0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Rode NT1-A Reviews

4.5 stars based on 99 customer reviews
Questions about the Rode NT1-A?

Questions about the Rode NT1-A?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from September 28, 2016

    Perfect - amazing value

    Quality of a 1000$ mic without the cost.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA September 26, 2016Music Background:
    Voice Over, Recording Studio Manager

    All The Accolades Are Already Taken

    I really don;t know what I can add to the great things being said about this mic. I do voice over, and while I've been getting gigs with the mic I already had, something was missing from the raw feed and I had to do some EQ work to get the full sound I want my voice to have.

    No more!

    For a simple test, I plugged my present mic into one channel of my DR40 recorder and the NT1A into the other channel and did a short reading. I only used the phantom power supplied by the DR40, no other enhancements. The stereo track was splint into two mono tracks, one pure Right channel, the other Left channel. In a blind test the left channel was the hands down favorite 100% and that was the Rode NT1A. It should be noted that not all the listeners were techie, some were just ordinary listeners and even they could tell the difference!

    Yeah, I'm going to be real happy with t his mic for quite some time to come.

  • from WI September 20, 2016Music Background:
    32 years of playing in bands

    Rode NT1-A Microphone

    I didn't realize how much I was missing in my recording gear until I added this mic to my collection. Hands down for the money the Rode NT1-A was a real bargain for the price paid. So incredibly clear and it made my recordings so much better. I also ordered the Tascam DP24SD portastudio digital recorder from Sweetwater and it too is a WOW 5 star rating. Great gear for the price all around!

  • from August 23, 2016

    Amazing Mic! Would recommend for you.

    These mics are exactly what I needed. If you're looking for a great mic but don't have $1000 then this is the way to go. The audio you put into it is what you get out of it, and the self noise is so low that I can turn the gain up till I get feedback in my monitors before I ever hear any hiss. I would recommend this mic to anyone, period!

  • from Ohio August 5, 2016

    Rode NT1-A

    I love this mic. It has an extremely well balanced frequency response, and has massively improved the sound of guitars, vocals, and drums in my recordings. And for the price, it is an absolute steal, fit for anyone's mic locker.

  • from July 8, 2016Music Background:
    Singer / Songwriter

    Oh. My.

    Wow. For my home studio, I spent weeks researching what equipment to buy, and spent quite a lot of time reading reviews of microphones to decide what to go with (wasn't able to test them out). At first I got the Blue Bluebird and when I recorded my vocals, I realized it heavily changed the natural sound of my voice and altered it to make it sound extremely bright, as if I had put a massive bump in the EQ. I immediately sold it, and got this mic based on a recommendation. When I recorded my vocals on this one, OH MY GOODNESS. Although it sounded very natural and realistic, it really accentuated and complemented the features of my voice, without changing it. When I listened back I was extremely happy. It really brought out the features of my voice and had an incredible quality. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to fins a mic that would do me justice, but this one really is amazing. If you're someone looking for that microphone to get started or to add to your pro studio, for your own good, get this Rode NT1A without wasting any more time. I know I won't be buying any expensive mics within the next few years with this one.

  • from June 30, 2016

    Can't be beat in this price range

    Best condenser I've heard for the price. I love it on acoustic guitars and as an overhead for drums. Very versatile.

  • from May 27, 2016

    2nd best mic ever (yet)

    totally revolutionized my sound and workflow combined with a mbox2 and pro tools 10 i feel invincible!

    what makes a mic great? to me its ability to make me forget i'm talking into one. the more it sounds like real life, the less of the mic i should hear in playback. that's a great mic, in my opinion.

    i only say this one is the 2nd best because before this i had worked with a Neumann U47... and yet, for over 3x less money, the RODE NT1A is a strong competitor with the U47 and i feel confident with using it any day, when i compare my recordings side by side, the difference between the two is barely noticeable...

    by the way, i bought this mic after using a Shure SM58 for over 3 years. it's a night a day difference even though that's no slight against Shure.

    there's just something it can't do that you need a mic like this one for. on top of everything that's great about the NT1A, it rejects bad noise very well while being sensitive to vocals to pick up everything i want in the recordings, and nothing more even though i don't have a pro recording studio or acoustic treatment.

    will i ever go back to Shure? of course it's possible, but it's unlikely.

  • from Berkeley, CA May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist and home recording enthusiast

    Excellent microphone package

    This microphone sounds amazing, providing crystal clear vocals with no coloration whatsoever. All the included extras are awesome too, especially at this price! Just the microphone alone is worth the price of admission, and having a pop filter, shockmount and high quality XLR cable is just the icing on the cake. My only minor complaint is that the microphone is heavy enough that the section of the mount that connects to a stand will not stay in place even if tightened all the way so be prepared to keep adjusting that in order to keep the microphone level. Using a high quality boom stand can help with this though. Other than that it's a great microphone with great accessories and it has substantially improved the sound of my vocal recordings.

  • from March 7, 2016

    Rode NT1-A

    This is a great mic! Do NOT let the price fool you because this is an amazing! The entire box came with everything to get started right away (assuming you have an interface, computer, and mic stand). I have used it with reggae artists, rappers, and singers. I (and they) have all been satisfied with it. That's a bit of variety when it comes to vocals that this mic sounds great with. This mic paired with my focusrite saffire pro26 interface deliver a great sound to work with. No complaints over here when it comes to the Rode NT1-A!

  • from Philadelphia February 24, 2016Music Background:
    Post cover songs on YouTube

    Love the Rode NT1-A!!

    WOW! I really love the Rode NT1-A! Great microphone! I have been using the Blue Yeti for a while and after hearing the difference on my YouTube Channel, I am so glad I upgraded to the Rode. It was also very simple to hook up to my Mac computer using the Focusrite Scarlett Solo interface. Both great products!!

  • from Scarborough, Maine September 15, 2015Music Background:
    Life long player with awesome home studio

    8th Wonder of the world!!

    Well I have never bothered to write a review before but here goes....I thought I would try this mic after seeing the positive reviews here and upon plugging it in all I can say is WOW!.....it completely blew me away with its warm tone, presence and decent proximity effect....quite simply you can't go wrong with this mic for vocals at least (acoustic instruments are going to be killer as well I just know it) especially given it's price point. Believe it or not it blew away my MA-200 and my U-87 it just sits in the mix soooo well and is a complete joy to use as it makes you sound like some great country crooner or Seal or Maxi Priest you know that kind of quality that gets your attention right away the moment you open your mouth. (Not that I'm on there level) I think I'm going to get another before they raise the price a few hundred or a couple thousand....did I mention I was impressed? LOL

  • from Dubai September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer - 10 years

    Great mic for the price

    This mic doesn't really have character but anything you put in front of it will sound like the recording. In that sense it's a very true to source microphone and bundled with the pop shield / cable its great for people starting out.

    It can be a little harsh on the highs which can be fixed in editing but overall a great mic for the price!

  • from August 27, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, Rapper, Producer, Mixing Engineer

    WOW!!!!! JUST WOW!!!!!!

    I just got this microphone today, and all I can say is WOW!!!

    Why didn't I purchase this baby sooner? The sound of this mic is awesome on my vocals. Run a couple of test on it and everything sounded amazing. Warm and Present. Let me tell you I have had a lot of microphones over the years Mxl, Neuman, Blue, Avantone, Audio Technica, MAudio, Akg, Nady, Berhinger and I can honestly say that I haven't been this happy about a microphone before. I really don't know why people say this is a harsh microphone on the hi freq, I don't get that. Maybe you guys need to learn more about how to use an Eq. But I'm just super happy with my Nt1-a.

    Thanks to Alex Morales for his service and in the near future I'm going to buy the new nt1 so that I can have two beast in my studio.

    Buy this for real you wont regret it.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA April 11, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Rode NT1-A

    I want to express my sincere thank you to my Sweetwater Sales Representative Aaron Hoff for his recommendation and endorsement of this Rode NT1-A microphone. I gave Aaron the price range I had in mind and a very brief explanation of what I intended to use it for and wallah. Simply put, I love this microphone. It was out of the box, up and running in no time, including taking the time to watch the DVD included explaining it's operation and use.

    Briefly, I have found the Rode NT1-A, a huge upgrade from my Shure SM57 and 58 microphones for home studio recording of my vocals and acoustic guitar. I am not savvy nor knowledgeable enough to technically explain why, but it's ease of use and sound quality is exquisite. A shock mount, pop screen and XLR cable was included which made the price very reasonable for the quality.

    I have been a Sweetwater customer for several years and I will remain one thanks to their High Degree of Customer Service. I have no doubt that all of the Sweetwater Reps are just as knowledgeable and helpful as Aaron, but what is so cool about buying from Sweetwater is that from my first purchase onward I deal with the same person.

    The advantages of having a person assigned to your account are many. In my particular case, Aaron knows that I am basically a guy with a hobby of writing and recording my own songs. He has made a point to follow up each purchase with a phone call and/or email to see how I like my product, are there any questions about the product, and basically how I'm doing. He never makes a sales pitch, there is no pressure to buy, it's all about my satisfaction.

    Sweetwater ships the same day and I have always received my purchase in 2 or 3 days (usually 2). So, thank you Sweetwater and Aaron, I really do appreciate the way you do business and the Rode NT1-A microphone is everything I hoped for. Customer for life.

  • from Hacienda Heights, CA March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Currently Ragtime Robert at Disneyland, 39 years before that in piano bar

    An intimidating but very friendly recording microphone

    My very first attempt at recording with the Rode NT1-A was amazing. When I listened back with the headphones my voice placement was perfectly on top of the accompaniment and when I did the piano solo turnaround the piano came right to the front and then dropped back when the vocal came in for the close. A truly brilliant product. And I love the retro look!

  • from Panacea FL USA January 28, 2015Music Background:
    None Professional just a singe amateur musician whos working on original and covers of music loving the art!

    The Rhode NT1A is A Monster Of A Mic

    well im not a professional musician or recording artist so everything ive learned over the past year about recording is all i know but what i do know is im not a rich person as a matter of fact i couldn't have afforded this mic if i wasn't working my two jobs right now so if that says anything i like to get my bang for my buck and the Rhode NT1A is diffidently that mic if you want to record vocals and acoustic guitar. As i did a little research on the mic i seen it at guitar center in person for around 250 dollars for just the mic alone, on amazon it was around 230 with the whole package no mic stand included and not including the warranty so then on sweet water it was the same price as amazon with the warranty included so i decided to go with sweet water as a first time buyer to sweet water i didn't know how awesome the purchasing processes was going to be with the best deal and great costumer service by Jeff Bohan, i will definitely be a returning customer. the mic is super clear and really full sounding i couldn't ask for better, so to sum up my review i payed around 240 dollars and got a great deal on a great mic with great customer service what more could you ask for? thank you sweet water and Jeff Bohan!

  • from Austin TX December 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pick'n and Grin'n

    Gold Dot

    I'm new to recording and mixing, so I did my research and this was the big winner that beat out even some of the big name players!...

    Everyone has SM57 and 58's, but to round out the budget/home recording studio your gonna need something to fill the gaps that the dynamics just can't spackle. Myself and thousands of others will tell you to look no further than the Rode NT1A Gold Dot. This is all the condenser mic you will ever need. It's simplicity and sensitivity make it a necessity for anyone who takes their recording dreams seriously and who want to fulfill those dreams without going broke in the process. Take our word for it... The Gold Dot will serve you well.

    Delivery was prompt, customer service was fantastic, it came well boxed, and well equipped with accessories, and a reputation and warranty that the majority of the competition is hard pressed to compete with. Rode also has excellent customer service and an active community. If your looking to buy your first condenser mic, look no further than a Gold Dot.

  • from La Vergne, TN USA November 29, 2014Music Background:
    Home Studio Engineer, Pro Musician

    Love this mic!

    Bought this mic the first time around 2010. Used it in a cheap little studio I had set up in my old bedroom at my parents house, without ever having used a studio mic before. I ended up having to sell all my recording equipment for bills some months later and didn't bother buying equipment again until a few months ago when I found a great used mixer on sale at Guitar Center. I have since gotten in a local home studio and recorded a couple of albums. The mics he had were no where near as crisp as this one and the noise from his mics drove me mad. and they weren't cheap! I immediately bought this mic again when I got home and still love the sound it produces! Everyone who has used this mic has been impressed by its quality and style. The shock mount is a little clunky and the pop filter is paper thin, but that's not what Rode is known for, so I give it a pass. I recently started using this mic to capture the room when recording guitar tracks and it does the job amazingly! It has made my recordings sound much more raw and I couldn't be more satisfied with my purchase. I recommend this mic to anyone looking to record!

  • from PA, USA November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Voice Over Actor

    Rode NT1-A

    First, Sweetwater has the best service ever. I spoke with Andy, told him what I was looking for and he recommended the Rode NT1-A microphone for my voice and the work I do. He was spot on, it is a good fit! This microphone is awesome!

  • from North Kingstown, RI November 14, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Recording and live sound engineer

    Sounds great

    Excellent low frequency response, (I record church organ concerts,) and low noise. Also sound great on vocals.

  • from Atlanta, GA November 12, 2014Music Background:
    Audiobook Narrator

    Great Deal

    I started recording the audiobook for my novel using an older Cardioid Condenser mic, but was unable to get a strong enough signal without cranking up the gain to the point of picking up far too much room tone.

    The Rode NT1-A did the trick. Perfect audio, great signal, and a fantastic value to boot.

  • from Chicago, IL, USA September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Formerly pro; rock; bass/guitar/laptop

    Excellent for Home Recording

    For the more-than-casual bedroom producer, this is a GREAT vocal mic and a superb value IMO. I run it into a Mackie VLZ3 mixer with a loop through a Behringer Tube Composer compressor - decent but by no means exceptional equipment - and record into Ableton, where I compose the rest of the tracks. The mic is well-balanced and very quiet.

    NOTE that you need EITHER Phantom power from the board OR a power supply...most decent boards have phantom power but it pays to be sure.

  • from Alabama September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Voice Actor

    Ridin' the Rode NT1-Z

    On the advice of my audio producer and Sweetwater advisor, Stephen Chamoun, I purchased a Rode NT1-A [along with a Focusrite interface, but that's another review]. The microphone and interface arrived the day following my order. I was able to install both without help, a minor miracle in itself.

    The difference in sound quality between my new mic and interface and my old equipment [which is highly-rated] was dramatic! Far beyond my expectations. I completed the product to the satisfaction of the client, both the audio and video producers, and myself!

    I have learned that the best ears to determine the qualify of my narrations are not mine! They are the ears of producers, who are also able to make outstanding recommendations.

  • from Shreveport, LA August 19, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer, and Professional Post Production Editor

    Still a Winner

    This was the first professional microphone I ever got. I now own 2 of them. Even though they are the least expensive condenser microphones in my locker, the NT1-A is still a favorite. The pair now have a permanent position as drum overheads. They sound amazing. For years the NT1-A was used for everything from Vocals to acoustic instruments to hand percussion. I still think it is the best sounding microphone on large body acoustic guitars. I now use other mics for other things, but the two Rodes get used every session. Even after all these years.

  • from South Carolina August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Professional

    Great ! Love it!

    Great, love it!

  • from United States July 2, 2014Music Background:
    hip hop artist, home recording engineer

    great mic for the price

    I am a hip hop artist so all i record are raps and some melody hooks and i love this mic. I used to record at my friends studio who had a professional set up but i decided it was a better investment to buy my own equipment. I wanted to buy a mic that was good enough to record professional sounding songs but was still in my budget. After reading 100s of reviews i went with this mic, a presonus studio channel strip, and a focusrite 2i2. I couldn't be happier. This mic is unbelievable for the money. For the people that say its a "bright" mic, i haven't noticed that all, and all u need is some compression and eq and your good anyway. If your thinking about getting a mic in this price range its a great mic!!
    "

  • from June 19, 2014

    sweet mic

    I tested this mic through a couple different preamps. It feels like the final recordings were reflective of the rest of the equipment that I had chained together and the room that I was using. Coming from using sm57's on everything, it has tons of versatility and depth. Through the preamps on my interface in my bedroom vocals and acoustic guitar were way more present and dynamic, but not the professional quality I was looking for. I got to use it in a project studio with a tube preamp and a parabolic isolation wall - it was gorgeous.

    I got to compare it to a studio projects b-1. It is a lower end mic but could definitely tell the cash was well spent on my NT1. I have not got to compare it to anything above its price range yet, but I also don't feel a need to.

  • from Chesapeake Beach, MD November 27, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Best bang for your buck!

    This mic lived up to its reputation. Crystal clear sounds and dynamic range. It captures the up close and personal. I also got some great background vocals standing away. Best bang for your buck!!!

  • from Orange Beach, AL November 26, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, Live Performer, Home Recorder

    One Phenomenal Recording Mic

    Simply stated, this mic does everything I had read and heard and the sound quality and tone is clean, warm, and exceptional. The quality of my recordings took a quantum leap when using this mic. Solid construction and comes with a 10 year warranty, along with all of the goodies that Sweetwater outlines in their ad for this value bundle. Cannot imagine a better condenser mic at this price!

  • from Planet Earth September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Electronic Music Producer, Sound Designer, Drummer and Saxophonist

    Get This Mic

    This mic can handle very high SPL. It's great as a kick drum mic. It sounds very natural when used on vocals. It is indeed a very quiet mic with no self-noise. It's extremely sensitive so lower your gain and/or use a -20dB pad. I was very pleased with the construction and craftsmanship of the mic, the pop-filter is very handy and the included cable was a nice bonus as well. Rode is definitely a company to expect good things from, in my humble opinion.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA August 10, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Amazing Microphone

    I never purchased any condenser from anywhere, however, I have worked with a few condensers in the past. I never experienced anything quite like this. All the other microphones I ever worked with were muddy and I didn't care for them. But with the Rode NT1-A, it's very low self noise. It is the world's quietest studio microphone. The frequency is great!!! I highly recommend buying this microphone because of it's quality and price. And who can argue with that? It's very rare that you find quality at an affordable price. But Rode has hit the nail on the head. Great job!!!

  • from San Francisco, CA June 6, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, recording engineering student

    Incredible for the cost

    I took studio recording class where the emphasis was mics and mic placement. We tried out all kinds of mics - this mic stood out from all the rest. The most unbelievable was the NT-1 placed 18" from the 12th fret my acoustic.

  • from Spokane, WA February 25, 2013Music Background:
    I play semi-professionally.

    A great mic.

    This mic seems to do exactly what a good mic should. Puts out the same signal that goes into it. It is also at a very good level.

  • from January 25, 2013Music Background:
    Producer,(Singer)Songwriter,Engineer

    HANDS DOWN!! AWESOMENESS

    I bought my 1st one in'05 and i keep it in my other studio but i keep one at home with my setup as well..never had any problems what so ever..always right on the vocals and it sits very well on the Mids..ive even used it straight with a MBOX using the interfaces preamps and it still sounded better the a lot of mics that are twice or triple the price.Very LOW noise and i was very thankful of the bundle that came with my second time purchasing it. RODES you guys KICK-*** keep up the GREAT WORK!

  • from Detroit, MI December 18, 2012Music Background:
    Self Recording Rock Band

    AWESOME MIC!

    My band has gone through a few of the budget large dia. condensors, and this one blows them all away. it is crystal clear, VERY low noise, and super detailed. with the mount and cable package, you can't beat it for the money.

  • from Detroit, MI December 18, 2012Music Background:
    Self Recording Rock Band

    AWESOME MIC!

    My band has gone through a few of the budget large dia. condensors, and this one blows them all away. it is crystal clear, VERY low noise, and super detailed. with the mount and cable package, you can't beat it for the money.

  • from Taylorville, Il. September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Musician

    Exceptional value!!!

    I have used a number of studio mics for my own recordings with my BR-1600 CD, but this Rode NT1-A is by far the best quality, quietest mic I have ever used.

  • from Florence, SC USA July 13, 2012Music Background:
    Voiceover

    Sounds GRRRREEEAAATT!!!!

    good mic...sounds great...5 stars!!!

  • from New Britain, PA, USA June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Music Teacher

    Awesome Value; Sounds Nice with Acoustic Guitar

    This is one of the first condensers I have purchased and I have used it to record vocals and acoustic guitars. I have been running it through a RME Babyface into an AirBook running Audacity or Garageband to make demo tracks. Generally, its sound quality and capabilities are outstanding; it's very clear and I can't believe I am getting the sounds I am getting for the price I paid. It is incredibly sensitive, picking up passing cars 100 yards away and literally every sound in the room where I record. Given the included pop-screen and shock-mount, the RODE package seems primarily intended for vocals. The included cable is pretty thick, robust. Regarding the shock-mount, I find the mounting piece for the pop-shield prevents getting a guitar closer to the mic and not bumping into the mounting piece; that is my only flaw with the purchase. It's not a big enough deal to pull down my rating. Gotta say, I really like that RODE mic's are made in Aussie; I'm very pleased with my purchase and highly recommend this mic as an entry-level condenser. Thanks, RODE and Sweetwater for mic month.

  • from Syracuse, New York June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Web Casts, Live Audio, Recordings

    Nice Microphone

    A very nice microphone that works very well in my live audio streaming needs. Used to replace my Shure SM7.

  • from Payson, Arizona May 13, 2012Music Background:
    Recording artist, former church sound man

    I'm no expert, but...

    I've worked in front of several microphones on five studio projects in four different studios. I am a baritone vocalist (a crooner after the style of Bing Crosby & Jim Reeves) and have used an A/T 4033, Lawson 251, and my personal favorite, the Shure KSM-44. I bought this microphone and a Shure KSM-44 for tracking my background vocalists in my home (portable) studio and I am really impressed by the sound of this Rode mic. I used it for tracking the alto background vocalist and, especially for the price, I don't think you could do better. In the studio where I tracked my vocals for my latest project, he is using a matched pair of the NT1-A's to mic the grand piano, and is very happy with them.

  • from Dunkirk, NY, USA April 13, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    Superb Sound!

    There are many microphones on the market that are in the "Great" category as far as their recording quality, but, most recording equipment out their is designed for musicians and singers that have a background noise (the music) that helps to hide either internal noise from the mic itself or eternal or ambient noises. Because I am recorded my voice only, for audio book narration or voice over work, I do not have that "extra" noise, nor do I want it in my recording. After trying combinations of several microphones in the under $200 price range and several preamp/audio interfaces, I was referred to the Rode NT1A by my Sweetwater sales engineer. Not only did he take considerable time to converse with me about what my needs were, what products were available, and how these compared with what I had already in hand, he also gave me solid advice on products that were not even on my radar. One of those products was the NT1A.

    This microphone, from Rode Microphones, not only came with a shock mount, mounting hardware, a dust cover, and premium XLR cable, but, it also came with a built in POP shield, or popper stopper, as Peter Freedman from Rode called it. This large diaphragm condenser mic is advertised with as one of the lowest self noise microphones in the world, and, my sound engineer recommended it for in studio quiet work. I initially had difficulty getting my hands on this setup because everyone had it on back order. Sweetwater was able to get it to me quickly as soon as the orders came in from Australia.

    I found this product to be of outstanding quality, sturdy construction, sufficiently equipped, and, when I coupled it with a Presonus Audiobox USB interface, I was able to achieve the quietest sound yet. I am very impressed with the performance of the Rode NT1A for audio book recording and voice over work in a home studio and I highly recommend not only the Rode NT1A microphone, but also highly recommend Sweetwater as my audio equipment supplier!!

  • from Waukegan, Illinois April 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    It's Great !

    This is my very first microphone & i think its great !
    I've been doing some recording of my own & i compared it to the recordings that i do at a professional studio & they sound the same ! Great quality ! I think the instructional DVD should have more & probably better tips though.

  • from Ligonier, IN USA March 18, 2012Music Background:
    Mainly a sound engineer but am learning guitar and plan on more later.

    Very Impressed

    I'm no super pro recording guy but I know what I like and what I don't. I bought this mic for my wife to use since she's the singer and I am mainly the guy who does the behind the scenes stuff. I really like this mic. Although I bought it for her and it does a wonderful job bringing her vocals to life even in our untreated living room, I found that this also does an excellent job when micing my acoustic guitar and also for doing screencast tutorials. The fact that it includes everything but a stand is also really and makes it great for those just starting out or experimenting. There is no doubt in my mind that their are better mics available but so far I am very impressed with this one. I would recommend buying a high quality mic stand. I bought a cheaper one and if I try to place the mic in non standard positions the stand doesn't hold tight enough to support the mics weight. Either way though if you are just starting out and need a good multi purpose all around mic then this is a good buy.

  • from Kuwait March 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Microphone

    This is a great mic. i cant beleive that is so cheap like that.

  • from March 2, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer, live sound engineer, hobbyist, student, roadie, novice musician

    Awesome mic

    this is a stellar mic. it is made of quality components and delivers superior sound. the tone is fantastic and you get a very true representation of whatever you are recording (for better or worse :) ).
    the shock mount and pop filter are both high quality and the xlr is very nice as well. The mic seems very sturdy and was an excellent purchase.

  • from VA Beach, VA February 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Up and coming home recording engineer

    Rode NT-1a

    Awesome for the price. Super clean, with meticulous sound through the onboard preamp on our Tascam neo. I couldnt imagine how it would sound thru a high dollar tube preamp.
    Once again, Sweetwater comes thru fast, Well packed and quick to follow up on their product. This is a fantastic mic with all of the quality hardware included for any and every stage of experience. Great price! Whoopee!
    Sweetwater is a class act to deal with everytime I have used them. Customer service is equivalent to the old Mom and Pop stores of Yore which I miss so much. They are very knowledgable about their products vs the applications in which the product would be best for.

  • from D.C. Metro area December 3, 2011Music Background:
    Broadcast / Music Producer, Avid/Logic Editor, Musician, Clinician

    Rode NT1-A

    This microphone is one of the few microphones that can stand up against the more expensive microphones with a warm sound. It delivers audio very well at all frequencies. I primarily use it has a second microphone to the Neumann TLM 102 to record saxophones, but I know it is a great vocal microphone also. As tracks are recorded and mixed, I rarely boost the bass or treble frequencies.

    It's got rugged casing with a dual mesh screen covering a large diaphragm. The cardioid "heart shaped" polar pattern records clearly only from one direction, but gives other options when recording in different direction patterns. I especially like the idea that it does not require cranking my preamps to get a strong usable signal. Great value for the money! The package includes a Shock Mount, Pop Shield, XLR Cable, Dust Cover, and DVD. This takes the value of the package over the top!!!

  • from Vermont October 24, 2011Music Background:
    Electroacoustic & Acousic Composer, Classical Ensemble Recordist, Audio Restoration Specialist

    Good choral mics

    The Rode NT1-A mics replaced a Studio Projects SP-4 set for choral recording using a single-point setup. I knew the Rodes were quiet, but I was worried about whether they would capture the details as well as the small-diaphragm SPs did. Not only did they capture the vocal detail and character, but their quietness also revealed even more detail -- particularly in the sets with chorus and string quintet and vocal soloist with string quintet. They weren't fussy, either. Plus the mic mounts are of high quality. (I haven't used the pop screen yet.)

  • from Columbia, SC October 1, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Student

    Amazing!

    In the past 6 years I have been through tons of microphones and preamps. I have had a MXL 990, Audio-Technica AT2020, AKG Perception 400, Neumann TLM 102, & finally The Rode NT1-A. As far as preamps, I have had the M Audio Buddy, M Audio Mobile Pre, M Audio Fast Track Pro, M Audio Firewire Solo, M Audio Profire 610, & the TC Electronic Desktop Konnekt 6. After having all of this equipment, The Rode NT1-A and the TC Electronic Desktop Konnekt 6 have produced the best recordings I have ever had. The M Audio Profire 610 cost $500 when I bought it and the Neumann TLM 102 cost $700 when I bought it. The Rode NT1-A cost $230 and the TC Electronics Desktop Konnekt 6 cost me $200. This cost me less than half of the amount of the expensive equipment that I had and I have better recordings out of the Rode NT1-A and TC Electronics Desktop Konnekt 6. I can say this because I have Auralex studiofoam set up in a closet and I did have the SE Electronics Reflexion Filter when I was using the Neumann TLM 102 and M Audio Profire 610. I have a small closet filled with Auralex studiofoam, with an NT1-A, and my Desktop Konnket 6, and I' am more than happy with them. GO OUT AND BUY THE EQUIPMENT I HAVE AND TEST IT! I GUARANTEE YOU WILL BE EXCITED WHEN YOU HEAR THE QUALITY! This will save the time and money for the people who are new to home recording and make the people who have wasted money on other equipment more than happy. I suggest taking a intro to audio class for learning how to mix if you are new. It will help you understand the concepts, tools, how & why specific tools are used for mixing and mastering. After that you can learn on your own. It's all about practice. Have fun!

  • from Hays, KS September 17, 2011Music Background:
    Studying to become an audio engineer

    Amazing mic, amazing service.

    Maybe I'm a little biased - the only mic I've had before now is a standard SM58 (i'm 17, just getting started). But this microphone is absolutely fantastic in my opinion. Not only was I blown away by the microphone - Sweetwater's customer service was incredible. Within 15 minutes of completing the order, a real person called me to make sure the order was correct, told me who my official sweetwater rep would be since this was my first purchase with sweetwater, and made sure I had no other questions before moving on. I received the package in 4 days when the expected arrival time was 5-10 days. And, to top it all off, what did I find at the very top when I opened the package?

    Laffy Taffy, smarties, and a bit-o-honey. It was delicious.(:

  • from Illinois July 31, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Rode is embarrassing the competition!

    There are few things in this world that offer value. But when I hear the word value, I often think of "average". So I put off buying this mic for a while having been seduced by Neumann, AKG, etc. This mic takes value and slams it on it's face! The sound is celestial to say the LEAST! Even before I used it, I marveled at the SM6 Shock Mount for like and hour! I was expecting it to be a plastic nightmare, but yes folks, it's SOLID metal and the hottest design I've seen in years! Marry this mic to a great Pre, and you'll never say Neumann again! Rode is running circles around everyone right now! I'm buying another before the price inflates!

  • from Los Angeles, CA July 28, 2010Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    Great Mic for the Price!

    Great mic, warm, clear, crisp sounding vocals, clean sounding guitar. Nice! Wonderful mic for the price=)

  • from September 1, 2016

    Nt1A

    Great value, For the cost I couldn't expect anymore. This is a great home studio vocal mic, we use it to record vocal rehearsal mixes, pretty impressive without spending thousands.

  • from Charleston, West Virginia June 22, 2016Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Rode NT1-A

    I have one of these mics and decided a second would round out the studio better. Nice Mics!

  • from February 25, 2016

    Great Microphone for the price!

    This is a really great microphone for the price. The sound quality is incredibly warm and it's true to capturing the 'real' vocal sounds of your singer. The large diaphragm helps in this process, as I used to use a medium sized capsule and always felt like the vocals weren't capturing all the tonal qualities of my voice. Once a friend said to me... "when you sing live, the recording isn't picking up the same sound" on my old mic. That's when I knew I had to get a new mic. I had that same friend come over after recording with the NT1-A and she was impressed and said "that's more of what I hear when I listen to you live". It's very quiet and very well made. The only reason I'm giving it 4.5 instead of 5 star are: no case (for traveling). If you were searching for an affordable microphone for recording, that's well made... your search is over.

  • from Taiwan November 26, 2015Music Background:
    Classical, Worship Music

    Live Strings? this will do the trick

    I've used the Rode NT1-A for about 5 months now. I've used the mic for a wedding, a funeral, several chapels and a solo guitar + vocal recording project. I've used it on viola, cello, violin, mandolin and guitar. All sounded great for each venue holding very true to the original sound of the instruments. Being a classical musician that is a must for my ear. Of all the instruments though I would say that the mandolin sounds truest.

    On stage with other amplified instruments we've had to adjust mic placement, especially wooden stage floors since it picks up sound through the hollow floor. But overall, I am very happy with this mic and will continue to use it frequently.

  • from pittsburgh, pa October 11, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer

    Great mic for the price

    Great quality, great minimal design.

  • from Warren, PA October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Instructor and Performer of Fingerstyle and Classical Guitar

    Awesome

    Records Classical Guitar in a pure way. I added some external processing, but the mic is almost transparent and has very low noise. I am happy with my purchase.

  • from Ocala, Florida August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, recording engineer, Lifetime Student

    Rode NT1-A Microphone

    Rode definitely produced a very good microphone with an extremely low self noise and excellent frequency response. The low frequency response is pronounced without distortion and the high frequency response generates the brightness that makes mediocre vocals sound excellent. The microphone has excellent range as well. It works fine on acoustic instruments such as a mandolin or acoustic guitar at distances of well over a meter with great clarity, almost as if a small diaphragm condenser microphone was used in conjunction with it.
    I did find the microphone mount a bit difficult to deal with as the friction within the clamp area is insufficient to hold the assembly in place with a moderate lock screw torque. However, most shock mounts suffer from this problem and need a bit of redesign to work satisfactorily. The pop filter is of adequate size, easily adjustable in two axes, and of decent (slightly above average) quality; but by no means anything really exceptional. But, the shock mount design holds the pop filter very nicely with excellent stability. Had the tightening of the shock mount to the microphone stand been easier, I would rate the product a 5 star.
    The video covering microphone placement and usage is helpful, and operational details are well explained.
    Overall, the microphone performs exceptionally well and is well worth the investment. It is a very solid addition to any microphone collection.

  • from L.A. California July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Great Vocal Mic

    I like picking up an entire package with the shock mount, the pop pad and the mic. I chose the Rode after listening to the results in a friend's studio. I am mostly a recording engineer working with local artists and also recording my personal projects. The Rode articulates every vocal nuance and when used along with my Voxguard produces results that I would expect from a higher priced mic. I feel, at this price, this is an outstanding buy.

  • from Walnut Creek, Ca April 27, 2013Music Background:
    Voice Over Actor

    Rode NT1-A is a excellent mic for a VO home studio

    This is an excellent choice for a mic for auditioning for voice over work in a home studio. The price point in excellent especially since a shock mount and pop shield is included. The sound is totally acceptable for voice recording.

  • from lexington, ky usa September 11, 2012Music Background:
    5 years audio engineer

    Great from drums to vocals and everything inbetween

    This mic is a work horse, I'v used it on vocals(na duh) and got great results with pairing it with a at4050(for a more natural sound) with it just lying right under the nt1-a in the mix for the warmth it brings to the robust sound of the nt1-a. I'v used it on guitar's from acoustics with a stereo pair, to hardcore guitars about 8 inch away from the cab paired with a sm57 and audix f5. Now my favorite thing to use these for is drum overheads I just can't get a bad sound from them on drums, for most rock and jazz style's I don't even use tom mics cause they come through so clearly on these things. These mics are great and I would recommend them to anyone who needs some overheads that doesn't have 600 to spend on each mic(like tlm-102 or at4050). But end of ranting these things are great pick em up and you wont be sorry.

  • from May 24, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer, live sound engineer, hobbyist, student, musician

    Very Nice mic

    This mic is an excellent mic. The critisisms of silibance are somewhat true, but if you set the windscreen right, you wont have any issues with it.
    Pair this with a good preamp and you are set. Its best uses are vocals, acoustic stuff, but i cant imagine it would be at least decent for overhead drums, or anything really

  • from odessa, texas May 5, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great mic

    Best mic I've ever owned. Great sound quality. Proud owner.

  • from Houston, TX March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Great Mic....

    My Producer said "night and day vs. my old vocal mic" Shure M-58....
    Love my new condenser mic...!

  • from Canada March 3, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Sound Engineer

    This Mic Takes Care of Business

    The title says it all. Great quality and a really attractive price. I've always known that Rode makes a good product but I'm always shocked by how good it actually is. Great frequency response, well represented vocals or guitars or just about anything else you throw at it. Most recently I ran an ADR session using this mic and was very satisfied with the results.

  • from Colorado Springs, CO USA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    X-pro turned Hobbyist

    NT1-A for acoustic Guitars

    I bought this mic for recording acoustic guitars, and so far, I really love it. I have noticed it has some very interesting characteristics. Compared to other large diaphragm condensers, this one seems pretty focused on what is in front of it. Which is great in my situation, as it doesn't seem to pick up all the house noises. It also seems to boost a bit in the high frequencies which gives it an air quality to my guitars. I usually boost this range, but with this mic, I haven't found a need to.

  • from south florida June 8, 2011Music Background:
    30 years amateur live sound tech

    Get Creative

    I am using the mics for live theater. I know WHAT? But the specs make them work great, high gain before feedback and no noise (hum,hiss,ect) even being place right next to the high voltage light bars!
    My subjects are 6 to 8 feet from the mics the sound is clear and reminds me of the "recorded before a studio audience" sitcoms of the 1970s. Very flexible mics, built tough. Dont be to "engineer" to try these mics for some "out of the box" apps. I did and have no regrets.

  • from McRae, GA May 21, 2011Music Background:
    Performer, Recording Engineer, Studio Owner

    Got two!

    Really, really great mic for the price. Very detailed, a little on the harsh side in the upper frequencies for me, but nothing that can't be managed with EQ. I purchased a stereo pair and use them all the time on acoustic guitars, vocals, horns, and whatever I might have need. Sturdy build, low floor noise, excellent mic for the price!

  • from Ohio November 10, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Studio Owner, Live Sound Production

    Outshines the Competition

    Excellent Mic. I bought this based upon a friends recommendation to record some scratch tracks for upcoming demos. After working with it, I found it to be very smooth and clean. I now use it for most recordings and highly recommend it to my recording customers. Once they hear the sound (I do use a tube preamp) they are blown away. This mic sounds more like the $2000 - $2500 price range of microphones. You should buy this. I did .... and bought a second! It will be in my mic locker for years to come.

  • from Texas April 26, 2010Music Background:
    Voice Actor

    Amazing!

    Before getting a Rode NT1-A, I had a Samson CO1U USB Microphone. The Samson wasn't all that bad, but having to use noise reduction on my recordings became a pain, especially since it reduced my recording quality. Eventually I got tired of it and decided to try out a Rode NT1-A, and my goodness, the quality is amazing! I use little to no noise reduction, and it still sounds amazing. No nasty feedback--at all!

    I'll definitely be keeping this one for a long, LONG time!

  • from San Francisco Bay Area September 5, 2016

    great sounding for the price

    this microphone is very popular for people doing voice work and was recommended to me by trusted soul. very pleased with its quality perfect does require phantom power which is not a problem if you have the right mixer.

  • from Aurora, CO August 5, 2015Music Background:
    vocalist, percussion, voice over.

    Voice Over

    Bought my mic a little over a year ago and the entire package is very nice. My only complaint is for the attached shockmount. I would prefer one that is detached and maybe a little bit large in diameter, but that is purely personal preference. The sound is good for the voiceover work I do but I don't have a lot to compare it to with my very deep baritone voice. I am also a death metal "singer" but have not yet used it to record any vocals, though that time is nearing. Likely it will be strictly for demo purposes and comparison to recording with the SM58 for demo, but due to the high SPL I will consider it for our final vocal tracking if the demo sounds good. Otherwise we will be rockin the standard Shure SM7b. so far for my voiceover work I have had nothing but good things with this baby.

  • from AR September 6, 2014Music Background:
    Used to be pro, hobbyist now

    Rode NT1-A

    Really good mic for my home studio setting. Very sensitive and responsive. Haven't had it long enough to comment on durability, but looks to be well made and assembled. Quality cord. and accessories.

  • from June 23, 2014

    very clear but sibilant

    It's a very good start up kit: other than this, I only needed a mic stand, an interface and a software to start recording. I use it for recording female vocals. It's very clear, and can pick up very quiet vocals, even whispers. It has very little self noise and is in the lower frequency, so it can be gated out. The only thing I didn't like is how sibilant it is. You can hear how this mic sound by looking up mic shootout videos since this mic is quite popular.

  • from Athol, MA October 23, 2013Music Background:
    church music/media director

    Very Pleased

    We purchased this mic with vocalists in mind but used it the first Sunday for congregational use of announcements and other speaking. So versatile with all voices no tweaking was needed. It has great sound. Also used it for piano playing singer at a women's conference. Worked super. We just set it off to the left of the pianist and it picked up her voice as well as the piano. The Worship Team may never see it for it's intended use! We may need to buy another so we don't have to share. Well worth the money and as always, Sweetwater stands behind all they sell so there's no fear of "getting stuck with it".

  • from USA May 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, amateur musician and composer.

    Great all purpose condenser mic for a small budget studio!

    I do home recording and demo's for friends as a hobby.
    I was not going to invest a lot of money in an expensive mic, so I shopped around, read reviews and finally decided to order the Rode NT1-A.
    It was a great choice! Vocals are rich and clear, Instruments are full range and uncolored.
    The package came with a cable, shock mount, dusk cover and an instructional DVD.
    Recommended...

  • from San Jose, CA April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great starter condenser mic

    I was looking to purchase my first condenser mic for some small home recording stuff I do. This mic was recommended to me by a friend, and I'm very happy with it. The sound is clean and clear. It has really punched up my vocals and stepped-up the quality of my recordings.

    The extras in the package (shock mount, pop shield, etc.) were a great bonus since I didn't have to worry about getting all that stuff, too.

  • from Franklin, MA January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, hobbyist recording engineer

    Really Solid Mic

    This is an excellent all-around studio mic. Very solidly built. Brilliant for very quiet vocals to micing loud guitar cabinets. The included cable and pop shield are good. The shock mount is only OK, but is way better than nothing. If you can only afford one decent mic for a project studio, this is an excellent choice.

  • from Ohio July 26, 2012Music Background:
    voice over artist

    Rode NT1-A

    I am so happy with the quality of sound that I am getting with this microphone. It has help me greatly with my voice over work!

  • from Hong Kong June 6, 2012

    Good budget mic

    I think this mic is quite good for home use. It's quality is more than it's price.

    Except it's a bit light, which feels more like a toy.

  • from Salt Lake City April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Works Great

    I'm impressed with the sensitivity.

  • from Flagstaff, Arizona USA April 19, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Best mic in it's price range

    When a fellow Engineer recommended this mic to me I had no real expectations. I was surprised at the level of quality this mic delivers. Very nice for vocals...highly recommended for those with a small mic budget-you won't be disappointed.

  • from Los Angeles, CA January 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great mic for the money

    Tested this mic in my dad's pro studio and compared it to much more expensive AKG mic, and the Rode held up quite well. I even felt the Rode had less room noise than the AKG. Definitely a great mic for the cost.

  • from November 16, 2011

    Great Mic!

    Our band is delighted with this product ... for the cost, it would be hard to beat! We've received plenty of positive comments from our audiences about the clarity of our fiddle and vocals.

  • from San Fran June 2, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Artist, Musician, Audiophile

    NT1A

    I think this mic is a phenom for instruments, acoustic guitar was awesome. Female vocal was also pretty awesome, clean, some make vocals are great on it if they are higher pitched. My rich baritone voice is not very warm on it though. Every one I record on it sounds great, the only one I don't like on it is me. I want to try a Neumann U47 or something to see if it's just in my head or is it really that good. I expect a warmer sound on me, more "Shocking warmth" but never quite satisfied.

    My mic pre is the blue tube from presonus with a groovetube in place of the tube. I want to get the Presonus ADL600 or avalon AD2022 to see if the quality of the NT1a improves...Using a 192 delta audiophile card from m-audio and nuendos 4.

  • from Washington DC April 23, 2010Music Background:
    live sound engineer, project studio

    Great Mic

    This is a great multi-purpose mic for any engineer. The sound is highly detailed and transparent. This mic made my guitar shine, even while connected to my lower end mic pres. Sounds good on everything I have tried it on so far...drum overheads, acoustic guitar, vocals. For the price you cant beat it. If you are in the market for an all-purpose, affordable mic, look no further.

  • from USA October 23, 2012

    Rode NT1-A

    I really love my new rode mic! the ONLY reason that i didn't give it 5 starts is my extreme disappointment with the seating of the mic in the included shock mount. the mic screws in to the shock mount but in order to place the mic for optimum recording from a condenser mic i have to unscrew the mic - therefore backing it away from a tight screw-in (so if physically touched it's wobbly).

    it's very disconcerting that the mic is not properly fitted in the shock mount.

  • from LA September 1, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Good Mic for the Money

    I have a degree in Audio (not that degrees mean alot) and have been an engineer for 15 years. As far as the NT1-A, I've had this mic about 4 years now. For the money, its a decent microphone and I would recommend it if the budget is very tight. Does an OKjob on vocals. Overheads, not so much; the high end is harsh and brittle. If you have a couple extra bucks, get an AT 4050.

  • from New York April 16, 2016Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Mixing Engineer, and producer.

    Descent for starters

    It's a great mic. A bit heavy on the lower spectrum of the frequency range but descent enough for starters. If you looking to do less EQ on your recorded tracks i recommend a better mic like the neuman family. Other wise if you only looking for a good sound without. Reading your pocket than this might be a good one for you.

  • from Boston/Philadelphia November 10, 2012Music Background:
    Recording and Live Engineer, Berklee

    Very Usable but be SMART about it!

    This is a good mic. The package itself is a great package and well worth it, it comes with a good sturdy shockmount and a really good XLR cable.

    This is a really quiet mic and is useful in noisy environments. If you are just starting out, this will get you a decent sound. BUT understand that unless you a great Pre-amp and converters, you will not be blown away. I've heard this through API's, Neve's , Graces's, etc,. so you can take it far but on a stock pre on an interface, you will run into problems, (most likely undefined low end and over exaggerated top end).

    Good buy, but understand what you are buying and how it will work in you signal path.

  • from mtn. view, CA December 20, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It has its good points...

    - Sound quality: This mic has some outstanding features--it has a wide frequency range and extremely low noise. Recording my vocals tend to sound too bright dead on. When turned 45 degrees or more, it takes the edge off an produces a more neutral tone. I tend to hear this same brightness on other's vocal tracks as well. There are plenty of mods available for this mic and that's likely d/t the fact that the circuitry produces so little noise.

    To me it seems to sound brighter than the published graph would indicate which has been suggested is d/t time domain response issues caused by the head basket.

    - Reliability / Durability: This mic is definitely lighter and doesn't feel as solid as my Blue Spark. I'm sure that d/t being made of aluminum. I haven't had any troubles with it however. It's build quality is closer to my old Samson C01(which isn't bad either). It comes with a very good shock mount, pop filter, and mic socks that allow you to leave it on the stand and not get dusty. It's very well thought out. The carrying bag is not a rugged way to protect these for transport however. For the home studio person, this isn't an issue.

    - Would you buy this again if it were stolen?: Maybe... I like this mic b/c it's about as quiet as a good preamp and it does sound great many times. It just isn't my go to mic. I imagine I'd miss it if it were gone at times.

    - Features that stand out: The low noise and the wide frequency response!

    - What I don't like: The general brightness/harshness on axis.

    - Similar products used: Blue Spark and Samson C01

    This mic has some nice features and is definitely useful, but the sibilant brightness needs tamed for my vocals in general.

  • from March 22, 2013

    Don't Like It

    This is one of the weirdest mics I've ever used. It seems to be very scooped in the mids and thinner sounding than what I'm used to. If you get close to it you will sound like youre swallowing your tongue and it will become very sibilant. farther away you can get better results. Overall though I don't like it over my flatter sounding at4040.

  • from New York August 8, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter

    This is an average mic

    The frequency response chart is what separates an amazing mic like Neumann, Telefunken, and AKG from the rest, and the Rode NT1-A has an average frequency response. It has a harsh high end and no body or warmth in the mid range. If you modify it with a quality microphone capsule, it will be much better, and that would run you anywhere from $150-300 extra. More than that if you pay someone else to do the mod for you. Almost every mic you buy in this price range has the same specifications. There is nothing special about -20k-20k frequency range, low noise, or high SPL. It's a boring skeleton of a mic that does the basic job of recording sound with less noise than your cell phone microphone.

  • from San Diego, CA December 9, 2013

    I returned it

    When people say its harsh, believe them. The p's and s's peaked alot. I'm not great at recordings so for a beginner who is kinda breaking his pockets to buy a mic in this price range I would look else where.

  • from Atlanta,Georgia August 15, 2013Music Background:
    recording enineer

    sssss to harsh

    The ss are just to much you have to be skilled with eq to make it work i have one its very clear and sounds good until you say s words then your in for a long day of trying to dess your vocals if you have ozone and others like it then your good but the average start up person doesnt but the mic is great other than that trust me

  • from Puerto Rico May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer, Sound Engineer

    Dont be fooled!

    its an OK mic.... i really hate it, but have heard worse. i have a bunch of tracks that were recorded with this mic and the sibilance ("S" sounds) are horrible! distorted and pain inducing! and the singer wasn't shouting or singing in a high vol. its really muddy too. using the Waves PAZ analyzer u can see that it has a boost in mid freqz 400-650 and everything else goes downward from there... then the peak in the 8KHz freq (sibilance). Signal flow was from the mic to a Digi 003 control surface. I have had better quality from a MXL and a M-audio Fast Track interface!... now... i don't know how would this perform with a quality Channel Strip or preamp, but if u have the money to buy a channel strip, probably best to buy another mic... AKG C series with avalon preamps are phenomenal!

Questions about the Rode NT1-A?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway