0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Yamaha NTX1200R - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha NTX1200R - Natural?

Questions about the Yamaha NTX1200R - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Huntington Beach, Ca. October 24, 2016Music Background:
    Fifty years of noodling, classical, rock and everything in between.

    Back to the future..

    I love this guitar! I've only had it for a week but the bond with it grows deeper each time I pick it up. Bought it on kind of a whim, just something to add to my collection. But I soon realized this thing was taking me back to the classical style of playing I learned years ago. It has gently forced me to find that voice again after years of playing with a pick. (It would seem obscene to use a pick on her!) As noted by others, her voice unamplified is a bit quiet but just glows when you plug her in. And the controls (dual pickups) make for a wide range of tonal colors. The guitar seems to want to go into tune and stays there once you tweak it a bit. Get one you won't regret it.

  • from Japan August 8, 2016

    NTX 1200R

    Now that I've been playing it for 6 months, I can truly say how much I really enjoy this guitar. It plays superbly. A bit quiet when used alone, but when utilizing the electronics, WOW. It really sings!!

  • from Murphys, CA March 10, 2016

    Yamaha NTX 1200 R

    This guitar plays great plugged or unplugged and the feel is marvelous. I read a previous review about the cost for a foreign made guitar, but this guitar has it all. Also I just read in Taylor's Wood and Steel 2016 Volume 4, page 4 that Taylor Guitars are soon to be manufactured in, you guessed it , Tecate, BC, Mexico. Will that curb your appetite for a Taylor? I doubt it.

    So just enjoy this guitar for all its beauty and playability!

  • from August 6, 2015

    NTX1200R

    The tone is incredible, it speaks when it's played! Amplified it does well also

  • from October 28, 2014

    So amazing!!!

    Amazing sound! Lots of fun to play with this guitar! I used to play steel-string acoustic guitar, so the 14th-fret cutaway body makes the play comfortable!

  • from Victorville, CA July 17, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Yamaha ntx1200R

    This guitar is cosmetically beautiful. Very good craftsmanship. It plays like a dream right out of the box. Very nice even tone acoustically with no strange overtones so common in classical/flamenco guitars. Amplified it's the truest sounding guitar I've ever played let alone owned. The pickup system picks up everything you do weather its tapping on the top or just hitting the strings real hard. For flamenco it's great because it's bright and snappy and for classical it's nice if you eq out a lot of the highs. Action is a good happy medium between good classical and good flamenco action. The case is something between a soft shell and a hard shell that cradles the guitar very well. Over all I'm very happy with the guitar and when you consider it's an all solid wood guitar for under $1000 you can't go wrong.

  • from September 30, 2016

    Yamaha NTX1200R

    very nice guitar. this isn't a classical guitar......the neck and playability are clearly intended for modern styles (metheny, etc....) i play jazz mostly w a pick and the action was too high for my style but it was easily lowered by reducing the saddle height......the playability is very good.......difficult chords and fast runs are well articulated.........the electronics are excellent.....for those without experience with acoustic/electrics, it is important to use the correct amp to get a good sound. the marshall acoustic amps are surprisingly excellent. i used one for many years and it finally died .......i bought a fishman loudbox which is designed for acoustic/electrics and playing my godin Nylon SA though it there was a lot of quacking that i couldn't EQ out.......i discovered that playing through the BOSS ME-80 pedal which has EQ in the pre-amp and main section the quacking could be EQ'ed out...............same goes for this guitar........direct into the fishman there is some quacking.......w the BOSS it sounds perfect

  • from December 18, 2016

    Great guitar in its price category

    I use this with axe fx 2 using IR cab I found for Yamaha NCX 1200R in Fractal patch/cabinet comunity. Adding mix of multi delay and reverb blocks gave a very spacious sound. I gave it a 4 rating just because I have never found a "wow blown away" acoustic yet.

  • from Connecticut May 16, 2016

    Yamaha NTX 1200R

    Some players r so on love w Brands that they cannot appreciate fit n finish. The string spacing is fine what caution you need to have with a Classical Guitar is that the strings do not touch any part of the head stock or tuning heads below them also, the strings need to pass gracefully n equidistant over the nut. The rest is action n that is a player preference. This guitar is well made n if you want a guitar for 5k go buy but a performing pro in the real world this guitar is a great working man's tool

  • from Kansas City, MO July 6, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar teacher for 10 years

    Nice guitar but made in China

    Overall this is a nice guitar and has a good sound acoustic or plugged in. I was pretty disappointed to see I had just spent nearly $1000 for a Chinese built guitar. I'm happy with it but certainly not blown away by it.

  • from New Jersey May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Professional for 22 years

    Ok But way too much money!

    This guitar is just mediocre at best. The neck feels good but the action is way too close for a nylon guitar. Most steel strings have more string space than this guitar. Overall the fact that it's made in China should price this guitar in the $400 price range to maybe $500 tops. But even $500 seems like to much money. I love a good guitar and currently own a $4000 Taylor 714 limited edition. But I'd pay $7000 for it cause it's absolutely amazing! Yamaha should definitely improve the string spacing, have a better quality top & finish on this guitar. And for good measure some better electronics would be nice!

Questions about the Yamaha NTX1200R - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway