0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

iZotope Nectar Reviews

4.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
  • Doc One of 2MK
    from Utah October 15, 2013Music Background:
    Rapper,producer, engineer

    very satisfied!

    Nectar works wonders when mixing your vocals. I'm a hip hop artist and this is all I use now. Sweet waters customer service is best I've experienced so far.

  • MikeDoesVoices.com
    from Los Angeles, CA USA May 13, 2013Music Background:
    Voice Over

    Save your money and BUY this plug in!!!

    Ok, so I purchased this plug in (for vocal processing for Voice Over) after the 10 day trial expired and have been happy ever since. Similar plug ins cost 2-3 times as much and aren't as user friendly as this one. The geniuses at iZotope have really done a great job and I highly recommend this product.

  • Ed
    from Kansas October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Electronic technician,Ham Radio, Broadcast Engineer, Home Studio Hobby.

    NECTAR is the Right Stuff !

    Great Gear! It will cause you to go back and remix all your recordings that contain vocals. The limiter saves a lot of gain editing and time. The presets select about everything you need and put it right in front of you, but you still have the option of fine tuning with the advanced settings. You immediately notice that the vocals are clean and are on top, but not loud.
    The real time audio spectrum analyzer on top of the EQ trace is a plus.
    So far, no complaints, but still a lot to learn. My son and I have been recording for 10 years, and we us NECTAR on the vocal tracks and nothing else. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to greatly improve their vocals.

  • David Fisher
    from Nashville,TN,37209 June 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, since 1975-guitar-teacher-writer-performer

    my review of Nectar

    really awesome, does everything i needed for vocal processing,
    for my vocal tracks, for live vocals, and for cocal processins for doing guitar lessons in skype
    Brendan recommended it to me, he doesn't miss the mark
    it's a great product

  • Ray Murphy
    from Austin, Texas April 17, 2012Music Background:
    Post Production Studio Owner, VO Talent, Creative Writer, Producer.

    A real time saver

    I love "buttons and knobs", and the art of sculpting a project .
    However there are times when you're under the gun Nectar
    provides a fast fix plus, has some very unique sounds with just a click
    that otherwise would take a long while to achieve.
    Often just a couple of clicks and my VO is complete.
    Giving me more time to help the drummer find his keys!
    lol.

  • Stephen Baer
    from TX March 28, 2012Music Background:
    Audio production for radio, budding narrator for audio books.

    Love it!

    Nectar is simple, powerful, seriously productive and adaptable. I wish all software could be so wonderful.

  • Dan McDowell
    from Brownwood, TX, USA March 12, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Musician

    Quality Product

    There is no getting around it, IZotope has nailed it this time. Having recently purchased Ozone and being very impressed with both its power and ease of use, I could not help but investigate further the newly acclaimed Nectar. Combining a variety of basic vocal plugs and organizing it in such a simple manner definitely makes the product marketable to the most novice of users in the home studio all the way up to the Butch Vig's or Howard Benson's of our time. Do the trial first, ten days with this on your vocals and you will never turn back!

  • Michael Binder
    from Boulder CO August 13, 2011Music Background:
    Record Producer

    adds nice vocal exciter desser

    at first I didn't realize there was a way to tweek the presets.
    I thought it sound good but when I started adjusting the comp and limiter settings I was able to get the sound I was looking for.
    you have to tweak the settings in advance settings because the presets do not account for recorded level.
    This has replaced 5 waves plugins that I have used for 10years.
    Awesome!!
    I love dialing in my UA1176 mic pre when this plug in is running.
    The eq is really nice and it adds a nice exciter fx on the vocal.
    good stuff for sure!!
    Def worth the price.
    If you don't know how to use comp limiters and eq this is not for you.

  • TomC
    from Chicago, IL August 3, 2011Music Background:
    Freelance Engineer

    Quick and Easy!

    Nectar is a great tool for achieving great results in a short amount of time. The presets cover a wide range of starting points and produce excellent results. I just recorded a conference for a client and had to mix it down to 2 tracks and provide a CD for the client. Yes I could have used some of my mastering tools, but for what I needed to accomplish in the timeframe needed, Nectar was perfect and allowed me nice profit margins.

  • Kerry Shead
    from Elkhart Indiana July 7, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Amazing Vocal Savior

    Amazing results going from grungy vocal tracks I had previously to complete sweetness with Nectar.
    It takes a ton of load off your CPU.
    Great transparent reverbs, Great functional presets, fully tweak able.
    You no longer need to buy fifty million effects for your vocals.
    You no longer need to look at the stuff thats twenty times the price.
    Nectar does it all today!

  • Tim Casey
    from Boston, MA April 16, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, producer, musician

    Plug'n'play vocal glory...

    This plug in delivers the goods - pick the style you're looking for, and it makes the vocals sound pretty darn close to perfect. There's an "advanced" view that gives you more tweaking control, which is helpful if you're experienced with processing vocals - if you already know what you're doing, you'll need to tweak to be satisfied. And if you are new to recording and mixing vocals, this plug-in will be your swiss army knife.

    1/2 star off for the breath control, though. It does a great job of enhancing the breath, but it's so CPU intensive that it makes the vocals a 1/4 note later than everything else in the song. Hopefully you can print the effect and the results will still be lined up properly.

  • Emilio Pabon
    from Vega Baja, Puerto Rico March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    iZotope Nectar

    Hadn't used it much but so far sooo good. It's convenient to have everything you need in one place and yet being able to use only what you want in some instances,

  • Sykoe
    from Detroit, MI USA February 28, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    d*** good

    You can use the preamps you have, use compression you already have or even go totally raw with it and still come out clean. Nectar if compared to hardware should have been price 199. But what the ****. It does the job yes. Thumbs up.

  • Marcus
    from United States March 11, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Artist

    Great if you learn it

    Nectar is a good plug to have BUT it takes a lil getting used to. Im not a huge preset fan but this plug does have some decent presets. The de-esser in the plug is not very good compared to others but what makes this plug good is its versatility. You can create many different settings using Nectar and achieve countless different mixes. A good tool to use for sub mixes while tracking without using a lot of plugs. Learn how to use this plug in the advanced mode and its great but dont go just slapping any old preset on your vocal tracks and calling it a day.

  • Doug
    from Maryland January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great-sounding, but beware of CPU use!

    I run PT10 on a core i7 with 4 gigs of RAM and have always had blazingly fast performance, even when running 20 or more tracks and 40 or more plug-ins. Enter: Nectar. Exit: performance. If I use Nectar on more than 3 channels at once, PT10 comes to a standstill and tells me I'm out of processing power, even with no other plug-ins activated. Nectar is ridiculously CPU-intensive. I've found iZotope Rx to be almost unusable as well; most auditioning is filled with skips and hang-ups, and processing takes a ridiculously long time. What are these guys thinking??

  • Mark J. Miller
    from Toronto, OH March 1, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, professional musician, home recording

    The great, the not-so-good and the really ugly

    I purchased Izotope's Nectar plug-in despite it being a new product with almost no Faq support or reviews.
    The only thing I had to go on were a few Youtube videos showing the features, and being a home DAW enthusiast running Pro Tools LE 8 through an 11 Rack interface, I've never had any problems with plug-ins I've purchased, even though I only have 3 gig's worth of memory running on a computer with Vista 32-bit.
    However, I've had absolutely no problems whatsoever with any of the CPU intensive plug-ins I've purchased, including the G-Force M-Tron, Native Instruments Session Strings, Superior Drummer 2.0 and all the instruments that come with Pro Tools LE 8.
    The system requirements for Nectar were very vague - even on the iZotope's website - but I assumed I was good to go, seeing how the other plug-ins run just fine with almost zero latency or problems.
    I might add Session Strings and Superior Drummer both come with cache and purge functions that drastically reduce CPU usage and work flawlessly.
    THE NOT SO GOOD: Not so with iZotope Nectar. There's no other way to put it than this - this program is a CPU hog. That's fine, and I never expected to run all of its features at once, anyway. But seeing how this product is clearly aimed at the home recording market and how Pro Tools LE8 is immensely popular, I can't for the life of me understand why this product should be so ungodly CPU intensive.
    THE GREAT: The great part is the features do work as advertised, and in mix mode latency is acknowledged as part of the process. Mix mode is where you can use the breath control and manual pitch correction, which is basically what I purchased the program for. While Pro Tools HD systems can compensate for extreme latency, on LE systems you have to compensate for latency among tracks manually.
    I like the vocal results I've gotten so far, and this program has serious tweaking power. There are dozens of pre-sets to choose from for different music styles, although I've used several as starting points that didn't exactly fit the genre. The interface is very intuitive and easy to use, and I've barely had to use the manual at all.
    The latency really is no big deal, as you just have to move your vocal track so it's in sync. You can use Pro Tools sampling rate function to help you do this or just use your ears, which is what I do.
    THE REALLY UGLY: The serious problem lies with the doubler, which is unusable in my system. In fact, if I click on the doubler function or ANY of the pre-sets with the doubler enabled I have an immediate system crash. This is a total bummer seeing how the doubler is used on 27 different pre-sets! I can't use those, either.
    iZotope acknowledged in an e-mail to Sweetwater there is a problem with the doubler on certain systems causing a spike in CPU usage. iZotope also suggested I disable part of the doubler to reduce CPU usage, but this is clearly impossible because I can't get inside it! Then they recommend I "avoid using the doubler." Completely unacceptable response, and more than a little insulting to the user!
    Apparently a "fix" in the works, but until then I'm stuck.
    What I resent is this cultivation by software manufacturers in general throwing stuff out on the market and waiting for problems to happen and then developing a fix. The product should be released after it's been thoroughly tested on a variety of systems rather than using the consumer as a guinea pig. If I bought a car and only three wheels spin, I would expect a fix or my money back!
    Since this product is clearly aimed at guys like me with small home systems and the product doesn't have an adequate system requirement guideline, I find this unforgivable.
    My advice is that if you have a DAW with 6 gigs of memory or more you are probably OK. Other than that, I would stay away until iZotope addresses the problems.
    Kudos to Sweetwater for helping me out with this.

  • PRBroste
    from Los Angeles, CA December 26, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist Engineer, Film School Sound Designer, Gigging Musician

    Not a Fan

    I found the presets to be very heavy-handed, and felt like it was too hard to get nice subtle results. For pitch correction, I've had way better luck with auto tune. This one got confused by raspy VOX more easily. Also, the interface is painfully ugly.

  • Daniel Charles
    from Kingwood, TX August 29, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer

    Not that great

    This plug in is very easy to use, but the sound quality is terrible. The pitch correction warbles when used, even at the largest time setting. It does take a lot of CPU power to run, but my computer is robust enough to handle it. Basically, I would go with Autotune, Melodyne, or MuVoice before I went back to this plug in.

  • Paul
    from New England USA February 28, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, Drummer, guitaris, bassist, producer.

    One Size doesn't fit all

    I like that it has a million options and features but I am not happy with how it sounds overall. I have yet to find a setting I like. Some of the tools work ok if you go in and adjust them. However one their own they dont stand out in a field rich with choices.

Questions about the iZotope Nectar?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway