rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Apogee One Reviews

4.5 stars based on 29 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    If you're only plugging in one sound source at a time, or just want to have a quality on-the-go mic for your Mac computer, then this is the interface for you. Given the size and great sound quality, this is an interface that no Apple user should pass up.

  • Mike Harris

    Every Mac computer musician should have the Apogee One in their laptop bag. It really is that essential!

  • from Venice, FL April 27, 2015Music Background:
    35 years as voice actor, radio & TV personality

    Apogee ONE

    I've long been a fan of Apogee products. They represent the epitome of quality. As the voice actor responsible for creating all WWE radio spots, TV narrations for 4 national shows; the announcer for US syndicated radio program, "The Cigar Dave Show"--and everything else in between--I need a device that I can rely on, which sounds spectacular. Apogee has kept me afloat for the last decade, having been used on thousands of radio and TV spots, narrations--even Aerosmith's "Legendary Child" music video, which I voiced in 2012. The ONE is my go-to box.

  • from Nashville,Tennessee April 9, 2015

    Apogee One

    I wasn't exactly sure about the Apogee One because I had been used to the Mbox that I have used for years. When I plugged us the Apogee One and hear the quality of sound, I was blown away! The One is so easy to use and doesn't take up a lot of space on your desk. For a small interface, it sure gives a big sound. I really like the built in microphone because it picks up well and gives a good quality sound. I would have not problem with recommending the ONE for the person that does all of their own recording one track at a time like I do. I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • from SOUTH CAROLINA February 25, 2015Music Background:
    HIP HOP ARTIST , PRODUCER, MIXING ENGINEER, MASTERING ENGINEER , MUSIC PROMOTER

    LOTS OF HEADROOM

    I RECORDED LAST NIGHT WITH THE APOGEE INTO A TUBE PREAMP , AND IT HAS AMAZING ANALOG TO DIGITAL CONVERTERS, NO NOISE ADDED , GREAT VOCAL WAVEFORMS, AND IT SEEMS TO HAVE A LOT MORE HEADROOM THAN MY PREVIOUS USB INTERFACES, AT FIRST I THOUGHT IT HAD A SOFT LIMITER FUNCTION ACTIVATED ON THE APOGEE MAESTRO APPLICATION BUT I THINK ONLY APOGEE DUET HAS THAT . BUT I WAS RAPPING VERY LOUD WITH MY METERS ON PREFADER METERING FOR ACCURATE RECORDING LEVELS AND I STILL WASN'T ABLE TO DISTORT MY RECORDINGS. I DEFINITELY WILL BE BUYING THE APOGEE DUET 2 NEXT ALONG WITH THE AKG712 OR Sennheiser HD 650 HEADPHONES LATER THIS YEAR OR SPRING OF 2016 . THUMBS UP APOGEE FOR MAKING A NEW LOYAL CUSTOMER.

  • from SOUTH CAROLINA February 24, 2015Music Background:
    HIP HOP ARTIST , MIXING AND MASTERING ENGINEER FOR MYSELF

    MAKES BEATS 2.0 SOUND GREAT

    DEFINITELY A STEP UP IN PLAYBACK FROM MY FOCUSRITE ITRACK SOLO . THIS WILL MAKE MY CHOICE OF GETTING A APOGEE DUET 2 AND FOCUSRITE FORTE IN THE WINTER OF 2015 HARDER... OH WELL . BUT I PLAYED HIP HOP AND SOME HOZIER SONGS , AND R&B NOTICE MORE DETAIL , AND LEVELS WERE EASIER TO TELL IN SONGS AND IN MIXING SESSIONS.

  • from United States November 21, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Recording Musician

    Apogee ONE

    Just Great...
    Great Sound
    Perfect Size
    Works like a Charm!

  • from Windsor Mill July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Apogee One

    This single item will do more to enhance the clarity of your recordings than perhaps any other piece of gear you could add.

  • from Canada July 20, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Song-writer

    Perfect

    Have came across M-Audio, Focusrite and Motif interfaces, and this is just as solid as I could have expected, or slightly better.

    I was reading some reviews online saying the knob is not performing so well but I found it work and feel just fine for me, even the one I have was a demo.

    Excellent service from my sales engineer Alan, I'm looking forward to my next music trip with this baby!

  • from Berks County, PA March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Pretty Awesome

    Very easy to use, pretty much plug and play, but you have to adjust Mac sound settings to identify input/outputs. If you've got good equipment, it can easily plug right in to your computer for easy recording and post-record editing in Garageband, Logic, ProTools, etc. I bought this piece because the sound samples of the internal mic made it sound better than the mics I actually use. It turns out to be not a whole lot better than my iPod microphone. I use it for scratch vocals and stuff in a pinch, and to get ideas down, but it's definitely not good for final mixes.

  • from Wabash, IN July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Choral Director, Digital Gadget Enthusiast

    Simple and Great Sound!

    My teenage son is an accomplished drummer who has wanted to record high-quality sound to couple with his YouTube HD videos. This mic has replaced a name-brand analog to digital interface that gave us endless headaches as he attempted to record himself with some great XLR Shure SM-81 mics. Now he just plugs in ONE and has the most incredible sound as a mic AND USB interface all in one. Voila!

  • from Wabash, IN July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Choral Director, Digital Gadget Enthusiast

    Simple and Great Sound!

    My teenage son is an accomplished drummer who has wanted to record high-quality sound to couple with his YouTube HD videos. This mic has replaced a name-brand analog to digital interface that gave us endless headaches as he attempted to record himself with some great XLR Shure SM-81 mics. Now he just plugs in ONE and has the most incredible sound as a mic AND USB interface all in one. Voila!

  • from Brooklyn, MI USA June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist and audio equipment hobbyist

    Simple best

    The internal mic is clean and sensative that good enough for even hardcore vocal and distorted guitar amp. The pre-amps are impressive, I mean, 63dB without causing digital noise signal. Good for both professional recording engineers and music hobbyist while it has high quality and affordable price. I've try some other cheaper interfaces, here is some suggestions for beginners: start with this quality of recording, it just makes your life easier and better, see what other people got too.

    It looks smart, easy to set up, just make everything smoother and easier while it provides one of the highest quality in this price range.

    However, DO NOT choose this if you really need to record mutiple tracks at the same time( like a band recording) because it can definitely just have one input.

    Work with iPad/ iPhone/iPod apps, which makes it has more uses.

  • from Portland, OR June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Voiceover talent

    Apogee One

    I received my Apogee One a few weeks ago and cannot speak highly enough of it! It works like a charm and I'm thrilled with it!

  • from Pensacola, FL and Nashville, TN March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Songwriter

    Excellent quality portable interface

    Portable, high quality, very good built-in mic for work tapes/scratch recordings. Excellent for headphones but get the Duet for better results with monitor speakers.

  • from NY, NY February 1, 2012Music Background:
    Singer-songwriter

    Nice product

    Simple. Mobile. Compact. Quality surpassed my expectation.

  • from Boston area, MA October 1, 2011

    Sweet and simple

    The Apogee One is a simple, versatile tool for the musician or songwriter on the go. If you are mobile with a laptop, or have space issues in your "closet" home studio, this is the tool for the job. From opening the box to using the unit took under 5 minutes!

  • from Bergen County, NJ, USA December 29, 2010

    A Must Have For Any MacBook Owner

    Whether you use this as your first interface or as your backup/travel interface, you can not go wrong with this product. It's great for people just starting to produce and only need one track at a time. It's great for songwriters to record quick, fleeting ideas. It's great for musicians on the road who just want to jam out out of the blue. It's great for recording for YouTube. It's great for voiceovers. It's just great!

    What I'm most impressed with is the built-in mic. It sounds a lot better than it looks!

  • from Los Angeles December 23, 2010Music Background:
    Electronic Archives

    One VS Duet VS Avid Mbox

    The One is truly the one! It will blow you away. The internal mic although a bit on the thin side works best for my dark male voice. It sounds identical to the Duet. I drive my SM7B with it and it has enough juice (63dB) to handle this known power hungry mic. Same thing with the RE-20. Everything sounds open and wide. Now, the Avid Mbox sounds very rich and probably features better converters than both the Apogees! The Mbox has a deeper less brittle sound on playback which is stunning and detailed. You could listen to it for hours without any fatigue. Apogee has the edge on the mic preamps. The gain control is more accurate. I own both and feel that it works best that way when mixing the final product. If you have a PC, the Mbox is a no-brainer. For what these interfaces go for, you can't afford not to own them all. In a mix uploaded online, your music will sound like any commercial release out there.

  • from Portage, MI August 16, 2010Music Background:
    Voiceover Artist

    Superb for Voiceovers

    I am a voiceover artist and usually only need one input at a time. I use an RE20 for a lot of my work and one thing that mic needs is gain. How about 63dB from the One! All I want is pure voice for my recordings and the One lets me do that with no pre if I want to. This is the new interface for my home stdio and will be great as I travel in the months ahead.

    I don't know how to explain it, but the audio I record through the One sounds noticeably better than my current interface. (I won't mention any names but it's Avidly Mini.) :) I can actually hear a difference in the finished voiceover between the interfaces. Chalk it up to the Apogee name and quality conversion perhaps?

    The on-board mic is actually pretty decent. With a little EQ, I could see recording an audition with it.

    Accessories: get the mount. You'll want it sooner rather than later. I didn't get the carrying case because I already have something to transport it in when necessary.

    Getting an Apogee isn't much more affordable than this unit. I would highly recommend it for voiceover artists and solo music recording artists.

  • from New Orleans, LA July 29, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer Jack of All Trades

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I can't say enough about this little monster! I love it. I was looking for a solution to recording while I was on the road in hotel rooms. I wanted something that was small and compact and didn't require me to carry an extra suticase of crap that by the time I set it up I lost my inspiration, and in walked the Apogee One! The sound is Beautiful, the internal mic is crisp and clean, the controls are simple. If you want something thta is reliable and ready to go when you are GET THIS INTERFACE!!!! IT ROCKS!!!!!!!!

    If you want more channels I recommend the Duet another great product.

  • from Hollywood July 20, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Student

    Amazing box that does it all!

    This thing could not be cooler. For years I had been trying to record direct into my MacBook with Logic as my DAW. The sounds were weak and terrible. But as soon as I plugged into the ONE, every guitar sound in Logic sounded crystal clear and amazingly full. I've got alot of experience in studios, and this sounds as good as anything in a pro studio. It's literally plug and play, granted you know how to set it as your main input. The headphone playback sounds amazing as well; my iTunes library sounds twice as good as it ever has. Built like a rock too. I doubt this thing would break in the next few years.

  • from Woodstock VT USA April 10, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    Best Single Channel Interface Available

    All the reviews below are right on, but there are two issues that I feel folks should be aware of. First the mic stand mount for the unit is basically a must have, since the internal mic is absolutely good enough to use for acoustic instruments and even voice, and you don't want to have it on a table while recording. In this respect I feel that Apogee should just include it with the unit, not charge an outrageous $20 for the thing.
    Second, the break-out cable's insert jack into One is extremely tiny, thin and made of mostly plastic (with metal contacts). Because the XLR and 1/4" inputs are so heavy I could easily see with lots of use breakage at the insert point. Do not leave the break-out cables to dangle off the unit- I solved this by turning my One upside down on my tabletop mic stand so the cable could rest on the table and not cause any stress.
    Other than those two minor issues, top quality product.

  • from Fairfax, VA February 1, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    My Apogee One Experience

    The One is a great little unit if you want a small inexpensive unit that has great sound quality. The DAC in the One is similar to the DAC in the Duet. These DAC's rival interfaces in the $1000 range. There is, however, some drawbacks to the One, like plastic casing, smaller looser interfaces, and a tad bit more latency due to the USB 400 connector. There is a detailed comparison at onevsduet.blogspot.com.

  • from Princeton NJ January 22, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    One is Just Amazing

    I just picked this up and WOW I play Flamenco and Classical guitar as well as rock. I have a recording studio as well. I downloaded Apogee's update for ONE and was up and running in less then 5 min. The internal "Tuned Aperture Microphone" sounds amazing as well. This will be so easy to capture ideas when on the go. I can see using this for podcasts and voice overs as well. This is the best 250.00 on pro audio gear that I have spent. I have owned Apogee's products Ensemble and Duet. I just love this ONE for me its perfect, I take my Mac Book Pro and One and I have a studio ready to go anywhere when I travel. You may need to play with the levels but this is by far the best audio interface out there in this price point.

    Thanks Apogee.

  • from Greenwich, CT January 8, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, songwriter, incipient recording hobbyist/engineer

    Great customer service

    Aside from the great sound and operational ease of this unit, Apogee and Sweetwater came through with some amazing customer service. I dropped my unit onto a hard floor from about 3', after about 10 minutes of use, and one of the capacitors inside broke off. I thought I was screwed, but I wrote to Apogee customer service anyway, and to my great surprise, they offered to swap it out for a new one. Sweetwater went as far as to send one out with a shipping label for me to send the old one back with! Thanks Apogee, and Emmett at Sweetwater...

  • from Aurora,CO January 6, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Gospel Recording Artist, Musician

    "I Could'nt Believe It!"

    "I've Had Many Sound Cards In The Past, But I've Never Seen Any thing Like This Before! It Works Just Like The Reviews Say It Does! The Mic Is Just As Good As Any good Brand name condensor Mic! I'm Very Satisfied With This Item! $$ well Spent!

  • from Bakersfield, CA November 1, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The ONE is GREAT!!!!!

    I'm running Logic 8 and I'm pretty new to DAW apps but hooking up the Apogee ONE was a breeze. After downloading the software Logic immediately recognized the interface. The whole process took around 5-7 minutes to complete. Great AD/DA converters, too. I was without interface for a LONG time because I was holding out for the Duet but I'm so glad they came out with this one. It's more affordable and it sounds great. I only track one instrument at a time so for now it's sufficient. I'll upgrade to the Ensemble in the future but for now this will do. It's a USB 2.0 interface and I'm experiencing ZERO latency. At least from what I can hear. :)

  • from Austin, TX October 8, 2009Music Background:
    hobbyist engineer and musician

    One for All

    I had owned the Apogee Duet until a few months ago when I traded up to the Apogee Ensemble. Before too long I realized with some pain the need to have the flexibility of a portable interface for remote recording situations. By the time I realized this, Apogee came out with the One, so I gave it a look. Like its big brother, the One just works exactly like it should. It has that beautiful, sweet, very musical Apogee sound. And, in my view, several remarkable improvements over the Duet. One is the price. Two is the fact that it has a very nice built-in condenser mic. The built-in mic is extremely usable, with a nice frequency response that, while never sounding dead flat, doesn't suffer from the overly brittle top end that a lot of inexpensive mics have. I was very surprised by the open-ness of the built-in mic, which is a definite improvement over the MacBook Pro mic and compares favorably to an AKG Perception series. The third advantage is that the tiny plastic body makes it much easier to toss this thing into a laptop bag without worrying about hurting it. In that respect the Duet was maybe too nice. Fourth, the ONE is lightning-fast, no doubt because it only has the one channel. I can play Amplitube or Guitar Rig without artifacts at 32 samples, the lowest setting. I can't even do that well with the Ensemble.

    So now I use the One not just for field recording, but also as an interface when I just want to plug in a guitar and jam.

  • from Dover, DE August 17, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician (Christian Contemporary)

    This is the One

    I did a lot of research into audio interfaces before choosing the Apogee One. Ultimately I went with this unit based on Apogee's reputation for high quality A/D converters and compatibility with Apple Logic and GarageBand recording software. On both accounts I am highly pleased with this unit. Set-up was under 15 minutes and flawless. None of the horror stories you sometimes read about with other competing devices. Sound quality is pristine. You could probably find other units out there that have more inputs and other features than the Apogee but I don't think you will find any that matches the overall quality of the One. Highly recommended.

  • from Seattle, WA USA August 10, 2009Music Background:
    Long-term weekend warrior and musical obsessive

    The ONE we've been waiting for

    I've been using this unit in my home studio for the last five days, and have been truly impressed by it. It is a stable, easy-to-use interface with high audio quality. The mic preamp has easily enough clean gain to use an SM7B (a notoriously low-output mic), the instrument input works fine, and the built-in mic is convenient and quite usable, especially on instrumental sources. All of its functions can be controlled from within Logic, so no more switching around between two or three application windows to change settings. If you're someone who always records projects track-by track, this is really all you need.

Questions about the Apogee One?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway