new controller since 1991. I am pleased with the number of sliders, knobs and buttions there are for $159. You can see 9 sliders, 8 knobs and 9 buttons but what you cannot see is that each of 10 patches has a full set of those. So it is 9 sliders times 10 etc. I love 49 keys because you always know that you are playing on about half of 88 keys and hitting the octave buttion will give you the next half of 88. I am going to be very interested to see about durability after 5 years. The other reviews about M-Audio gave them what I consider a passing grade for durability. Also, this guy is light and easy to carry - just what many of us need from a portable controller. I am a person who likes sax and flute samples so the 2 wheel controller is best for me.

  • from Cincinnati February 23, 2012Music Background:
    Producer and studio musician, song writer

    Great controller

    Great midi cintroller for a great price. The folks at sweetwater are top notch. Delivery was quick.

  • from Luanda - R. of Angola August 31, 2011Music Background:
    Musician Producer/Composer and Singer.

    This controller is really good for MIDI recording and Play backs.

    The M-Audio Oxygen 49 is a good keyboard controller with Direct link technology, the transport buttons are very useful for recording MIDI and playback, touch sensitive control gives the realism of playing in a soft or in a hammer keyboard and is not expansive. I like it too much.

  • from Columbia, SC August 22, 2011Music Background:
    Musician/Composer

    Exceeded my expectations!

    Easy to set up, map, and play. I was sorta looking to move up from a 25 note to play more freely and map splits in Reason; this is a joy at this price and play with both hands. It feels sturdy, too. I would give it five stars if it had After-Touch.

  • from Leavenworth, KS October 11, 2010Music Background:
    Very serious Hobbyist, student, etc

    Moved UP from Axiom 25

    I needed something with more keys than the Axiom 25 so was looking at this very hard. Arrived and found it to be everything I wanted and more. The Axiom has high side plates that make playing the lowest and highest notes difficult. The Oxygen has low side plates and you can play it with no difficulties at all. The Oxygen doesn't have MIDI input, output or thru but I don't need as I'm using the usb connection without problems. I also didn't need the drum pads that the Axiom comes with. These items where not of importance to me. What is important is the ability to use the sliders like drawbars on the vintage organ b3 and the transport buttons that work with most any daw. I have stand alone keyboards I could use as controllers but this is lightweight, small footprint on my computer desk. Really haven't found a thing wrong with this purchase and would recommend to anyone looking for an easy to use and affordable controller. The only reason for the 4.5 versus 5.0 is anything can be improved.

  • from New Hampshire July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    M-Audio Oxygen 49

    I started using Pro Tools 9 recently and I wanted a keyboard to control the awesome synthesizer. I am a guitarist first, but I wanted to make backing tracks and add keyboards to my recordings. I looked at all types of keyboards and I soon realized that none of them would do everything I wanted. I decided to focus on controlling Pro Tools and that is how I decided on the Oxygen. The Oxygen keyboard gives you a great amount of control in Pro Tools. You can use all the power of the Pro Tools synthesizer. You can control volume for 9 different tracks. Oxygen has pitch and modulation wheels. There are 8 knobs which can be custom set for controlling effects levels. There is also transport controls so you can start and stop recording without going back to the computer. The keyboard itself is good, and better than some of the less expensive keyboards I tried. It didn't take long for me to find the limit of 49 keys, but 88 keys means more expense and more space required. I was able to adjust to 49 keys, and you can transpose with the push of a button. However, if you want a serious keyboard you may want more. Another downside is the Oxygen must be connected to the computer with Pro Tools running to play. If you want to just turn it on and play you are out of luck. You also must be careful to have the keyboard turned on and connected when you start Pro Tools or you will get an error when the Oxygen is not found. The Oxygen is very good for a computer based recording studio, but if you want to be a keyboard wizard then you will want more.

  • from Texas March 17, 2010Music Background:
    Producer

    Perfect for the home studio

    I wanted a simple keyboard controller that would not take up too much desk space. I decided to give it a try and was immediately impressed with the feel of the keys (synth action) and really liked the new DirectLink mode (even though I was not shopping for this kind of feature) it has made working in Reason more fun and productive. Doesn't feel cheaply made and so far I've been satisfied with the performance and the price. Using it with small project studio and DAW. No regrets.

  • from Eulonia, Georgia USA February 6, 2012Music Background:
    Musician /artist

    oxygen 49 blue

    I didn't think it would be nice, but it proved to be really nice for the money. I don't know all of the ins and outs of it yet, but what I have experienced by using it, will get the job done and not take up much space. Very good for the beginner using controllers, and very simple once you get the hang of it,

  • from Boston, MA November 16, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, not a real keyboard player.

    Love it.

    The keyboard does exactly what I wanted it to do, tap horns into ProTools. It was easy to set up, it's easy enough to play and if you want, you can use all the sliders and knobs though that isn''t important to me at the moment. Maybe later.

    I only gave it three stars because I don't know really know if it's great. It does what I want and doesn't feel like a real piano. For $149 delivered, that might be great.

Questions about the M-Audio Oxygen 49?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway