0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Rode NTG-2 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Rode NTG-2?

Questions about the Rode NTG-2?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Dave Brow

    This is the affordable shotgun mic to use for voice-over applications. It's great at eliminating room characteristics, which helps it to capture clean announcer and dialog tracks. It's also excellent for ADR and in the field.

  • Robert Hernaiz
    from Tampa, Florida August 30, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, sound design

    Rode NTG2

    I really enjoyed putting this microphone to work on a film trailer on an open set with the actors performing their lines and capturing every word with clarity. It has made working on a set an ease and allowed for profession results without the high end costs.

  • Steve
    from United States February 27, 2013Music Background:
    Broadcasting

    Voice over

    Great price. Excellent sound! I bought this mic to take on the road. But after hearing it I use on a daily basis. If you do voice over this is a great mic to add to your locker.

  • Paul
    from June 22, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Love it!

    I've used a few "high end" shotgun mics in the past including the famous sennheiser mkh 416.
    this mic is comparable to the audio quality of more expensive mics, in my opinion, with a very low noise floor.

  • Jud D. Sloan
    from United States December 9, 2014Music Background:
    too much to mention.

    Rode NTG-2

    I am going to say this will Make more noise than the studio version NT1-A but you cab focus on your vocals from about 30"/ 76 centimeter and have A very clean focus on yourself and Guitar. Just put the mic down and point it up at the neck joint and your mouth at once. I like it because it gives you freedom with back ground cut while you play and sing. J.D.S.

  • Karen Michel
    from Upstate New York December 6, 2011Music Background:
    independent radio producer

    sweet, inexpensive short shot

    Lightweight, self or phantom powered, sharp sounding short shotgun mic. Sound is just a bit crisp, but for a fraction of the Sennheiser price, what the heck. A great addition to my on-the-go gear.

  • John Petrocelli
    from New York City (Ground Zero / Financial District) June 17, 2007Music Background:
    Hypnotist, Voice Over, Former early years CBGB punk alumni guitarist

    A Killer Microphone for web-based audio !!!

    Let me start out .. I am not a technical, hard core music fanatic .... and my ears have been slightly damaged over the years from swimming in one-too-many polluted lakes and I have spent one night .. too many in the seventies ..sitting in a front row seat on band nights in front of a stack of ear-shattering Marshal amps while the WHO ...CREEDENCE ....SPRINGSTEEN ... pulverized my ear drums to oblivion.

    Besides being a world reknown hypnotist (at least that is what the media calls me) who knows the effect
    the spoken word .. and nuances your voice can
    have on others ... I love microphones. I have
    an arsenal of them .. Shure .. Audio-Technica - Studio Projects, AKG, Rode, Sennheimer .... more than I can remember where I put them.

    I ordered the Rode to accompany my new video camera over the Audio Technica and Azden (similar prices) because the Rode NTK (for my voice) is my favorite microphone of all time. I have been testing it against 10 other classic microphones from $1,200 and less for web based audio. To be honest .. the other microphones were adequate .. but there's something about the directional quality of the Rode NTG-2 that just punched out and made you take notice when I uploaded it to the websites. It just added that 'voice of authority' that I was looking for.

    It feels weightless in my hads compared to my big tube condensers .. but still packs the kick of a mule. It even can take a battery if you don't have phantom power around.

    Man, I don't know what it is about that Rode sound. Even Australians can't believe there is a country that produces some of the finest sounding and cost saving microphones on the planet.

    A big thumbs up on this product and to Chris Lewis, my rep at Sweetwater. I love Sweetwater. I'm 2 blocks from Ground Zero in NYC and have spent a fortune with Manny's, Sam Ash and all the 48th street music stores in a 25-30 year period. The service .. man ... like have your own personal music research assistant ... All I have to do is tell Chris what I want to do, how I want it to sound and what I want to spend and Chris and Sweetwater have never let me down .... Just like this Rode Microphone.

  • Caleb Slabaugh
    from November 17, 2016

    Works well for Foley and video boom mic.

    I bought this mic for Foley. It works well for that. When I use it on a vocal it seemed to be soft spoken. I used it for video and was pleased with the results. Over all it's a good mic for the price I would recommend it for a boom mic or a Foley mic. Look elsewhere if you want a studio vocal mic.

  • A. Quarto
    from Camano Island, WA May 8, 2016Music Background:
    guitarist, sound designer, recording engineer

    Great for videography and sound fx gathering

    I chose this mic to replace a stolen Sennheiser shotgun mic. It isn't enormously different sounding, but has a slightly lower self noise, which is important to me. I wish it had an on/off button.. but I guess that costs another $100. If I were to do it all over I would choose the next model up that does have a power switch, but otherwise I am happy.

    My main usage is for raw sound effects gathering and foley recording for video games. I have used it on a few corporate video shoots now too and it does its job well. I wish it came with a shockmount. Overall, I am happy and expect it to last many years of regular use.

  • Phin percy
    from New orleans August 9, 2011Music Background:
    Nws photog

    Rode shotgun

    Usually use a Sennheiser but got this from Sweetwarer and am very happy with it. I would give it a higher rating but there is no power switch so the aa battery will drain when the mic is not in use unless you remove it

  • Cameron Fawley
    from Orlando, FL July 16, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Rode NTG-2: Transparent Mic

    Well made and surprisingly transparent. It's a standard mic to get any production job done well. I use it for sound effects recording and small films, great mic!

  • Kyle M.
    from New York, NY May 8, 2010

    Great for voice and field work

    I've used this mic for on-the-street style interviews as well as for recording in-studio and would never build a mic locker without one. It's slim profile makes it easy to travel, but also ensures that it can be placed relatively out of the way in a studio setting and still picks up great sound. For my purposes, I often pair it with an On Stage Desk Stand (SDS7200B) with windscreen for in-studio recording. All-in-all, a solid microphone and well worth a look if you're in the market for a shotgun mic.

  • Mike
    from Fishers, IN USA November 5, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Voiceovers

    I'm using an NTG2- for voiceover work at close range. Moreso than I expected, placement is everything--but in some unexpected ways. Too close and on-axis, and the proximity effect overwhelms; you get muddy and boomy. Back up more than 12" from the mic end, and you wonder whether this is a shotgun or just an average cardioid--more room tone than I expected. But work it close and 30 degrees off axis, and the upper mids open up in a way that brings clarity to spoken word and reduces plosives (which you need, since the included foam windscreen is of little use there). Then this mic sounds like more than it costs--as do most Rode models, apparently.

  • Customer
    from November 14, 2011

    Not bad for the money

    The sound quality is good, deeper voices pick up really well. I used it to interview Kindergarten to grade 5 kids and the older kids sounded good but the younger ones were sometimes drowned out by mild background noise.

  • Tyler
    from artesia, nm usa July 14, 2009Music Background:
    multi-media content producer

    Its alright

    Greater output with external 48v. Sounds best at 30deg off axis, which adversely picks up more room noise. Polar pattern is not as tight as you would expect for a shotgun mic but hey, you get what you pay for and this mic is affordable. Doesn't sound half as good as an expensive Sennheiser.

  • Bruce Miller
    from Sartell mn August 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist Recording Engineer, Hobbyist Live Sound Engineer, Hobbyist Musician

    Rode NTG-2

    definitely NOT even close to a profession (or even prosumer) level mic .... I guess you get what you pay for ...

  • Matthew Eschbach
    from Bellingham, WA USA September 27, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Location Recordist

    Poor Quality Control

    Based on the number ratings that Sweetwater gives with a 2.0 being "Ok, Average", I've given the NTG-2 a 1.5. I had rented them before when I needed something more directional than my other mic for location shoots, and when I started getting electrical problems in my main mic I had to find a replacement fast before an upcoming shoot. The NTG-2 fit my budget, and knew from past experiences that although it wasn't the best sounding mic (I believe the bass frequencies are inflated quite a bit), that it was directional enough to prove efficient for location shoots.

    As always, Sweetwater was very dependable with their processing and shipping and I got the microphone (literally) a few hours before my shoot. I was able to return the NTG-2 I was renting and continue with my new one. However, when I hooked it all up on set, an eerie and disturbing high frequency whine was unbearably noticeable in my ATH-M50s. I tried all the inputs on my r-44, both with phantom power, and without while using a AA battery in the mic. I also tried with different headphones, and different XLR cables. I put on the added rubber grommet to prevent the XLR from moving at the contacts. I changed the batteries. And finally, I tried different mics. The only thing to stop the noise? A different mic.

    In conclusion, I'm upset with the quality control by Rode and that I somehow got a microphone which such an audible problem. It makes me wonder what other quality control problems may be slipping by. Even from my past experience with properly functioning NTG-2s I wouldn't say that the sound quality is Exceptional by any means. I would give it an average on it's sound quality (a rating of 2 according to Sweetwater) but this quality control problem HAS to put it below average, and I couldn't bare to give it a flat 1 rating. So, 1.5 it is.

    My sales engineer here at Sweetwater is a VERY helpful person and I have no doubt he will help facilitate a return without problems, but I have yet to decide if I will be exchanging the mic for another NTG-2 or if I will even be purchasing Rode at all. Perhaps saving up to purchase something more dependable would be a better choice.

Questions about the Rode NTG-2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close