0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Apogee One for iPad and Mac Reviews

4.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Apogee One for iPad and Mac?

Questions about the Apogee One for iPad and Mac?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from March 15, 2016

    Wish I'd bought it sooner

    Simple. Easy to use. And works perfectly

  • buzzard
    from Salt Lake City April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    So glad

    This is my first foray into home recording… a Miktek PM5 connected to an Apogee One for an iPad running the Auria multitrack recording app. I’m using a little Mackie CR3 monitor and a pair of Audio Technica M50 headphones. The entire portable studio sits on a mic stand. Amazing.

    It features open, detailed, utterly professional sound in a worry-free, ultra-portable, thoughtfully designed and well built unit that's slightly more expensive than many... and completely worth it.

  • Eric Louis
    from May 28, 2014

    Awesome & loving it so far.

    First Apogee product and it does live up to the hype.

    As an interface. When I listening to music from the Apogee with headphones on I did notice more definition in the highs, transients, and reverb tails...oh yeah stereo separation as well. I'm using this as my main interface and it's totally fine using a splitter cable. Works great using Ableton so far, been using for a week now. Many don't realize it's totally fine to use this as a main studio interface, the slight downside is that there's only a headphone out. I really don't find it to be that bad. Don S. @ Apogee was helpful in clarifying this for me.

    Build Quality. It's solid. Yeah I saw reviews on Amazon and Apple where people panned the ONE for it's build quality. Those people to me must have unrealistic expectations. The breakout connection is very solid although I would still not let it dangle off my desk but you don't have to worry at all about that or the USB cable detaching. The USB connection is tight, so much that I thought I might break it by pulling too hard.

    The Internal Mic - Impressive. I'm not a mic expert and got this to do the occasional podcast in addition to recording my guitar which also sounds great via the instrument line int. The mic is solid and I like how I sound.

  • CK Barlow
    from Albuquerque, NM USA March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Composer/Performer/Instructor

    So far, awesome

    I owned the 1st-gen One so although I haven't used every feature of this 2nd-gen model yet, I trust it'll be great (e.g. the built-in mic on the 1st-gen outperformed my $250 LDC hands down, and I'm sure this one will too). What I have used it for might be of interest to some buyers, so I'll mention it: With wall power to the One, you can connect it to an iPad by way of a USB hub and the Apple Camera Connection Kit, and that way also connect a keyboard or other USB MIDI controller at the same time. Really fun. Plays very nicely with AudioBus, too, which is a big deal.

  • Bashar Arafat
    from Rancho Palos Verdes CA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Hobbyist and Enthusiast for 30 Years

    Apogee one iPad

    The apogee one iPad and iPhone is an excellent tool hands down and no questioned asked. This review is about Sweetwater and my sales engineer of 8 years plus ( Austin Moss ) Not only Austin is very knowledgable about all types of gear, I never asked him about something where he did not have a Bonafide world class answer . The other amazingly unbelievable is how swift and lightening fast shipping and delivery. You can measure the speed of shipping with Sweetwater in hours and minutes not days and weeks ... Amazing really especially in the holiday season when shipping companies handle tens of millions of items nationwide.. Thank you Sweetwater and thank you my friend Austin Moss for all the Pristine support service and friendship

  • Nicholas E.
    from Los Angeles, CA November 10, 2013Music Background:
    A/V Pro, Recording Hobbyist

    It's a great piece of gear!

    FYI, the One for iPad now includes a lightning cable for the latest generation iOS devices. Add 2 rechargeable AA batteries to it and it makes the perfect mobile recording/DAC kit for your iPhone or iPad.

  • Gene W
    from Boston, MA August 20, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, Composer, and Sound Designer

    Excellent tool!

    Superb piece of equipment, works flawlessly with the iPad, iPhone, and my Mac. Easy setup, easy to control, highly portable. The internal mic far exceeded my expectations, it's perfect for many situations, AND you still have the option of hooking up a high-end mic with the included breakout cable.

    The unit is also just phenomenal for listening to music. The converters are, of course, Apogee converters, hard to argue with that.

    All in all, great piece of equipment.

  • Ron
    from East Texas July 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great product

    Great product, use with garage band to record on the Ipad and you have great recording studio for up to 8 tracks. Having the option of the internal or external Mic makes it a truly portable device. The battery option does not last long so plan on using the supplied 120v input when you record, besides it charges your Ipad at the same time. The Guitar connection works as it is suppose too with really clean sound.

  • Robert Leyden
    from Plymouth MA July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, Guitar player, Ive been playing for 40 years

    Worth the wait

    I've been recording on my I Mac for a couple of years, first using a MOTU 8 pre, and then picking up a used first generation Apogee Duet, I instantly fell in love with the sound I was getting from the Apogee, but felt limited to my studio, since purchasing the new Apogee One for my Ipad, I can record anywhere, the sound quality, is actually better than my Duet, and what's phenomenal about that is I'm getting this quality on my Ipad. Well done Apogee, and thanks also to Ed Needler, (my Sweetwater salesman)
    For hookin me up. If you buy this, you won't regret it.

  • Customer
    from Los Angeles, CA December 17, 2014Music Background:
    Touring musician

    Great lil' box

    The One has given me the ability to make top shelf recordings in a simple and compact package. It's easy to use, versatile, extremely portable, and sounds amazing. I couldn't be happier. Just make sure you get a wind screen for vocals.

  • Francisco Paz
    from Argentina November 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Remix Producer, VoiceOver Artist, Executive Producer, For ever Hobbyist!

    Great!!!

    This was an awesome purchase.
    I am a VoiceOver Artist, and it helps me carry a pro studio around in a backpack...

    Now I just wanna travel the world, without missing any VO work ;-)

    Good buy.

  • Evan Williams
    from March 27, 2014

    Love it!!

    The only issue was I had to reset it once due to it freezing but I'm glad it froze instead of overheating. Other than that it has done a bangup job.

  • Peter
    from San Jose, CA August 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love the Apogee ONE

    Just received my Apogee ONE and can't stop playing with it. Absolutely LOVE this thing!! I own their JAM and wanted an interface with a microphone at a decent cost so leaned towards Apogee ONE. Loving the simplicity with which i can now connect it to my iPad and record. I have to say I was initially a bit skeptical when i read some reviews of their other products but must say that based on the ONE i find absolutely no reason to complain. The built-in mic is great - frankly that was a bit of a surprise as i probably didn't catch that feature in their feature list at the onset. Anyway, kudos to the Apogee team, this is a WINNER!!

  • John Twist
    from Portland OR July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Good one!

    I'm happy with my Apogee One. I'm using it with Auria and the sound is very good. The built in mic is pristine and accurate. The breakout cable, which allows you to plug in an external mic and an external 1/4 inch is a bit annoying but functional. You can record in stereo using the one but it takes a bit of doing. Overall I'm impressed. I won't tell you " you must buy this, it's a no brainer! " (I hate that kind of rant). The One is good. I upgraded to a newer ipad with more memory and speed because it was inspiring me to record more. I can't argue with that.

  • Michael
    from March 21, 2015

    Great quality and unusable for my application

    The One is solid and continues to be a high quality Apogee product. However I bought it thinking I could use it with my iPhone or iPad for recording with voice memos for songwriting purposes. Technically you can use it but it only plays back on the left side. Apparently this is an issue with some apps on the iPhone and iPad (every voice memo app I've tried except garage band) and unfortunately has left me with a product I need to return. High quality but not what I thought.

  • Merita
    from August 22, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter

    Worked great!!.. until it didn't.

    When I first got the ONE, I was extremely pleased. It was easy to use and delivered quality I was pleased with. But probably around 10-12 months after buying it, it started getting kind of wonky on me. I don't know if it's the device, or the information cable, but somewhere along the lines it's defective. No matter whether I'm using an external mic or the built in, it picks up static like frequencies with whatever I'm trying to record. So yes, wonderful product... just not for very long it seems.

    I would recommend it to a friend in a bind I think. But I would warn them that it might not last over a year as it didn't for me and apparently at least one other customer according to these reviews. But if they needed something to get a job done and didn't care that it would only last a year... then yea. Go for it. It's amazing. You know... until it stops working properly.

  • IDB
    from July 15, 2016

    A Bit Overrated

    The good: Yes, it sounds great. Clear, crisp, great definition. I have no doubt that the majority of the money is spent on the preamp.

    The not as good:

    Build Quality. The breakout cable is as thin as a piece of spaghetti. I've also had a lot of static and interference problems when I plug an XLR mic in. Apogee was nice and replaced the cable, but the problem still resurfaces. I never had these problems with my cheap-o PreSonus interface.

    The cable is also heavy compared to device-- so if you don't have a big desk it will easily pull the Apogee around and knock it off (if you do a lot of moving while recording).

    Built-In Mic is ok, was expecting better from the demos showing it used to record vocals/acoustic instruments.

    Summary: Great sound quality that's outweighed by design/quality negatives. I'll be selling mine and trying the heftier FocusRite soon.

  • Orlando Pandolfi
    from New Hampshire February 17, 2016Music Background:
    M.Mus. Performer Composer Teacher

    Big problem with iPad

    Worked fine until iOS was upgraded to 9.2. Now there is distortion when recording. I used Cubasis and GarageBand and both were a problem. Apple even replaced my iPad thinking it was their problem. Apogee FINALLY admitted their driver needed upgrading and promised one soon. This was over 2 months ago. At NAMM, the Apogee folks denied the problem existed, contrary to their support staff. Still no fix at the time of this writing, so basically I've spent a load of money and haven't been able to use it.

  • Bo
    from Chicago, il May 8, 2014Music Background:
    Sorcerer

    Cheap connection go bad

    Great piece of equipment if the connections weren't so cheesy!

Questions about the Apogee One for iPad and Mac?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway