0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Boss OC-3 Dual Super Octave Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss OC-3 Dual Super Octave Pedal?

Questions about the Boss OC-3 Dual Super Octave Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Liberty, MO November 29, 2012Music Background:
    Over 40 years in the Music business as a musician, songwriter, producer, studio owner, etc.

    Roland / Boss OC-3 Pedal is a GREAT pedal.

    Like all of the Roaldn (Boss) pedals the OC-3 Super Octave delivers great sound and performance in a quality built pedal. You really can't go wrong with Boss Pedals.

  • from Longview, WA December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Beginning musician

    Excellent oc pedal and overdrive pedal!

    Contrary to another review; the oc-3 is great for down-tuned guitars; if you know what your doing. In fact I have only used it w/my baritone and it sounds terrific on poly or drive mode! The only problem with using this pedal for low tunings is on oc-2 mode because it can lower the Octave by 2 (extremely low), however if you want some cool bass sounds
    for effect it works great on oc-2 as well.
    Another great durable pedal from BOSS.











    durable pedal from BOSS!

  • from Billings, MT October 22, 2006Music Background:
    Active Musician & Recording Engineer

    Awesome Octave Pedal!

    Before ordering the Boss OC-3, I tried out the Boss OC-2 and MXR M-103 Blue Box. The polyphonic octave feature is what led me to choose the Boss OC-3, and I'm extremely happy with my decision! This stompbox provides a stable and excellent-sounding effect in polyphonic mode, even with full chords! For a cleaner bass sound, I send its output straight to one channel of the amp, sending its direct sound through my delay-chorus-reverb chain before reaching the other channel of my amp. The results are AWESOME!!! 2-octave mode gives excellent low-end, which allows a regular guitar to do effective single-finger bass work. Drive mode is just plain fun, giving a decent distortion sound when playing single notes. My one complaint is that Boss makes their effects pedals out of plastic, rather than the metal housing I'm used to in DigiTech pedals. Boss pedals feel extremely lightweight in comparison. I do love my Boss OC-3, and am glad I purchased it! I highly recommend this little gem!

  • from SC March 14, 2016

    Fantastic octave pedal, if a little misleading

    This pedal is the best mono octave effect I've ever tried. Make sure and put this before any sound-altering pedals (including gain), and NOT in your effects loop. The OC-2 mode is great for a straight up octave (or two) on every note, as long as you play cleanly. The Poly mode is ever so slightly misleading. It's not really a polyphonic octaver, in that it gets muddy and glitches if you play two or more notes in the set octave range at the same time. You CAN play chords if you have the range set to where only the bottom note gets the octave, and this is actually a cool effect. It takes a little trial and error, but it's awesome. I could take or leave the Drive mode. It's a decent fuzz sound, but you don't get enough control over the sound. It needs tone control badly, and its not there. That being said, it's still a cool sound for some deeper, heavier stuff, but I prefer to run the OC-3 through my other drive pedals, which sounds awesome. Again, be sure and put the OC-3 BEFORE your drive pedals, and NOT in your loop.

    In conclusion: Fantastic mono octave pedal, the best I've ever tried. The tracking is fantastic, the tone is great, and the Poly mode is a cool feature. Half a star off for the somewhat false advertising, but understand this: as far as I can tell, a good-sounding polyphonic octave pedal doesn't exist. People say the EHX POGs are great, but I tried the OC-3 out next to a Micro POG, and while the POG has excellent polyphony, the tracking and tone on the OC-3 blew the POG a mile out of the water. I was NOT willing to sacrifice my tone for polyphony.

  • from Port Washington February 22, 2016Music Background:
    Lead guitarist and composer for over 50 years

    Good results with patience

    I was looking for an effect that would let me play a single riff with a bass line over a progression this worked well but routing it in my effects chain took some time to figure out as I am using two amps in stereo and a Trio pedal along with a Electro Harmoniks C9 and once I was able to get the right setup I looped it on my Boss RC30 very nice effect if used properly and mixed right. I like the distortion from my Boss ME-50 better then the settings on the OC3 I have more variables to choose from. Over all this is a fine addition to my setup

  • from SC April 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro/Semi-Pro Musician

    Rump Shaker!!!1

    I love this pedal. It's great for adding a really sweet sub-octave tone...but I use it for solos primarily through the polyphonic mode (the best mode on this pedal and most useable.) I would give it five stars except that it uses batteries ENTIRELY too quick, even for an octave pedal...get the adapter!

  • from Philadelphia September 27, 2008Music Background:
    Studio Session Player

    good for guitar or bass

    I bought this unit for my basses but like this as a guitar effect better, it gives you a variety of sounds plus the option to use for guitar or bass. I have made this one of my guitar effects and opted to go with the EBS Octobass unit, I think it has a better sound and tone reproduction due to the fact its a dedicated unit for the bass, however i still recomend the Boss unit to anone interested in this effect unit

  • from MT March 10, 2017Music Background:
    More than 5 decades in blues and rock.

    WHOLE LOTTA LOW !

    AS an owner of the previous model OC-2. I wondered about this model. Some experimenting with its
    knobs and modes was necessary. IT covers the OC-2 sounds and more. I'm not exactly sure what the poly mode does. When the DRIVE mode is used, Single note lines sound huge. It tracks well when
    bending notes also.

  • from April 15, 2016

    OC 3 octave pedal

    Sometimes it's just me and the guitar player at church and this pedal helps fatten up the sound. It took a little getting used to,but theinstructions really help finding a good setting. I would have given this 5 stars, but the "fuzz tone" sound is unusable. I'm not sure why this was put in the pedal.

  • from north carolina May 28, 2008Music Background:
    guitarist/bass player

    Not so good for down tuning

    if you play in standard tunings, this thing is a beast. the new POLY mode is the best octave programming you can get for the price range. the DRIVE selection is probably one of the best sounding overdrives BOSS makes. its everything the oc-2 was and more, the only issue i had was that if you play in dropped tunings, the tracking starts to fail just a bit, but if you're playing in drop tunings, why do you use an octave pedal?

    don't listen to the last guy about it being "made of plastic" boss makes all their pedals out of metal. they always last forever, hence the reason EVERYONE has at least one boss pedal. they never die.

Questions about the Boss OC-3 Dual Super Octave Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway