0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Mackie Onyx 820i Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from NY August 3, 2011

    Awesome

    After much planning and talking with my incrediblky patient sales rep (Steven Chamoun), I finally bought this neat little interface/mixer.
    I am absolutely blown away with how user-friendly this thing is, and how clear the sound is.
    I was planning on buying a bigger Onyx (1620 or 1220) but even this 8 channel has more features than I'll need.

    I only wish I had more free time to use it.

  • from Chillicothe, Ohio October 1, 2010Music Background:
    Songwriter, Pro Musician, Home Studio Engineer

    Sweet tool from Sweetwater

    The sales guy was great answering my questions, placed the order around noon and the mixer arrived the next day. Sweet! Great service! Now about the 820i Onyx. I have been recording through an Q10 Aardvark for about 7 years on Win Xp, had read on the internet that there were problems. Not on my PC. I even left my Aardvark card in the PCI slot just disabled it in the control panel. The 820i installed quickly and worked flawlessly and sounds great. The CPU performance meter is running nice and low with ideal buffer settings. One more very important note. Sweetwater's price was as good as or better than any others I saw and they let me buy it on 3 payments. Sweet, Sweetwater!

  • from Tokyo Japan March 7, 2010Music Background:
    Musician/Student

    Just what I needed

    Perfect for home recording studio set ups! Definitely gets the job done! effects are great! easy to use, and it's FireWire... What more can I say? If you don't want to take my word for it, ask your sales engineer about it... It's exactly what i needed...

  • from Florida March 11, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Machie Onyx 820i -- Great Piece

    Works well as a FrieWire interface for ProTools.
    The preamps sound very clean (my first set of Onyx preamps).
    They are good for what they are, but do not replace any solid out-board preamps.
    The EQ is good and covers a wide enough range of frequencies.

    This is a good tracking device for DI instruments.
    I use it on electric bass mostly.

  • from Rapid City, SD USA February 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    work good with my mac pro.

    Works with my Mac Pro, going to get a Mac Mini so I can do work out of my studio. It is Light my presonus 16.4.2 is not light to move about.

  • from Orlando, FL August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter/home studio operator

    Quite Solid

    For me, a songwriter running Logic Pro on an iMac, this is the perfect interface/console. More than enough inputs for my mics, Vocal processor and CD Recorder. Several very functional EQ options, and very quiet. I only wish it had two control room outputs that you could switch between. Bought the Coleman LS3 selector to solve that issue, and I'm super happy with this purchase. The mic preamps sound great, but the way.

  • from Spring Arbor, MI USA February 13, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Overs & More

    Excellent Bang for the Buck!

    Having used a Mackie board in the past (with an outboard interface), I was looking to upgrade to one with a built-in interface, and the 820i fit the bill. The mic preamps sound great, I can use my outboard gear, plus I can send all 8 channels to the box for more FX options in there. It's also compact enough for me to haul with for location recording. Yes, there are bigger boards, but the 820i fits all my specs and then some for very little money. If you're in the market for a small but versatile mixer, I highly recommend this one!

  • from South Africa November 18, 2010Music Background:
    Electronic Music Production

    Pretty Decent

    All seems to work quite nicely for my needs. The firewire I could only to work on a Mac 100% without experiencing dropouts from cheap pc firewire chipsets. The audio quality is good.

    It serves its purpose as a monitor controller and recording interface. It is severely lacking outputs!

  • from Denver August 14, 2015Music Background:
    large home studio

    No drivers available anymore

    THIS IS AN AMAZING MIXER with one HUGE negative caveat.... Unsure if Mackie is intentionally phasing this out, but we've been trying to get drivers for the last 2 years. Apple is about to release 10.11 (El Capitan) and Mackie do not support Yosemite yet (it doesn't work with 10,9 or 10.10, although there are command line workarounds). If your Mac is current, or even running an OS from 2 years ago you will be SOL (this comes from Mackie Engineers).

Questions about the Mackie Onyx 820i?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway