0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Antelope Audio Isochrone OCX Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Bob Mondok

    This is a magic box. Plug it into anything that has a digital input and it instantly sounds better. Mixes have more depth and come alive with much more detail.

  • from Chicago February 3, 2016Music Background:
    Producer

    Isochrone heaven!!!

    Pure joy!!! Thats what you hear when you use this wonderful little word clock device.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK September 9, 2014Music Background:
    who cares

    FAVORITE GEAR

    First off, this word clock is not a something you want its something you need! I do not understand word clocks but under Pro Tools HD Native 11 I was connecting the OCX with my avid i/o. It was absolutely astounding the difference. It sounded like a professional recording or so I'd like to think. Folks keep in mind, there are a plethora of things you may want, but you need to focus on your workflow and know that YOU NEED THIS. TRUST ME!

  • from Kokomo, IN January 8, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Session Player, Skeptic

    I'm a believer

    I was so used to my system problems and clocking issues that I no longer noticed them as issues. I was very leery to incorporate a piece like this at this cost. Why should I spend that amount of money on something that wont go in my signal chain??
    Oh how I was wrong. Two days and two 8 hr sessions later not one crash, blip, hickup... nothing.... Not only that its like I can hear a depth and clarity in my monitors that I had never heard before. Mixing is a joy. I will never be without this ever again.

    WHY DIDNT I GET THIS SOONER!

  • from Providence, RI March 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Guitar Player, Keyboard and Vocalist

    No Brainer

    It is simple, just buy one. Clarity, depth and it made more excited about mixing. Next Dangerous Music D Box.

    Thanks Mark Stein

  • from Cleveland, TN February 27, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer and Musician

    Why Clock?

    I listened to my Sales Engineer - Patrick, in his suggestions and this one required a lot of convincing for me. I have never thought of the need for having a clock and to shell out that money that i could do so many other things with. But he assured me the need to make my music clearer and my goal of having a top flight studio that competes commercially. Boy was he right - Top engineering friends could walk in and tell a difference. It is very evident that high end gear makes a difference in delivering what your client needs.

    The OCX does not disappoint. It blew me away and that is saying a lot coming from being so skeptical about clocking in the first place to owning an OCX

  • from Missoula, MT November 16, 2011Music Background:
    Musician with Project Studio

    Noticeable Difference

    I was very skeptical when shelling out the bucks for this unit. My rep., Paul Rowan assured me that I could return it if I kept it in new condition without racking it, etc. When it arrived, I performed some tests of playback at 44.1 from some commercially produced stems. In blind A/B comparisons, I was able to identify the OCX half of the time. When I compared test multi-track recordings made (OCX used during recording and playback vs. not) and played back at 48K, I could identify the OCX 100 percent of the time. The material was 11 tracks of drums close mic'd. The effect was clarity vs. muddiness. This is not to say that my interface's clock (RME HDSP RayDAT) is muddy, just that when combined with the OCX there is more clarity and separation. All pre-amp settings, eq, etc. was identical. Tracks were recorded back to back.

  • from Miami FL October 11, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Great piece of gear

    This is a great auddition to my studio, I'm up to 32 channels now on my pro HD native system.

  • from Saratoga Springs, NY August 31, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Happily Impressed

    I was using a Lucid GenX192 with decent results. I spoke to a few local Mastering engineers about DAC converters for my system and after a lengthy discussion and some research online I figured the first thing to do was get a better master clock. I checked all the reviews on the Isochrone OCX and they all pretty much said the same thing. I looked for as many comparisons as I could between the Apogee Big Ben and this unit also. Once I checked the actual specs between the Lucid and the Antelope I was convinced to make the purchase.
    When I got the Isochrone I did some A/B comparison with the Lucid. Just so I wasn't going crazy I brought my wife down to listen. She picked the Isochrone. When asked why she said the sound was wider and the there was more depth, you could hear everything and it did not sound muddy. That was exactly what I thought and that is pretty much what every review said also.
    Did some actual tracking with it and when I went to mix I was very pleased. The kick and snare sounded so clear, I could tell exactly where the toms were when the drummer did a roll and each cymbal seemed to have it's place in the mix, but where they should be relevant to the kit. No muddiness and being able to hear reverb tails that seemed to go on forever. Basically this unit turned my converters into crystal clear, transparent, high end converters.
    And that is a result I can gladly live with!
    I'm very happy that I added this to my setup!!!

Questions about the Antelope Audio Isochrone OCX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway