rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Spectrasonics Omnisphere with Free Upgrade to Omnisphere 2 upon release Reviews

4.5 stars based on 68 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Do you own Absynth? Atmosphere? Reaktor? If so, this is the next synth that should go in your pocket. Big, fat, huge, and lush. You will be amazed. Combine this with Heavyocity's Evolve and you will have scoring jobs piling up on your desk.

  • Joseph Secu

    I've been waiting a long time for a synth like this. From the same great creators of Atmosphere comes a new chapter in synthesis. If you're looking for a really powerful, unique synth in your arsenal, then you have to get Omnisphere!

  • from Ft. Worth Texas April 16, 2015Music Background:
    Obsessed musician...

    Omnisphere

    This is by far the very best soft synth that I have had the opportunity to play with. One reviewer mentioned that you may lock your self away for an extended period of time. That is so true...my wife has had to come into my music studio and ask if I was ever coming out for air... It does so much and there are so many sounds to choose from that I rarely tweet any of the sounds. In the old days I would buy a new board and listen and play with all the new sounds. Now days it is by far cheaper and easier to buy this and be content for a whole lot longer. I will be buying the sequel when released. YOU WILL NOT REGRET THE PURCHASE!

  • from United States February 15, 2015Music Background:
    Artist

    Honestly, it's the only soft synth you need

    This synth does everything from a typical saw wave to massive movie score sounds to sounds that are so complex and evolving that it boggles the mind. It's also extremely intuitive when it comes to patch creation- I typically don't spend a lot of time creating patches but with Omnisphere, because of it's vast array of sound shaping options and how well thought out routing is, I'm making inspiring patches in 5 to 10 mins every time I sit down at Omnisphere. I have many VST's and none of them compare to what Omnisphere is doing for me.

  • from Oxford, MI February 14, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    An Awesome Soft Synth

    This is 50GB of pure bliss. I haven't even begun to scratch the surface of it's full potential but all I can say is Wow!
    I would be remiss if I didn't mention the great service I received from Sweetwater both during and after the sale. Kudos to their Tech Support who got me up and running in no time. Not only are they the most knowledgeable folks you'll ever come across but they're just downright nice people to deal with.

  • from ON, Canada /MD, USA October 5, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    I've Waited a long time for this

    It seems like there is nothing this synth cannot do. Simple as that. I've been waiting 2-3 years do finally purchase omnisphere and since purchasing, I am more than happy.

    The interface took some work to understand, but the tutorial videos helped immensely and with no time I was working.
    The iPad app is a cool bonus. I won't ever use it for live stuff, but still a cool toy.
    The sound of this thing makes it all worth it. I haven't even scratched the surface i know, but my god, does this synth tug heartstrings.

  • from Madison, WI September 17, 2014

    Truly IS A Power Synth

    In the few months that I've been using Omnisphere, it's become my favorite go-to instrument. In this package you will get an easy to use, user friendly, great sounding synth with tons of customization tools to help get the sound you want. All in all, a very impressive instrument!

  • from Weston, CT September 6, 2014Music Background:
    Writer, Producer, Engineer, Singer

    Amazing Gear

    All I had to see was Jordan Rudess do a video demo of Omnisphere...

    When I heard the sounds, I HAD to have it.

    Now my biggest problem is choosing WHICH one of the "5" GREAT Sounds I'm going to use on that particular Track!!!

  • from NYC July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Home Recording

    Better than I expected

    Really easy to use, deep control and great complex sounds. A little pricy. The free wireless iPad controller gives it the extra star. Also PlugInGuru has lots of affordable patches.

  • from Jacksonville, FL July 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Awesome!

    the sounds are incredible, and the synth is beyond useful. The only gripe I have is that there are no drum sounds, but I assume they want you to use a separate drum module or VST of theirs or someone else. That is not a big deal breaker by any means. What you get is an awesome tool. I use this mostly, but use another VST as well. Omnisphere has its own sound quality, and it is fat, lush, and incredible.

  • from California June 15, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Composer, Producer, Studio Owner

    Massive bang for the bucks

    There doesn't seem to be much point in duplicating all the rave reviews by other users, except to say that:

    1. I agree with them.
    2. Once you know how powerful, versatile, easy to use Omnisphere is, you can't not use it.
    3. Its sounds are simply awesome.

    I've been a fan of Eric Persing's soundcraft since the Roland D-50. I use Trilian, and Trilogy before that. I owned Atmosphere (and loved it), so when Omnisphere was released, there wasn't any question that I'd upgrade. And I fully expected I'd love it. But what I found exceeded my greatest expectations.

    The library is massive, and it's easy to find patches for any purpose. The human voices are eminently useful. I often use Omnisphere up front in the mix, but it's so versatile I can use it anywhere. Even in the background, it's difficult to imagine that anyone — working in any genre — couldn't find a huge number of inspiring sounds to augment a mix.

    I love the way the controls are laid out. The separation of controls into layers for sample or synth-based instruments is very intuitive, and so is the built-in arpeggiator. Any parameter is immediately assignable to host automation by control/right-clicking on the parameter knob/slider. Multi-mode and Stack features are extremely powerful. The ability to assign the huge range of available effects via aux busses, and then control everything with the built-in mixer while still maintaining up to 8 separate MIDI channels within a single instance of Omnisphere makes working easy.

    I have one wish-list item, feature-wise, and it's relatively trivial; I wish Omnisphere had its own built-in onscreen polyphonic keyboard. But considering what a dream-come-true instrument Omnisphere is in every other respect, that's not even a gripe.

    I own more virtual instruments than I would care to list — including NI Komplete, IKM Total Studio, Alchemy, almost all of the EWQL stuff, and everything that comes with Logic Pro. I rank Omnisphere among the very best of them, not only in sound quality and versatility, but also in ease of use. It provides truly massive bang for the bucks.

  • from Spring, TX April 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Omnisphere is incredible no matter your skill level

    This is one product you can believe the hype for, even at its steep price. This synth has taken my productions to the next level, plain and simple. The giant library of presets / multi presets it comes with sound fantastic and making your own signature patches is extremely intuitive even for beginners. The STEAM engine allows you to use sound besides the standard waveforms as the basis of your own custom patch and it comes with nearly 60gb of sounds for you to use out of the box! The effects and filters are great and pretty much every parameter can be modulated by something of your choice whether that be one of

    Worth every penny.

  • from Portland Oregon March 18, 2014

    Excellent Synth Suite

    I already own Trilian and love it but wanted polyphonic synths with more variety and deeper editing. Omnisphere delivers! The sound quality, easy of use, and depth of control and editing is incredible. Just what I was looking for.

  • from Dallas, TX January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Spectacular!!!!

    Spectrasonics has gone above and beyond the world of synth power and Omnisphere is living proof. I've owned Omni for a month now and without using any tutorials or instructions, I've been able to create, manipulate and record several projects. The Spectrasonics team is just a call or email away if I have any questions.
    Omnisphere has blown me away with the easy to navigate menus and tweaking options. The sounds from this machine are heaven sent! Being able to change up the sounds gives an endless opportunity to create the unimagineable. I find myself just sampling the patches and seeing what I can do with them. There's not enough time in the world to go through the endless creative possibilities.

  • from Cherry Hill NJ USA January 23, 2014Music Background:
    performing musician, home studio enthusiast

    Immediately usable, yet so much to explore!

    I own dozens of software synths and romplers, but this synth offers the most versatility - immediate usability with pristine sounds with the benefit of total tweakability! The downloadable tutorials are a huge help when getting started and the interface is easily navigated. The iPad app makes navigation (especially in a live setting for me) is seamless and outstanding. I continue to be blown away by this product!

  • from Fl December 20, 2013Music Background:
    Film composer

    Amazing instrument-very inspiring

    It's totally worth it, this guys have created what I called a complete suite of inspiration, the sounds are so well created. I am currently using it for a film/documentary.

  • from Ohio September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, engineer, producer, composer.

    Doing It Right

    Yes, I don't say it often but, I am indeed blown away. Spectrasonics aces it in every category. Depth of sounds, quality of sounds, usefulness, tremendous OS yet easy to learn, spectacular support and help desk. It took three years for me to pull the trigger but I am glad I did. Spectrasonics has what I consider to be the easiest and fairest licensing systems going. You will want to use this in the studio or live and they make it seamless and painless. Kudos to Omnisphere, one of the very best.

  • from Ohio August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Multi Platinum award winning Producer, Engineer, Composer, Musician.

    Decisions, decisions...

    I have been looking at this synth for about three years, and I just couldn't seem to pull the trigger. I record tracks every day and had run into a writer's block, the first in recent memory. I have been creating synth and sample based music since 1989. I needed not only a different set of sounds, but a different way of looking at creating sounds. Don't get me wrong, I was plenty irritated with having to "purchase inspiration", but that was where I found my self.
    The Omnisphere took quite a while to install, made even longer by a mistake that I made. "(I accidentally ejected a hard drive rather than the load up disk.) The whole process wound up taking about five hours. Once it was installed i stumbled around a bit but was helped by the attendant instructional videos and the "Johnny on the spot" tech support as well. It didn't take long to realize that this thing was a beautiful monster and was much deeper than I would have ever imagined. That's another thing, for as deep and capable as this synth is, they do a wonderful job of getting you going on it. It takes a special talent to be able to explain something so nuanced and layered. Something I am sure I would have trouble doing. With in a few hours I was auditioning sounds and started using it in Digital Performer. Another positive is that it allows one to use it in numerous work flow styles and I was able to incorporate it in ways that weren't even mentioned in the manuals.

    Ease of use - 10
    Sounds - 10
    Support - 10

    I am very happy and I have only dusted the surface. Well done SPECTRASONICS.

  • from United States April 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I want to wed it

    Friends, family and lovers may fail you; but this synth will elevate you. I swear this thing is alive! I want to use dryer language but this instrument just softens one and you fall in love. God bless Eric Pershing and Spectrasonics...now I can breathe again.

  • from April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Producer, Composer, Engineer

    Amazing Sounds!!

    It took me a while to get this thing installed properly but once I did it has blown me away. I have immediately found sounds that have a unique voice and easily a place in my creations. I would highly recommend!

  • from Philadelphia, PA USA February 14, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer, Beat-maker, engineer and composer/producer

    This INSTRUMENT is the truth!

    I only had this for a couple of days and this synth is amazing! I'm not even at the 1/4 point of the sounds and already I've gotten creative just using this. Bottom line, this software will not disappoint. Worth the investment and time. It will help with expanding and opening up to what can be done, creatively. Music flows out of Omnisphere. Point blank.

  • from Moss Beach, CA January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Sound Searcher..

    Its at the top of the list of synths

    I own most of the synths out there (ie: Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate, Maschine, Reason, Arturia Bundle, East West Composer, MachFive, etc..)

    When I first saw the interface screen shot of this synth I thought "hmm, I will wait".. I read lots of good reviews.. but to be honest the interface looks kind of cheesy and boring.. (a few better colors here and there would have made it at least look more appealing). You look at the interfaces to all the Arturia products and they all look cool.. Omnisphere could of at least made it look futuristic or something...

    When I installed OmniSphere I proceeded to go thru all the patches.. Woah..
    I reviewed EVERY one of them.. and it took me almost 8-9 HOURS to do this.
    It didn't take me that long to review all the patches in any of my other virtual instruments. (well - reason maybe if you add up all the refills)

    Some of the sounds were similar to what I already had.. but many were totally unique.. which is what I was looking for. From my point of view the only reason to have more than one synth is for the uniqueness of sound.. They all let you edit the sounds so you can make it your own.. but as a composer, I am always wanting to find or create a sound that no one else has... and Omnisphere is just that tool.. IF I only could choose one synth out of all the ones I have the first would be Omnisphere... (2nd would be the Arturia V collection)..

  • from United States December 7, 2012

    changed my life

    buy u a good computer that can handle this program and make the hardest beats the world haa ever head this changes the game

  • from November 4, 2012Music Background:
    live artist / songwriter /producer

    Buy it . dont even question it.

    I own everything from Moogs to Jupiter 8 to Macbeth to Analog solutions Semi modulars , yet I still use this on all of my stuff . Its a great starter to give you ideas. It blew me away to be honest and is amazing value . I have not even done the update yet as I am still going through the orignal patches . Its a dream to use.

  • from Fairfield , CA September 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Amazing program

    This is truly a amazing virtual synth, with endless possibilitys. It is very easy to get creative with this product.

  • from Kapolei Hawaii September 23, 2012Music Background:
    Military Bassist, Touring, Teacher, Freelance Producer

    This Thing's a BLASTER!!!!

    Mark Maxwell, my illustrious rep at Sweetwater first recommended this monster to me months ago, but I wasnt sure i should try it given i was happy with the East West plug-ins i recently bought. Guys, TRUST YOUR REPS!!! I had no idea that there was something like this killer in existance. everyone in my former band wanted me to let them use it. (Yeah, like they had as much chance of that happening as a ham sandwich making it thru a fat farm in one piece!!) But i cant blame them, There are worlds to explore, create, and realize sonically thru this Masterpiece, and i DONT use that word for anything.I'm having a ball with this synth. THIS IS ONE YOU NEED TO OWN!!!

  • from United States July 28, 2012Music Background:
    soloist

    awesome

    INCREDIBLE. Liked it so much I just purchased Trilian to go with it. HIGHLY recommended.

  • from Austin, TX July 2, 2012

    Powerful, inspiring software synth, ready to play

    As primarily a guitar player who needed a sound-design platform for video, I needed a synth that was ready-to-go when I didn't have time or desire to fiddle with sounds and build something from the ground-up. Omnisphere meets that expectation easily. The sounds included are well-categorized and ready to play but still capable of being crafted into what I'm looking for in the end if it's not where I want it.

    Additionally, just plugging in and playing with what's there is inspiring. Just go exploring, build a "live setup" that lets you flip between multiple sounds in the same patch (and on the same keyboard!) and you'll have a blast. Gets you into the creative mood quickly when you need a little help there.

    Definitely recommended as a powerful, full-featured synth that has a ton of sounds ready to go as well as the capability to mold them into what you ultimately need.

    Note, however, that you cannot (currently) load your own samples - you can only deal with the samples they have available (which is a lot - I think 50G of sampled material). This, however, is not a problem for me - plenty of ways to build what you need if it doesn't already have it.

  • from bellmawr nj June 18, 2012Music Background:
    i just hold on and let the music take me to places i've never been to.

    incredible !!!

    amazing sounds and there are over 8000 for you to try. it has inspired me every time i turn it on. buy it !!!

  • from Gary, IN USA April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Beginning Musician

    The Sounds Are GREAT!!!!!

    I Love It!!!!!!!!!

  • from Omaha Ne February 10, 2012Music Background:
    Pro engineer and musician

    Just can't get away from it!!!!

    I have a few big software libraries including Komplete, a bunch of EastWest stuff, and Omnisphere. I try to use Komplete a lot because I have it and it is really good for certain things and the EastWest stuff is amazing for what I need it to do. However, Omnisphere is inspiring! I try not to use it sometimes for the sake of variety but I always seem to go back to it. It just sounds so amazing and the sounds are so interesting and inspiring. No, matter what I'm working on whether it be a modern soundtrack for a video or an iOS video game, Omnisphere will be there no doubt. I also love using it live and blowing people away with the sounds that come out of it and the ipad app makes it easy to use in this situation. I just can't say enough good things about it. If you are thinking of getting this and you do anything from ambient music to dubstep to video games, this won't let you down. Just buy it!!!

  • from KY February 10, 2012Music Background:
    professional

    Best Synth EVER!!!

    10 stars, off the charts!

    I have been in synths since the 80's. I've owned synths from Korg, Roland, Yamaha... and nothing can even come close to this synth!!!

    Not only is there more samples than are even used in the patches... it is INCREDIBLY easy to come up with a sound from scratch. I can't describe how easy it is to make new sounds no one has ever heard before! And then you can easily save them, they just become another sound in the list! And there are THOUSANDS of already made patches.

    Add an ipad and you can alter these sounds like nothing you've ever heard in real time!

    Then you add in the multi mode with 8 patches that you can seamlessly play in any combination together or alone in real time to make an "omnisphere"... there are no words for how creative and inspiring this synth is.

    On top of this each patch can have its own effects - and they are VERY high quality... it takes sound creation to a entirely new level.

    If i were stranded on a desert Island and could only have one synth for the rest of my life I would pick this one without hesitation. You will never reach it's limits... and they keep releasing free patches with more sounds! Incredible company!

    Just buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from United States January 25, 2012Music Background:
    Composer/Musician/Producer

    A Must Have

    This is an indispensable instrument for the working composer. It has incomparable breadth and depth, with an easy-to-use interface, and gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous sounds. Incredibly versatile, I use this in nearly everything, and cannot recommend it highly enough. If you write music for a living, you should own this instrument.

  • from Mericen, CT December 10, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, Sound Design, Ambient Music Artist

    Most Amazing Soft Synth EVER !!!

    I remember when I bought Atmosphere from Sweetwater, and how much I loved and still love it, but always felt it was missing things, such as effects, and deeper synth editing , Omnisphere not only takes care of all that, but has a WAY larger library of samples, including the whole Atmosphere set ! Indeed this synth is ideal for Ambient, film score, and general sound abstractions, not a bread and butter synth for which I am thankful ! It even has its own synthesis engine !!! You can stack up to 8 parts each having their own effects, and a master effects area, you can layer or split or both like most Workstations as well as being able to assign each part its own MIDI number. I have not even scratched the surface yet, and I am Absolutely blown Away !!! It's easy to navigate and use, very intuitive, and user friendly ! The new Orb is a mind bending experience, you will know what I mean when you try it, absolute INSPIRATION !!!! And if you have a touch screen, you will be in Heaven using thee Orb !!!!! I can not say enough nice things about Omnisphere, and to boot I am on an older dual core system 3.2 and 4 GB of RAM, frankly I don' think Omnisphere is at all the CPU hog that so many say it is, sure some patches and multis can be taxing, but IMHO Omnisphere is not horribly demanding of system resources at all !!! It only takes what it has to, no more no less ... I am astounded with what I hear just using one or two parts, a HUGE leap from Atmosphere, my only regret is I was not able to purchase my upgrade directly from Sweetwater ! This is a purchase from which you will not suffer even a moments regret !!!

    (P.S. a tip on reserving system resources on larger multis is to switch off Omnispheres effects and use your own plug ins, or alternatively only use the Master effects slot for your sounds)

  • from Seekonk, MA September 28, 2011Music Background:
    songwriter

    The best

    I've had Omnisphere for three years. I'm still THRILLED. I finally got a laptop and used it live to perform a big string part. When the strings came in, it was in stereo, and, just like in the studio, it was warm and full without any artificial brashness. The audience gasped, and the artist actually laughed for a moment. What a product, and more importantly, what a great live sound. I'm so happy with the products and the people at Spectrasonics. I'm still finding new sounds, and I use it every day.

  • from Cadence Music Studio, New Jersey September 26, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Professional Musician

    Omnisphere

    My salesperson Jeffrey Green has strongly recommended Omnisphere during many of our conversations on the soft synth subject, I finally took his advice. To say I'm blown away would be selling it short. It's going to take some time to realize the potential of this product, but isn't that great! If you understand the Spectrasonics interface, you'll be up and running immediately, but it's obvious the depth that's under the hood. Omnisphere really is the mother of all soft synths!

  • from USA September 4, 2011Music Background:
    Film Artist Musican

    The Wow factor

    Easy to use. Endless sounds. Great for scoring films.

  • from Tulsa, OK USA July 27, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    My fingers are in pain..

    From sitting at my keyboard all day and night with Omnisphere. Hands down the best virtual synth software out there in my opinion. Very well organized, compact, and easy to use. I also love the "background" description for each of the presets. Can't imagine writing sessions without it anymore....and I'm a drummer, not a keyboardist!

  • from Morton, IL April 2, 2011Music Background:
    Indie Studio Owner, Producer, Electronic Musician

    Another 5-star review for Spectrasonics

    I simply cannot say enough about this product!
    More than 7,000 sounds (so far), a very high hit/miss ratio on sound design, TONS of programmability and flexibility, perfect DAW integration, easy on the CPU (at least on my system)...I couldn't be happier.
    If you're even thinking about this one, just do it. You won't regret it!

  • from San Francisco Bay Area, USA January 17, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist Producer

    Top Quality Massive Sound, Fun, Deep, Expansive

    I'm on the 5-star bandwagon. The sound quality generated by this astounding Synth/Sample engine from Spectrasonics is sometimes bold, sometimes ethereal, sometimes otherworldly. I've played with it for over a month and still I haven't scratched the surface of this monster. The samples it ships with alone are moving, awesome, surprising and emotional. That's before you get to blending them on the A+B channel, messing up the oscillators, running the sound through the built-in arpeggiator (which, by the way, is probably the coolest arp interface I've played with), messing up the filters, constricting the sound to a specific range of the keyboard, bleeding in the high or low notes with a cross-fade to another sample next to it on the keyboard, tuning the envelopes with ease... That's only the second or third level down. It's not just samples, it's a full on synthesizer engine which can take a generated tone and really manipulate it. Omnisphere is like Reason's Thor, NI's Absynth and East West Studios sample quality (yet of odd things like burning pianos or mic'd lightbulbs or strings plucked inside an oil drum) seamlessly integrated into a powerful, professional quality instrument.

    Yes, this thing will push your system. It takes some drive space, CPU and memory. Professional-level software runs best on professional quality systems, and this should be no surprise to a musician considering making a $500 purchase. Omnisphere works well with other top-level sample libraries, like East West Studios' Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra or Stormdrums or Pianos. Where the real instruments of the world leave off, Omnisphere fills in, producing ambiance, imaginative, bold and bright, eerie or subtle dark sounds.

    I love the STACK mode. Layering sounds upon sounds at different areas of the keyboard (with the ability to blend between them) and combining one sample/synth with another for each patch (A/B) is incredibly powerful. It's SO EASY. It means I don't have to mess with MIDI keyboard splitting and assignment, it just works so well. The mixer is straightforward and intuitive.

    Lastly, Omnisphere is FUN and inspiring! The built-in help and descriptiveness of each patch spurs the imagination. Tagging sounds is easy and makes searching for them later a breeze. Just have to spend time with the manual (which is very detailed).

  • from Youngstown, OH May 5, 2010Music Background:
    Composer for Film

    Over-rated.......IN NO WAY AT ALL

    In my opinion, the only reason that someone would state that this is "over rated" or perhaps a "memory hog" is because they were intending to use it for pop music or some such thing. While it can be used in pop, it would be like going fishing on a yacht in a small stream...it wasn't meant for that. If you are looking for profoundly mind-boggling tools to create lush soundscaping, dark, ethereal atmospheric currents, and foreboding tapestries of orchestral beauty, this is what you need. My breath is completely taken away with every sample.

  • from Sin City, Nevada March 24, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Holy Crap!

    I admit, I was sceptical. After all, how many soft synths are presented to us each year claiming to be our savior?? Omnisphere is worth every penny. Even though the sounds produced by the STEAM ENGINE can't be put into words, think "MAGIC". Want to take your projects to the next level? BUY THIS SOFTWARE NOW!

    REAL TALK.

  • from Dallas, TX January 22, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I wanted to hate it . . . but can't.

    I was skeptical. There was hype. There was a piano lit on fire (google this if you don't know what I mean). There was too much self-promotion. I wanted to hate it.

    Then I bought it.

    Wow.

    Deep sounds, amazing synth engine, literally limitless tweek-ability. I don't know where to begin. Go to Youtube and watch some of the user demos. Spectrasonics' web site isn't very good at letting you hear the samples (which I don't understand). A quick web search fixes that. Listen. Then know that Youtube doesn't begin capture what it really sounds like in person.

    This is worth your $$s. It'll replace a few of your outdated rigs and grow with you for a few years to come.

    Peace.

  • from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA December 20, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Soundscaper, Synthesizer Maven, Engineer

    As Deep As The Ocean

    After eight years of experience with nearly every major softsynth on the market, I feel the bar is set as high as the moon with this new amazing labor of love from Spectrasonics.

    To simply call this an upgrade to Atmosphere does not do it justice. It's an entirely new paradigm of
    what a softsynth (and indeed synthesis in general) can do.

    The possibilities for sound sculpting and shaping are nearly endless. For every mood, emotion or musical purpose there is a sound here for you.

    If you can't find the sound you want here, you can probably achieve it by mixing/matching/melding.

    Honestly, it will take at least a month to get a good grasp on the full capabilities of the sounds alone.

    The arpeggiator, Stylus RMX integration,
    Atmosphere patch inclusion and other things that
    are here could literally take you years to go
    thru every feature in depth.

    Make sure you get as fast a computer as you can
    afford and as large a hard drive as you can stand
    (I installed this on a 1 terabyte SATA drive).

    Sounds: inspirational, crystal clear with deep
    thunderous basses, shining washes, eerie gray
    brooding atonal clouds, searing synth leads,
    indescribable sonic vistas - you name it.

    One thought: if this is the start of the Steam
    engine, just think about the future of where this
    can go - if future Spectrasonics synths use the
    Steam engine perhaps all future products could be
    integrated in a massive "mega-product" production
    system.

    Kudos to Eric Persing and his team for a masterwork
    in software engineering.

  • from Great Falls, Mt November 5, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Hobbyist, forever a student.

    Omnipotent!

    Quite a bit has already been covered in the previous reviews.

    Yes, "this is not a meat and potatoes synth"

    No, "You'll just throw away all your hardware synths"...are you nuts! They still used those to make Omnisphere!

    That being said this is an astonishing accomplishment of Spectrasonics. The sonic clarity and improved fidelity of even the old Atmosphere patches is well worth the asking price (especially worth the upgrade price...thanks Eric P!).

    The deeper you dig the better it gets, there is an enormous ammount of included material from other Spectrasonics libraries such as Distorted Reality, Symphony of Voices, Hans Zimmer Guitars, etc. Not to mention the amazing synthesis base sounds you can tweak to your hearts content and then throw a blanket of effects over it to top it off with that sheen you were craving for.

    I won't bore you with the same review of how great the psychoacoustic ideas sound through the STEAM processing, or with how impressive the arpeggiator and live options are.

    Neither will I take up any more of your time expressing how many hours of work I save with dropping my RMX midi files into Omnipshere's arpeggiator for it's groove lock function.

    The possibilities are endless with this one, and I'm sure Spectrasonics has some interesting future enhancements in mind (Omnisampler anyone?). It can be a CPU hog at times, but remember you can have 16 parts playing with each having multiple effects, so just up your ram!

    I really do love it.

  • from Wilmington, DE. October 19, 2008Music Background:
    Composer,Musician

    You will need this!!!

    I too upgraded from Atmosphere and assumed like some upgrades that the difference would be noticeable but nothing more.
    This is not the case with this particular upgrade, its like buying a completely new product. The way it is laid out within the software and new sounds along with noticeable new treatments to the older sounds is incredible.If this is your first time getting this product, I believe you'll be even more blown away. I am not prone to writing reviews so this is rare for me. It's hard to leave my studio because of auditioning the sounds.
    If you're doing sound-design, movie, game, tv, dance hip-hop, or anything else...you will need this!!!

  • from chicago, il October 10, 2008Music Background:
    post-production, film, tv, studio

    Next Big Thing

    Remember when you couldn't throw a stick in the 80's without hitting and/or hearing a dx7 sound somewhere.....

    well, 2008 and beyond.... it's Omni

    don't get me wrong... it's not a meat and potatos synth, but the pads and sounds it has will be used all over..... and the amazing thing is that a large % of the sounds are jp8, p5, pv, along with the mad scientist steam engine turning out sounds from eric and the teams nightmares and passions....

    go get it.........

  • from Los Angeles Ca October 2, 2008Music Background:
    Pro musician

    comes with 2 kitchen sinks

    I can't believe all the outrageous sounds and the beyond belief ability to "tweek" those sounds that are present in omnisphere. The thought that went into this soft synth is amazing. I am equally impressed with the video tutorials offered for FREE by Spectrasonics. They helped me tremendously in getting started with this very complex and very mind-blowing instrument. I can't imagine a sound you could not create and am drooling with anticipation at the sounds I will be able to create!

  • from Santa Rosa, CA September 27, 2008Music Background:
    Composer, Synth Guru

    A whole new world of sound

    I've been a huge fan of Atmosphere and eagerly awaiting a native Intel Mac solution. I would have been quite pleased with an "Atmosphere 2.0" -- but, well, Omnisphere is not just an upgrade. This is not your daddy's Spectrasonics rompler.

    Omnisphere is basically a large workstation-like synthesizer that just happens to include a gigantic sample library. Using multiple types of oscillators, filters, effects and modulation routings, you can create almost any kind of sound imaginable. Not only that, but you can stack multiple patches together in multi mode (told you it was like a workstation) for uber-large presets. The built-in arpeggiator is pretty neat, and the included FX like reverb, chorus, compression, distortion, delay, etc. can not only be used at the patch level but can be used at the post-multi mixer level in four different aux channels plus the master.

    I just got to start playing with Omnisphere this week and I'm already making my own patches and using multiple instances of it in my latest compositions. Like Atmosphere, it has quickly become my "go-to" synth any time I need something with pizazz that's fast and easy to use. If you're wondering if you really need another soft synth, I have a suggestion: cut it out and go buy the darn thing. You'll thank me later.

    Congrats to Eric Persing and the team for another bang up job. You deserve all the accolades you can get.

  • from Portland, OR September 24, 2008Music Background:
    Composer

    Must-have upgrade from Atmosphere

    I just got mine installed yesterday (it takes *hours* to install the 6 DVD set...) and to be cliche, it's like Atmosphere "on steroids." All the things that made Atmo the lushest synth - software or hardware - but way, way, way more. And that's just the beginning. There is so much to this thing it will take years to explore - they're not kidding. Even still, it is presented in the easiest interface I've ever seen, esp for something this deep.

    I was a little cheesed that I had to upgrade at all - Atmo never worked right with Intel Macs - but it's definitely worth the $200 to upgrade.

    I've seen some reviewers having problems with high CPU load and/or crashing, but I haven't seen that on my 8-core MacPro. Your milage may vary.

    Great job, Spectrasonics!

  • from Ft Wayne, IN September 22, 2008Music Background:
    Home Studio, etc.

    Just plain Incredible...

    From the marketing/progress videos on Spectrasonic's website to finally seeing it for myself, the effort, care and talent put into the creation of this product is self-evident. The plethora of sounds and the custom shaping one can apply results in a synth that is essentially infinitely moldable to your tastes and talents. The straightforward interface is hiding a monstrous engine! The quality of the patches and the radical creativity behind the creation of them should pique anyone's interest to take a listen (eg. "Burning Piano). This is an incredible standout soft-synth. You can't go wrong with it...get it and let your creativity fly.

  • from Plano, TX September 22, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    The best soft synth ever!

    Wow! I'm totally blown away by this synth! A must have for any serious virtual virtuoso!

  • from SG September 22, 2008Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    The ONLY Synth you'll EVER need!

    That's right; this is the only software synth you'll need in your entire life; you can even ditch your hardware synths for this! The sounds are just incredible, extremely high fidelity, inspiring, informative, easy to navigate and pick. This synth just goes beyond anything and everything available! You want simple, out of the box? There's all your presets! You want to tweak a little of the sounds to make your own signature sounds? No problem! You a crazy sound designer and want to destroy the presets? They've got deep editing functions for that too!

    It's just simply mind-boggling and lives true to the 'You'll need a lifetime to explore all the possibilities' motto. And for good reason too because you probably wont be spending any less time on other synths once you've got OMNISPHERE.

  • from Earth September 20, 2008

    YUP IT'S PRETTY SERIOUS....

    I second the first review. This software is pretty crazy. Its with out a doubt a game changer...

  • from Greenville, SouthKrak September 18, 2008Music Background:
    Producer

    MY ONLY WISH !!!

    I wish that I was the only person to have this BEAST !!! I'm not going to get into all the details just know that I'm going to get a production deal with this baby.

  • from May 1, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, amateur composer, song writer

    Spectrasonics Omnisphere

    Very powerful synth with lots of samples to work with. Useful for sound creation and special textures and FX's not of the traditional sound libraries i.e. Kontackt 5 or EW... Pro's: Awesome samples and tweak ability. Con: Rather pricy, cannot import your own samples.

    Overall: Very useful for new sound creation, if you can put the time into it...

  • from Southwest Michigan November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Composer

    Rich and Feature Packed

    My studio would not be complete without the rich complex sounds in this box! A must have for synth lovers. A high end PC or Mac is a must to keep up.

  • from Milford,NJ June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist,musician

    To infinity and....

    Only reason I put a 4.5 is becuase Im still learning about this product.Its amazing all that this powerful synth software can do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from April 12, 2012

    cool

    awesome

  • from Seattle December 28, 2011Music Background:
    retired hammond pilot.

    aural sex

    If you want to design original sounds, this is the tool. It's going to take a long time (if ever) to get burned out on this unit . If you have all the standard musical instruments covered, this will introduce a whole new avenue(s) of creativity. Movie tracks, electronic music, sound /voice experiments, science fiction... and yet to be heard complex, abstract noises.

  • from Irvine, CA September 29, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Video Designer, Engineer, and Keyboardist

    So much more to learn

    I have only had the opportunity to mess around with Omnisphere for a few hours since purchasing it a few weeks back. So far the sounds are great and fun. The program appears to have a tremendous amount of depth, which I will hopefully undercover over the years. My intent was to acquire a soft synth for pads and adjustable airy sounds and the presets have been great for that. I'll add more to the review as I can invest in the learning process.

  • from Bogotá, Colombia April 18, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyst, Part time music for T.V. films and multimedia projects.

    is a delight candy for my ears and my spirit.

    If you are loking for emulation of real acoustic instruments sounds, perhaps this is not the right place, go to a dealer and get a good sampler ( Kontact3, Mach 5, etc) for the same price of Omni.

    Concern this, what can I say ?…. I have an arsenal of soft synths, there are nothing I can compare it until now, this is apart from the pack. Its unique sounds come from an immense miscellanie of common, rare, insane, crazy, care and well crafted root samples library and classical waveforms mixtures. Many other aspects like modulation routings, filters are at the same levels compare products like Absynth, or Masive of NTI Instruments Brand. The sound set is fantastic, effects well implemented, some of this modules and rack presets are outstanding an very useful, You can get modify many aspects of your taste sounds in seconds. If your music production are in the way to have sounds for movies, Tv. Film, ethereal pads, choirs, insane-rare mixtures sounds, swirling pads…etc, this is your choice, you are in the arena ready to sculpt inspired sounds with this “ Monster ” . Maybe lack some smallness, nothing is perfect in this world, for me is a delight candy for my ears and my spirit.

    Thanks to Eric and his Team , there are a great efforts behind .

    An add : I wish in my dreams incorporate to Omisphere library, a samples pack of vintage synths like EMI, Moog Opus 3, Elka, Arp Omni, and…..and…..and…

  • from Seagrove Beach, FL December 21, 2008Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    A Masterpiece!

    This is an amazing piece of work. The programming that went into it is staggering. The sound is so clean and can be warm as well. I've owned it for a little over a week and have already wrote a song with it.

    The 50 gigs of space is quite a bit. I bought a new hard drive just for it. It took about 3 hours for the install on my 2 gig iMac. It seems to work well with Logic Studio Pro and also my Arturia V collection. Doesn't like Novation V Synth. Crashes when they are together.

    Graphics wise, I think it could look better. Getting around on it can be a bit confusing at times. The arpeggiators are cool and easy to use.

    All in all, I'm very happy with my choice. Bad thing is now I want to also get Stylus RMX and I have run out of money!

  • from Nashville, TN September 24, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Songwriter, Producer, Studio Owner.

    Great Sounds

    Not Your Daddy's Synth

    Keep in mind that this is not a "meat and potatoes" synth - get Kontakt for that. There are also not a lot of "straight ahead" synth sounds - get "Reason" for that. If you have all of the bases covered and you want to get some killer sounds that are VERY different, Omnisphere is your baby.


    Great Sounds

    - (of course) and a very flexible architecture. It has all of the major synth foodgroups; fm, granualar, wavetable, etc as well as a powerful LFo section.

    I thought the interface would be a little more intuitive, it is not. Also, the search function is not as useful as the videos would have you believe, the cutesy names do not allow for generic searches in all instances, ie; I accidentally changed a cool rock guitar patch I was using and tried to find it again with no luck. It was a guitar sound but never came up under a "guitar" search. I also tried to type in the name or parts of it (as I remembered them) and no luck.

    Manual Over-ride

    The manual is attached to the synth. For this kind of money, a printed manual would be very helpful (and the "saving trees" thing is really getting old). At the very least, a PDF file that could be re-sized and perused at your leisure (AND PRINTED) would be nice. Instead, you have to have an instance of Omnisphere open to read anything about it.

    Tutorials


    I am a huge fan of Eric Persing, his software and his instruments. He seems like a nice guy too. I LOVE Stylus RMX and found the video tutorials to be quite helpful. The ads promise a video tutorial on CD-Rom (still says it on their site). No such luck. I have contacted Spectrasonics and they tell me that they decided to release them on the web (to keep more current). This is bull. They were obviously running behind and don't have it together yet. I was told that they were posting them that day, then I was told Monday. It is late on Wednesday and still nothing.

    Conclusion

    As much as I love the synth, I know that the big dogs will be using up the presets before I can release anything, and I know I will need to go in and tweak programs to make them my own and probably make a bunch of patches from scratch. I am actually looking forward to doing this. Unfortunately, without the tutorials, I feel I will never be able to learn this program the way I want to.
    If you have $500.00 burning a hole in your pocket and you just need to know, I say get it. If you are not an experienced programmer and you don't have the basics covered, I would hold off - at least till they get the tutorials up (whenever that may be).

    I think that the mark of a good keyboard is that it inspires you to create songs. I think a great one should also inspire you to create great sounds as well. This fills the bill on both counts, I just don't know my way around the thing yet and I feel disappointed.

    This manual/ tutorial issue is a big one for me, after all, this is not freeware, it's $500.00. This is why I give 4.5 stars instead of 5.

  • from Campbell, CA November 22, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    When they say Huge they mean it

    The sounds of Omnisphere are fantastic and you can mix and tweek to your hearts content. Im not going to go into that here as others seemed to have covered that well. What no one (except the box) tells you is that you will need 50GB of hard drive space to install this 6 DVD beast. It takes a good while to install (my experience was ~15-20minutes per disk). The install itself is hoaky as you need to agree to the license on every disk. This is teadious and needless. Basic usage is fairly straight forward and sound load times take about 3 seconds. I do find it difficult to load any patches i have created as they do not auto populate in the menu nor is there any kind of Load option, you just have to click around until you find the filter items you set and your patches appear. Its very easy to save, but a loading.... I also find that on a 4GB XP system running protools 7.4 you can't have any other softsynths running as you'll run out of memory very quickly. All in all I really enjoy this synth, you just have to get over some hurdles to get into it.

  • from Oregon May 23, 2009Music Background:
    Old Musician

    Powerful, full sounding, but overkill?

    The depth of some of the sounds on this synth are the grandest I think I've ever heard. They are diverse, big, thick, with incredibly detailed morphing timbers and spectral changes.

    But after playing with it a while, and once I caught my breath back, I found that just like Atmosphere, Absynth, and many Reaktor patches, but even more so, the Omnisphere doesn't always play well with others. Because so much effort was put into the patches, and the way the samples and programs are laid out for structuring, this synth very quickly overwhelms a mix and takes up the entire audio spectrum. On some patches even hitting just one note can cause this to happen. This makes it really hard for anything more than some soundtrack work (that doesn't need a full arrangement) or some super cool interludes in prog rock, fusion, or trance perhaps.

    If you're looking for an extremely full, and lush synth with incredible sound and layers, this is it. And I wouldn't hesitate to tell you to check it out. But if you're expecting some really nice diverse sounds to use as part of your set-up, you might find yourself like me, and not using it very often, if at all. And it may be more practical to turn to something like Rob Papen's Blue, or Cakewalk's Rapture, or U-He's Zebra. All of which are well less than half the cost of Omnisphere.

  • from CT USA February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Long time musician.

    Still can't get all the sounds

    Hello potential buyers of Spectrasonics Omnisphere. Sweetwater is the best retailer of music gear in the country. My reservations only lie with Spectrasonics software and my inability to load all the Moog and Trillian sounds on my computer. The sounds that are playable through my DAW are fantastic. I am sure my rating for the product will change once I can access all the sounds that I paid for. Kudos again to Sweetwater for their customer service. Second to none.

  • from nova scotia December 17, 2008Music Background:
    fully qualified musical menace

    don't eat all the wedding cake just yet

    steady guys STEADY!
    Ok iv'e only awarded a 2.5 just now until i really kick some *** with this thing so to get you all fired up and ready to hang me from a tree i'll list in order what i DO like and what i DON'T:
    1. i'de hoped to see omnisphere in a new color instead of the old boring atmosphere screen.
    2.i wish eric p would use an "on-screen keyboard" with this new baby . .@$500 it's a big hole in your pocket and even free vst plugins have them right?
    3.why no new colors on knobs-n-sliders so it's easy to spot them ! you'd go blind on a lappy after a days session
    4.love the idea of sync to stylus rmx and 8 arperigator thingies . .maybe a step/sequencer upgrade later THAT SYNC'S TO HOST !
    steady guys . .i'm sure it's brilliant.

  • from Michgian February 21, 2009Music Background:
    Musician

    OVERRATED!!!!!!!!!!1

    SPECTRASONIC'S OMNISPHERE IS MORE OVERRATED AND OVERHYPED THEN KIMBO SLICE!!!! The reason this synth sounds "better" then the rest is because the patches are in 24 bit maybe even in 32 bit floating. Once you dither everything down the only difference between another virtual synth is the gigs and gigs of useless patches you have stored on your computer. The interface is very user friendly but you have to search a long time just to find a patch that can be used for music. This synth might be good for movies, but for music this synth is a waste of money, time, and hard drive space. I know the creator of this synth wanted to create new sounds that nobody had out there, but I really need basic sounds that could be used for a song. Sure it's fun to write alien music once in a while but there isn't enough meat and potatoes patches. I can get the same quality of sounds as this synth by using Reason with some patch off the web. If music is your passion save yourself some cash and computer upgrades and get a practical usable virtual synth like Reason or one from Native Instruments. If you make music for movies this synth will do the job, but for the average musician look elsewhere.

  • from canada October 23, 2012Music Background:
    vst reviews

    overated n costly

    omnisphere is and always will be overated overpriced and self imploding, it ISN'T the rolls-royce of synths, why do people need more strings ? more pianos ? more basses? and stupid trumpets and sax ect iv'e used this thing for over 2years and it still doesn't impress me, i would have liked to have seen less hype and less bells-n-whistles and more control, i'm uninstalling this thing and going back to reason.

Questions about the Spectrasonics Omnisphere with Free Upgrade to Omnisphere 2 upon release?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway