0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Audix OM7 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Audix OM7?

Questions about the Audix OM7?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Mooringsport/Shreveport Louisiana November 22, 2015

    Excellent for high volume environments

    The clarity of this microphone makes it hard to believe that it isn't a condenser microphone. If you have speech-level vocal training than you'll have no problem with this microphone. Pop resistance is fantastic and if you eat the microphone, than this is your microphone. It is designed to be within in inch from your mouth. I wouldn't share it, though. Little to no eq is needed at the board and if you have a bedroom studio and/or can't treat for acoustic, this is definitely the microphone to record with. I have been continuously blown away by audix time and again.

  • from Rhode Island April 29, 2015

    Audix OM7

    This mic is Awesome! It's great for lead and backup vocals. You just sing "naturally" into the mic and it picks up the natural tone of your voice. No more shouting into the mic! This also means less strain on your vocal cords. So, don't forget to pack your diaphragm muscle and your your voice box too!

  • from hawaii May 10, 2013Music Background:
    hoppyist

    en76

    agree with review. perfect for male vocals.

  • from new jersey October 6, 2012Music Background:
    over 30 yrs performing

    best out there

    Used to use shure sm and beta 58a. Was having feedback issues. Not only did this mic solve the issue, the natural quality of sound was a pleasant surprise. No mud or boominess when you get on top of it. I love it. Now have to convince the other guys in the band to get one.

  • from Brooklyn, New York, USA March 13, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Great Microphone for Vocal EFX Processing

    Wholeheartedly agree with the previous reviews. One more thing - and this is something that I came across in user forums during the course of pre-purchase research: If you use any type of vocal processing in your signal chain, the OM7 is the mic to have. It takes EQ extremely well, maintaining a clear and open sound. Compression can be applied without having to worry about feedback from the PA.

    I send this through a TC-Helicon VoiceLive 2 vocal effects pedal. I am able to stay right on top of the mic capsule and the sound is nice n'clean with little or no proximity effect - and no distortion. The OM7's off-axis rejection prevents extraneous PA signal from creeping in and "confusing" the VL2 pedal. So, the pedal's DSP-generated harmonies are as crystal clear as the live vocal.

    Lastly, the OM7 is built like a tank. This is truly a professional-grade microphone.

  • from Chicago, IL September 3, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    Fantastic!

    I perform in a pop/rock band. We acquired our own OM7s so that when we arrive to any given venue we do not have to use the standard house microphones. After several recent shows at various venues, none of the sound engineers had any problems extracting enough "gain."

    Needless to say, I think this microphone sounds excellent. Great Buy!

  • from Aiken, SC June 8, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Vocalist

    The best live mic out there period!

    I have been singing live for over 20 year professionally. I have never been so happy with a vocal mic for live shows. This mic shines best with a singer that has a strong voice. It is very clear, full and, will punch though a mix. The gain before feedback is unmatched by any other Mic out there. You can literally crank the wedges with no feedback. I have consistently gotten plus 10db over a shure 58 without feedback. Many people have complained about the lack of output and that you may need a Mic preamp before your mixer. I have only seen slightly less output than other mics and have had no problems making up for the input at the several boards I have used this mic through. Personally, I do not see the low output of the Mic to be a concern at all as it is not that low. It will also dramatically clean up your mixes, as the hypercardiod capsule will reject high stage volume like crazy. If you have a drummer that sings, this Mic is also a must. As long as you eat the Mic, this is the best live Mic you can buy for many reasons.

  • from Madison, AL March 5, 2010Music Background:
    Active musician, Irish/Celtic

    This is one great mic

    I agree 100% with Jeff's assessment of the OM7. I sing lead in a 5-pc Irish/Celtic band and had tried all the OMs except the OM7 since it's the only one our local Audix dealer doesn't stock. Of the ones I tried, I liked the OM5 and OM6, but the 5 was too bright and mid-rangy overall, and the 6 was nice and smooth but too flat and lifeless. So I passed on any of the OMs....but hadn't tried the 7 This mic is possibly the best mic I've used, including my Senn e935, e945, and Heil PR22. Naturally, I'm basing this on my voice (high baritone/low-mid tenor and ranges from soft to powerful), as well as the type of music we do.

    As Jeff said, it's very lively and sweet sounding. To me, the OM7 exudes power and life, yet handles the softer stuff with excellence and great clarity. For me, the OM7 bridges the gap between the OM5's brightness and the OM6's smooth but rather flat character, producing a nice clear high end without being too bright, excellent mid presence, and smooth, balanced low end without being boomy. The OM7 is strong and clear in the monitors and I can easily hear myself over the mix without being too dominant. My style is to sing with my mouth touching the mic or about 1" away, so this mic is a good fit and I feel very comfortable using it.

    After reading so many reviews about needing a strong sound system for the OM7's low output, I was skeptical about it working with our Gigrac 1000 mixer, and yes, I had to crank the channel vol a bit, but there's plenty of gain. As expected, no feedback/bleed issues at all.

    The OM7 has what I'd consider average plosive/sibilance issues. The Gigrac doesn't have a high pass, but I roll off the channel bass to about 9:00 and helps a lot. Technique can diminish these issues somewhat, but I sometimes use a foam windscreen....which I hate to do but is sometimes necessary. Windscreens always affect sound a bit and different windscreens will affect sound in different ways. I have several and found one that best maintains the OM7's great sound while preventing plosives and sibilance.

    Overall, the OM7 is probably the best dynamic mic I've used. As my rating indicates, I was in fact blown away by this mic and highly recommend at least trying it.

  • from Wyoming, USA March 17, 2009Music Background:
    Small-venue performer

    Best mic for ANY live vocal performances

    This mic is usually described as being necessary for loud rock stages because of its superior off-axis rejection. People are funny about vocal mics. Why wouldn't you want the most off-axis rejection you can get for any vocal performance? In fact, I think the OM7's rejection of off-axis sound is more important in a quiet (piano or acoustic guitar accompanyment) setting than it is in a loud one.

    We all hate mics that have the slightest induced hiss or noise. Off-axis sound is worse! It's usually muddy, low frequency noise that, if you were to hear it by itself, would make that cheap-mic hiss sound great in comparison. The OM7 pretty much eliminates that muddy junk. Your vocals will sound better, even in situations much much quieter than a raging rock band.

    These days, few of us use our vocal signals raw. That is, downstream of the mic, we compress that signal or delay it or reverberate it or EQ it or even pitch correct it -- usually combinations of those. For those enhancements to work properly, a clean vocal signal is essential. Even the bleed from an acoustic guitar in your lap is enough to confuse a compressor. Its enough to make vocal pitch correction all but unusable. Try the OM7 with your TC Helicon VoiceTone Correct and you'll hear what I'm talking about. Wonderful. You can back off on EQ and compression and especially pitch correction to where they sound completely natural. This is because the device isn't having to hunt through (or average in) a haystack of off-axis sound to find your voice.

    And this is not just a deadened mic. It's VERY lively and sweet sounding. It picks up the faintest harmonics of your voice, but only your voice. I've read that you have to concentrate on your mic technique with the OM7. I haven't found that. Stay within 20 degrees of axis and within 10 inches and this mic will pick you up fine. Basically, any non-drunken, non-dancing-idiot singer will find their mic technique perfectly adequate. This is the best live-vocal microphone made today. It will make the rest of your gear operate the way it was intended. EASILY worth what they want for it.

  • from Austin, Tx January 16, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist, Guitarist, Vocalist, FOH Engineer

    The Mic For A Vocalist In A Loud Band

    Like most of us, I've been singing through an SM58 since I was able to afford a decent mic, They're great mics that sound really good and can take a beating. I've got a couple in my mic locker from the 80's that still sound fine. But let's face it, that's technology that's been around for more than a few years.

    After I switched over to and IEM system, I've become very aware of what my mic is picking up besides my vocal. And in the arena rock band I'm playing bass in now, I've got a drummer right behind me that had two settings...loud and Hiroshima. With the 58, he's as loud in my in ears and I am. Now, when we're on our own production I can count on my FOH engineer to adjust the gating. But, when we're on a house system, I can't count on that. So I decided to fix the problem at the source.

    I got turned on to the Audix OM7 by two different house sound engineers in the Austin, Tx area that I have tremendous respect for. I'm usually a stickler for bringing my own vocal mic when I'm on a house system, but one of these guys saw my situation and suggested trying the OM7. Since I knew this guy to be one of those rare house sound guys that actually cleans the mic screens, I agreed.

    Aw geez...what have I been missing...

    I won't go into the geek details on why this mic does what it does. Let's just say that when you're on top of this thing, it's extremely responsive to what it hears. But if you back away a few inches...it's going to ignore you. All of a sudden...my "not so delicate" drummer was not the dominate thing in my IEMs.

    And here's another bonus that you're not going to find in the spec sheet...this mic made me sing more correctly. What I mean is that I really had to sing from the diaphragm to push through. Wow...who would have thought a mic would do that for you. Keep in mind I've never been formally trained as a vocalist. This is one of those things I knew I should be doing, but wasn't. And, son of a gun, I'm singing more on pitch now that I've got proper breath support. Cool beans.

    Now, fair disclosure. If you're a mellow singer in an acoustic duo, you don't need this mic. There are other fine mics that would be better suited for you. But if you're in a loud rock band, or if you're a singing guitarist with an amp right behind you, then this mic is just what the doctor ordered.

    By the way...the top end on this is one of the clearest for a dynamic mic that I've ever heard. And yeah, I know...it's 2x the cost of a 58.. But for me, well worth it.

  • from Mount Pleasant, PA October 8, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer, Musician

    Exactley what you need for Live Sound

    This mic does exactly what it says. For off axis rejection I don't know if you can do any better. And the tone from the mic is exceptional. If you are using SM-58's you need to throw them in the garbage and buy some of these. I was previously using sennheiser 835's and will never use them on a lead singer or singing drummer ever again. Also, used it in the studio on a screaming metal singer...results were fantastic, the low output makes it work almost similar to a shure sm7. Make sure you have some gain because it is very low output.

  • from Boston Ma. USA July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    Audix OM7

    I recently purchased an Audix OM7, primarily because of high praise on Takbass. For the most part I've been very pleased. I find it to be a very clear and articulate mic. It does require good mic technique, you need to be right on it. My only complaint is that because of the low output, once you get the volume adjusted for your channel if the overall PA volume needs to be adjusted, especially turned down, you need to readjust the gain on your channel. I play smaller clubs with a modest PA system.

  • from Morgantown WV July 2, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound

    OM7 and male vocal

    I never had any problem with gain as posted in reviews on other sites. Some people prefer one brand as opposed to others. If your trying to cut down on noise this is the one you want. If your vocalist handles the mic you'll be good. If you have a singing guitarist you will probably need to instruct them to stay up on the mic. It is tight and makes a big difference. Once they get familiar with it and hear the results they won't want anything else. Responds well to eq or digital effects and found myself using less eq than with an OM2.

  • from Salem OR June 5, 2017

    OM7

    Recently used the Audix OM7 to do scratch vocal tracks, it was very good almost used instead of the
    studio's expensive condenser mics. Sounds great live, built like a tank. nice to have a couple of these for
    louder stage volume, live shows. Also have OM2's, OM5's, Beta 58,57, sE V7, V3 etc

  • from Chicago April 1, 2016

    It's What they say it is...

    This mic is great for practicing in a small room where sound can bounce around a lot and cause all sorts of feedback issues. The hypercardioid effect works as advertised, which is great for me because I practically eat the mic when I sing anyway. 8^)

  • from Detroit Lakes, MN October 28, 2015

    Durability questionable

    I was impressed by the clarity of the OM7 from the start: Our bass player bought one as an upgrade after reading the reviews. I was disappointed by the amount of feedback it allowed (we play in front of Bose towers--at least we try to. Not so much with this mic). And, in less than 6 months of fairly light use it has basically quit working (some kind of loose connection within, resulting in crackling and signal loss.) For male vocals, the sound quality is excellent, but no way is it worth the money. Maybe we got a lemon.

Questions about the Audix OM7?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway