0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Antelope Audio Orion 32 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Antelope Audio Orion 32?

Questions about the Antelope Audio Orion 32?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Marcos Sanchez

    The Antelope Audio Orion 32 sets a new benchmark for high-quality audio interfaces. Having an interface with 32 analog I/O in a single rack space is normally unheard of! Beyond that, the Orion gives you the lowest latency spec out of a standard USB driver that I've ever seen - I didn't think USB could handle this kind of low latency! With the best clocking in the world, amazing converters, and all the connections you'd ever need for your studio, this interface is a must-have for the studio needing high quality and lots of connectivity.

  • Stuart Niven

    The Antelope Audio Orion 32 uses the same advanced clocking as the acclaimed Isochrone OCX-V (as used in high-end mixing/mastering and post facilities worldwide). 32 channels of I/O over USB 2.0 combined with a super-flexible routing matrix mean that "high-end" sound and track count are available to the home studio.
    How does it sound? Simply stunning! This is the new standard.

  • from April 5, 2017

    great converter

    I replaced some Avid HD converters for the Orion running MADI to an RME card. So happy I did this! It has been easier to get good tones that translate from speaker to speaker and outside of the studio. Latency is lower and conversion is really nice. I was going to try another couple of conversion options, but after spending a couple of weeks with this, I don't feel the need to look elsewhere.

  • from Brookfield, CT September 8, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Awesome

    The Orion 32 sounds amazing, I was a little sceptical at first, but after hooking it up. I was amazed on how easy the routing section in the mixer was, and how versitile the unit is. Thanks sweetwater.

  • from October 28, 2015

    Crazy good

    I worked in a studio with Prism converters so I knew what the best sounded like and as my personal studio grew I wanted something that could keep. It sure as crap wasn't gonna be the Digi 003 I had. Bleck.
    Anywho, I bought the Orion 32 and was shocked at how good a sub $3000 set of 32 channel converters sounded against the Prisms! Absolutely held its own!!!!!
    The one thing I will say is weird is that I tried using it two different ways, as a converter feeding my RME MADI card, and as an interface through its built in USB. Both were absolutely fine latency wise but, even my clients could tell the difference sonically. Running it through MADI sounded better.
    I didn't tell the clients what I was doing but while I was mixing I switched the audio driver from the RME to the Orion (both being clocked by the Orion) and the clients asked what I did to the mix.
    Admittedly, if I had never ran through the RME it would have been outstanding but, I did and now I know that there is a difference. Not sure why though.
    In summation, buy it and be happy that you did!

  • from Atlanta, GA. November 25, 2014

    Fantastic Quality and Clarity!

    The Orion 32 is an absolutely amazing and impressive product. I've compared it with Apogee and Avid HD I/O in my studio and I find the Orion to not only be the best bang for the buck, but the clarity and neutrality of the audio is stunning!

    I purchased mine from Sweetwater about 9 months ago and have not had any issues whatsoever. It sits in my rack and operates smoothly and reliably every single day. The folks at Antelope are great and very approachable. Drivers have been solid since day 1 and no issues, conflicts, crashes, or anything of that nature. Just pure bliss.

    As beautiful as the OLED display is, I keep mine at about 25% brightness. At 100% it is very bright and easily readable, but no need to light up the room. :)

  • from Albany, NY November 7, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and Live Engineer. Pro Musician.

    Orion 32

    Sounds great. Works right out of the box. Very low latency with high track counts in ProTools 10. Highly recommend for all!

  • from El Segundo, CA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Orion 32 Great choice from Tony Dayton!

    Tony Dayton at Sweetwater, I cannot thank you enough. You really pushed hard for me to get this. I debated you hard with regard to the UAD Apollo stuff, but thankfully I gave in and trusted you, the man that knows a lot about these important things. Now thanks to "The Tonester" I am making the best music of my life and Tony and the Orion 32 have a lot to do with that!

  • from Duluth, GA June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Studio Musician.

    Amazing flexibility!

    Got the Orion 32 hooked up and working great with Pro Tools 10. The routing
    is amazing!!
    I have it set up through a Mackie 32x8 (with a 24 channel extension board
    for my keyboards and synths). Its connected as tracks 1-8 from sub groups
    1-8 and tracks 9-32 from direct outs on channels 9-32.
    I have my Alesis HD24 connected to the other 16 outs from the sub groups and
    then connected back by ADAT light pipe to the Orion 32. SPDIF is coming
    from the Eleven Rack and going out to a Tascam CD-RW700.
    All 32 analogue outs from the Orion go to the tape returns on the Mackie for
    summing. As I said, with the Mackie's routing and the Orion's routing its
    just amazing!

  • from las Vegas Nevada USA April 22, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer

    I love the Orion

    I absolutely love Orion, it has transformed my studio into a fully functional in every way possible, and the solid clock has changed the way I mix and master ....STUNNING.

  • from Temple, TX March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing Engineer/A&R

    This Antelope RUNS so far and fast!

    That it's awesome majestic nature is equivalent to string theory. The intense epicness this unit provides is seriously incomparable.

    I switched from a Lynx Aurora set up as it just got to a frustrating point and I was having multiple issues with gear. This converter solved EVERYTHING. I can even get output to my Z-5500s via optical out and that's a HUGE advantage for me as a sub is vital to my mixes.

    Sound-wise it's so clear and jazzed up in it's own way across the spectrum which I suspect has to do with the oven clock. For 32ch plus ability to daisy chain in the future you absolutely can not beat it.

    What do I mean by "jazzed up?" there's a HF, almost baxandall like sheen from top to bottom, vs say the Auroras which is more like a HF halo that gets darker down the spectrum. I couldn't be happier as I'm 100% fully recording portable as well.

  • from Atlanta March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Musician producer and mix engineer

    Baddest little one rack on the planet!!!

    I now know what my signal flow sounds like. I just upgraded from a motu 2408 system. The difference is spectacular. It's as if all these years I've been listening to the outside world through a closed window. The Orion32 shattered the glass. It's to audio what 4k video is to 720p.

  • from New York December 17, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Song Writer and Engineer

    Nothing Short of Fantastic!

    For the price range it is in, it is the best all around unit I have used yet. Really when you consider all aspects nothing comes close. The amount of channels, fidelity, ease of use, etc. I am very impressed.

  • from United States October 15, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Live Sound, Musician, Studio Owner/Operator

    Pristine!

    The Orion 32 has been awesome! I'm using it with ProTools 11 and I have had no issues with it. It's very flexible in it's routing capabilities and able to handle everything with in-audible latency! Very Nice! I use this unit not only t convert my mic pre signals to digital for the DAW but also use it's 32-analog outs to go into my mixing console for analog summing!!!!

  • from Mobile, AL August 14, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist/Engineer

    A truly professional recording interface

    The Antelope Orion is pretty much all I ever dreamed of in a Audio Interface; with Analog, Spidf, ADAT, Word Clock, front panel metering, and stellar routing options this interface makes it easy to track anything form a solo instrument to a whole band (32 Channels). I use it with ProTools, Sonar and even Auria on my 3rd Gen iPad through Apple's USB connection kit.
    The internal clock is awesome, the analog inputs are "invisible", the front panel is simple yet intuitive.
    It hasn't let me down, ever!

    If you were to ask me what I'd do to make it an even better product I'd say add a USB drive option to it for an all-in-one recording solution.

  • from Alabama April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Installer, Live Sound Technician, Tech Director

    Antelope Orion 32

    This orion is Pretty Ridiculous!!! Not only is the sound incredibly clean and open but the functionality is something you can't appreciate until you get it in your rack and hook it in.
    I'm using it with Pt9 going into my ShadowHills Equinox and the mixes are going to another level. It took a little finagling to get it rocking with Pt but when it did you have complete digital soft-patch control for your ad da and usb playback and record so the options for routing and signal flow far exceeded my expectations.
    It will clock any source through spdif also through its spdif to src which is awesome for my eleven rack. When i go do my live gigs mixing through any digital console worth having i can outsource the clock with Antelope and thats just an added bonus for this thing
    If your like me my abilities were exceeding my gear now I have some more room to grow my knowledge and the quality and integrity of what I'm putting out.
    I have been getting opportunities to work with some next level artists and you cant work with next level artists without next level gear. If you're serious about mixing, and tracking audio this is an excellent buy especially if you want to remain portable for those travel gigs.

  • from New Orleans, LA June 1, 2016Music Background:
    engineer / musician

    Sounds amazing

    I was previously using a converter that was modified by Black Lion Audio, and it sounded really good. The Orion 32 brought out things I never heard before in my recordings! Really impressed with what this unit does.

    My only gripe is that the manual is not very complete to help you get things up and running properly. I had troubles out the box. Fortunately, you can get online with a tech from Antelope (which I did). He quickly diagnosed all the setting changes I needed to make to my computer. An experienced computer user would have had troubles figuring things out. None of these adjustments were noted in the manual.

    After I remedied the issues, it has been solid as a rock. And, it really does sound amazing!
    Also, the service from Sweetwater has been great! My sales rep Simon Picazo has always been great, and has always made the effort to take care of my recording needs! Thanks!

  • from Dayton, OH May 2, 2015Music Background:
    guitar, engineer, producer

    32 in AND out? OVER USB? WHAAAA??

    I've had this unit for about 6 weeks now and absolutely love it. It's way more stable than my previous unit was. The sound quality is quite lovely. My main interface before was an apogee Rosetta 800 and I feel like this is a little more open and uncolored. I love it. More I/O than I need and room to expand if I ever get a console again.

    The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the software sometimes tells you that you need to update when you're already running the latest version.

  • from Seattle, WA September 16, 2014Music Background:
    Owner of Stormy Muffin Studios, Recording Engineer, Musician

    Rock Solid and Simple

    This is a really great unit for the money. It works at our studio day in and day out with little to no fuss. The connectivity options are excellent and the sound quality is great. Converters are not the sexiest part of your studio but they are a crucial link in the chain. I have heard better converters but they are usually extremely pricey. This thing gives you 32 in and 32 out via USB without breaking a sweat.

  • from August 23, 2013Music Background:
    Audio Egineer

    LATENCY

    It sounds good and clean but I have issues with Latency after updating to the latest driver.

  • from March 19, 2016

    Bad Drivers Good AD/DA

    Basically the hardware aspect is great - really, really good ADDA - you won't find a better price to performance ratio. None the less the drivers and software are suspect, in addition to being pretty lame. Tried numerous times to get it to work with a MacPro and El Capitan, but it won't. So much so I bought an RME madi device to just use this as conversion at not have to deal with the software and drivers, which stink.

  • from Planet Earth January 23, 2015Music Background:
    Globetrotter, all positions

    Good Product, Customer Service completely Sux!

    The bottomline is when a real issue comes up its pretty much impossible to reach a concern human after they've taken your money for this product. After the staff of about 3 people in their U.S.A. totally ignored my phone calls, email, attempt on social media to resolve things admirably I got fed up tried to contact the European office, and basically the same thing. You are taking a gamble with any product by Antelope, if anything ever goes wrong you're pretty much screwed. Their Customer service is much worse then Akai, and that's saying a lot! At least Akai acknowledges their customers. Save the money and buy a MOTU product, same quality, less money, less hassles, more respect!!!!

  • from Fairfax, VA January 12, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    PC users beware!

    First I must say that this is an excellent sounding converter. The problem is that the USB 2 function on PCs can have issues.

    When I first bought the Orion 32 about a year ago I installed it on a powerful studio machine I built with an Asrock motherboard. The installation seemed to run perfectly but when I'd attempt to launch any one of my DAWs they wouldn't be able to initialize the Orion 32. After many days of calls and troubleshooting with the excellent Sweetwater support people and slightly less excellent Antelope support the drivers inexplicably started working correctly after about the 15th re-install. Once operational the Orion functioned flawlessly.

    After much time and attempted use with other machines I discovered that the Orion 32 uses much more USB data bandwidth than most USB devices. Some PCs will even tell you that the Orion 32 is asking for more bandwidth than is available from the USB controller. This seems to be the cause of my original problem. It also seems to be very difficult if not impossible to trick a PC into allocating more bandwidth to a particular USB controller.

    It all comes down to USB bandwidth but the USB chipset on your particular motherboard can matter also. Initially I couldn't even get the Orion 32 control panel to function properly until I found a chipset that the Orion liked to talk to. After an online search It appears that there are lots of PC users who have had difficulty with the USB functionality on the Orion 32 for this reason. Rumor has it that you can install a USB 2 PCI card that has the Texas Instruments USB 2 chipset on it and that the problem can be solved that way. Unfortunately since USB 3 is here they are no longer producing the TI USB 2 chipsets. I've tried the USB 3 chip set from Texas Instruments on a SIIG brand PCIe card which did not help with the Orion but all my Glyph drives like it just fine.

    To this day I have only been able to achieve somewhat reliable function on the original machine that I managed to get working with the Orion 32. I have never had trouble with interfaces from other manufacturers on the same or any PC.

    If you are able to reconcile the usable capacity of your PC's USB bus as it relates to the Orion 32 then it will work fine. Unfortunately those specs aren't easy to find so it's practically the luck of the draw. Good Luck!!!

  • from August 5, 2015Music Background:
    23 years teaching sound engineering

    Don't buy

    The Antelope Orion 32 just cannot do 192 kHz sampling rate. I have tried with 4 different computers and on line help from Sweetwater, Avid, Microsoft and Antelope, and one engineer I have hired. Antelope refuses all responsabilty and keep claiming that it's a computer problem.

Questions about the Antelope Audio Orion 32?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway