0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Focusrite OctoPre MkII Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from KY/TN area July 12, 2016Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist/Engineer/Producer

    Sleeper

    I know you all read these, and think of it all as hype. I wont lie to you, and tell you this preamplifier is better, or as good as a Neve, Api, SSL, Millennia, or any preamplifier that costs a buck five. What I can tell you, is this preamplifier is extremely well built. Very clean, with plenty of headroom. Very good for drums. With punch and clarity. I am not afraid to say, if I could own any and all pre's I wanted, I would still have this in my studio. Again it's not a expensive preamplifier, but honestly it sounds like one. I have had mine since 02/19/16. That is 5 months. I have used them in a studio setting. I have used them Live, in a hybrid live rig running Sonor for a mixer. Rock solid and Clean. Plus, of coarse the folks at Sweetwater are the Best in the world, for taking care of you.

  • from Rhode Island April 28, 2016

    Focusrite OctoPre MKll

    This is an essential piece that I was missing for home recording. It was brought to my attention by my Personal Sales Engineer (Adam). Now, I can properly process mics, keyboard, and guitars through my DAW. Using a mixer as I was initially is good for live performances. Using this preamp with my Apollo Twin, makes separating tracks and instruments needed for the recording process easier and essential.

  • from Calistoga, CA June 29, 2015

    Killer Unit!

    Great sound and easy to use.
    What more could you ask for!

  • from March 17, 2015Music Background:
    Classical, now taking Mastering

    Focusrite OctoPre Mk ll

    I purchased a Focusrite liquid Saffire 56 in Jan 2013 and thought this thing really does a lot of good things. I am still discovering many Great things about Focusrite! I have now replaced my Yamaha 02R mixer with a Focusrite Octopre Mk 11 Preamp. I could actually hear an improvement over the 02R mixer when I AB'd the recordings as I used the 02R for drums and now I use the OctoPre for drum recording. Everything interfaced easily and the adat cable did its thing seamlessly (from Sweetwater) I would love to own equipment made by Rupert Neve, but at 70 years old that might be a pipedream! I can't say enough about Sweetwater sales as they are superb and they do what they say they will do and deliver on time. You guys are first class.

  • from United States October 15, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Live Sound, Musician, Studio Owner/Operator

    Very Nice!

    Great Pre amp for the buck!!! Lovin it. I use it to expand my inputs to my Interface!

  • from Dover,Ohio May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Musician

    Great Preamp

    I just got my Focusrite OctoPre Mk II it sounds so good. I have it hooked up to a Focusrite Scarlett 18i6 with the optical cable. It gives me more inputs (for drums) and great sounds. I love this thing. I use it with Cakewalk Sonar X2 and it works out great!

  • from Virginia Beach, VA September 1, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN

    I've owned a few Focusrite pieces over the years, this didn't disappoint. Very transparent, which for the live recordings i do are perfect. I highly suggest this pre.

  • from Tampa, FL January 29, 2015Music Background:
    recording engineer, Pro musician, hobbyist

    Focusrite OctoPreMk 2

    great for the price if you need to lay down drum tracks at once

  • from Knoxville, Tn August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Musician-recording hobbyist

    Great addition to Pro40

    Works great with the Sapphire Pro40-had a couple of scary moments right before a session when I THOUGHT it had gone haywire-realized you MUST be set to 41 khz-if you forget and let it default to 48 the level meters go crazy-had me in a panic and ready to call Sweetwater's awesome tech support but a deep breath, remain calm moment came to my rescue! If you're smart enough to know how it works it is awesome! Flawlessly enables 16 tracks at once recording into my Macbook pro. Thanks Sweetwater for a great deal!

  • from New York, NY December 11, 2013Music Background:
    Theater sounds and studio sounds

    Pre-am Mic outs

    Good Quality for the price, channels one and 2 are located in the front, as the rest are in the back. for a rack, its a little annoying but the machine works great

  • from Inland Empire, California May 24, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Session Musician

    Best in class

    I can confirm the rumors about this box, the pre's do sound better than a 003's. We did blind tests with reamps so it was the exact same sound source and chain up to the units themselves. Level matched as best we could. There's something about these pre's that offer a "smooth" character over the 003's "warm" character (which I like to call "mud"). Its worked flawlessly for my studio so far. I originally went with this box for three reasons (over similar boxes), a. meters, b. front phantom power switches, and c. most of the I/O is in the back. The others in this price range didn't have the "whole package" in that respect. But I truly believe this unit is actually an improvement over my actual interface. Which also means I need a better interface, I know... that's next. But do yourselves a favor and get this. Its a solid buy that you wont regret.

  • from Indiana March 31, 2016

    No digital input.

    If it had a digital input to use the line outputs during daw playback this unit would be so much more effective. You have to buy the dynamic version of this model to get that. As of the design now, the line outputs are only effective when recording a source, not playback from the daw. Otherwise great unit.

Questions about the Focusrite OctoPre MkII?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway