0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Martin OM-1 GT Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from Lexington, KY USA January 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro/Noodler

    Phenomenal

    This is a great guitar. Sound is solid, though the tone is a bit bright for my tastes with the stock strings. Construction, fit and finish are essentially perfect. Mine had a fair amount of figuring on the top which looks fantastic and there are no cosmetic issues I can find. The set-up was nice as well and I'm sure this is due equally to Martin and the Sweetwater people. Both fingerpicking and flat picking are viable though there is a muddiness that show up when you really dig in; if you are careful, however, you can adjust your strumming habits to fit.

    It's a good guitar, case is solid, it's made in the US and it's under a grand.

    Woo.

  • from Lamar County, AL USA January 14, 2014

    The Martin OM-1 GT is at home on the stage as the back porch

    I've been playing a Taylor Big Baby for a few years. Several months ago I decided to go up a notch or two in quality and started searching the internet. For a long time I went back and back to the Taylor Grand Concert 312 but would not commit to it. Then I flirted with the Sea Gull folk acoustic. Finally I checked Martin although I'd always been a little intimidated by that venerable brand. And found the OM-1 GT. It has all the features I wanted: a slightly (1/16") wider neck than the Taylors and a shape that make it easy to play; a deeper body that gives a richer sound; and at a price that I could justify at my intermediate skill level. An extra surprise was the welcome and support Martin provided after I registered it. And a special thanks to Brandon Eden and Sweetwater for making an anxious transaction less so; for the sturdy packaging and rapid shipment; and for their after-sale support and backup.

  • from Springfield Mo January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Intermediate/advance player

    Incredible combo of wood and imagination

    This guitar comes with a" Made in USA " label and it plays that exact same way. It lives up to the Martin experience of great sound and spectacular quality... I surely could of paid more however, I did not have too, to get a great looking and sounding Martin. Note: it also come with a very nice Martin hard-shell case from Canada...

  • from Huntington Beach, CA August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Another update for the OM1

    I have already written about the OM 1 and now I just bought an OM1GT. The new gloss top looks great and the new richlite neck is Martin's newest secret. This guitar sounds so good that it surpasses my OMC Aura and my Taylor GC8 in several ways. First it is more dynamic when playing soft and loud passages fingerstyle and when playing chords with a pick it never runs out of headroom. The bass and treble notes are incredible and this has to be the result of something Martin is doing with the construction. I think the richlite neck may be the difference I hear. There is no better sounding Martin to be had at any price and bling is all you can get for more money. I have spent hours comparing the sound of this OM1GT with lots of other Martins and Taylors and nothing sounds better. I am using it for worship, playing lots of fingerstyle, also playing classical pieces where the superior tone really shines. This is one great guitar guys and gals. And it looks very conservative and beautiful in its simplicity. The action is typical for Martins and could be lowered just a little if bar chords are used a lot, and I am not going to change one thing at this point.

  • from KY July 4, 2011Music Background:
    Intermediate Fingerstyle Player/Church Musician

    I Just Played This Model At GC

    It looked plain just hanging there on the wall surrounded by expensive Martins and Taylors but I wanted to pick it up and try it. I was pleasantly surprised at the clear tone of this guitar. It is incredibly loud for its size. I am going to buy this on as soon as Sweetwater gets them in. I played several guitars and the other one that I liked was a Taylor 314ce. This Martin has it beat when you consider quality vs price and both of them are American Made

  • from Huntington Beach, CA February 17, 2011Music Background:
    Worship leader, Blues, Hobbyist

    A true classic at a price

    This review is an addendum to my previous comments about the OM1. I have read several reviewers comments that this model is not as loud as some others and I would challenge those folks to sit in the front row with a radio shack sound meter and listen to the OM1 compared to other instruments. Use no amplification and you will find very little difference in the db reading or headroom. That said I have been alternating the OM1 with my Martin OMC Aura and the only differences are subtle either strummed or finger picked. The Aura brings many compliment from the audience for it beautiful appearance, and if you can afford one this is my choice under $4,000 dollars, but if tone and a classic look meets your taste then go for an OM1

  • from Huntington Beach, CA September 16, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Classical, Worship Leader

    What a surprise

    I have played steel acoustic for about 6 years and prior to this I played classical for about 5 years ,10 years ago. I lead worship in small groups at church, and I am working on my fingerstyle technique at home for my own pleasure. I have probably owned over 20 high end guitars over the years including a Taylor 914, a Taylor 814, three Taylor 414's, a couple of Laravees, and a couple of Washburns. Presently I play a Martin OMC Aura that I like very much. I bought the OM1 because I wanted a work guitar to use in groups and on stage that I wouldn't fret over ( no pun intended).
    So what a surprise to find that the OM 1 sounded as good as the OMC Aura and maybe a little better on the trebles. Both guitars are louder than any of the Taylors I owned. Taylor makes great guitars don't misunderstand this review. They just sound a little brighter which is a matter of taste.

    This guitar has very understated look to it and for some reason is much lighter than any other acoustic I have owned. The lighter something is the more it vibrates all things being equal. The satin finish may help as well as the bolt on neck plus of course the nice sitka spruce top and the African mahogany back and sides.. Martin really has a winner here and the OM 1 probably will cut into the sales of their higher end OM instruments when the word gets around.

    The action is perfect as well as the oval neck shape. It has good chrome or nickel plated tuners. I would like a pick guard that didn's show scratches and a strap button made out of metal. Also a strap button on the neck would be nice, but not necessary. The case is not the most expensive like a Gieb style, but it is okay.

    I have played several of Martin's performer signature series OM style guitars costing upwards of $5,000 dollars, and while there are subtle differences the OM 1 would hold its own in a blind comparison with any of them.

    This guitar is all about tone, and if that is what you are looking for, look no further. It's beauty is in it's tasteful construction and appearance.

    Good job Martin.

  • from Pueblo, CO USA March 13, 2012Music Background:
    Recording and live sound. Novice musician.

    And the winner is the OM-1 GT!

    As a novice player, I found I wasn't making any progress with the guitar I've had for the past couple of years. I finally realized the string spacing at the nut was too narrow for my fingers. After spending a ridiculous amount of time on research, the OM-1 GT was my choice. Here's why.
    While the neck is only a sixteenth of an inch wider at the nut, Martin seems to make better use of that space (5/32" wider from E to E). The first time I tried this guitar, it was obvious this was going to be much easier to play. Everything just came together. The OM size just tucked under my arm and welcomed being played.
    As an audiophile and "sound guy" for several decades, the sound had to be great. The base is tight, mids are smooth and the top end is open and detailed. Of course, it doesn't have quite the depth of a deadnought but compared to any OM sized guitar I tried, this was easily the best. My wife (the real musician in the family) picked this guitar the first time I played one.
    After all the research, I came back to Sweetwater (as I have for the past 10 years) to make the purchase. The action was perfect and this guitar seemed to sound just a little bit better than the others I tried. One downside is that the neck is not as smooth as guitars with solid wood necks. Guess my next Martin will cost a little more but in the mean time, the OM-1 GT will get a lot of use and have a permanent place in my collection.

  • from ohio January 21, 2010Music Background:
    worship and live sound

    The OM-1

    Tried this guitar at a local guitar shop. I'm a Taylor fan so I was pleasantly surprised at this guitar for its cost vs. sound quality. The playability is much nicer than my Taylor 210e. Not as loud as my Taylor, but for fingerstyle, it beat the Taylor. I've thought about buying this guitar and adding a Fishman rare earth to it for worship services. Much more comfortable body style than my 210e. But....I'll have to save up cuz I'll never get rid of my Taylor. They are the best.

  • from October 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Collector

    1 out of 25

    Picked up this guitar at the Sweetwater facility in Indiana, in their acoustic room, played like butter, and after having tried about 25 others, new this one was for me. Priced reasonably also for a Martin.

  • from Phoenix, AZ October 7, 2010Music Background:
    Accomplished Amateur

    Easily Worth Twice as Much!

    I bought this as I always wanted a smaller bodied "orchestra" type guitar. I looked at Taylors, older (US made) Guilds, etc. I currently have a Guild DV-52 and a Guild D-40, but again, I wanted a smaller bodied guitar to play also.

    I hesitated due to the laminated neck, but after reading a lot of reviews on it's merits, I took the plunge and bought this really dynamite axe.

    It's tone is absolutely stunning (for true finger picking). It is made in Nazareth, PA; it's all solid wood (with the exception of the laminated neck), and it has a lifetime Martin warranty, all for under $ 1,000!! Oh, it also includes a nice (not great) Martin case as well.

    After all my concerns about the neck, it is a real joy to play. The neck is perfect, smooth, and fits my hand better than a custom made glove. The finish on the guitar is minimal, and there is no bling. It is a true musical instrument.

    I don't know where you can buy a US made, lifetime warrented, solid wood 6 string acoustic guitar for under $ 1,000 (even older Guilds are getting well above that on the used market).

    This is a finger picking guitar and not a strummer. It is for people that enjoy playing a well built, great sounding, easy playing guitar. The neck is maybe a 1/4" wider than my Guild, and that's OK, as it is easier for finger picking.

    Tone is really quite good considering the price point. It is somewhat muted (due to the smaller body) but it's response is quite good over the entire sound spectrum. It's not as loud or as "ringy" as the larger bodied dreadnoughts, but it is very very nice for the orchestra or parlor style guitar.

    This guitar is very sensitive to the type of string that is used, you just have to find what works the best for you. I've settled on Martin SP extra lights, but that's just my choice.

    If I were to describe this guitar in as few sentences as possible, I would call this a well honed tool, and not a flashy, showy, axe. If you are even considering this guitar, buy it, you will never, ever be disappointed. I actually play this more at home than my DV-52 of D-40 Guilds.

  • from Michigan July 1, 2013Music Background:
    Former rock and roller.

    Marin OM-1GT

    I've wanted to try a Martin for a long time, and am enjoying getting to know this one.

Questions about the Martin OM-1 GT?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway