0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Fishman Neo-D Humbucking Acoustic Pickup Reviews

4.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Fishman Neo-D Humbucking Acoustic Pickup?

Questions about the Fishman Neo-D Humbucking Acoustic Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Mark Norman
    from Healdsburg April 4, 2017Music Background:
    semi-pro performer and songwriter

    Fishman Rocks

    Works awesome with my Fishman Tone D EQ Preamp I bought at the same time. Take awhile to get used to putting on the guitar and totally worth it!

  • Hal
    from Orlando May 28, 2016

    Very Nice!!!.

    Bought this after I misplaced my old Dean Markley sound hole pickup and was I surprised!. A Very Nice woody tone that enhanced the sound of my Epi Hummingbird to where I couldn`t believe it,it sounded that good!. Excellent purchase and again,Sweetwater delivered quickly. Kudo`s!!.

  • Diana B.
    from Apex, NC March 17, 2016

    Great Pickup!

    This Fishman Neo-D pickup is really great! I was pleasantly surprised when I played at our last concert and all I had to do was plug it into a main speaker output. Super tone for my Martin 000-28EC. Thank you again for the quick shipment Sweetwater.

  • Eric Utsler
    from Columbus, OH December 2, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Fishman Neo-D Humbucking Acoustic Pickup

    I bought this pickup for a Martin D-35S, which has an extra wide neck and string spacing. Other pickups I've tried never seemed to properly pick up the E strings due to the string width, but the Fishman has done a great job in not only picking up the strings, but picking them up with great string-to-string balance. The tone is wonderful and very natural, the pickup is quiet, and the size of the pickup leaves more of the soundhole open for natural tone and volume to come out from the guitar. This pickup would work well for any acoustic guitar, even 12 string! Many thanks to Stuart Niven for his guidance in helping me get this pickup...he's the best!

  • David Bailey
    from Nashua, NH October 19, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, teacher, conductor, composer

    Best acoustic guitar pickup I've used or heard!

    I used this on a gig for the first time yesterday and have to say that I am very very impressed with what a great job this did as a pickup! From the first strum of my Alvarez-Yairi dreadnaught cutaway guitar the richness and the accuracy of the tone was amazing.

    I was using this pickup with my newly purchased Roland BA-330 portable PA amp, running entirely on batteries, and this combination left nothing to be desired, sound-wise. There were no feedback issues, even though I sat right beside the amp, and the built-in cord was long enough to allow me freedom of motion.

    My only complaint is that the cord is permanently attached -- I can understand why they built it this way but I wish they had had a short cable permanently connected which could simply hang down inside the guitar body when the pickup is not being used, and then pulled out and connected to a regular guitar cable when desired.

    As it is, this pickup is very easy to install and remove (just keep a small phillips-head screwdriver in your guitar case) so the permanently attached cable isn't a big deal at all.

    I have used the Dean Markley pickup in the past (the one encased in wood that is held in place in the sound-hole with foam-rubber) and I have to say that this Fishman Neo-D Humbucking pickup is far superior.

  • ROBERT MILLER
    from WIMBERLEY, TEXAS April 23, 2014Music Background:
    HOME RECORDING STUDIO

    SWEETWATER NAILS IT AGAIN!

    EXCELLENT:
    PRODUCT QUALITY, & PRICE.
    CUSTOMER SERVICE
    FAST SHIPPING TIME.
    (AND CANDY TOO! :)
    IT DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS.

  • Delbert Hawes
    from Mississippi January 6, 2012

    It is everything it says it is

    Purchased the Fishman Neo-D Humbucking pickup because the pre-amp/ mixer on my Yamaha acoustic/electric was working intermittent. The install takes as long as it takes you to put those two screws thru the two tabs,slide it in hole and snug it up. Plugged into my Marshall AS100D. Sound was solid and balanced. Best of all no batteries to change. Great job Fishman!

  • Bill Benwell
    from November 4, 2011

    clean, easy, and efficient pickup

    This pickup makes playing my Martin guitar twice as much fun. Using the slide with this pickup is also a blast.

  • Customer
    from Eugene, Oregon USA June 14, 2008Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great sounding pickup and easy to use.

    This humbucker is very easy to install. It took less than five minutes. More importantly, it sounds great - way better than the piezo electric pickups. I plugged it into an effects box and got a nice mix of accoustic steel string and electric guitar effects. It also, sounds better than using an electric guitar to mimic an accoustical guitar. The other great feature is that since it is a neck pickup at the top of the sound hole, I can finger pick without hitting a bridge pickup.

    I use customer product reviews all the time when I make pruchases so I returning the favor.

  • Mark
    from February 26, 2016Music Background:
    Casual guitar player, part time audio/recording engineer

    Fishman Neo-D

    The Neo-D Humbucker is one awesome piece of equipment! I had originally purchased the single coil Fishman unit from a local store but returned it due to the noise level and after reading reviews about the hum bucking version. I really loved the overall sound of the single coil unit but knowing that I could try get a quieter pickup convinced me to return it. The store did not have the hum bucking version so I ordered one from Sweetwater, which is always a great and easy experience. These guys are great. Got my pickup within a couple of days and was good to go. The pickup is easy to install and sounds awesome and is quiet. The only issue of course is the cord hanging out of the sound hole but I accept this as part of needing the pickup for use on a few different guitars without committing to putting hard wired pickups on some of my less expensive guitars that I still like to play and record with. Again, the sound is amazing but the hum bucker is somewhat darker and fatter sounding that the single coil but this is to be expected from these two styles of pickups. One (the single coil) has great clarity and depth but comes with the price of some hum, the hum bucker is rich and full but lacks some of that clarity like a fine piano. For me, the elimination of the noise was the kicker in sticking with this pickup. Either way they are both amazing. Fishman equates quality and this pickup has it. I love L.R. Baggs products as well, but for my purposes, this was the right pickup at the right time. As always, Sweetwater's sales and service are second to none. The only reason I gave this a 4.5 is because I actually preferred the overall sound of the single coil version.

  • Bob S.
    from Atlanta, GA February 5, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Great Pickup!

    This a great pickup for a guitar that doesn't have electronics and you don't want to change or modify your guitar. I put it in my Martin 000-18GE. Installation is easy and the sounds are high quality. It kind of reminds me in sound of the original Taylor Expression system. The pickup is low output so you need to turn things up a little more to get the sound you want but for an easily installed sound hole pickup you can't go wrong with this product.

  • Dan
    from Kitchener On. June 22, 2016

    Fishman Neo-D Humbucking Acoustic Pickup

    I purchased the Fishman Neo-D Humbucking pick-up for 2 reasons. First I have Fishman acoustic naturals in 2 guitars already and I knew I couldn't go wrong with thier stuff. .Second I am using this pick up for an old Yamaha FG75 student size guitar with a small sound hole. The Neo-D just fits in, other brands were too big. .I find I get the best natural guitar tone from my PA or Acoustic amp. I might chop the cable and put an end pin jack in.

  • JKC
    from New York April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Engineer, Guitarist

    Excellent and very quiet (no noise!)

    I bought this for primarily for use with my Martin 000-15. I wanted something that wasn't a permanent install but was a step above the usual Mag type stuff. The pickup sounds fantastic, and there is absolutely no noise. I have another passive soundhole Mag pickup that will remain nameless, but it's very, very noisy. The output on the Fishman Neo-D isn't exactly loud, but that should not be expected from a passive pickup. I'm using this with a Behringer ADI21 preamp and the results are pretty sweet. The Neo-D installs and uninstalls quickly and easily using a little philips screwdriver. I like that the black color doesn't draw attention to itself either. I'm not a fan of creme colored soundhole pickups, so I'm happy this one is just plain old black. Very pleased.

  • Phil Pearson
    from Norman, OK March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Home hobbyist

    No surprises.

    Very nice pickup. Low noise. Easy install. Stays in place. Humbucking works as advertised. I put it in a Martin, a Big Baby Taylor, and an old cheap Yamaha. Worked great every time. I have a lot of confidence in Fishman, they haven't let me down yet. No regrets.

  • TERRY MCGRATH
    from CHICAGO January 10, 2014Music Background:
    GUITARIST

    NICE AND SIMPLE

    REALLY NICE , NO FEEDBACK, EASY INSTALL, PORTABILITY. A PRODUCT THAT DOES WHAT IT SAYS AND DOES IT WELL. THE CABLE IS REALLY NON-INTRUSIVE

  • Jennifer
    from Portland, OR USA February 18, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    overall pleased

    This is the first pickup I've ever used for my guitar, and overall I'm pleased with it. It's also really easy to install on the guitar...just clamp it on and tighten the screws. I think it's a good value for the price, and I have no regrets about buying it.

  • Steve
    from oakland November 30, 2008Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    Good pickup for the money

    First I have to say the customer service at Sweetwater is top notch! I bought this pickup to use with my Martin D15. I gig with a band at least once per month and found that using a mic for the acoustic guitar was great for the natural true acoustic sound. However, I could never acheive the right balance and the guitar never sounded loud enough (feedback problems too!). So, I bought this on recommendation as I did not want to drill into my guitar. It's so easy to install - takes about all of 30 seconds. The sound is nice and balanced. The tone sounds somewhat acoustic, but not as pure as putting a mic in front of the guitar. The best thing to do is combine the pickup with a mic. I have yet to hear an acoustic guitar pickup that has the pure acoustic tone. But for volume if you play with a drummer like I do, it's a good idea to get a pickup. This one does the job and sounds pretty darn good.

  • Steve
    from Oceanside, CA January 9, 2017Music Background:
    35 yrs playing

    needs more treble

    Install was easy. It works. But the sound is uninspiring, lacking treble. Even after cranking the highs on my mixer. Maybe I should have bought the single coil.

  • Mike Webb
    from INDIANA September 21, 2016

    Fishman Neo-D Pickup

    Should have just invested in a powered system, have to turn my amp to at least 8 and not happy with that. Sure no falt of the guys at sweetwates,they have been great ,I should have just done more research I guess,now guess I need a pre-amp

Questions about the Fishman Neo-D Humbucking Acoustic Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway