0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Boss OD-1X Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss OD-1X Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Boss OD-1X Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 4, 2016

    Best OD pedal

    I've been recording and playing guitar for 19 years. I have a Peavey JSX and Carvin 4x12 cab loaded with rocket 50s. I recently bought the OD1-X at a local music store to add another dimension to my recorded guitar tones.
    This pedal blows me away! I put it in front of the clean channel on my JSX and wow, best distortion sound I've ever recorded. It is smooth and articulate, every note punches through even with the gain cranked. I wouldn't compare it to any other pedal, including the Ts9. No words describe the difference between this pedal and other OD pedals, it is pure tone and dynamics.

  • from North Carolina July 25, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior!

    UnReal!!

    Hooked this thing up to my Marshall tube amp and Gibson! I was blown away!! My first OD pedal, I never knew the great sound you could get and this pedal nailed it!!

  • from Annapolis, MD October 15, 2014

    Best. Overdrive. Ever.

    I just unpacked and played through this pedal for the first time and all I can say is WOW. This will effectively replace both my TS9 Tube Screamer and my MXR Custom Badass '78 Distortion on my pedalboard. I don't know what witchery Boss has crammed under the hood, but this thing sounds great at any setting and can handle chords more complex than I-V power chords. I've never met a distortion/overdrive that likes major/minor thirds, sevenths, even ninths, until now. Tone controls are super responsive, allowing silky smooth singing leads or ice-pick screams if you want 'em.

    I'm running various humbucker equipped guitars through this into a tube amp set for a slightly dirty clean tone. My Les Paul with Duncan '59s is absolute heaven with this pedal.

  • from Port Charlotte, Fl. July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Boss OD-1X

    I'm a staunch owner of Boss and Roland products, mostly processors, I'm really impressed with the wide range of tones the OD-1X is capable of. Notes don't get muddy even when playing chords. Not the older OD-1 but rather a whole new dimension of tones ranging from smooth blues to on the edge metal. Can't go wrong with this bad boy, it's the BOSS!

  • from September 29, 2015

    WOW!

    Wow what a great OD pedal. I got this pedal to push a 1985 Marshall JCM800. Holy smokes it just puts it over the edge. Great tones all around hard to pick just one setting. I tried a few other pedal but this one has found a home. As we all chase the perfect tone this will put you on the money or at least real close.

  • from Ada, OH September 28, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    New generation Boss stomp box

    I purchased this to replace a Boss SD-1 super overdrive pedal in a Boss pedalboard. The SD-1 is one of Boss's least expensive pedals, and while it has a juicy tone, it has a poor-to-signal ratio. Had my first gig last night with the OD-1X, and I am very impressed. I run Strats w/single coils through a Mesa Express, so noise can be a problem at times. The OD-1X has a wonderfully smooth, focused tone, and is very sensitive to dynamics. Very little noise, even with the drive at 75%! Pretty much everything the Sweetwater ad (and the Boss website) says is spot-on. I highly recommend this new Boss product!

  • from Verde Valley Arizona August 8, 2015

    This little rocks!

    I have played overdrive pedals before that were squishy, and did not have the depth of tone that this overdrive has. I was amazed as how rich the drive was and how well is sustained without any break up at all. This will definitely be in my arsenal for years to come!

  • from Ct April 5, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur guitarist

    Boss od-1x

    I picked up this pedal offer seeing the demo with Pete thorn , it has a nice full sound and the knobs have a large sweep make it e-z to find a good tone , built like a tank, I also like the the boss design for on and off instead of a push button , I can't miss it even in the dark!! The blues setting I like more them the lead, it loses some of its dynamics in its lead settings , I have to add, this pedal can tamp a bright amp do to the the low and high frequency knobs , I would give this pedal a 5 but I think it's over priced , 99$ would be a deal ,

Questions about the Boss OD-1X Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway