0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

D'Addario NYXL1046 Nickel Wound Electric Strings .010-.046 Regular Light Reviews

3.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the D'Addario NYXL1046 Nickel Wound Electric Strings .010-.046 Regular Light?

Questions about the D'Addario NYXL1046 Nickel Wound Electric Strings .010-.046 Regular Light?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Paul Tortland
    from Granby, CT February 27, 2017

    What a difference!

    I'm a long-time acoustic guitar player, and picked up electric over the past year. I've been using the Cleartone lights on a Gibson ES-339 Studio. (Tried the Elixir lights, didn't like them.) Based on some reviews I decided to try the NYXL Lights. What an amazing difference! I used them yesterday for 2 services on our church's worship team. They completely changed both the feel and the sound of my guitar for the better. Perfect tone, and the playability is awesome! They feel like butter.

  • DGB
    from OK October 6, 2016Music Background:
    I like playing,and making music.

    NYXL Strings

    I don't normally talk about strings, have tried lots of different makes,
    I have to say these are my favorite strings to date, they take some stick, bend , very stable , keep there tone for a long time, they feel good and sound great. My only small criticism is
    I wish they were a little cheaper .
    Other than that these are first class Strings very musical.

  • Robert
    from Brunswick, Georgia July 21, 2015

    The best!

    These strings stay in tune better than any I've used. The output level is greater also. You get what you pay for with these strings...not just hipe!

  • Patrick Shultz
    from Spring Hill, TN December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    WOW!!!

    I received a set of these during the Beta test for D'Addario, and all I can say is WOW!!! Cannot rave about these strings enough. I have always used D'Addario strings and never had any idea they could get better...I was however, wrong. These are standard on all of my guitars.

  • Aidan Snyder
    from Rochester, NY July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Singer, Pro Musician

    Five sets instead of One

    I had been waiting awhile for sweetwater to stock these strings because I love their service. When I ordered these strings, I was only expecting one set. However, what I got was a box that had a total of 5 sets of NYXLs! Thanks Sweetwater!!!!

  • Customer
    from April 5, 2017Music Background:
    I've played guitar for 17 years.

    Sound great and will stay in tune!

    People here are saying they won't stay in tune. Most likely its not the strings. Check the nut. There are great products out there to lubricate the nut like big bends nut sauce. It works great much better than lead or chap stick.

  • Customer
    from Theresa, WI February 24, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist and homer recorder

    Very Nice

    Very nice strings overall. Very little break in time. Feels great to play. Excellent tone. These are my new go-to strings.

  • Brandon Skarsten
    from Missoula, MT July 28, 2015

    Great Strings

    Fantastic strings. For me and my body chemistry the strings hold up very well and do not corrode. Bright and articulate and holds tuning very well. New set of strings I only have to stretch and re-tune once and they are locked in.

  • Don Kuchta
    from United States August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great Sound and Feel

    Excellent sounding strings. Lots of clarity and ring. Great feel when I bend strings.

    Two issues:
    1. Might need to change more often then regular strings. I felt they went "dead" quicker then my Ernie Ball Regular Slinky.
    2. A bit pricey.

  • Daniel Halbrooks
    from Arab, AL July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, and EDM Hobbyist.

    Great strings, but maybe too much hype.

    I think these strings play good, feel good, etc... However if you ever play without an amp, (example: Recording into Ableton, but not monitoring due to latency) these things buzz a lot. I trust my guitar was setup correctly at Sweetwater when I purchased it, and when behind an amp they sound great and stay in tune pretty well.

  • Customer
    from Alabama December 20, 2016

    Overrated

    Tried these twice. Once on a Schecter Blackjack SLS C-7 and once on a Fender American Standard Strat. Didn't care for them either time. They're not horrible, they're just not all that and a bag of chips like a lot of people (especially endorsees) tend to describe them as. Soundwise there just seems to be something that is "off" about them. They kind of sound ever so slightly muddy to me. Tuning is about average too, I don't really see too big of a difference in that department.

  • Rashid Sivaji
    from United States December 27, 2014

    Won't stay in tune

    They sound amazing but they wont stay in tune and it really ****** me off

  • LCLI
    from LI July 23, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro

    10-46 G string problems

    I find the G string in the 10-46 set is tinny and seems like it doesn't belong with the other strings in the set. B & E sort of tinny, but the lower registers sound great.

  • Steve Waite
    from Shelton CT November 21, 2016Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 40 years and counting...

    Tuning Issues

    I love the feel of these strings and want to use them, but I can't seem to keep them in tune. Several others have commented on this problem as well. Not sure why they won't stay in tune, but will have to use other strings.

  • Customer
    from Atlanta, GA May 8, 2016

    Tuning Issues

    After stretching them and playing for 8 hours they still won't stay in tune.

  • Brass Slowhand
    from Northshore Lake Superior, MN, USA March 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist and play six strings & keyboad & Hammond organ.

    Brittle & snap EZ

    I thought... Oh WOW! Such a perfect string...
    according to the hype. I bought a set of these
    and they sound terrific. The problem I had was
    they are very brittle! First about a week ago,
    the B-String snapped off at the bottom of the
    guitar. I thought it was a fluke... thought nothing
    of it. The NEXT WEEK the wound A-String
    did the same. The string is still intact as the
    winding-coil is holding two separated core
    wires. I am going back to my trustworthy
    and proven reliability of the D'Addario
    blue boxed EXL110 Regular Light Gauge
    XL Nickel Wound. I have NEVER had one
    break yet! I use a .010-.046 size.
    I am terribly disappointed in the NYXL
    durability. Very.

Questions about the D'Addario NYXL1046 Nickel Wound Electric Strings .010-.046 Regular Light?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway