0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Boss OS-2 Overdrive / Distortion Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss OS-2 Overdrive / Distortion Pedal?

Questions about the Boss OS-2 Overdrive / Distortion Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 9, 2017

    Muli-tracked guitar (live!)

    If you are like me, you like recording distorted guitar and you like that huge wall of guitar sound... Well how do you achieve that LIVE? Use this guy, it sounds like you're running two amps. One small, tweed-like sound and another huge marshall type sound. There are loads of mods, but the pedal sounds great stock-- another trick is lower the voltage the pedal is getting or using an old battery. Regardless, this pedal is like getting an Sd-1 (overdrive like tubescreamer) and Ds-1 (rat-style distortion) in one unit, with the added benefit of being able to blend the circruits (parallel processing!!!)

  • from February 1, 2017

    Didn't like it.

    Got it as a gift a couple of years ago, and I've never been able to coax a serviceable sound out of it. Tubes or solid state, humbuckers or single coils, it just never produced anything I wanted to hear. If I turn the color knob all the way to distortion and turn the tone down to about 8:30, it sounds ok for some stuff, but not nearly enough. And the more OD I dial in the worse it sounds. It's tinny, screechy and noisy. You can have it back.

  • from anaheim June 19, 2015Music Background:
    retired professional musician, pedal steel, fiddle, harp, vocals

    boss os-2

    i had this pedal before so when it stopped working, after 20 or so years, i knew what i wanted and ordered another. this pedal does exactly what i need

  • from Orrville, OH June 15, 2015

    OD/Disortion

    This a great pedal to have on your board. You can leave this pedal on continually or set it for a specific sound to be used for soloing. Easy pick!

  • from Santa Tosa June 14, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Overdrive Madness

    This pedal screams! Love it! Much thanks to everyone at the warehouse

  • from Cumming, GA May 12, 2015Music Background:
    musician, songwriter, recording engineer

    Most Natural Sounding Overdrive I've Heard

    I've been reluctant to use a distortion pedal preferring the natural overdrive of my amp. When I bought my new recording amp it only had a single channel so I could not switch easily from clean to crunch. The OS-2 effectively allows me to simulate a second channel with a tremendous amount of tonal versatility, and to switch back and forth between clean and crunch quietly and seamlessly. No clicks or pops or other artifacts. Just a really great piece of gear, reasonably priced, and built like a tank. I've always been a fan of Boss and Roland products. This one certainly lives up to that legacy.

  • from VERMILION, OH May 3, 2015

    Boss OS2

    Just what the doctor ordered!! From a slightly dirty sound to Heavy Metal distortion. Easy to use, settings are well marked. Built like a tank. If you are looking for a simple well built pedal this is certainly one to consider.

  • from Dallas, TX October 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist composer, producer, pianist, and electronic musician

    Like 2-in-1 pedals

    I use this pedal on synthesizers, and this actual pedal has been known to frequent the acid house scene, which is why I opted for this pedal. The nice thing about this pedal is that one can dial in over drive or distortion, or a mix of the the two. It sounds great on any TB-303 like sounds.

  • from Lakeview Ohio July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Mucican

    Like what I've heard so far.

    What I've heard so far from this pedal I like, but haven't had the chance to " turn it up ".

  • from Saint Clair Shores,Mi./USA March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing for 50 years.Pro and studio

    Best pedal ever !

    Replaced my SD-2 DUAL Overdrive with this pedal.
    The SD-2 was sold from April 1993 to December 1998.
    The gain control is what sold me on this.
    This unit goes from grit to screaming high gain.
    This is the one to buy!

  • from VA June 15, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar, Keyboards since early sixties

    Boss does it

    Having played rhythm guitar in bands since 65, i finally broke down for some 'extra umph' in my backups.. really pleased with the OS-2!

  • from Tucson, AZ May 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby, amateur

    Great product

    Works fine and is very user-friendly. Also has a very competitive price!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN USA May 12, 2012Music Background:
    musician

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am so amazed with this pedal. It's the first pedel i bought and i bought it a few hours ago and i fell in love right away with the first chord. you have to buy this right now do it! DO IT!

  • from Laurel, MD May 11, 2012Music Background:
    Playing in bands since 1965 ... classic rock, now!

    Great pedal!

    As with many Boss pedals, this is a very versatile distortion pedal with plenty of range for many sounds. I certainly recommend it. Sweetwater is nothing short of pro on delivery and items arriving in excellent condition. Good people.

  • from April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great

    Its a great pedal and it has really sick effects but it runs out the 9 volt battery sorta fast so youll need to get an adapter for it.

  • from Gotham April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist 20yrs

    Best Boss

    This is my go to dirty/distortion pedal. I use it to get my ***** to the wall metal type tone. Versatile pedal for dirty tones. I like to set it on overdrive with the gain cranked. Has a looser sound when set to overdrive and a tighter edgy sound when set to distortion. It can get some bluesy tones however I use my MXR GT-OD for that. Run an overdrive before it and liven it up a bit. I gave it a 4 cause it can get a little fizzy at times and it's made in china.

  • from El Paso, TX April 3, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Hobbyist.

    Forget the rest. Still the Best

    This was my first distortion pedal when I started playing about 27 years ago. I've gone through all types of other stand-alone pedals, and mutiple digital effects boxes and none of them sound as good as this one. I don't care what anybody says, this thing is awesome! Both in it's simplicity and it's sound. It's beautiful man! My favorite professional guitarists prefer stompboxes to the digital effects and it's easy to hear why. Stompboxes rule.

  • from Hampton, Va July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Active Player

    It's ok if overdrive doesn't define your style

    I got this pedal a while back because it was reasonably priced and has both overdrive and distortion. It has been good for my needs up til now but I'm switching to something else. This one just doesn't have enough control. You just have the knob from OD to distortion and can't control the effects separately. If overdrive/distortion is just one pedal in a long string of effects then it's fine. But if you are really trying to play something that relies on dialing in that specific OD to distortion ratio (Blues, Indie, etc) I would recommend going elsewhere. I'm about to get the Visual Sound Jekyll and Hyde and I think it will be much more suited to my needs.

  • from Newport, NC January 11, 2010Music Background:
    Learner, Intermediate.

    os-2

    My reson for selecting the pedal was that i wanted something to give me enough drive to compensate for heavier playing, but also that could handle a small boost to enhance the character of the sound of my instruments. The two circuits, od and dist, do a decent job of mixing together. You can achieve many sounds from a subtle drive boost to over the top grunge. If you are looking for drive with the option of more gain, I would give this pedal a look see.

  • from February 2, 2008

    boss is da boss

    gives every guitar a chunk of metal

  • from Woonsocket,R.I. June 4, 2007Music Background:
    Active musician

    Who's The Boss?

    I bought this over 2 weeks ago from somebody who's obviously insane.The reason I say that is,why would somebody want to sell this pedal?I've been playing for over 30 years,and I've used Digitech,Pro-Co Rat,Morley,Alesis,etc. and all I can say is that this is the best overdrive/distortion pedal that I hve had the pleasure of owning.It's that good.You can go from a bluesy type tone to straight out metal,contrary to what other people say in their reviews of this product.The metal casing is quite sturdy and the controls are very easy to get used to.This is one versatile pedal,let me tell yu.This has a permanent place in my rig and is going nowhere.

Questions about the Boss OS-2 Overdrive / Distortion Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway